DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 11-22 & 24-31 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-22 & 24-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,761,670 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although different language is used, the limitations of the [670] read on the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 3,263,743 to Baumgarten.
A) As per Claims 22-23, Baumgarten teaches a terminal unit (Baumgarten: Figure 1), comprising:
a first chamber (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 8) configured to direct a first air flow therethrough, wherein the chamber is configured to receive the first air flow from a conditioned space;
a heating coil (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 7) disposed in the chamber and configured to heat the first air flow; and
a fan (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 10) disposed in the chamber upstream of the heating coil relative to a flow direction of the first air flow through the chamber, wherein the fan is configured to direct the first air flow across the heating coil, and wherein the terminal unit is configured to combine the first air flow with a second air flow received from an air handling unit and to discharge a mixture of the first air flow and the second air flow toward the conditioned space;
and a second chamber (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 2) configured to receive the second air flow and to direct the second air flow therethrough, wherein the second chamber is configured to direct the second air flow to bypass the heating coil in the first chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 & 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgarten in view of US Patent Publication Number 2004/0224627 A1 to Becelaere.
A) As per Claim 24, Baumgarten teaches that second chamber is configured to receive a conditioned air flow from the air handling unit as the second air flow.
Baumgarten does not teach a damper disposed within the second chamber, wherein the damper is configured to regulate flow of the second air flow through the second chamber.
However, Becelaere teaches a damper disposed within a chamber, wherein the damper is configured to regulate flow of the second air flow through the chamber (Becelaere: Figure 1, Item 20).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Baumgarten by adding a fire damper in the second chamber, as taught by Becelaere, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baumgarten with these aforementioned teachings of Becelaere with the motivation of preventing fire spread in case of a fire.
B) As per Claim 28, Baumgarten teaches a terminal unit (Baumgarten: Figure 1), comprising:
a first air chamber (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 2) configured to receive a first air flow from an air handling unit,
a second air chamber (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 8) configured to receive a second air flow from a conditioned space, wherein the second air chamber comprises a fan configured to draw the second air flow into the second air chamber;
a heating coil (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 7) configured to heat the second air flow, wherein the first air chamber is configured to direct the first air flow to bypass the second air chamber and the heating coil, and wherein the fan is configured to blow the second air flow towards the heating coil; and
a controller communicatively coupled to the heating coil, and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to:
and transmit a control signal to, the heating coil, the fan, or any combination thereof (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 13).
Baumgarten does not teach the first air chamber comprises a damper configured to regulate an amount of the first air flow discharged by the terminal unit;
the controller coupled to the damper configured to receive a feedback signal from a wireless device.
However, Becelaere teaches the first air chamber comprises a damper (Becelaere: Figure 1, Item 20)configured to regulate an amount of the first air flow discharged by the terminal unit;
the controller coupled to the damper configured to receive a feedback signal from a wireless device (Becelaere: Figure 1, Item 36; Paragraph 0059).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Baumgarten by adding a fire damper with controller, as taught by Becelaere, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baumgarten with these aforementioned teachings of Becelaere with the motivation of preventing fire spread in case of a fire and to communicate with other parts of the HVAC system to better control the environment and fire spread within the building.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgarten in view of US Patent Number 9,823,023 B2 to Hoppen.
A) As per Claim 11, Baumgarten teaches a terminal unit (Baumgarten: Figure 1), comprising:
a first air chamber configured to receive a first air flow (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 2);
a second air chamber configured to receive a second air flow from a conditioned space (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 8);
a heating coil (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 7) disposed in the second air chamber and configured to heat the second air flow, wherein:
the first air chamber is configured to direct the first air flow to bypass the second air chamber and the heating coil; and
a fan (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 10) disposed in the second air chamber upstream of the heating coil relative to a flow direction of the second air flow through the second air chamber, wherein the terminal unit is configured to discharge a mixture of the first air flow and the second air flow heated by the heating coil toward the conditioned space.
Baumgarten does not teach that the heating coil is configured to slidingly engage with the terminal unit.
However, Hoppen teaches a heating coil is configured to slidingly engage with the terminal unit (Hoppen: Figure 8, Item 4 with 8).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Baumgarten by having a removable cartridge system, as taught by Hoppen, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baumgarten with these aforementioned teachings of Hoppen with the motivation of being able to easily do maintenance or replacement when needed.
B) As per Claim 12, Baumgarten in view of Hoppen teaches that the heating coil is removable from the second air chamber in a direction cross-wise to the flow direction of the second air flow through the second air chamber (Hoppen: Figure 8, Item 4 with 8).
C) As per Claim 13, Baumgarten in view of Hoppen teaches that one or more tracks, wherein the heating coil is configured to slidingly engage with the one or more tracks, and the heating coil is removeable from the second air chamber via the one or more tracks (Hoppen: Figure 4, Items 13-14).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgarten in view of Hoppen as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Becelaere.
A) As per Claim 14, Baumgarten in view of Hoppen teaches the first air chamber is configured to receive conditioned air received from an air handling unit as the first air flow (Baumgarten: Figure 1, Item 2).
Baumgarten in view of Hoppen does not teach the terminal unit comprises a damper disposed in the first air chamber and configured to regulate flow of the first air flow through the first air chamber.
However, Becelaere teaches a damper (Becelaere: Figure 1, Item 20) disposed in the first air chamber and configured to regulate flow of the first air flow through the first air chamber.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Baumgarten in view of Hoppen by adding a fire damper in the second chamber, as taught by Becelaere, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baumgarten in view of Hoppen with these aforementioned teachings of Becelaere with the motivation of preventing fire spread in case of a fire.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgarten in view of Becelaere as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Hoppen.
A) As per Claim 31, Baumgarten in view of Becelaere does not teach that the heating coil is configured to slidingly engage with the terminal unit.
However, Hoppen teaches a heating coil is configured to slidingly engage with the terminal unit (Hoppen: Figure 8, Item 4 with 8).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Baumgarten in view of Becelaere by having a removable cartridge system, as taught by Hoppen, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baumgarten in view of Becelaere with these aforementioned teachings of Hoppen with the motivation of being able to easily do maintenance or replacement when needed.
Response to Arguments
Some of Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-22 & 24-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Other of Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) The Applicant asserts that because Item 6 and 8 are within the same casing, they are the same chamber. Therefore, the airflow from Item 2 does not bypass the second air chamber and heating coil. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The airflow from Item 2 flows into plenum chamber Item 6 in which air from Item 8 is mixed after flowing through Item 7. The airflow from Item 2 does not flow through Item 7 or 8, and therefore it bypasses both the second chamber and the heating coil.
B) The Applicant asserts that Item 7 is not within Item 8. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The second chamber can certainly be defined to be around Items 7-8, thereby meeting the claim limitation as current written.
C) The Applicant asserts that Becelaere does not teach a damper in the first chamber. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Item 2 can certainly be analogous to the duct of Becelaere as it is an elongate airflow passage with nozzles coming out on top. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to place the damper of Becelaere within the first chamber for the reasons cited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762