DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed June 18, 2026, are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 9 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s claims 1, 9 and 16 recite “unbulky woven fabric”. Applicant’s specification does not provide any parameters defining what an “unbulky woven fabric” is versus a “bulky woven fabric”. The claims dependent upon claims 1, 9 and 16 are rendered indefinite as these claims are dependent upon indefinite claims.
.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2003/0226612.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-11 and 13, Zhu discloses a woven fabric useful in protective apparel made from yarn components comprising a body fabric yarn component, a synthetic ripstop yarn and a cut resistant yarn component wherein the ripstop yarn component comprises a continuous filament yarn made from fire resistant fibers such as poly(p-phenylene terephthamide) [p-aramid] [0008]. Figure 3 shows a fabric with warp and weft [fill] yarn components; ripstop yarn components 10 in the warp and weft [fill] present as every eighth component in the fabric; and body fabric yarn components 11 in the warp and weft [fill]. Figure 3 shows the reinforcing ribs being spaced at regular intervals along the warp and weft [fill] directions of the fabric. Paragraph 0019 discloses that the body fabric yarn components comprise fire-resistant fibers also known as staple or filament fibers. Applicant claims an “unbulky woven fabric”. Applicant’s specification does not provide any parameters defining an “unbulky woven fabric”. Zhu meets the limitations of Applicant’s claims 1-6, 9-13 and 16-22 and would meet the limitations of an “unbulky woven fabric”, without any evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 3, paragraph 0021 discloses that the total denier of the ripstop yarn component is in the range of 200 to 1500 denier.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Figure 3 shows each reinforcing rib comprising a pair of adjacent continuous multi-filament yarns.
Regarding claim 16-19, Zhu discloses a woven fabric useful in protective apparel made from yarn components comprising a body fabric yarn component, a synthetic ripstop yarn and a cut resistant yarn component wherein the ripstop yarn component comprises a textured or bulked continuous filament yarn made from fire resistant fibers such as poly(p-phenylene terephthamide) [p-aramid] [0008]. Figure 3 shows a fabric with warp and weft [fill] yarn components; ripstop yarn components 10 in the warp and weft [fill] present as every eighth component in the fabric; and body fabric yarn components 11 in the warp and weft [fill]. Figure 3 shows the reinforcing ribs being spaced at regular intervals along the warp and weft [fill] directions of the fabric. Paragraph 0019 discloses that the body fabric yarn components comprise fire-resistant fibers also known as staple or filament fibers. Paragraph 0037 discloses an outer layer of fabric [Zhu fabric, a moisture barrier and a thermal liner wherein the moisture barrier is a Crosstechᵀ membrane attached to a Nomex/Kevlar™ [p-aramid] fiber substrate and the thermal liner consists of three spunlaced sheets quilted to a NOMEX™ fiber scrim [nonwoven] Applicant's claim 16 is not specific to the backing layer. Examiner is corresponding the moisture barrier and thermal liner to Applicant's backing layer.
Regarding claims 20-22, Figure 3 shows each reinforcing rib comprising a pair of adjacent continuous multi-filament yarns. Also, Figure 3 shows each reinforcing rib comprising a pair of adjacent continuous multi-filament yarns.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786