Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghal et al. (US 20210033263 A1) in view of McMichael et al. (US 20190385025 A1) and further in view of Moreth et al. (US 7262388 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Moghal teaches a controller for airfield luminaire obstruction detection (Moghal, Para. 2, The advent of light emitting diode (LED) based luminaires has provided sports arenas, stadiums, other entertainment facilities, and other commercial and industrial facilities the ability to achieve instant on-off capabilities, intelligent controls and adjustability while delivering excellent light quality, consistent light output, and improved energy efficiency, therefore other commercial and industrial facilities could be airfield of an airport; Para. 36, the obstruction sensor 115 may analyze the radiation reflected by the optical assembly 111 to detect obstructions due to the presence of elements or objects (e.g., dirt, debris, water, fog, bird droppings, frost, or other objects), comprising: a memory (Moghal, Fig. 5, Memory 510); and a processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory (Moghal, Fig. 5, Processor/Fixture controller 505) to: receive a signal from a light sensor of an airfield luminaire (Moghal, Para. 36, Each lighting module 110 may also include an obstruction sensor 115 for monitoring the conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 based on a pattern of radiation reflected by the optical assembly 111. For example, the obstruction detection sensor 115 may be configured to emit and capture reflected radiation (e.g., infrared (IR) light or near IR light), and comparing the radiation reflected from the optical assembly 111 to known patterns and sequences, in order to monitor and/or determine the conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 in real-time); determine, based on the signal, whether a lens of the airfield luminaire is obstructed by debris (Moghal, Para. 36, Such conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 may be indicative of the presence of obstructions and/or deformities on the optical assembly 111. In example embodiments, the obstruction sensor 115 may analyze the radiation reflected by the optical assembly 111 to detect obstructions due to the presence of elements or objects (e.g., dirt, debris, water, fog, bird droppings, frost, or other objects)); and activate, based on whether the lens is obstructed, corrective or preventive maintenance action (Moghal, Para. 44, the obstruction sensor 115 of the current disclosure may be used for continuous monitoring of the optical assembly 111 of a lighting module 110, and may be configured to cause a processor to provide alerts, prompts, perform automatic restorative actions (e.g., corrective or preventive maintenance action), and/or instructions to prevent and/or reduce severity of damage to a lighting module 110).
Moghal does not teach a temperature signal from a temperature sensor of the airfield luminaire; determine, based on the temperature signal, a temperature of the airfield luminaire; activate, based on whether the lens is obstructed, at least one of a vibration mechanism of the airfield luminaire and a heating mechanism of the airfield luminaire based on a temperature of the airfield luminaire to aid in clearing the debris; and activate, in response to the temperature of the airfield luminaire being greater than a threshold temperature, only the vibration mechanism to aid in clearing the debris.
However, McMichael teaches activate, based on whether the lens is obstructed, at least one of a vibration mechanism of the airfield luminaire and a heating mechanism of the airfield luminaire (McMichael, Fig. 1, Vibratory actuator 126 and Heating element 128; Para. 47-48, Based on such signals 124, the obstruction detection system 118 may be configured to determine the presence of an obstruction on a surface of one or more of the sensors mounted on the vehicle; the obstruction mitigation controller 120 of the example system for mitigating an obstruction 116 is also configured to initiate a correction action intended to mitigate the effects of the obstruction and/or at least partially remove the obstruction from one or more of the sensors 102, 104, or 106. For example, the example system for mitigating an obstruction 116 includes a vibratory actuator 126 and a heating element 128, each configured to mitigate (e.g., reduce or remove) the obstruction on the surface of one or more of the sensors mounted on the vehicle).
Moghal and McMichael are analogous art because they both pertain to obstruction detection system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a vibration mechanism and a heating mechanism for mitigating obstruction (as taught by McMichael) in order to automatically reduce or remove the obstruction on the surface of a lens.
Combination of Moghal and McMichael do not specifically teach a temperature signal from a temperature sensor of the airfield luminaire; determine, based on the temperature signal, a temperature of the airfield luminaire; a heating mechanism of the airfield luminaire based on a temperature of the airfield luminaire to aid in clearing the debris; and activate, in response to the temperature of the airfield luminaire being greater than a threshold temperature, only the vibration mechanism to aid in clearing the debris.
However, Moreth teaches a temperature signal from a temperature sensor of the airfield luminaire (Moreth, Col. 5, lines 29-49, the heater 70 can be activated based on environmental factors such as temperature and humidity and the velocity of the vehicle. if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not; therefore it’s obvious that the vehicle includes a temperature sensor to sense temperature signal); determine, based on the temperature signal, a temperature of the airfield luminaire (Moreth, Col. 5, lines 29-49, the heater 70 can be activated based on environmental factors such as temperature and humidity and the velocity of the vehicle. if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not; temperature of the vehicle also represent the temperature of the headlamp assembly 10); a heating mechanism of the airfield luminaire based on a temperature of the airfield luminaire to aid in clearing the debris (Moreth, Col. 5, lines 29-49, the heater 70 may remain in an "on" condition to prevent the formation of condensation. To increase efficiency, however, the heater 70 can be activated based on environmental factors such as temperature and humidity and the velocity of the vehicle. For example, a controller 80 may be provided that determines whether the heater 70 should be actuated. The controller 80 is electrically coupled to the heater and may be part of a heater control system 5 to control whether the heater 70 is turned on or off. Thus, if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not); and activate, in response to the temperature of the airfield luminaire being greater than a threshold temperature, only the vibration mechanism to aid in clearing the debris (Moreth, Col. 5, lines 38-55, if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not; the heater as being adapted to reduce condensation on the inner surface of the headlamp assembly, it is noted that the heater according to the present invention has the additional advantage of preventing or deicing ice build up on the outer surface of the headlamp assembly; Therefore it’s obvious that the controller turns the heater on based on sensor measuring temperature being less than a threshold temperature that would cause condensation on the inner surface and would not turn the heater on when the sensor measures temperature greater than the threshold temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a temperature sensor to measure environmental factors and activate heater based on temperature sensed by the sensors (as taught by Moreth) resulting in predictable result of always activating the vibration mechanism and activating heating mechanism based on temperature.
In regard to claim 3, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to activate, in response to the temperature of the airfield luminaire being less than a threshold temperature, the vibration mechanism and the heating mechanism to aid in clearing the debris (Moreth, Col. 5, lines 38-55, if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not; the heater as being adapted to reduce condensation on the inner surface of the headlamp assembly, it is noted that the heater according to the present invention has the additional advantage of preventing or deicing ice build up on the outer surface of the headlamp assembly; Therefore it’s obvious that the controller turns the heater on based on sensor measuring temperature being less than a threshold temperature that would cause condensation on the inner surface).
In regard to claim 4, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the controller of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: determine, based on a further signal from the light sensor, whether the lens is obstructed by the debris; and deactivate, in response to the further signal indicating the lens is not obstructed by the debris, the vibration mechanism and the heating mechanism (McMichael, Fig. 12, Para. 126, the process 1200 may include determining whether the obstruction has been mitigated. This may include comparing the obstruction detected at 1204 to any obstruction detected at 1210, and determining whether the obstruction has been mitigated (e.g., the obstruction has been reduced in size and/or effect with respect to affected sensor's ability to sense objects in the environment, or has been removed). If the obstruction has been mitigated, the process 1200 may return to 1202; deactivates the mitigating elements and returns back to monitoring if there is obstruction detected again).
In regard to claim 6, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: determine, based on a further signal from the light sensor, whether the lens is obstructed by the debris; and deactivate, in response to the further signal indicating the lens is not obstructed by the debris, the vibration mechanism (McMichael, Fig. 12, Para. 126, the process 1200 may include determining whether the obstruction has been mitigated. This may include comparing the obstruction detected at 1204 to any obstruction detected at 1210, and determining whether the obstruction has been mitigated (e.g., the obstruction has been reduced in size and/or effect with respect to affected sensor's ability to sense objects in the environment, or has been removed). If the obstruction has been mitigated, the process 1200 may return to 1202; deactivates the mitigating elements and returns back to monitoring if there is obstruction detected again).
In regard to claim 7, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate and transmit an alert in response to the lens being obstructed by the debris (Moghal, Para. 51, the controller may provide an alert to a user (e.g., via a mobile device or display) including information about the obstruction and/or deformity (e.g., type of obstruction or deformity, level of obstruction or deformity, position of obstruction or deformity, or the like). Optionally, the controller may also provide instructions to a user corresponding to potential corrective actions (e.g., clean the optical assembly, replace the optical assembly, turn off power, etc.)).
In regard to claim 9, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the controller is included in the airfield luminaire (Moghal, Fig. 1 and 5; Para. 53, If the electronic device is a lighting device 100, processor 505 may be a component of a fixture controller).
In regard to claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1 as stated above.
In regard to claim 11, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the airfield luminaire of claim 10, wherein the light sensor includes a photosensor and an infrared (IR) light emitting diode (LED) that emits a beam at the lens (Moghal, Para. 36, the obstruction detection sensor 115 may be configured to emit and capture reflected radiation (e.g., infrared (IR) light or near IR light), and comparing the radiation reflected from the optical assembly 111 to known patterns and sequences, in order to monitor and/or determine the conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 in real-time, as described below. Such conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 may be indicative of the presence of obstructions and/or deformities on the optical assembly 111).
In regard to claim 12, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the airfield luminaire of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to determine the lens is obstructed by the debris in response to an amount of light of the beam that is reflected back to the photosensor being greater than a threshold amount (Moghal, Para. 47, the controller may throttle back power/current supplied to one or more LEDs 113 of the lighting module 110 if it is determined that the optical assembly 111 has an obstruction level and/or deformity that is greater than a threshold, The controller may throttle back power supplied to one or more LEDs 113 of the lighting module 110, for example, by decreasing or turning off current supplied to the LEDs 113, by decreasing pulse width modulation (PWM), or a combination thereof).
In regard to claim 14, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the airfield luminaire of claim 10, wherein the vibration mechanism is a solid- state piezo-based actuator (McMichael, Para. 31, the vibratory actuator may include one or more of a voice-coil, a motor, an unbalanced rotational weight, a linear actuator, an ultrasonic transducer, a ring transducer, piezoelectric transducers, pneumatic transducers, MEMS-based transducers, or a rotating magnet).
Claim(s) 8 and 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghal et al. (US 20210033263 A1) in view of McMichael et al. (US 20190385025 A1) and Moreth et al. (US 7262388 B2) and further in view of Chawda et al. (US 20210280040 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth do not teach the controller of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to transmit the alert on a preexisting power cable connected to the airfield luminaire.
However, the concept of using pre-existing power cables for data communication is well known in the art as also taught by Chawda. Chawda teaches each ASD 218-1, 218-2, 218-N can transmit a vibration signal from its corresponding sensor 206-1, 206-2, 206-N to the computing device 214. Each ASD 218-1, 218-2, 218-N can transmit the vibration signal from its corresponding sensor 206-1, 206-2, 206-N to the computing device 214 over pre-existing power cables (e.g., not illustrated in FIG. 2) between the computing device 214 and each ASD 218-1, 218-2, 218-N. For example, the airfield luminaire 202-1 can include sensor 206-1 that detects vibrations experienced by the airfield luminaire 202-1, and the ASD 218-1 can modulate and/or demodulate the vibration signal from the sensor 206-1 and transmit the vibration signal to the computing device 214 (Para. 57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use power cable to transmit information (as taught by Chawda) resulting in predictable result of communicating information with remote location.
In regard to claim 15, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, Moreth, and Chawda teach the airfield luminaire of claim 10, wherein: the airfield luminaire is an inset luminaire that is partially located under a surface of an airfield; and the airfield luminaire further includes a light source to generate light through the lens, where the lens is located above the surface of the airfield (Chawda, Fig. 1, Para. 22-23, The airfield luminaire 102 can include a base 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the base 108 can be recessed into the surface 110 of the airfield. For example, the airfield luminaire 102 may be located on a runway of the airfield, and the base 108 can be recessed into the surface (e.g., concrete) of the runway. The base 108 can secure the luminaire housing 104 to the surface 110 of the airfield. For example, the luminaire housing 104 can be received by the base 108; the luminaire housing 104 can include an electric lamp and an optical window. The electric lamp can emit light through the optical window to provide visual cues and/or signals for an airfield while remaining proximate to the surface 110 of the airfield so as to not be an obstruction to airfield traffic).
In regard to claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 15 as stated above.
In regard to claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 3 as stated above.
In regard to claim 19, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, Moreth, and Chawda teach the medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions to determine whether the lens is obstructed include instructions executable by the processor to: determine the lens is obstructed by the debris in response to light reflected to the light sensor being greater than a threshold amount; and determine the lens is not obstructed by the debris in response to light reflected to the light sensor being less than the threshold amount (Moghal, Para. 36, the obstruction detection sensor 115 may be configured to emit and capture reflected radiation (e.g., infrared (IR) light or near IR light), and comparing the radiation reflected from the optical assembly 111 to known patterns and sequences, in order to monitor and/or determine the conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 in real-time, as described below. Such conditions or properties of the optical assembly 111 may be indicative of the presence of obstructions and/or deformities on the optical assembly 111; Para. 47, the controller may throttle back power/current supplied to one or more LEDs 113 of the lighting module 110 if it is determined that the optical assembly 111 has an obstruction level and/or deformity that is greater than a threshold, The controller may throttle back power supplied to one or more LEDs 113 of the lighting module 110, for example, by decreasing or turning off current supplied to the LEDs 113, by decreasing pulse width modulation (PWM), or a combination thereof).
In regard to claim 20, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth teach the medium of claim 16, wherein the computer readable instructions are executable by the processor to transmit a fault (Moghal, Para. 44, the obstruction sensor 115 of the current disclosure may be used for continuous monitoring of the optical assembly 111 of a lighting module 110, and may be configured to cause a processor to provide alerts, prompts, perform automatic restorative actions (e.g., corrective or preventive maintenance action), and/or instructions to prevent and/or reduce severity of damage to a lighting module 110))
Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth do not teach transmitting a unique address of the airfield luminaire over a preexisting power cable.
However, the concept of transmitting the identity of the luminaire is well known in the art as also taught by Chawda. Chawda teaches transmitting a unique address of the airfield luminaire (Chawda, Para. 29, the airfield luminaire 102 can further include an addressable switch device (ASD). The ASD can transmit identifying information to the computing device 114) over a preexisting power cable (Chawda, Para. 57, Each ASD 218-1, 218-2, 218-N can transmit the vibration signal from its corresponding sensor 206-1, 206-2, 206-N to the computing device 214 over pre-existing power cables (e.g., not illustrated in FIG. 2) between the computing device 214 and each ASD 218-1, 218-2, 218-N). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit identity of the luminaire with the sensor information (as taught by Chawda) resulting in predictable result of luminaires location individually determined for maintenance, allowing for reduced maintenance time and increased safety for maintenance personnel, allowing for an increase in efficiency of airport operations and reduction in costs as compared with previous approaches (Chawda, Para. 15).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghal et al. (US 20210033263 A1) in view of McMichael et al. (US 20190385025 A1) and Moreth et al. (US 7262388 B2) and further in view of Jaccard et al. (US 20100206865 A1).
In regard to claim 13, Combination of Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth do not teach the airfield luminaire of claim 10, wherein the heating mechanism is a solid- state thick-film type resistor.
However, the concept of using a solid- state thick-film type resistor as heater is well known in the art as also taught by Jaccard. Jaccard teaches the heating elements may typically comprise one or more heating resistors, in particular discrete or integrated resistors or thick-film type resistors. Several resistors may also be provided as resistive sections in the same resistive body by providing the resistive body with more than two connection possibilities at various locations of the resistive body whereby several current paths are generated within the same resistive body depending on the connection configurations (Para. 35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known heating element with another (as taught by Jaccard) resulting in predictable result of mitigating obstruction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In that remarks, applicant's argues in substance:
Applicant argues: " Hence, Moreth appears to teach determining whether to activate a heater based on environmental factors such as temperature. However, Moreth does not appear to teach activating, in response to a temperature being greater than a threshold temperature, a vibration mechanism to aid in clearing debris. Hence, Applicant respectfully submits that Moghal, McMichael, and Moreth, either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest activating, in response to the temperature of an airfield luminaire being greater than a threshold temperature, only a vibration mechanism to aid in clearing debris that is obstructing a lens of the airfield luminaire, as presently recited in independent claims 1 and 10.”
Examiner's Response: Examiner respectfully submits that Moreth teaches the heater 70 can be activated based on environmental factors such as temperature and humidity and the velocity of the vehicle. if the vehicle includes sensors to measure environmental factors, the controller 80 may be provided with software that controls whether the heater 70 is turned on or not; temperature of the vehicle also represents the temperature of the headlamp assembly 10. Examiner respectfully submits that it would be obvious to include a temperature sensor along with other sensors to monitor optical assembly of Moghal and McMichael and activate the heating mechanism based on temperature detected by temperature sensor as taught by Moreth.
Conclusion
/SHARMIN AKHTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2689