DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6 – 7, 13 – 18, 20 – 22, and 29 – 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothkopf et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0073122) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0357354) in view of Zambetti et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0370529).
Regarding Claim 1, Rothkopf et al. teach a method comprising:
at a computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) including non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40) and one or more processors (Figure 1C, Element 121. Paragraph 40), wherein the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) is communicatively coupled to a display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and one or more input devices (Figure 1B, Elements 103 and 135. Paragraph 38):
while operating the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) according to a first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71), obtaining head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information associated with a user of the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40);
in response to a first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) of an upward head motion (Paragraph 60) by a threshold (Element Magnitude. Paragraph 60) number of degrees:
presenting, via the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) within a wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), wherein movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) is initiated in response to the first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80), wherein the virtual object is the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) of the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and the region being the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63); and
obtaining a gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) associated with the user of the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40); and
in accordance with a second determination that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 424 and 426. Paragraph 81) a second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84), by being direct to the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) for at least a dwell threshold (Paragraph 160) before a timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) exceeds a timeout threshold (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130), transitioning the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71) to a second mode (Figure 3, Element 330. Paragraph 73) different from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
in accordance with a third determination that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) has not satisfied the second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) when the timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) has exceeded the threshold timer (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130);
ceasing presentation (Paragraph 85) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) and
maintaining operation of the computing system according to the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
the target being the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to an animation of a wake target within a wake region located towards a top portion of the display device, wherein the wake region includes an off-screen sub-region positioned above an on-screen sub-region, and wherein the animation of the wake target moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region of the wake region to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region of the wake region; and wherein the target moves from the off-screen sub-region to the on-screen sub-region based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the on-screen sub-region; and move the target from the on-screen sub-region to the off-screen sub-region based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the off-screen sub-region.
Chen et al. teach initiating, via the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), an animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of a wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) within a wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards a top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), wherein the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) includes an off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) positioned above an on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205), and wherein the animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of the wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) of the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205) of the wake region Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards the top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205); and the first sub-region being the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) and the second sub-region being the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. with the virtual object of Chen et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. is to allow the user to view objects to appear as if they were sliding onto the screen from off the edge, as taught by Chen et al. (Paragraph 225).
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) moves (Paragraph 423) from the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) to the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1306. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425); and move (Seen in Figures 13A – 13J) the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) from the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) to the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1304. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information indicates an upward (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display and a head movement in an upward direction to follow.) head motion (Paragraph 60) of less than (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the no between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) the threshold (Element Magnitude. Paragraph 60) number of degrees :
forgoing presentation (Paragraph 95) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63); and
maintaining operation of the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) in the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71).
Regarding Claim 6, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) is satisfied when the pose information indicates that a field-of-view (FOV) (Seen in Figure 1A) of the user overlaps at least a portion of the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 7, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 6 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the FOV (Seen in Figure 1A) of the user corresponds to a rectangular bounding region (Figure 1A, Element 150. Paragraph 50) relative to a centroid associated with a head (Figure 1A, Element H. Paragraph 37) of the user of the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 13, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) corresponds to virtual content overlaid on a physical environment (Paragraph 172).
Regarding Claim 14, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) corresponds to virtual content composited with an image frame of a physical environment (Paragraph 172).
Regarding Claim 15, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) corresponds to volumetric or three-dimensional (3D) virtual content (Paragraph 166).
Regarding Claim 16, Rothkopf et al. teach a device comprising:
one or more processors (Figure 1C, Element 121. Paragraph 40);
a non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40);
an interface for communicating with a display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and one or more input devices (Figure 1B, Elements 103 and 135. Paragraph 38); and
one or more programs (Paragraph 40) stored in the non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40), which, when executed by the one or more processors (Figure 1C, Element 121. Paragraph 40), cause the device to:
while operating the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) according to a first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71), obtain head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information associated with a user of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40);
in response to with a first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) of an upward head motion (Paragraph 60) by a threshold (Element Magnitude. Paragraph 60) number of degrees:
present, via the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) within a wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), wherein movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) is initiated in response to the first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80), wherein the virtual object is the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) of the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and the region being the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63); and
obtain a gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) associated with the user of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40); and
in accordance with a second determination that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 424 and 426. Paragraph 81) a second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84), by being directed to the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) for at least a dwell threshold (Paragraph 160) before a timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) exceeds a timeout threshold (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130), transition the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71) to a second mode (Figure 3, Element 330. Paragraph 73) different from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
in accordance with a third determination, that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) has not satisfied the second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) when the timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) has exceeded the threshold timer (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130);
cease presentation (Paragraph 85) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) and
maintain operation of the computing system according to the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
the target being the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to an animation of a wake target within a wake region located towards a top portion of the display device, wherein the wake region includes an off-screen sub-region positioned above an on-screen sub-region, and wherein the animation of the wake target moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region of the wake region to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region of the wake region; and wherein the target moves from the off-screen sub-region to the on-screen sub-region based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the on-screen sub-region; and move the target from the on-screen sub-region to the off-screen sub-region based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the off-screen sub-region.
Chen et al. teach initiating, via the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), an animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of a wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) within a wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards a top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), wherein the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) includes an off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) positioned above an on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205), and wherein the animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of the wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) of the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205) of the wake region Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards the top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. with the virtual object of Chen et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. is to allow the user to view objects to appear as if they were sliding onto the screen from off the edge, as taught by Chen et al. (Paragraph 225).
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) moves from the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) to the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1306. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425); and move (Seen in Figures 13A – 13J) the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) from the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) to the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1304. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the device of claim 16 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) the first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) when a head movement value associated with a change to the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information exceeds a head movement threshold (Paragraph 60).
Regarding Claim 18, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the device of claim 16 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the one or more programs further cause the device to:
in accordance with a determination that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information does not satisfy (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the no between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) the first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80):
forgo presentation (Paragraph 95) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63); and
maintain operation of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) in the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71).
Regarding Claim 20, Rothkopf et al. teach a non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40) storing one or more programs (Paragraph 40), which, when executed by one or more processors (Figure 1C, Element 121. Paragraph 40) of a device with an interface for communicating with a display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and one or more input devices (Figure 1B, Elements 103 and 135. Paragraph 38), cause the device to:
while operating the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) according to a first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71), obtain head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information associated with a user of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40);
in response to a first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) of an upward head motion (Paragraph 60) by a threshold (Element Magnitude. Paragraph 60) number of degrees:
present, via the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) within a wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39), wherein movement of a wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) is initiated in response to the first determination (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) a first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80), wherein the virtual object is the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) of the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) located towards a top portion (Paragraph 63. Rothkopf et al. disclose “For example, the display system 100 may provide a virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual cue and/or an audio cue), which may indicate the availability of content to be provided in the high-power state. Such content may be available based on the user location (e.g., advertising content while in a store), facing direction of the user (e.g., informative content while in a museum), or a signal from an external source (e.g., a communication notification from another person or device; communication from the user location, such as in the store or museum example above). The user responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus (e.g., a visual target), such as an eye movement condition (e.g., focus on a visual cue indicating the availability of content), a head movement condition (e.g., toward the visual cue and/or toward an audio cue), or combination thereof (e.g., turning head toward visual or audio cue, while moving eyes to maintain gaze direction in real space), which are detected by appropriate sensors (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. teaches that the responsive condition may be directionally associated with the virtual stimulus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this means that the virtual stimulus can move around the display, leading to the wake region (including the virtual stimulus) being displayed in the top portion of the display.) of the display device (Figure 1B, Element 114. Paragraph 39) and the region being the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63); and
obtain a gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) associated with the user of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40); and
in accordance with a second determination that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 424 and 426. Paragraph 81) a second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84), by being direct to the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) for at least a dwell threshold (Paragraph 160) before a timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) exceeds a timeout threshold (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130), transition the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71) to a second mode (Figure 3, Element 330. Paragraph 73) different from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
in accordance with a third determination, that the gaze vector (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) has not satisfied the second wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 424 (gaze direction). Paragraphs 82 - 84) when the timeout timer (Element no shown, but is the element that keeps the time for the time lapse. Paragraph 63) has exceeded the threshold timer (Element time lapse. Paragraphs 63 and 130);
ceasing presentation (Paragraph 85) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) and
maintaining operation of the computing system according to the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71); and
the target being the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to an animation of a wake target within a wake region located towards a top portion of the display device, wherein the wake region includes an off-screen sub-region positioned above an on-screen sub-region, and wherein the animation of the wake target moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region of the wake region to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region of the wake region; and wherein the target moves from the off-screen sub-region to the on-screen sub-region based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the on-screen sub-region; and move the target from the on-screen sub-region to the off-screen sub-region based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field that attracts the target toward the off-screen sub-region.
Chen et al. teach initiating, via the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), an animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of a wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) within a wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards a top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205), wherein the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) includes an off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) positioned above an on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205), and wherein the animation (Figures 6E – 6H. Paragraphs 218 – 225) of the wake target (Figures 6G and 6H, Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) moves includes a transition from being entirely within the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) of the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) to being entirely within the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205) of the wake region Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225) located towards the top portion (Seen in Figures 6G and 6H) of the display device (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 600. Paragraph 205).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. with the virtual object of Chen et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. is to allow the user to view objects to appear as if they were sliding onto the screen from off the edge, as taught by Chen et al. (Paragraph 225).
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) moves from the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) to the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a first magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a first simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1306. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425); and move (Seen in Figures 13A – 13J) the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) from the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) to the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) based on activation of a second magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) corresponding to a second simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1304. Paragraph 426) that attracts the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) toward the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425).
Regarding Claim 21, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40) of claim 20 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information satisfies (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the yes between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) the first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) when a head movement value associated with a change to the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information exceeds a head movement threshold (Paragraph 60).
Regarding Claim 22, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the non-transitory memory (Figure 1C, Element 122. Paragraph 40) of claim 20 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the one or more programs (Paragraph 40) further cause the device to:
in accordance with a determination that the head pose (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80) information does not satisfy (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but is the no between Elements 422 and 424. Paragraph 81) the first wake criterion (Figure 4, Element 422 (head movement). Paragraphs 79 - 80):
forgo presentation (Paragraph 95) of the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63); and
maintain operation of the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) in the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71).
Regarding Claim 29, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first simulated magnetic field has a first magnetic field strength value, and wherein the second simulated magnetic field has a second magnetic field strength value.
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the first simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1306. Paragraph 426) has a first magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1306. Paragraph 426), and wherein the second simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1304. Paragraph 426) has a second magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1304. Paragraph 426).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 30, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 29 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach the target being the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first magnetic field strength value is greater than a magnetic field strength value of a first constraining attractor area that maintains the target in the off-screen sub-region before the first determination, and wherein the second magnetic field strength value is greater than a magnetic field strength value of a second constraining attractor area that maintains the target in the on-screen sub-region before the third determination.
Chen et al. teach the first sub-region being the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218) and the second sub-region being the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. with the virtual object of Chen et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. is to allow the user to view objects to appear as if they were sliding onto the screen from off the edge, as taught by Chen et al. (Paragraph 225).
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the first magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1306. Paragraph 426) is greater than a magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1304. Paragraph 426) of a first constraining attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) that maintains the target in the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) before the first determination (Figure 13A. Paragraph 423), and wherein the second magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1304. Paragraph 426) is greater than a magnetic field strength value (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field strength of 1306. Paragraph 426) of a second constraining attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) that maintains the target in the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) before the third determination (Figures 13E – 13I. Paragraph 435).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 31, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach the target being the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to wherein the wake region is associated with one or more constraining attractor areas that attract or repel the wake target to maintain the wake target relative to a corresponding one of the off-screen sub-region or the on-screen sub-region before activation of the first magnetic attractor area or the second magnetic attractor area.
Chen et al. teach the region being the wake region (Figures 6G and 6H, Element not labeled, but is the region of the display that contains Elements 634 and 636. Paragraph 225); the first sub-region being the off-screen sub-region (Seen in Figure 6E. Paragraph 218); and the second sub-region being the on-screen sub-region (Figure 6A – 6M, Element 602. Paragraph 205).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. with the virtual object of Chen et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. is to allow the user to view objects to appear as if they were sliding onto the screen from off the edge, as taught by Chen et al. (Paragraph 225).
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1300. Paragraph 419) is associated with one or more constraining attractor areas (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Elements 1302 – 1308. Paragraph 425) that attract or repel the target (Figures 13A – 13K, Element 1310. Paragraph 425) to maintain the target relative to a corresponding one of the first sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425) or the second sub-region (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) before activation of the first magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1306. Paragraph 425) or the second magnetic attractor area (Figures 13A – 13K, Element not labeled, but is the area around Element 1304. Paragraph 425).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 32, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first simulated magnetic field has a first magnetic flux density value, and wherein the second simulated magnetic field has a second magnetic flux density value.
Zambetti et al. teach wherein the first simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1306. Paragraph 426) has a first magnetic flux density value (Paragraph 426), and wherein the second simulated magnetic field (Figures 13A – 13K, Element magnetic field of 1304. Paragraph 426) has a second magnetic flux density value (Paragraph 426).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al. and the virtual object of Chen et al. with the magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Zambetti et al. is to make it easier to precisely scroll an object to a scroll position within a range of a potential scroll positions to properly align the desired content with the viewable display, as taught by Zambetti et al. (Paragraph 5).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothkopf et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0073122) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0357354) in view of Zambetti et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0370529) in view of Gupta et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0288477).
Regarding Claim 8, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the method of claim 6 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the FOV (Seen in Figure 1A) of the user corresponds to a circular bounding region (Figure 1A, Element 150. Paragraph 50) associated with a head (Figure 1A, Element H. Paragraph 37) of the user of the computing system (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to the bounding region being a circular bounding region with a predefined radius of pixels.
Gupta et al. teach the bounding region being a circular bounding region (Figure 1, Element 116. Paragraph 74) with a predefined radius of pixels (Paragraph 74).
Rothkopf et al. teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of bounding region. Gupta et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of bounding region and their functions were known in the art to provide the bounding region being a circular bounding region with a predefined radius of pixels.
The bounding region of Rothkopf et al. could have been substituted with bounding region as taught by Gupta et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the bounding region being a circular bounding region with a predefined radius of pixels. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 27 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothkopf et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0073122) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0357354) in view of Zambetti et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0370529) in view of Deliz Centeno (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0048680).
Regarding Claim 27, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the non-transitory memory of claim 20 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the one or more programs further cause the device to: the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) from the wake region (Element region where virtual stimulus is displayed. Paragraph 63) being the region after transitioning the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71) to the second mode (Figure 3, Element 330. Paragraph 73).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to display an animation removing the region.
Deliz Centeno teaches display an animation (Paragraphs 35 and 4) removing the region (Figure 2, Element 25. Paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al., the virtual object of Chen et al., and magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. with the virtual object of Deliz Centeno. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al., Chen et al., and Zambetti et al. with the teachings of Deliz Centeno is to reduce the impact of or prevent clipping of the virtual object, as taught by Deliz Centeno (Paragraph 38).
Regarding Claim 28, Rothkopf et al. in view of Chen et al. in view of Zambetti et al. teach the non-transitory memory of claim 20 (See Above). Rothkopf et al. teach wherein the one or more programs further cause the device to: the wake target (Element virtual stimulus. Paragraph 63) being the region after transitioning the device (Figure 1C, Element 120. Paragraph 40) from the first mode (Figure 3, Element 310. Paragraph 71) to the second mode (Figure 3, Element 330. Paragraph 73).
Rothkopf et al. is silent with regards to display a fading out of the region.
Deliz Centeno teaches display a fading out (Paragraphs 35 and 4) of removing the region (Figure 2, Element 25. Paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the wake display system of Rothkopf et al., the virtual object of Chen et al., and magnetic attraction of Zambetti et al. with the virtual object of Deliz Centeno. The motivation to modify the teachings of Rothkopf et al., Chen et al., and Zambetti et al. with the teachings of Deliz Centeno is to reduce the impact of or prevent clipping of the virtual object, as taught by Deliz Centeno (Paragraph 38).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that the prior art of record fails to teach “a wake-target animation that is initiated in response to satisfaction of the first wake criterion, a transition to the second mode when the gaze vector satisfies the second wake criterion before timeout, and return movement of the wake target from the on-screen sub-region to the off-screen sub-region when the second wake criterion has not been satisfied when the timeout timer exceeds the timeout threshold” of newly amended Claim 1. The applicant argues neither the Rothkopf et al. and Chen et al. references teach all parts of the limitation. The applicant further argues that motivation to combine does not explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Rothkopf et al.’s wake up sequence to include the claimed wake-target animation, including timeout-based return of the wake target upon second wake criterion.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner firstly notes applicant's piecemeal analysis of the references, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where, as here, the rejections are based on combinations of references. The examiner further notes that separate motivation for multiple limitations from the same reference need not be provided.
Rothkopf et al. discloses “The user responsive condition may not be directionally associated with the cue, such as a blinking condition (e.g., a long blink and a double blink to accept or reject, respectively, or vice versa). A non-response (e.g., not satisfying the user responsive criterion by not detecting the user responsive condition within a time lapse) may also be used to reject (e.g., confirm intent to not access) the available content (Paragraph 63. Emphasis Added)” Rothkopf et al. further discloses “The wake accuracy of each of the multiple original wake criteria may be determined, for example, according to repeated behavior of the user after operating in the high-power state after satisfying any of the multiple wake criteria. Such user behavior may include user instructions to exit the high-power state or time lapse with no user input (e.g., not satisfying further user wake criteria), both of which may indicate lack of intent and/or undesirable conditions for the high-power state. The wake accuracy may instead or additionally be determined according to subsequent instructions of the user in the high-power state, which may indicate intent and/or desirable conditions for the high-power state. Those of the multiple wake criteria determined to not have low wake accuracy (e.g., determined to have high accuracy) may form the subset of the wake criteria (e.g., M-number). The subset of the wake criteria may also be referred to as learned wake criteria (Paragraph 130. Emphasis Added).” Rothkopf et al. lastly discloses “If the second wake criterion is not satisfied, the second operation 424 may be stopped and the first operation 422 repeated (Paragraph 85. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, Rothkopf et al. teaches that a non-responsive criterion will be used to reject the available content. It is clear from Figure 4 of Rothkopf et al. (Shown below) clearly show that if the first wake criterion is satisfied and the process moves to the second criteria. If the second criteria is not met, then the flow chart will return evaluating the first criteria.
Given the above modification of Rothkopf et al. with the teachings of Chen et al. and Zambetti et al. will teach the time lapse as not meeting the criteria. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are considered moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Osman et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2012/0300061) teach eye gazing in order to alter power states of a device, similar to the instant invention.
Davalos et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0009411) teach an eye and head tracking system similar to the instant invention.
Ratcliff (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0042015) teaches a device where the display switch toggles from a first on screen image to a second on screen image, similar to the instant invention.
Wang et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0154538) teach a simulated magnetic attraction similar to the instant application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 /WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625