DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 9/18/23 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 12, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0272789), herein Wang.
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a discontinuous reception method, performed by a first terminal and comprising:
performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception for a second terminal according to first indication information and/or first configuration information for discontinuous reception, wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a timer, the timer is used to indicate whether the first terminal needs to monitor control signaling and/or data from the second terminal (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2). The configuration information may be associated with one or more preconfigured parameters that may be updated by RRC signaling (e.g., layer 1 (L1) or L2 signaling) from the other UE 115 or the base station 105. The configuration information may provide parameters for the operation of the sidelink DRX mode, which may include one or more of the parameters described herein. For example, the configuration information may include an indication of the inactivity timer 335, the offset 340, and the slot offset 345, among other parameters. The configuration information may also include a parameter indicating an amount of monitoring time (e.g., on time) for a DRX cycle (e.g., a sl-drx-onDurationTimer parameter), and
the first indication information comprises sidelink control information and is used to indicate the first terminal to receive a first resource for initial transmission and retransmission and/or a feedback resource (Wang [0097] Based on the configuration information 215, a UE 115 may enter a corresponding sidelink DRX mode and may perform communication techniques in the sidelink DRX mode based on one or more parameters of the sidelink DRX configuration. In the sidelink DRX mode, the UE 115 may refrain from interrupting a sleep state to transmit or receive information (e.g., sidelink communications or transmissions). [0106] one or more timers indicating a duration before a retransmission grant is expected
As to claim 17, Wang teaches a discontinuous reception method, performed by a second terminal and comprising:
performing resource selection or reselection based on first configuration information for discontinuous reception and/or a resource on which feedback information is located (Wang [0115] Based on the one or more preferences (e.g., and other signaling), UE 115-g may determine or select a sidelink DRX configuration and may transmit, at 530, an indication of associated configuration information to UE 115-h (e.g., may perform a unicast transmission on a PC5 interface);
wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a timer, and the timer is used to indicate whether a first terminal needs to monitor control signaling and/or data from the second terminal (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2). The configuration information may be associated with one or more preconfigured parameters that may be updated by RRC signaling (e.g., layer 1 (L1) or L2 signaling) from the other UE 115 or the base station 105. The configuration information may provide parameters for the operation of the sidelink DRX mode, which may include one or more of the parameters described herein. For example, the configuration information may include an indication of the inactivity timer 335, the offset 340, and the slot offset 345, among other parameters. The configuration information may also include a parameter indicating an amount of monitoring time (e.g., on time) for a DRX cycle (e.g., a sl-drx-onDurationTimer parameter)
As to claim 2, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception for a second terminal according to first indication information and/or first configuration information for discontinuous reception comprises:
in a case that the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first timer and/or configuration information of a second timer, performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception based on the first timer (Wang [0126] In some cases, a transmitting UE 115 and a receiving UE 115 may coordinate sidelink monitoring occasions 750 within active durations 730, for example, to support transmission and reception of sidelink information. The UEs 115 may refrain from monitoring or communicating in the inactive durations 735, as described herein);
wherein the first timer is used to indicate that the first terminal does not need to monitor the control signaling and/or data from the second terminal during running of the first timer, the configuration information of the first timer comprises a first duration used for indicating a timing length of the first timer, and the second timer is used to indicate that the first terminal needs to monitor the control signaling and/or data from the second terminal during running of the second timer (Wang [0126] In some cases, a transmitting UE 115 and a receiving UE 115 may coordinate sidelink monitoring occasions 750 within active durations 730, for example, to support transmission and reception of sidelink information. The UEs 115 may refrain from monitoring or communicating in the inactive durations 735, as described herein);
As to claim 3, Wang teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first duration is determined based on at least one of the following:
duration between two adjacent first resources;
duration between a resource for sending feedback information and a next first resource;
configuration made by a base station (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2);
specification by protocol; or
configuration made by the second terminal.
As to claim 4, Wang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception based on the first timer comprises:
starting the first timer at a first time (Wang Fig. 4A inactive duration); and
starting the second timer after the first timer exceeds the first duration (Wang Fig. 4A active duration);
wherein the first time is after at least one of the following time: the (n-1)-th first resource; a first quantity of symbols or slots after the (n-1)-th first resource;
a resource on which feedback information sent for the (n-1)-th first resource is located; or
a second quantity of symbols or slots after the resource on which the feedback information sent for the (n-1)-th first resource is located.
As to claim 6, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception for a second terminal according to first indication information and/or first configuration information for discontinuous reception comprises:
in a case that the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a second timer, performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception based on the second timer (Wang [0126] In some cases, a transmitting UE 115 and a receiving UE 115 may coordinate sidelink monitoring occasions 750 within active durations 730, for example, to support transmission and reception of sidelink information. The UEs 115 may refrain from monitoring or communicating in the inactive durations 735, as described herein);
wherein the second timer is used to indicate that the first terminal needs to monitor the control signaling and/or data from the second terminal during running of the second timer (Wang [0126] In some cases, a transmitting UE 115 and a receiving UE 115 may coordinate sidelink monitoring occasions 750 within active durations 730, for example, to support transmission and reception of sidelink information. The UEs 115 may refrain from monitoring or communicating in the inactive durations 735, as described herein);
As to claim 7, Wang teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the performing sidelink-based discontinuous reception based on the second timer comprises: starting the second timer on the n-th first resource, wherein a second duration of the second timer is determined based on at least one of the following:
length of the first resource;
configuration made by a base station (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2);
specification by protocol; or
configuration made by the second terminal.
As to claim 12, Wang teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein after the starting the first timer, the method further comprises:
after second indication information is received from the base station or the second terminal, stopping the first timer and monitoring control signaling and/or data (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2). The configuration information may be associated with one or more preconfigured parameters that may be updated by RRC signaling (e.g., layer 1 (L1) or L2 signaling) from the other UE 115 or the base station 105);
wherein the second indication information is used for at least one of the following:
indicating that the second terminal has performed a resource selection or reselection process; indicating that the second terminal has triggered a resource selection or reselection process due to pre-emption;
indicating that the second terminal has triggered a resource selection or reselection process due to re-evaluation;
indicating monitoring control signaling and/or data (Wang [0107] For example, DRX configurations 401, 402, and 403 may represent a sidelink DRX configuration and may be implemented by a UE 115 to determine to monitor or refrain from monitoring a sidelink channel (e.g., for one or more sidelink communications 430);
indicating turning off the first timer;
indicating starting the second timer;
indicating that a resource selected by the second terminal is at least partially different from a previously selected resource; or
indicating that the second terminal has cancelled at least part of previously reserved resources.
As to claim 16, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information is determined by at least one of the following: the first terminal; a first base station corresponding to the first terminal (Wang [0106] Configuration information (e.g., a SL-DRX-Config information element) for the sidelink DRX mode may be received from another UE 115 or a base station 105 (e.g., as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2);
the second terminal; or a second base station corresponding to the second terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Shin et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0295514), herein Shin.
As to claim 18, Wang teaches the method according to claim 17,
Wang does not teach
wherein the performing resource selection or reselection based on first configuration information for discontinuous reception and/or a resource on which feedback information is located comprises:
in a case that the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first timer and/or configuration information of a second timer, determining a position of a second resource based on the first timer and/or the resource on which the feedback information is located, wherein the second resource is a transmission resource corresponding to a time of running the first timer of the first terminal; and
selecting a transmission resource other than the second resource in a resource selection or reselection process.
However Shin does teach
wherein the performing resource selection or reselection based on first configuration information for discontinuous reception and/or a resource on which feedback information is located comprises:
in a case that the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first timer and/or configuration information of a second timer, determining a position of a second resource based on the first timer and/or the resource on which the feedback information is located, wherein the second resource is a transmission resource corresponding to a time of running the first timer of the first terminal (Shin [0110] FIG. 7 illustrates an example in which triggering for resource (re-)selection is made at time n [0018] In accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, a method for transmitting sidelink data by a first UE, in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication between the first UE and a second UE includes identifying configuration information including information associated with discontinuous reception (DRX) for the sidelink communication, and transmitting, in case that the second UE performs a DRX operation, the sidelink data to the second UE in a DRX active time, the DRX active time of the second UE being identified based on the configuration information and Fig. 11A); and
selecting a transmission resource other than the second resource in a resource selection or reselection process (Shin [0110] Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource and [0110] Continuous sensing by the UE may be performed in a manner of configuring multiple sensing windows in parallel or sequentially. Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource. FIG. 7 illustrates the sensing window 704 and the resource selection window 705 together for time n′ (n′>n) when reevaluation and preemption are triggered.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with Shin, because Shin teaches us [0110] when the UE determines that the resource selected by continuously performing sensing after a transmission resource is selected as triggering for resource (re)selection is made at time n is inappropriate for transmission, reevaluation may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n).
As to claim 19, the combination of Wang and Shin teach the method according to claim 18, wherein in a case that the n-th first resource having been occupied, due to pre-emption or re-evaluation, is detected, a transmission resource prior to the n-th first resource is not selected during resource reselection (Shin [0110] Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource and [0110] Continuous sensing by the UE may be performed in a manner of configuring multiple sensing windows in parallel or sequentially. Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource. FIG. 7 illustrates the sensing window 704 and the resource selection window 705 together for time n′ (n′>n) when reevaluation and preemption are triggered.; wherein skipping selecting the transmission resource prior to the n-th first resource during resource reselection comprises: setting a length between a start position of a resource selection window during resource reselection and a trigger time of the resource reselection, so that the second terminal does not select the transmission resource prior to the n-th first resource during resource reselection (Shin [0110] eevaluation may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Shin for the same reasons stated in claim 18.
As to claim 20, the combination of Wang and Shin teach the method according to claim 17, wherein the performing resource selection or reselection based on first configuration information for discontinuous reception and/or a resource on which feedback information is located comprises:
in a case that configuration information of a first timer is determined based on first indication information, determining a position of a second resource based on first information, wherein the second resource is a transmission resource corresponding to a time period in which the first terminal does not need to monitor control signaling and/or data; and
selecting a transmission resource other than the second resource in a resource selection or reselection process (Shin [0110] Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource and [0110] Continuous sensing by the UE may be performed in a manner of configuring multiple sensing windows in parallel or sequentially. Preemption for resource change (reselection) may be triggered at time n′ (n′>n) when the resource reserved by the UE overlaps a resource reserved by another UE, and the resource reserved by the other UE has higher priority and interference with the corresponding resource is measured high. In such a case, the resource 703 selected and reserved by the resource (re)selection at time n may be changed (706) to another resource. FIG. 7 illustrates the sensing window 704 and the resource selection window 705 together for time n′ (n′>n) when reevaluation and preemption are triggered.
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: first indication information Shin [0110] FIG. 7 illustrates an example in which triggering for resource (re-)selection is made at time n [0018] In accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, a method for transmitting sidelink data by a first UE, in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication between the first UE and a second UE includes identifying configuration information including information associated with discontinuous reception (DRX) for the sidelink communication, and transmitting, in case that the second UE performs a DRX operation, the sidelink data to the second UE in a DRX active time, the DRX active time of the second UE being identified based on the configuration information and Fig. 11A
positions of an initial-transmission resource and a retransmission resource selected during last resource selection; or
a position of the resource on which the feedback information is located.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-11 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467