DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 02/17/2026. Claims 2, 7, 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 6 and 11 have been amended. Currently, claims 1, 3-6, 8-11 and 13-15 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 01/07/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 6 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
As discussed in the interview dated February 5, 2026, the second proposed amendment (the current amendment) appears fine to overcome the current rejection but requires further consideration to confirm. However, upon further consideration, the current amendment (the second proposed amendment from the interview) is not sufficient to overcome the rejection combination of Verma in view of Rada. Additionally, the phrase “associated with manufacturing” (amended feature) is broader than the phrase “measured in a process of manufacturing” from original claim 2 (now-cancelled).
Consider amended claim 1, applicant argues that the combination of Verma and Rada does not disclose the amended feature “wherein at least one of the first data and the second data is associated with manufacturing a radio frequency integrated circuit including in the millimeter wave module” by stating that Rada only discloses “a DUT with known properties or calibrating a testing system”, and “does not disclose or suggest data associated with manufacturing”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Rada places the calibration process to determine those “known properties” in a manufacturing setting (see par [0003], [0050] and [0054]).
Specifically, Rada describes that RF transmitters and receivers require individually testing and calibration of each unit manufactured; and during production, transmitter and receiver performance are calibrated and verified to compute calibration factors for each test in the transmit and receive mode and the calibration factors are stored in memory and applies them for any subsequent DUT calibration (see par [0003], [0050] and [0054]). Additionally, see par [0058]-[0059], which further describes applying the stored calibration factors in memory and determining whether the transmit and received result are within requirement tolerances during DUT testing. Therefore, Rada discloses at least one transmit calibration factor or receive calibration factor stored in memory is associated with (or measured in a process of) during production/manufacturing of a DUT.
Verma discloses control/data stored in memory for the manufactured millimeter DUT having the memory and a single transceiver integrated circuit (IC) for testing the various aspect of the DUT such transmit gain mode and receive gain mode (see par [0044], [0060]-[0061] and [0086]-[0087]), which reasonably teaches transmit gain control/data and received gain control/data in memory associated with single transceiver integrated circuit (IC) including in the manufactured millimeter DUT.
By incorporating Rada’s teaching of storing transmit/receive calibration factors in the memory of the DUT during production or manufacturing into Verma’s manufactured millimeter DUT having transmit gain control/data and received gain control/data in memory associated with single transceiver integrated circuit (IC) including in the manufactured millimeter DUT, the combination would teach “wherein at least one of the transmit gain control/data or receive gain control/data associated with (or measured in processing of) manufacturing a radio frequency integrated circuit (i.e. single transceiver integrated circuit (IC)) included in the millimeter DUT.
Regrading applicant’s additional arguments on which “Verma does not explain what is used as a comparison target after optimization of a RF signal wave, and does not disclose a configuration corresponding to the first data and the second data measured during the RFIC manufacturing process”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection is based on Verma in view of Rada, not either Verma or Rada alone. See details above.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding applicant’s argument that the combined reference does not disclose or suggest the amended limitation, see response above.
Regarding amended independent claims 6 and 11, see responses above.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (US 20200136732 A1) in view of Rada et al. (US 20150160264 A1).
Consider claim 1, Verma discloses a millimeter wave module inspection system comprising: an electronic device comprising at least one processor; and a millimeter wave module comprising a memory, at least one antenna, and at least one transceiver (read as a DUT includes a memory; at least one processor coupled to the memory; and a plurality of antennas coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the DUT in a simultaneous transmit and receive mode, par [0010] and [0047]-[0050]),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control an input signal to be input to a transmission signal input terminal of the millimeter wave module (read as wherein controller controlling at least one of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive a lower frequency RF signal from a test unit; wherein the at least one processor is configured to up-convert the lower frequency RF signal to a higher frequency RF signal; wherein a first antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to transmit the higher frequency RF signal, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
identify an output signal that is output from a reception signal output terminal of the millimeter wave module when the input signal passes through the at least one antenna of the millimeter wave module (read as wherein a second antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive the higher frequency RF signal using a second antenna of the DUT; wherein the at least one processor is configured to down-convert the received higher frequency RF signal to a received test RF signal; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to provide the received test RF signal to the test unit, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
identify first data corresponding to a transmission chain gain related to a transmission path of the millimeter wave module and second data corresponding to a reception chain gain related to a reception path of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]); and
determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data (read as providing the received test signal to the test unit for comparing measurements derived from the received test signal to design specification for the DUT; these measurements would be used to determine whether the DUT is functioning properly, par [0015] and [0051]).
However, Verma discloses the claimed invention above and a memory for storing data (par [0010] and [0086]) but does not specifically disclose the first data and the second data being stored in the memory, and wherein at least one of the first data or the second data is associated with manufacturing a radio frequency integrated circuit included in the millimeter wave module
Nonetheless, Rada discloses determining the calibration factors for each test in the transmit mode and receive mode and these calibration factors are stored in memory and will be used for any subsequent DUT calibration; and generate the RF signals and the calibration factors and feeds them to the DUT; and compares the transmit and receive results versus the gold unit DUT and determines if each result is within the requirement tolerances, par [0054], [0058] and [0059]; and further disclose the calibration process is tied to production/manufacturing (see par [0003], [0050] and [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rada into the teachings of Verma, to configure Verma’s DUT memory data using Rada’s during production/manufacturing generated memory data, in order to automate and standardize the abnormality determination while ensuring the DUT testing meets the manufacture standard requirements.
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a coupling factor of an antenna of the millimeter wave module, based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data; and determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based on the identified coupling factor (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on a signal detected at an output terminal of a power amplifier included in a transmission circuit of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, EVM, intermodulation distortion, receive linearity, power amplifier (PA) linearity, transmit signal path gain and linearity, mixer performance/design, port-to-port variation, antenna gain, antenna isolation, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components (such as testing for an impedance mismatch between the PA (i.e. PA output) and antenna); the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control a reference clock for generating a local oscillator frequency used in the millimeter wave module to be input to the transmission signal input terminal of the millimeter wave module (read as the 30 GHz mmW local oscillator for generating LO signal for up-converting the IF or low frequency RF signal, par [0039]).
Consider claim 6, Verma discloses an electronic device comprising: a communication interface; a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor operatively connected to the communication interface and the memory (read as a DUT includes a memory; at least one processor coupled to the memory; and a plurality of antennas coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the DUT in a simultaneous transmit and receive mode, par [0010] and [0047]-[0050]),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, through the communication interface, an input signal to a transmission signal input terminal of a millimeter wave module comprising at least one antenna and at least one transceiver (read as wherein controller controlling at least one of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive a lower frequency RF signal from a test unit; wherein the at least one processor is configured to up-convert the lower frequency RF signal to a higher frequency RF signal; wherein a first antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to transmit the higher frequency RF signal, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
receive, through the communication interface, an output signal that is output from a reception signal output terminal of the millimeter wave module when the input signal passes through the at least one antenna of the millimeter wave module (read as wherein a second antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive the higher frequency RF signal using a second antenna of the DUT; wherein the at least one processor is configured to down-convert the received higher frequency RF signal to a received test RF signal; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to provide the received test RF signal to the test unit, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
identify first data corresponding to a transmission chain gain related to a transmission path of the millimeter wave module and second data corresponding to a reception chain gain related to a reception path of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]); and
determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data (read as providing the received test signal to the test unit for comparing measurements derived from the received test signal to design specification for the DUT; these measurements would be used to determine whether the DUT is functioning properly, par [0015] and [0051]).
However, Verma discloses the claimed invention above and a memory for storing data (par [0010] and [0086]) but does not specifically disclose the first data and the second data being stored in the memory, and wherein at least one of the first data or the second data is associated with manufacturing a radio frequency integrated circuit included in the millimeter wave module
Nonetheless, Rada discloses determining the calibration factors for each test in the transmit mode and receive mode and these calibration factors are stored in memory and will be used for any subsequent DUT calibration; and generate the RF signals and the calibration factors and feeds them to the DUT; and compares the transmit and receive results versus the gold unit DUT and determines if each result is within the requirement tolerances, par [0054], [0058] and [0059]; and further disclose the calibration process is tied to production/manufacturing (see par [0003], [0050] and [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rada into the teachings of Verma, to configure Verma’s DUT memory data using Rada’s during production/manufacturing generated memory data, in order to automate and standardize the abnormality determination while ensuring the DUT testing meets the manufacture standard requirements.
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a coupling factor of an antenna of the millimeter wave module, based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data; and determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based on the identified coupling factor (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 6 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on a signal detected at an output terminal of a power amplifier included in a transmission circuit of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, EVM, intermodulation distortion, receive linearity, power amplifier (PA) linearity, transmit signal path gain and linearity, mixer performance/design, port-to-port variation, antenna gain, antenna isolation, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components (such as testing for an impedance mismatch between the PA (i.e. PA output) and antenna); the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 6 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control a reference clock for generating a local oscillator frequency used in the millimeter wave module to be input to the transmission signal input terminal of the millimeter wave module (read as the 30 GHz mmW local oscillator for generating LO signal for up-converting the IF or low frequency RF signal, par [0039]).
Consider claim 11, Verma discloses a millimeter wave module inspection method (read as a DUT includes a memory; at least one processor coupled to the memory; and a plurality of antennas coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the DUT in a simultaneous transmit and receive mode, par [0010] and [0047]-[0050]), comprising:
inputting an input signal to a transmission signal input terminal of a millimeter wave module (read as wherein controller controlling at least one of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive a lower frequency RF signal from a test unit; wherein the at least one processor is configured to up-convert the lower frequency RF signal to a higher frequency RF signal; wherein a first antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to transmit the higher frequency RF signal, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
identifying an output signal that is output from a reception signal output terminal of the millimeter wave module when the input signal passes through at least one antenna of the millimeter wave module (read as wherein a second antenna of the plurality of antennas is configured to receive the higher frequency RF signal using a second antenna of the DUT; wherein the at least one processor is configured to down-convert the received higher frequency RF signal to a received test RF signal; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to provide the received test RF signal to the test unit, par [0008], [0010] and [0047]-[0050]);
identifying first data corresponding to a transmission chain gain related to a transmission path of the millimeter wave module of the millimeter wave module and second data corresponding to a reception chain gain related to a reception path of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]); and
determining whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data (read as providing the received test signal to the test unit for comparing measurements derived from the received test signal to design specification for the DUT; these measurements would be used to determine whether the DUT is functioning properly, par [0015] and [0051]).
However, Verma discloses the claimed invention above and a memory for storing data (par [0010] and [0086]) but does not specifically disclose the first data and the second data being stored in the memory, and wherein at least one of the first data or the second data is associated with manufacturing a radio frequency integrated circuit included in the millimeter wave module
Nonetheless, Rada discloses determining the calibration factors for each test in the transmit mode and receive mode and these calibration factors are stored in memory and will be used for any subsequent DUT calibration; and generate the RF signals and the calibration factors and feeds them to the DUT; and compares the transmit and receive results versus the gold unit DUT and determines if each result is within the requirement tolerances, par [0054], [0058] and [0059]; and further disclose the calibration process is tied to production/manufacturing (see par [0003], [0050] and [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rada into the teachings of Verma, to configure Verma’s DUT memory data using Rada’s during production/manufacturing generated memory data, in order to automate and standardize the abnormality determination while ensuring the DUT testing meets the manufacture standard requirements.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 11 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses further comprising: identifying a coupling factor of an antenna of the millimeter wave module, based at least on the identified output signal, the first data, and the second data; and determining whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based on the identified coupling factor (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, transmit signal path gain, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components; the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 11 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses further comprising determining whether the millimeter wave module is abnormal based at least on a signal detected at an output terminal of a power amplifier included in a transmission circuit of the millimeter wave module (read as tailoring or optimizing the RF waveform for the low frequency test RF signal can be useful to enable testing of various aspects of the RF and/or mmW modules in the DUT, including, for example, the non-linearity transmit and receive performance, EVM, intermodulation distortion, receive linearity, power amplifier (PA) linearity, transmit signal path gain and linearity, mixer performance/design, port-to-port variation, antenna gain, antenna isolation, antenna coupling, and impedance mismatch between various components (such as testing for an impedance mismatch between the PA (i.e. PA output) and antenna); the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, the test unit should set the DUT into different gain modes to fine tune the transmit gain mode and the receive gain mode, and fine tune the antenna combinations, par [0010]-[0011], [0047]-[0050] and [0060]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 11 above, Verma, as modified by Rada, discloses further comprising inputting a reference clock for generating a local oscillator frequency used in the millimeter wave module to the transmission signal input terminal of the millimeter wave module (read as the 30 GHz mmW local oscillator for generating LO signal for up-converting the IF or low frequency RF signal, par [0039]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645