DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are amended.
Claim 4 is cancelled.
Claims 1-3,5-15 are pending.
Response to argument
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 02/03/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Kim (US10509095 B1) does not disclose or suggest the amended- transmitting a location sharing request of a first vehicle to a second vehicle specifically conditioned on the second vehicle being in a driving state, nor transmitting the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle only after receiving an approval response from that second vehicle to the request.
Office Response:
Please see the new mapping for the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3,5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis for claim 1:
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claim 1 is directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes.
Claim 1 is directed to location sharing server (computer), Claim 8 is directed towards a location sharing system and claim 9 is directed towards a location sharing method. Therefore, claims 1, 8 and 9 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 1:
A location sharing server comprising:
a memory; and
a processor configured to:
receive a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal from a first vehicle;
request a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number;
determine whether the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information;
perform location sharing based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or a mobile terminal, transmit the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to determining that the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information; and
transmit the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the second vehicle to the location sharing request.
Claim 8:
A location sharing system comprising:
a first vehicle configured to transmit a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal; and
a location sharing server configured to: receive the location sharing request with the call number from the first vehicle;
request a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number;
determine, based on the driving state information, whether the second vehicle is in a driving state;
perform location sharing based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal, transmit the location sharing request of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to determining that the other vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information; and
transmit the location of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the other vehicle to the location sharing request.
Claim 9:
A location sharing method of a vehicle comprising:
receiving, by a server, a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal from a first vehicle;
requesting, by the server, a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number;
determining, by the server, whether the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information; and
based on the driving state information, performing, by the server, location sharing such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal, transmitting, by the server, the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to determining that the second vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information; and
transmitting, by the server, the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the second vehicle to the location sharing request.
The method in claim 1 is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. Specifically, the limitations of claim 1 highlighted above merely consist of determining the second vehicle is in driving state or not based on the driving state information and perform location sharing based on the driving state of the second vehicle. These steps are merely an observation of the driving information to detect the driving state of the second vehicle and send request for locations haring based on the driving state of the second vehicle. More specifically, a person can mentally observe the driving state and send request of location sharing based on the driving state of the second vehicle. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Receiving by the server a location sharing request based on call number, requesting by the server a driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number and transmitting by the server the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to approval from the second vehicle. The storage and processor, are merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter. Dependent claims 2-3,5-7 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 1.
As such, claims 1-3,5-15 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6,8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US10509095B1 to Kim (herein after “Kim”) in view of US20200150660A1 to Kim (Sangwon) et al. (herein after “Sangwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses A location sharing server comprising: a memory (see Kim [column 6, lines 4-10]); and a processor configured to (see Kim [column 6 line 64 to column 7 line 5] The vehicle device 100 according to the present embodiment operating as described above may be implemented in the form of an independent hardware device including a memory and a processor for processing each operation and may be driven in the form included in other hardware devices such as a microprocessor or a general purpose computer system.) : receive a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal from a first vehicle ;
request a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number; (see Kim [claim 18] a location sharing method of a vehicle includes steps of: setting, by a location sharing server, a first sharing period of time and a target service node for providing a location sharing service between a vehicle device configured to monitor and provide location information and state information of the vehicle)
determine whether the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information (See Kim [column 9 line 40-43] Firstly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the vehicle device 100 verifies the driving state of a vehicle, when a location sharing service is activated in operation S211.);
However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or a mobile terminal, transmit the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to determining that the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information, transmit the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the second vehicle to the location sharing request. Nevertheless, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or a mobile terminal (See Sangwon para[0084] Here, the external device may be another vehicle, a mobile terminal or a server.),
transmit the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to determining that the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information (See Sangwon para[0009] based on a determination that the at least one autonomous driving condition is not satisfied, maintain a stopped state of the autonomous driving vehicle at the first destination.) ; and
transmit the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the second vehicle to the location sharing request.(See Sangwon paras[0146]-[0149] In addition, the server 820 can search for one or more candidate vehicles based on usage conditions included in the use request, and transmit an “approval request” to the terminal 830 of a vehicle owner of a searched candidate vehicle. The approval request may include usage conditions included in the use request and estimated profits that may be made in the event of approval. Also, the approval request may further include information regarding a subscriber.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 1.Kim discloses wherein the processor is configured to request a first external server to transmit a vehicle ID corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the vehicle ID (see Kim [column 2 line 65 to column 3 line 6] The identification information of the recipient may include at least one or more of vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle device, universal subscriber identity module (USIM) information, a terminal modem serial number, an ID and a password of a user, a telephone number, and a security code arbitrarily generated in advance by the location sharing server.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 1. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is configured to request the first external server to transmit user information corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the user information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to request the first external server to transmit user information corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the user information. (See Sangwon para[0143] Information regarding an owner of the autonomous driving vehicle may include a profile and a contact number of the owner.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 1. Kim discloses wherein the processor is configured to transmit a location of the second vehicle to the first vehicle upon receiving the approval response of the second vehicle to the location sharing request (see Kim column 2 lines 15-20] (13) The vehicle device may be configured to transmit the location information of the vehicle to the location sharing server depending on a driving state of the vehicle in real time or for each period, when the location sharing service is activated upon turning on an ignition of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 1. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal based on the call number, and is configured to transmit the location of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal upon receiving an approval response of the mobile terminal to the location sharing request. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request (See Sangwon abstract the first destination location corresponding to a location of the second external terminal or a pick-up location set by the ride sharing request, ) of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal based on the call number (see Sangwon para[0143] The characteristics of the vehicle may include at least one of a type of the vehicle, an article provided in the vehicle, an available space of a trunk, and an accessory that may be used by the handicapped. Information regarding an owner of the autonomous driving vehicle may include a profile and a contact number of the owner), and is configured to transmit the location of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal upon receiving an approval response of the mobile terminal to the location sharing request(see Sangwon para[0146] In addition, the server 820 can search for one or more candidate vehicles based on usage conditions included in the use request, and transmit an “approval request” to the terminal 830 of a vehicle owner of a searched candidate vehicle. The approval request may include usage conditions included in the use request and estimated profits that may be made in the event of approval. Also, the approval request may further include information regarding a subscriber.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses A location sharing system comprising: a first vehicle configured to transmit a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal (see Kim Abstract A location sharing system of a vehicle includes: a vehicle device configured to monitor and provide location information and state information of the vehicle;); and a location sharing server configured to: receive the location sharing request with the call number from the first vehicle; request a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the other vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number(see Kim [claim 18 ] a location sharing method of a vehicle includes steps of: setting, by a location sharing server, a first sharing period of time and a target service node for providing a location sharing service between a vehicle device configured to monitor and provide location information and state information of the vehicle)
determine, based on the driving state information, whether the second vehicle is in a driving state (See Kim [column 9 line 40-43] Firstly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the vehicle device 100 verifies the driving state of a vehicle, when a location sharing service is activated in operation S211.);
; and perform location sharing based on the driving state information such that a location of the vehicle is shared with the other vehicle (see Kim [column 12,lines 10-20] At this time, the location sharing server 200 authenticates the recipient based on the identification information of the recipient provided from the vehicle device 100 and provides the corresponding service node 300 with shared information at the time of authentication completion., [column 9, lines 20-25] In operation S 190 , the location sharing server 200 transmits the shared information of the vehicle device 100 , that is, state information and/or location information of a vehicle, to the target service node 300 depending on the condition set in operation S 180 ).
However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal, transmit the location sharing request of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to determining that the other vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information, and transmit the location of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the other vehicle to the location sharing request. Nevertheless, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal (See Sangwon para[0084] Here, the external device may be another vehicle, a mobile terminal or a server.),
, transmit the location sharing request of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to determining that the other vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information; (See Sangwon para[0009] based on a determination that the at least one autonomous driving condition is not satisfied, maintain a stopped state of the autonomous driving vehicle at the first destination.)
and transmit the location of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the other vehicle to the location sharing request. (See Sangwon paras[0146]-[0149] In addition, the server 820 can search for one or more candidate vehicles based on usage conditions included in the use request, and transmit an “approval request” to the terminal 830 of a vehicle owner of a searched candidate vehicle. The approval request may include usage conditions included in the use request and estimated profits that may be made in the event of approval. Also, the approval request may further include information regarding a subscriber.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses A location sharing method of a vehicle comprising(see Kim [column 3 lines 22 -25] According to another aspect of the present disclosure, a location sharing method of a vehicle): receiving, by a server, a location sharing request with a call number of a mobile terminal from a first vehicle; requesting, by the server(see Kim [column 6 line 64 to column 7 line 5] The vehicle device 100 according to the present embodiment operating as described above may be implemented in the form of an independent hardware device including a memory and a processor for processing each operation and may be driven in the form included in other hardware devices such as a microprocessor or a general purpose computer system.), a second vehicle to transmit driving state information of the second vehicle based on a vehicle identification number corresponding to the call number(see Kim [claim 18 ] a location sharing method of a vehicle includes steps of: setting, by a location sharing server, a first sharing period of time and a target service node for providing a location sharing service between a vehicle device configured to monitor and provide location information and state information of the vehicle)
determining, by the server, whether the second vehicle is in a driving state based on the driving state information (See Kim [column 9 line 40-43] Firstly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the vehicle device 100 verifies the driving state of a vehicle, when a location sharing service is activated in operation S211.);
; and performing, by the server, location sharing based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is shared with the second vehicle(see Kim [column 12,lines 10-20] At this time, the location sharing server 200 authenticates the recipient based on the identification information of the recipient provided from the vehicle device 100 and provides the corresponding service node 300 with shared information at the time of authentication completion., [column 9, lines 20-25] In operation S 190 , the location sharing server 200 transmits the shared information of the vehicle device 100 , that is, state information and/or location information of a vehicle, to the target service node 300 depending on the condition set in operation S 180 ).
However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach based on the driving state information such that a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal, transmit the location sharing request of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to determining that the other vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information, and transmit the location of the vehicle to the other vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the other vehicle to the location sharing request. Nevertheless, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches a location of the first vehicle is selectively transmitted to either the second vehicle or the mobile terminal (See Sangwon para[0084] Here, the external device may be another vehicle, a mobile terminal or a server.),
, transmitting, by the server, the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to determining that the second vehicle is in the driving state based on the driving state information; (See Sangwon para[0009] based on a determination that the at least one autonomous driving condition is not satisfied, maintain a stopped state of the autonomous driving vehicle at the first destination.)
and transmitting, by the server, the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle in response to receiving an approval response from the second vehicle to the location sharing request. (See Sangwon paras[0146]-[0149] In addition, the server 820 can search for one or more candidate vehicles based on usage conditions included in the use request, and transmit an “approval request” to the terminal 830 of a vehicle owner of a searched candidate vehicle. The approval request may include usage conditions included in the use request and estimated profits that may be made in the event of approval. Also, the approval request may further include information regarding a subscriber.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 9. Kim discloses , further comprising: requesting, by the server, a first external server to transmit a vehicle ID corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the vehicle ID ((see Kim [column 2 line 65 to column 3 line 6] The identification information of the recipient may include at least one or more of vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle device, universal subscriber identity module (USIM) information, a terminal modem serial number, an ID and a password of a user, a telephone number, and a security code arbitrarily generated in advance by the location sharing server.)
; and requesting, by the server, a second external server to transmit the vehicle identification number corresponding to the vehicle ID, thereby receiving the vehicle identification number (see Kim [column 6, lines 25-33] For example, the identification information of the recipient may include at least one or more of unique information of the vehicle terminal (e.g., vehicle identification number (VIN), universal subscriber identity module (USIM) information, a terminal modem serial number, or the like), the ID and password of the user, the telephone number, and the security code arbitrarily generated in advance by the location sharing server 200).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 9. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is configured to request the first external server to transmit user information corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the user information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to request the first external server to transmit user information corresponding to the call number, thereby receiving the user information. (See Sangwon para[0143] Information regarding an owner of the autonomous driving vehicle may include a profile and a contact number of the owner.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 9. Kim discloses wherein performing location sharing comprises: transmitting the location sharing request of the first vehicle upon determining that the second vehicle is in a driving state, based on the driving state information(see Kim [column 2,lines 15-20 The vehicle device may be configured to transmit the location information of the vehicle to the location sharing server depending on a driving state of the vehicle in real time or for each period, when the location sharing service is activated upon turning on an ignition of the vehicle),; and transmitting the location of the first vehicle to the second vehicle upon receiving an approval response of the second vehicle to the location sharing request (see Kim [column 7 lines10-15] (36) At this time, the location sharing server 200 authenticates the recipient based on the identification information of the recipient provided from the vehicle device 100 and provides the corresponding service node 300 with shared information at the time of authentication completion.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 9. Kim discloses wherein performing location sharing further comprises: transmitting a location of the second vehicle to the first vehicle upon receiving the approval response of the second vehicle to the location sharing request. (see Kim column 2 lines 15-20] (13) The vehicle device may be configured to transmit the location information of the vehicle to the location sharing server depending on a driving state of the vehicle in real time or for each period, when the location sharing service is activated upon turning on an ignition of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 9. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal based on the call number, and is configured to transmit the location of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal upon receiving an approval response of the mobile terminal to the location sharing request. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sangwon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request (See Sangwon abstract the first destination location corresponding to a location of the second external terminal or a pick-up location set by the ride sharing request, ) of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal based on the call number (see Sangwon para[0143] The characteristics of the vehicle may include at least one of a type of the vehicle, an article provided in the vehicle, an available space of a trunk, and an accessory that may be used by the handicapped. Information regarding an owner of the autonomous driving vehicle may include a profile and a contact number of the owner), and is configured to transmit the location of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal upon receiving an approval response of the mobile terminal to the location sharing request(see Sangwon para[0146] In addition, the server 820 can search for one or more candidate vehicles based on usage conditions included in the use request, and transmit an “approval request” to the terminal 830 of a vehicle owner of a searched candidate vehicle. The approval request may include usage conditions included in the use request and estimated profits that may be made in the event of approval. Also, the approval request may further include information regarding a subscriber.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Sangwon’s transmitting location sharing request to the second vehicle and based on the approval of the request, transmit the location information in order to allow to improve drivers' convenience, to secure a visual field at night or in a blind spot (see para[0004]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Kim in view of Sangwon and CN 104581640B to Chen (herein after “Chen”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Sangwon remain applied as claim 1. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request to the mobile terminal through a short message service (SMS) comprising uniform resource locator (URL) link information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sangwon teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit the location sharing request to the mobile terminal through a short message service (SMS) comprising uniform resource locator (URL) link information ( see Chen para[0020] Furthermore, the location request instruction or the location sharing request may be sent via a short message or a network application (APP)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Chen’s location sharing request via a short message service to provide vehicle users with a better experience, the Internet of Vehicles system has gradually expanded to users' personal terminals, especially personal mobile terminals or other mobile communication terminals (see Chen para[0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Chen remain applied as claim 9. Kim remains applied as claim 9. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein transmitting the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal is executed to transmit the location sharing request through a short message service (SMS) comprising uniform resource locator (URL) link information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Chen teaches wherein transmitting the location sharing request of the first vehicle to the mobile terminal is executed to transmit the location sharing request through a short message service (SMS) comprising uniform resource locator (URL) link information ( see Chen para[0020] Furthermore, the location request instruction or the location sharing request may be sent via a short message or a network application (APP)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s the location sharing system of a vehicle with Chen’s location sharing request via a short message service to provide vehicle users with a better experience, the Internet of Vehicles system has gradually expanded to users' personal terminals, especially personal mobile terminals or other mobile communication terminals (see Chen para[0005]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666