DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 26th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16, 19, 25-26, 30, and 59 remain pending in the application. Claim 17 has been cancelled by the applicant. Claims 67-68 have been newly added by the applicant. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims and Specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 29th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the limitations of the claim have been changed significantly. New grounds of rejection have been issued.
In response to applicant’s on pages 8-9 of the present Remarks, the environmental indicator material as disclosed by Asano is (US 4931420 A), which melts at a predetermined temperature, is equally configured to respond to a temperature excursion below said predetermined temperature for a period of time. Asano’s indicator material will freeze after exposure to temperatures below said predetermined temperature for at least a predetermined period of time. Support for this can be found in at least Asano col. 3 lines 27-38, col. 4 lines 46-55, claim 1, and claim 10.
The words of the claims are given their plain meaning under the broadest reasonable interpretation as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111.01(I)). In the present instance one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Asano’s disclosure of an environmental indicator material that melts above, and therefore freezes below, a threshold temperature anticipates the response to a predetermined environmental temperature as claimed in amended claim 1.
Accordingly, amended claim 1 is rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 line 2 “[…] configured to respond to combination of […]” contains a minor typographical error and should read recites “[…] configured to respond to a combination of […]” or “[…] configured to respond to the combination of […]” depending upon the applicant’s discretion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-3, 12, 16, 19, 25-26, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asano (US 4931420 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Asano discloses (in at least figures 1-4, the description, and the claims) an activatable environmental sensor print medium (fig. 1 and col. 2 lines 15-34: temperature history indicator. See also col. 4 lines 27-32 and col. 6 lines 46-54: indicator utilized in various printing methods), comprising:
a substrate (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 15-20: substrate 3);
an environmental indicator material configured to respond to a predetermined environmental stimulus selected from the group consisting of temperature excursion below a predetermined temperature for at least a predetermined amount of time, exposure to a particular chemical, oxygen exposure, ammonia exposure, exposure to a particular chemical above a threshold concentration, exposure to a particular chemical above the threshold concentration for at least a predetermined amount of time, exposure to at least a predetermined amount of radiation of a particular type, ultraviolet light exposure, humidity exposure, exposure to a humidity level above a predetermined threshold, and exposure to a humidity level above a predetermined threshold for at least a predetermined amount of time (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 27-38: ink composition portions 6 “containing either of a dye-precursor and microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature or microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a temperature and solves a dye-precursor.” See also col. 4 lines 46-55, claim 1, and claim 10. NOTE: Asano’s indicator material, which melts at a predetermined temperature, is equally configured to respond to a temperature excursion below said predetermined temperature. Asano’s indicator material freezes after exposure to temperatures below said predetermined temperature for at least a predetermined period of time.); and
a plurality of microcapsules on or embedded in the substrate, containing the environmental indicator material (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 4 lines 12-26: microcapsules containing portion 9 is “a portion formed directly on the layer 4 or with the barrier 5 interposed between them and containing microcapsules. More specifically, the portion 9 contains at least the ink compositions 6, color developing systems 7 and bonding agent 8 on a same plane.”), wherein:
the microcapsules are configured to respond to at least one of an activation heat and an activation pressure by allowing the environmental indicator material to be released from the microcapsules (col. 7 lines 42-55: “when the microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature are broken prior to bonding the indicator labels to the goods their storage temperature control function can be operated. This breaking of the microcapsules will be hereinafter referred to as label activation. The method of breaking the microcapsules comprises passing the indicator labels through pressure rolls, using impact energy or the like. The labelling device of the installed, portable or hand-treated type having a microcapsule breaking mechanism incorporated therein […]”), and
the environmental indicator material, after being released from the microcapsules, is configured to respond to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus by causing a detectable response (col. 3 lines 28-38: microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound melt at a predetermined temperature are broken (removed) upon activation, and compound solves with a dye-precursor to induce color development/change process, col. 3 lines 39-46: “color development attained when the dye precursor is contacted with the color developer”, col. 13 lines 3-9: “The barrier used for the indicator label of the present invention and made of macromolecule material is intended to control the permeation of the hydrophobic organic compound in the microcapsules and also control the lapse of time during which the color developer and dye-precursor molecule-contact each other and thus start its color development.” See also col. 3 line 56- col. 4 line 6: a subset of the indicator’s microcapsules contain 7 which indicates that the device has been activated properly and all microcapsules have been sufficiently broken).
Regarding Claim 2: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, further comprising an activation indicator material provided in at least a subset of the microcapsules that causes, prior to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus, a change of appearance of the activatable environmental sensor print medium when the environmental indicator material is released from the microcapsules (fig.’s 1-2 and col. 3 lines 47-55: “A color developing system denoted by 7 is provided at a checking area shown by B. The checking area B enables people to easily see that the temperature control function of the indicator label is normally operating. The checking area B is also a color developing portion containing microcapsules which are not sensitive to temperature and it is located not at the color developing area A but preferably in the vicinity thereof.” ).
Regarding Claim 3: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, wherein the detectable response is selected from a group consisting of a color state change, a change in transparency, a change in hue, a change in an electrical property, a change in conductivity, a change in capacitance, movement of the environmental indicator material along the substrate, and combinations thereof (col. 3 lines 39-46: “The indicator label of the present invention can be judged by eyes under visible light and this judging is based on the color development attained when the dye-precursor is contacted with the color developer. The term "color development" means that tone of color changes from colorless to colored, but the color changes its density, and that tone of color changes from a color to other colors.”).
Regarding Claim 12: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, wherein the microcapsules are configured to respond to combination of the activation heat and the activation pressure provided by a direct thermal print head by rupturing, allowing the environmental indicator material to be released from the microcapsules (col. 7 lines 42-55: microcapsules are configured to be broken by a printer device prior to activation and contain heat responsive compounds. That is, the microcapsules pressure and temperature activated configuration is compatible with that which is provided by a direct thermal print head.)
Regarding Claim 16: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, wherein the predetermined environmental stimulus is exposure, humidity exposure, exposure to a humidity level above a predetermined threshold, or exposure to a humidity level above a predetermined threshold for at least a predetermined amount of time (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 27-38: ink composition portions 6 “containing either of a dye-precursor and microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature or microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a temperature and solves a dye-precursor.” See also col. 4 lines 46-55, claim 1, and claim 10. NOTE: Asano’s indicator material responds after exposure to a predetermined temperature which, by definition, is an “exposure” as claimed.).
Regarding Claim 19: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, wherein the microcapsules comprise a material selected from a group consisting of a gel, a protein, a wax material, emulsions, polyurea formaldehyde, polymelamine formaldehyde, and combinations thereof (col. 15 lines 1-12: Microcapsules as disclosed by Asano explicitly comprise a polymelamine formaldehyde and further compounds from the group as claimed. See also col. 8 lines 14-29: compound enclosed by microcapsules comprise a gel.).
Regarding Claim 25: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, further disclosing microcapsules wherein the microcapsules have an outer diameter length between 20 to 250 µm (col. 15 lines 1-12: Standard microcapsules, including those disclosed by Asano, explicitly have an outer diameter length between 20 to 250 µm. See also fig. 5, col. 7 lines 10-25, col. 8 lines 10-14, col. 15 lines 13-25: the substrate, sections of the indicator containing the microcapsules and, compounds used in their arrangement is on the order of 20-200µm).
Regarding Claim 26: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, where the microcapsules respond to the at least one of the activation heat and the activation pressure by becoming porous (col. 7 lines 42-55: “when the microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature are broken prior to bonding the indicator labels to the goods their storage temperature control function can be operated. This breaking of the microcapsules will be hereinafter referred to as label activation. The method of breaking the microcapsules comprises passing the indicator labels through pressure rolls, using impact energy or the like. The labelling device of the installed, portable or hand-treated type having a microcapsule breaking mechanism incorporated therein […]” NOTE: As cited, Asano teaches breaking the microcapsules such that they are punctured and allow liquid exchange between their internal cavities and the surrounding environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this breaking anticipates the limitation of “becoming porous” as claimed.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 20080056329 A1).
Regarding Claim 4: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 3, wherein the environmental indicator material is configured to respond to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus (col. 3 lines 27-38)
Asano does not explicitly disclose wherein the material responds by migrating along the substrate.
Smith discloses an analogous art (fig.’s 4-7, par. 3 and par.’s 39-40 : temperature exposure indicator integrated into label 100) comprising an indicator material configured to respond to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus (fig. 4 and par. 44: solid, heat-fusible indicator material in reservoir 112) wherein the material responds by migrating along the substrate (fig. 4 and par.’s 43-44: “When indicator 100 is exposed to a temperature above the threshold of the melting point of the heat-fusible indicator material in reservoir 112, the indicator material will begin to melt. If the exposure is of sufficient duration, liquefied indicator material travels along wick 110 to viewing window 108 where its presence indicates the above-threshold temperature exposure event.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asano’s environmental indicator material to, as taught by Smith, respond to stimulus by migrating along the substrate thereby providing an indication of the specific duration of an exposure that is clearly visible long after the exposure event occurred (Smith par.’s 3-4 and par.’s 8-9).
Regarding Claim 6: Asano and Smith disclose the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 4, and Smith further discloses wherein the environmental indicator material further includes a colorant that migrates together with the environmental indicator material (Smith fig. 4 and par. 45: “[…] the solid indicator material can include a dye or other colorant to improve the viewability of the melted material in viewing window 108. Desirably, the colored melted reservoir material has an appearance that contrasts with opaque coating 104.”).
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 4.
Regarding Claim 7: Asano and Smith disclose the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 6, and Asano discloses the medium further comprising an activation indicator material provided in at least a subset of the microcapsules that causes a change of appearance of the activatable environmental sensor print medium when the environmental indicator material is released from the microcapsules, the activation indicator material including a second colorant that is visually distinguishable from the colorant (Asano fig.’s 1-2 and col. 3 lines 47-55: “A color developing system denoted by 7 is provided at a checking area shown by B. The checking area B enables people to easily see that the temperature control function of the indicator label is normally operating. The checking area B is also a color developing portion containing microcapsules which are not sensitive to temperature and it is located not at the color developing area A but preferably in the vicinity thereof.” See also col. 5 lines 60-65).
Regarding Claim 8: Asano and Smith disclose the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 7, and Smith discloses the medium further comprising a wick on or in the substrate, and positioned to allow the released environmental indicator material and the colorant to migrate along the wick (fig. 4 and par.’s 43-44: wick 110).
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 4.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 20010056038 A1).
Regarding Claim 13: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the activation heat is between 90°C and 110°C.
Suzuki discloses an analogous art (fig. 5 and par. ) comprising microcapsules (fig. 5 and par. : microcapsules 18 embedded in color developing layer 14) wherein the activation heat is between 90°C and 110°C (par. 11, par. 58, and par.’s 69-70: microcapsules 18 containing magenta dye are activated when heated above their melting point of 90°C by resistance elements of thermal printing head 301. See also par. 11, par. 16 and par. 64 : thermal image-forming medium activates a variety of microcapsule-enclosed pigment compounds with activation temperatures at or around 100°C ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asano’s activation heat to be between 90°C and 110°C, as taught by Suzuki, to be better suited for use with a thermal printer head and allowing said thermal printer head to operate at lower temperatures with higher thermal efficiency (Suzuki par. 11. See also par.’s 4-6).
Regarding Claim 14: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation pressure is between 1.5 to 8 pounds per inch.
Suzuki discloses an analogous art (fig. 5 and par. ) comprising microcapsules (fig. 5 and par. : microcapsules 18 embedded in color developing layer 14) wherein the activation pressure is 0.2MPa (approximately 29psi) (par. 48 and par. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asano’s activation pressure to be 0.2MPa, as taught by Suzuki, to be better suited for use with a thermal printer head and allowing said thermal printer head to operate at lower temperatures with higher thermal efficiency (Suzuki par. 11. See also par.’s 4-6. Note: As disclosed in par.’s 69-70, activation pressure is supplied by the thermal electric resistance element. The comparatively low activation pressure allows the printer to operate at lower, more efficient temperatures.).
The embodiment of claim 14 including wherein the activation pressure is between 1.5 to 8 pounds per inch is an obvious variant of the embodiment disclosed by Asano and Suzuki, wherein the activation pressure is above 0.2MPa (about 29psi). As disclosed in the Specification par.’s [00109], the activation pressure is between 1.5 to 8 pounds per inch in order to be compatible with a “ZT100 direct thermal printer.” (See also paragraph [00109] of the Specification: “the activation pressure ranges given are purely exemplary and the microcapsules 104 can be formed to respond to other pressure ranges.”) Suzuki discloses that the 0.2MPa activation pressure is set in order to be compatible specifically with a multi-color thermal line-printer (Suzuki fig.’s 3-4 and par. 60-66). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set the activation pressure according to the specific capabilities of the desired thermal printer.
Regarding Claim 15: Asano discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the activation heat is between 100°C and 200°C and the activation pressure is between 4 to 15 pounds per inch.
Suzuki discloses an analogous art (fig. 5 and par. ) comprising microcapsules (fig. 5 and par. : microcapsules 18 embedded in color developing layer 14) wherein the activation heat is between 90°C and 110°C (par. 11, par. 58, and par.’s 69-70: microcapsules 18 containing magenta dye are activated when heated above their melting point of 90°C by resistance elements of thermal printing head 301. See also par. 11, par. 16 and par. 64 : thermal image-forming medium activates a variety of microcapsule-enclosed pigment compounds with activation temperatures at or around 100°C ) and the activation pressure is 0.2MPa (approximately 29psi) (par. 48 and par. 66).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asano’s activation heat to be between 90°C and 110°C and for Asano’s activation pressure to be 0.2MPa, as taught by Suzuki, to be better suited for use with a thermal printer head and allowing said thermal printer head to operate at lower temperatures with higher thermal efficiency (Suzuki par. 11. See also par.’s 4-6. Note: As disclosed in par.’s 69-70, activation pressure is supplied by the thermal electric resistance element. The comparatively low activation pressure allows the printer to operate at lower, more efficient temperatures.).
The embodiment of claim 15 including wherein the activation pressure is between 1.5 to 8 pounds per inch is an obvious variant of the embodiment disclosed by Asano and Suzuki, wherein the activation pressure is above 0.2MPa (about 29psi). As disclosed in the Specification par.’s [00109], the activation pressure is between 1.5 to 8 pounds per inch in order to be compatible with a “ZT100 direct thermal printer.” (See also paragraph [00109] of the Specification: “the activation pressure ranges given are purely exemplary and the microcapsules 104 can be formed to respond to other pressure ranges.”) Suzuki discloses that the 0.2MPa activation pressure is set in order to be compatible specifically with a multi-color thermal line-printer (Suzuki fig.’s 3-4 and par. 60-66). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set the activation pressure according to the specific capabilities of the desired thermal printer.
Claims 5, 9-11, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horii (US 20210096114 A1) and .
Regarding Claim 30: Asano discloses an (in at least figures 1-4, the description, and the claims) activatable environmental sensor print medium (fig. 1 and col. 2 lines 15-34: temperature history indicator. See also col. 4 lines 27-32 and col. 6 lines 46-54: indicator utilized in various printing methods), comprising:
a substrate (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 15-20: substrate 3);
an environmental indicator material configured to respond to a predetermined environmental stimulus (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 27-38: ink composition portions 6 “containing either of a dye-precursor and microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature or microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a temperature and solves a dye-precursor.”); and
a plurality of microcapsules on or embedded in the substrate, containing the environmental indicator material (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 4 lines 12-26: microcapsules containing portion 9 is “a portion formed directly on the layer 4 or with the barrier 5 interposed between them and containing microcapsules. More specifically, the portion 9 contains at least the ink compositions 6, color developing systems 7 and bonding agent 8 on a same plane.”), wherein:
the microcapsules are configured to respond to at least one of an activation heat and an activation pressure by allowing the environmental indicator material to be released from the microcapsules (col. 7 lines 42-55: “when the microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature are broken prior to bonding the indicator labels to the goods their storage temperature control function can be operated. This breaking of the microcapsules will be hereinafter referred to as label activation. The method of breaking the microcapsules comprises passing the indicator labels through pressure rolls, using impact energy or the like. The labelling device of the installed, portable or hand-treated type having a microcapsule breaking mechanism incorporated therein […]”), and
the environmental indicator material, after being released from the microcapsules, is configured to respond to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus by causing a detectable response (col. 3 lines 28-38: microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound melt at a predetermined temperature are broken (removed) upon activation, and compound solves with a dye-precursor to induce color development/change process, col. 3 lines 39-46: “color development attained when the dye precursor is contacted with the color developer”, col. 13 lines 3-9: “The barrier used for the indicator label of the present invention and made of macromolecule material is intended to control the permeation of the hydrophobic organic compound in the microcapsules and also control the lapse of time during which the color developer and dye-precursor molecule-contact each other and thus start its color development.” See also col. 3 line 56- col. 4 line 6: a subset of the indicator’s microcapsules contain 7 which indicates that the device has been activated properly and all microcapsules have been sufficiently broken).
Asano does not explicitly disclose an electrical component or wherein the material responds by migrating along the substrate causing a detectable response by changing an electrical property of the electrical component.
Horii discloses an analogous art (fig.’s 1A-3, fig.’s 7-8, par.’s 42-51, and par.’s 76-79: thermal history detection label) comprising an electrical component operably coupled to a substrate (fig.’s 7-8 and par. 76: determination unit 30) and an indicator material configured to respond to exposure to the predetermined environmental stimulus wherein the material responds by migrating along the substrate (fig.’s 1A-3 and par. 44: “permeating material 10 reaches a predetermined temperature or higher, the permeating material melts and begins to permeate the permeation body 20. Since the viscosity changes depending on the temperature, the permeating material 10 may be in a solid-liquid mixed state at a predetermined temperature and may be in a completely liquid state at a temperature higher than the predetermined temperature”. See also par. 46 and par.’s 51-52) causing a detectable response by changing an electrical property of the electrical component (par. 76: “determination unit 30 which can be reached by the permeating material 10 via permeation within the permeating body 20, and which can be distinguished by contact with the permeating material 10 that has reached the determination unit 30.” See par. 79: “unit 30 makes a detectable change in, for example, an optical state, an electrical state, a magnetic state, or the like due to the contact with the permeating material 10”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asano’s environmental indicator material to, as taught by Horii, respond to stimulus by migrating along the substrate and include an electrical component that detects said migration thereby providing an indication of the specific duration of an exposure that is clearly visible long after the exposure event occurred (Horii par.’s 51-52) and that is electronically verifiable (Horii par.’s 76-79).
Regarding Claim 5: Asano and Horii disclose the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 30, and Asano discloses wherein the environmental indicator material further comprises a meltable solid configured to melt in response to a predetermined temperature above a threshold, forming a liquid (fig.’s 2-3 and col. 3 lines 27-38: ink composition portions 6 “containing either of a dye-precursor and microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a predetermined temperature or microcapsules enclosing a hydrophobic organic compound which melts at a temperature and solves a dye-precursor.”)
Asano does not explicitly disclose wherein said fluid migrates along the substrate.
Hori further discloses wherein a meltable solid configured to melt in response to a predetermined temperature above a threshold, forming a liquid that migrates along the substrate for at least a predetermined distance when remaining at a temperature above the threshold for at least a predetermined time period (fig.’s 1A-3 and par. 44-46. See par. 51: “[…]the thermal history detection label 100 is designed so that a first thermal history of the first thermal history pattern of a first reference temperature and a first accumulation time can be detected, and a thermal history of a second thermal history pattern of a second reference temperature and a second accumulation time can be detected […] since the permeating material 10 includes a material having a plurality of melting points in the present embodiment, however, the accumulation time can be set separately at each of the plurality of reference temperatures.” See also par.’s 52-53).
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 30.
Regarding Claim 9: Asano and Horii disclose the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 30, wherein the environmental indicator material comprises a gel configured to, in response to a predetermined temperature above a threshold, change viscosity when remaining at a temperature above the threshold for at least a predetermined time period (Asano col. 8 lines 14-29: the hydrophobic organic compound contained the microcapsules “can change from solid to liquid and vice versa responsive to the environmental temperature in the microcapsules and wherein when they are forced out of the microcapsules and the temperature is lower than a predetermined value, they are left solid or semi-solid but when the temperature is higher than the predetermined value, they behave like solution.” Note: a ‘semi-solid’ is another term for gel).
Asano does not disclose wherein the material migrates along the substrate for at least a predetermined distance.
Horii discloses wherein the material migrates along the substrate for at least a predetermined distance when the material remains at a temperature above the threshold for at least a predetermined time period (fig.’s 1A-3 and par. 44-46. See par. 51: “[…]the thermal history detection label 100 is designed so that a first thermal history of the first thermal history pattern of a first reference temperature and a first accumulation time can be detected, and a thermal history of a second thermal history pattern of a second reference temperature and a second accumulation time can be detected […] since the permeating material 10 includes a material having a plurality of melting points in the present embodiment, however, the accumulation time can be set separately at each of the plurality of reference temperatures.” See also par.’s 52-53).
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 30.
Regarding Claim 10: Asano and Horii discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 9, and Asano discloses wherein the environmental indicator material includes colorant and a gel (Asano fig.’s 2-3, col. 4 lines 12-26, and col. 8 lines 14-29 ).
Asano does not disclose wherein the indicator material migrates.
Horii discloses an environmental indicator material that migrates together (Horii fig.’s 1A-3 and par. 44: “permeating material 10 reaches a predetermined temperature or higher, the permeating material melts and begins to permeate the permeation body 20. Since the viscosity changes depending on the temperature, the permeating material 10 may be in a solid-liquid mixed state at a predetermined temperature and may be in a completely liquid state at a temperature higher than the predetermined temperature”. See also par. 46 and par.’s 51-52).
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 30.
Regarding Claim 11: Asano and Horii discloses the activatable environmental sensor print medium of claim 10, and Horii discloses the medium further comprising a wick on or in the substrate, and positioned to allow the released environmental indicator material and the colorant to migrate along the wick (par. 46: “The permeation body 20 configured by, for example, an aggregate of fibers such as paper and non-woven fabric, or a porous material. The permeation body 20 may be any absorptive material that allows the permeating material 10 to easily permeate.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 59 and 67-68 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Although the prior art teaches a method of activating an environmental sensor print medium, the prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of claim 59 including applying a combination of an activation heat heating the microcapsules to at least a predetermined temperature and a predetermined activation pressure applied to the plurality of microcapsules thereby allowing the environmental indicator material to be released from the microcapsules, (Claim 59 lines 4-7), including all the numerical and structural limitations recited together in combination with the totality of particular features/limitations recited therein, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Claims 67-68 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 59.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Bushman (US 20220151266 A1) discloses the medium according to claim 1-3.
Haas (US 5822280 A) discloses the medium according to claim 1-3.
Bommarito (US 6741523 B1) discloses the medium according certain limitations of claims 1-11.
Hof (US 4362645 A) discloses the medium according certain limitations of claims 1-11.
Park (US 20110214602 A1) discloses the medium according to claim 1-3 and certain limitations of claims 2-11.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855