Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amended claims and associated applicant arguments/ remarks filed on 11/26/2025 were received and considered.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 19 and 20 have been added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under USC 103 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bathala et al. (US 20210354302 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier et al. (US 20210385378 A1) referred to as Cier hereinafter and further in view of Ueno (US 20190355140 A1) and Bathala et al. (US 20210354302 A1) referred to as Bathala hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Cier teaches A robotic system, (“a camera held by or mounted on a user or the user's clothing; a camera mounted on an aerial and/or ground-based drone or other robotic device; etc.)” Cier, para. [0022]) comprising: a memory comprising computer readable instructions stored thereon; (“and the memory may further optionally execute one or more other programs (e.g., a browser 369; a copy of the MIGM system and/or Building Map Viewer system, not shown, such as instead of or in addition to the systems 340-345 on the server computing system(s) 300; etc.).” Cier, para. [0061])
and a processor configured to execute the computer readable instructions to: (“by using the processor(s) 361 to execute software instructions of the system 368 in a manner that configures the processor(s) 361 and mobile device 360 to perform automated operations that implement those described techniques.” Cier, para. [0061])
receive, via a sensor coupled to the robotic system, a first image of an object and a second image of the object as the robotic system moves along a route; (“In particular, FIG. 2A illustrates an example constituent image 250a taken in a northeasterly direction from acquisition location 210B in the living room of house 198 of FIG. 1B, such as for use as a first constituent image in a sequence of constituent images acquired in a full 360° horizontal circle from acquisition location 210B” Cier, para. [0037]) and (“such techniques may include using one or more mobile devices (e.g., a camera having one or more fisheye lenses and mounted on a rotatable tripod or otherwise having an automated rotation mechanism; a camera having one or more fisheye lenses sufficient to capture 360 degrees horizontally without rotation; a smart phone held and moved by a user, such as to rotate the user's body and held smart phone in a 360° circle around a vertical axis; a camera held by or mounted on a user or the user's clothing; a camera mounted on an aerial and/or ground-based drone or other robotic device; etc.) to capture visual data from a sequence of multiple acquisition locations within multiple rooms of a house (or other building)” Cier, para. [0022])
and translation of the robotic system between the first and second image; (“In block 685, the routine further estimates heights of walls in some or all rooms, such as from analysis of images and optionally sizes of known objects in the images, as well as height information about a camera when the images were acquired, and further uses such information to generate a 3D computer model of the building, with the 3D model and the floor plan being associated with each other.” Cier, para. [0088]) and (“concurrently and asynchronously with the constituent image capture, and also concurrently and asynchronously with the data compression and long-term storage and optional decompression and caching, register the cropped constituent images in a first stitching pass by aligning each of the cropped constituent image slices with the previous constituent image (e.g., by using a translational motion model) and by aligning the last selected constituent image with the previous constituent image in a similar manner, while performing additional image analysis activities in a subsequent final stitching pass;” Cier, para. [0017])
align the first and second images to form a panoramic image; (“register the cropped constituent images in a first stitching pass by aligning each of the cropped constituent image slices with the previous constituent image (e.g., by using a translational motion model) and by aligning the last selected constituent image with the previous constituent image in a similar manner, while performing additional image analysis activities in a subsequent final stitching pass;” Cier, para. [0017]) and (“complete the panorama image generation in a final stitching pass by aligning the first and last selected constituent images (e.g., by using optical flow alignment, to complete the 360° loop for the panorama image)” Cier, para. [0018])
and communicate the panoramic image to a server. (“As part of the automated panorama image generation, one or more processing modules 145 of the MICA system in memory 152 of the mobile device may be executed by one or more hardware processors 132 of the mobile device to acquire various constituent images and associated metadata 142 using one or more imaging systems 135 of the mobile device, and to combine at least some of the captured constituent images into one or more generated panorama images 143, which are subsequently transferred over one or more computer networks 170 to the storage 164 on the server computing system(s) 180.” Cier, para. [0027])
However, Cier does not teach determine, via a computer readable map, the distance to the object within the first and second images
Ueno teaches determine, via a computer readable map, distance to the object within the first and second images (“The stereo depth determination module 195 can include instructions to determine the stereo depth based on the stereo images (i.e., the first stereo image 165 and the second stereo image 170) and the maximum disparity D.sub.max. The stereo depth determination module 195 can include instructions to determine a distance in pixels between a location of the object (e.g., first object 180) represented in the first image (e.g., first image 165) and a location of the object represented in the second image (e.g., second image 170).” Ueno, para. [0028])
Cier and Ueno are combinable because they are from the same filed of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Cier in light of Ueno’s determining distance to the object. One would have been motivated to do so because it reduces processing time for the cost function. (Ueno, para. [0050])
However, the combination of Cier and Ueno does not teach wherein the translation of the robotic system on the computer readable map is determined based on odometry data of the robotic system.
Bathala teaches wherein the translation of the robotic system on the computer readable map is determined based on odometry data of the robotic system. (“determining a second motion of the robot based on data from at least one other sensor and odometry unit; and determining the pose of the sensor based on a motion discrepancy between the first motion and the second motion… determining the image discrepancy by translating and rotating the second image such that the translated and rotated second image matches the first image; ” Bathala, para. [0009]), (“The motion estimation performed by the controller 118 using the two or more images may then be compared to other odometry data yielding an unconventional result in that extrinsic biases of the sensor 302 may be determined based on discrepancies between an estimated motion using the two images and an estimated motion using data from other sensor and/or odometry units.” Bathala, para. [0093])
Cier, Ueno, and Bathala are combinable because they are from the same filed of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Cier and Ueno in light of Bathala’s odometry data. One would have been motivated to do so because it can improve safety and efficiency of robots operating autonomously. (Bathala, para. [0040])
Regarding claim 2, Cier teaches the object comprises a plurality of labels, wherein each of the plurality of labels correspond to a feature of the object, the plurality of labels comprise at least one of a text or computer readable code element. (“Various types of information are illustrated on the 2D floor plan 235k in this example. For example, such types of information may include one or more of the following: room labels added to some or all rooms (e.g., “living room” for the living room); room dimensions added for some or all rooms; visual indications of fixtures or appliances or other built-in features added for some or all rooms;” Cier, para. [0054])
Regarding claim 3, Cier teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to: determine a bounding box for each label depicted in the first and second images; (“The final stitching phase may further include performing additional cropping by computing a bounding box that excludes/leaves out uncovered (black) regions, such as by using the maximum bounding box that excludes blank areas. The bounding box is extracted by finding the union of the footprints of the warped images (in a similar manner as the step described above for computing the footprint for blending), and computing the largest vertical range with non-blank pixels.” Cier, para. [0051])
and perform the alignment at least in part based on locations of the bounding boxes. (“determining a bounding box for the combination of stitched constituent images that satisfies one or more defined criteria (e.g., the largest bounding box that excludes regions or areas not covered in the selected constituent images) and cropping the combination of stitched constituent images according to such a bounding box, etc.” Cier, para. [0078])
Regarding claim 6, Cier teaches wherein, the computer readable map includes annotations for the object to be scanned, (“after panorama images are generated, they and associated information for them (e.g., annotations, metadata, inter-connection linking information, etc.) may be stored with information 164 on one or more server computing systems 180 for later use. Such generated panorama information 164 may further be included as part of captured building interior information 165 that is subsequently used by an MIGM (Mapping Information Generation Manager) system 160 executing on one or more server computing systems 180 (whether on the same or different server computing systems on which the information 164 is stored) to generate corresponding building floor plans and/or other related mapping information 155.” Cier, para. [0026])
and the panoramic image begins and ends proximate to edges of the object on the computer readable map. (“For loop closure, the concatenated transforms for constituent images are updated such that the concatenated transform for the last constituent image is consistent with H.sub.N−1,0 by first computing the errors in transforming the corners of the image in the last constituent image (represented as dA, dB, dC and dD), with the shifts in the transformed corner for each concatenated transform for constituent images being adjusted by dA/(N−1), dB/(N−1), dC/(N−1), and dD/(N−1), where N is the quantity of constituent images and/or image angular slots.” Cier, para. [0051])
Regarding claim 7, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, refer to the explanation of claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, refer to the explanation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, refer to the explanation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Cier teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable instructions stored there that when executed by at least one processor (“Some or all of the modules, systems and data structures may also be stored (e.g., as software instructions or structured data) on a non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums,” Cier, para. [0063])
Regarding rest of claim 13, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, refer to the explanation of claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, refer to the explanation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, refer to the explanation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, Bathala teaches wherein the odometry data represents physical movement of the robotic system along the route. (“Using the method 600 illustrated in FIG. 6 above, the robot 102 may, due to the extrinsic bias of the sensor 302, estimate its movement by route 704 and its final position at location 708, however the robot 102 may have actually navigated along the route 702 properly as illustrated, wherein the actual movement of the robot 102 along the route 702 may be determined based on data from a plurality of well calibrated odometry and sensor units (excluding the sensor 302).” Bathala, para. [0094])
Regarding claim 20, Cier teaches wherein the first and second images are aligned to form the panoramic image such that features of the object are neither duplicated nor omitted in the panoramic image. (“FIG. 2H continues the examples of FIGS. 2A-2G, and illustrates information 290h that shows a sequence of constituent images that have been selected and cropped for use in being combined as part of generating a panorama image from acquisition location 210B.” Cier, para. [0044]), as shown in fig. 2H, no feature is being duplicated or omitted.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cier, Ueno, and Bathala as mentioned above and further in view of Garg et al. (US 20150324662 A1) referred to as Garg hereinafter.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cier, Ueno, and Bathala does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to, determine an image quality matrix based on the level of contrast detected within bounding boxes of labels within a plurality of images.
Garg teaches wherein the processor is further configured execute the computer readable instructions to, determine an image quality matrix based on the level of contrast detected within bounding boxes of labels within a plurality of images. (“edges in an image have an intrinsic scale most effectively analyzed at a fine scale of resolution, while non-edged regions, such as regions of uniform material, can be accurately analyzed at relatively coarse scales of resolution. Thus, an image is divided by edge and non-edge regions, segregating the edge regions at a fine scale of resolution, and the remaining non-edge regions at a relatively coarse scale of resolution.” Garg, para. [0053]) and (“In steps 1304 and 1306, the CPU 12 operates to calculate the average color for the pixels of the candidate 1-D token, and compares that color to pixels of a pre-selected neighborhood surrounding the candidate 1-D token, to determine the number of pixels in the neighborhood, Ns, that match the color of the candidate 1-D token.” Garg, para. [0077])
Cier, Ueno, Bathala, and Garg are combinable because they are from the same filed of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Cier, Ueno, and Bathala in light of Garg’s determining image quality. One would have been motivated to do so because it can increase accuracy in a solve based upon color change. (Garg, para. [0061])
Regarding claim 5, Garg teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to, adjust color values of pixels depicting the label within the bounding box of either the first image or the second image based on the color values of the label in the first and second images and the image quality matrix. (“a color correct gamma correction can be achieved by performing an intensity adjustment on the illumination image, and merging the intensity adjusted illumination image with the corresponding material image, for a color correct, intensity adjusted output image.” Garg, para. [0302])
Regarding claim 10, refer to the explanation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, refer to the explanation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, refer to the explanation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, refer to the explanation of claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARDIS SOHRABY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2664
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664