DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-11, is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites: “the rear wheels are located a first distance from the frame when the frame is in a deployed position; and the rear wheels are located a second distance from the frame in the collapsed position, where the second distance is less than the first distance.” The wheels are mounted onto frame component 110. Because the rear wheels are mounted to the frame, the distance between the rear wheel and frame does not change. It is unclear how the distance of the wheels from the frame changes when changing positions. Is the distance measured between the wheel a specific part of the frame (such as upper member 103 or lower member 102)?
Claim 5 recites: “wherein the collapsible frame comprises at least one folding hinge.” The “at least one folding hinge” is introduced in claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Does the recitation intend to claim another folding hinge in addition to the hinge from claim 1? Claim 6 is indefinite because it depends form claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN 116552617).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches: a folding stroller comprising:
a collapsible frame (best shown in Figs. 1, 10, and 11);
at least one wheel (112A) in a front part of the collapsible frame;
at least one wheel (112B) in a rear part of the collapsible frame;
at least one folding hinge (134A,B) coupled to the collapsible frame;
a seating area having a seat portion (118, 120) and a back portion (122); and
a release handle (including at least elements 158A, 160) in the seat portion of the seating area, the release handle configured to be actuated with a one hand action;
wherein the release handle is coupled to the at least one folding hinge (as best shown in Figs.5, 6);
wherein the release handle is accessible through the seating area (see at least Fig. 4); and
wherein actuating the handle causes the frame to transform from a deployed position (Fig. 1) to a collapsed position (Fig. 11).
Operational details of transforming from the deployed to collapsed positions are found on the 7th and 8th pages of the attached translation of Zhu. Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1, 4, and 6.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu further teaches: the rear wheels are located a first distance from the frame when the frame is in a deployed position; and the rear wheels are located a second distance from the frame in the collapsed position, where the second distance is less than the first distance. See Figs. 3 and 11.
Regarding claim 3, Zhu further teaches: wherein the seat portion of the seating area is coupled to the release handle. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, Zhu further teaches: wherein the release handle engages with the seating portion to lock the seating area in place. See Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu further teaches: wherein the collapsible frame comprises at least one folding hinge (134A,B). See Figs. 3, 4.
Regarding claim 6, Zhu further teaches: wherein the at least one folding hinge comprises a mating member (146) and a hinge plate (134B). See Figs. 6-8.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu further teaches: a slide lock (178 or 182), wherein the slide lock slidably couples to the release handle. See Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 8, Zhu further teaches: wherein the slide lock has a locked configuration where the slide lock engages with the release handle (at 158A) to prevent release handle actuation and the slide lock has an unlocked configuration where the slide lock does not engage with the release handle and does not prevent release handle actuation. Pressing member 182 releasees slide lock 178 from component 158A of the release handle. See Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 9, Zhu further teaches: wherein the slide lock is toggled between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration by sliding the slide lock from one side to another side. See Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 10, Zhu further teaches: a handle spring (162 or 180), wherein the handle spring couples to the release handle such that tension in the handle spring orients the release handle in a first position. See Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu further teaches: wherein the release handle is actuated by engaging the release handle at the first position to overcome the tension in the handle spring such that the release handle moves to a second position. Pressing on component 182 overcomes the force in spring 180 which releases the handle. See Fig. 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art made of record includes features relevant to the claimed invention, including strollers having folding mechanisms actuated at or near the seating area.
/EMMA K FRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613