DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to provisional application 63407473filed on September 16th, 2022 has been accepted.
Drawings
Figures 1-3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinugawa (US 10242898).
With regards to claim 1, Kinugawa discloses an automated wafer carrying pod alignment system (Abstract) comprising: an alignment frame (support mechanism 24) including one or more geometric features (pressing portion 24c) that locate the alignment frame at a pre-determined position relative to a wafer-in-progress (WIP) carrying pod in more than one degree of freedom when the alignment frame is in contact with the WIP carrying pod (Col. 4, L50-61); a digital image capture device (imaging device 13) coupled to the alignment frame, the digital image capture device having a field of view oriented in a direction opposite the WIP carrying pod when the alignment frame is in contact with the WIP carrying pod (Fig. 7. Col. 6, L40-42); one or more computing systems coupled to the alignment frame, the one or more computing systems (control portions, 11a 11b) configured to: receive an image captured by the digital image capture device, wherein an overhead hoist transport (OHT) vehicle is within the field of view of the digital image capture device (Col. 7, L2-11); determine a location of the OHT vehicle within the image (Col. 14, L15-17); determine a positioning error of the OHT vehicle relative to the alignment frame based on the location of the OHT vehicle within the image (Col. 14, L15-17); and communicate the positioning error to the OHT vehicle (Col. 14, L41-45).
With regards to claim 3, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Kinugawa further discloses the one or more computing systems including a wireless communication device (communication portion 10b), the wireless communication device communicatively linked to the overhead transportation vehicle (Col. 6, L47-52), wherein the positioning error is communicated from the wireless communication device to the OHT vehicle (Col. 14, L41-45).
With regards to claim 7, Kinugawa discloses A method (Abstract) comprising: locating an alignment frame (support mechanism 24) on a wafer-in-progress (WIP) carrying pod (Wa in the Figures) at a pre- determined position relative to a wafer-in-progress (WIP) carrying pod (Fig. 1); capturing a digital image (via imaging device 13) including an overhead hoist transport (OHT) vehicle located above the WIP carrying pod (Col. 7, L2-11), wherein the digital image is captured by a digital image capture device coupled to the alignment frame (Col. 14, L12-15); determining a location of the OHT vehicle within the captured image (Col. 14, L15-17); determining a positioning error of the OHT vehicle relative to the alignment frame based on the location of the OHT vehicle within the image (Col. 14, L15-17); and communicating the positioning error to the OHT vehicle (Col. 14, L41-45).
With regards to claim 8, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Kinugawa further discloses adjusting a positioning set point of the OHT vehicle based on the positioning error if the positioning error exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Col. 15, 46-51).
With regards to claim 10, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Kinugawa further discloses wherein the communicating of the positioning error to the OHT vehicle involves a wireless communication device coupled to the alignment frame and communicatively linked to the OHT vehicle (Col. 14, L41-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinugawa.
With regards to claims 2 and 9, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claims 1 and 7, respectively above. Kinugawa does not directly disclose that the power for the OHT and its components comes from a rechargeable battery. However, the examiner takes Official notice that the use of rechargeable batteries of OHT devices is known in the art and is therefore obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in order to make the device be usable in different environments by not having to be plugged in.
With regards to claims 5 and 12, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claims 1 and 7, respectively above. Kinugawa does not directly disclose wherein the determining of the location of the OHT vehicle involves extracting one or more geometric features of the OHT vehicle from the image and determining the pixel locations associated with the one or more features in the image. However, the examiner takes Official notice that detection of object locations via pixels is known in the art and is therefore obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in order to more accurately determine and object’s position.
With regards to claim 6 and 13, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claim 5 and 12 as outlined above. Kinugawa further discloses wherein the one or more geometric features of the OHT vehicle includes one or more geometric features that locate a gripper assembly of the OHT vehicle at a pre-determined position relative to the wafer-in-progress (WIP) carrying pod in more than one degree of freedom when the gripper assembly is in contact with the WIP carrying pod (gripping claws 24a with pressing portion 24c in between).
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinugawa as applied to claims 1 and 7, respectively above, and further in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20240128113), hereafter Shimizu.
With regards to claims 4 and 11, Kinugawa discloses all the elements of claims 1 and 7, respectively above. Kinugawa does not disclose wherein the digital image capture device is a stereo camera.
However, Shimizu discloses an alignment system for an OHT (Abstract) where the digital image capture device is a stereo camera. It would have been obvious to make the imaging device disclosed by Shimizu a stereo camera to reduce interference with other sensors (P0010)
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653