CTNF 18/369,612 CTNF 86043 DETAILED ACTION This first non-final action is in response to applicant’s original filing on 09/18/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered as follows. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Drawings The drawings filed on 09/18/2023 are accepted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 14, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Neve de Mevergnies et al. (US 20190007212 A1, hereinafter Mevergnies ) . As to Claim 14: Mevergnies discloses a method for protecting access to an integrated circuit, the method comprising (e.g. Mevergnies “instructions stored on a machine-readable medium which represents various logic within the processor, which when read by a machine causes the machine to fabricate logic to perform the techniques described herein” [0188]; integrated circuits (ICs) [0023]; [0047]) : generating a first cryptographic version of a first password using a cryptographic function in the integrated circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “security engine” [0032]; “a security function is applied to the password by security engine… to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value, obfuscated value, encrypted value, etc.)… Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password” [0033]; device can include integrated circuit (IC) [0047]) ; storing at least a first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password in a secure storage circuit in the integrated circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “a security function is applied to the password by security engine 125 of fusing station 120 to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value, obfuscated value, encrypted value, etc.), and the secured value and unique identifier are stored in fuses of fuse bank 175 by fusing station 120” [0033]; [0034]) comparing at least the first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password received from the secure storage circuit to at least a second portion of a second cryptographic version of a second password received from a user to determine whether to permit the integrated circuit to be provisioned (e.g. Mevergnies “providing the received password to the device for verification. Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130. If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]; “Different unlock modes specify different combinations of privileged features that can be unlocked to provide access to proprietary data and/or code in a device. For example, one password could be associated with a ‘green mode,’ in which a limited number of privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with a ‘yellow mode,’ in which a greater number of privileged features are unlocked than the orange mode, but not all privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with an ‘orange mode,’ in which unrestricted use of privileged features is enabled on the device. In at least one embodiment, devices are configured to permit the provisioning of a maximum of seven passwords to enable seven levels of access to the device based on various privileged features” [0041]) . As to Claim 18: Mevergnies discloses the method of claim 14 further comprising: generating the second cryptographic version of the second password using the cryptographic function in response to receiving the second password from the user (e.g. Mevergnies “Unlock host 130 can be used to unlock the device by querying the device for its unique identifier in fuse bank 175, establishing a communication session via network 105 to database infrastructure 110, querying the database for the password associated with the unique identifier of the device, and providing the received password to the device for verification. Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130. If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . As to Claim 19: Mevergnies discloses the method of claim 14 further comprising: causing access to the integrated circuit to be protected by authentication during provisioning of the integrated circuit if the first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password matches the second portion of the second cryptographic version of the second password (e.g. Mevergnies “Accordingly, policy generator 152 can receive an indication from aggregator 180 to unlock the device. In one example, the indication can include the password (or secured value of the password) used to unlock the device, an unlock mode associated with the password, user authentication information” [0054]; “The verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time)… a determination is made as to whether the verification was successful. If the signed token was not verified, then at 1114, the device can continue with a normal boot, and no privileged features on the device are unlocked” [0122]; [0128]; [0129]-[0136]; “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . As to Claim 20: Mevergnies discloses the method of claim 14 further comprising: causing access to the integrated circuit to be controlled by a private key and a public key during provisioning of the integrated circuit if the first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password matches the second portion of the second cryptographic version of the second password (e.g. Mevergnies “token signing engine 612 may use a digital signing process involving an asymmetric key pair that includes a private key and an associated public key. In this example, the token signing engine applies a one-way hash function to at least some of the contents of the token to produce a hash value. Then, a cryptographic algorithm uses the private key of the key pair to sign (or encrypt) the hash value to create a signature” [0086]; [0090]; “Aggregator 680 caches or otherwise temporarily stores the device ID and hashed public key and provides the data to security engine 690 when requested. When a token has been verified by security engine 690, it can send a request to aggregator to unlock the device based on the verified token. Aggregator 690 can use unlock data provided in the token to unlock privileged features on the device (e.g., via policy generator 652)” [0091]; [0127]; “If it is verified that the signature was created by the signing server (e.g., 610) using a private key associated with the public key in the token header, then the signature is authentic and valid” [0129]; “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Nakada et al. (US 20020065574 A1, hereinafter Nakada ), and further in view of Dellow et al. (US 20080271164 A1, hereinafter Dellow ) . As to Claim 1: Mevergnies discloses an integrated circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “device can be a system that includes multiple components... may apply include, but are not necessarily limited to, central processing units (CPUs), system on chips (SoCs)... integrated circuits (ICs)” [0023]; [0032]; [0047]) comprising: a cryptographic engine that generates a first cryptographic version of a password (e.g. Mevergnies “security engine” [0032]; “a security function is applied to the password by security engine… to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value, obfuscated value, encrypted value, etc.)… Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password” [0033]) ; a secure storage area (e.g. Mevergnies “the secured value and unique identifier are stored in fuses of fuse bank 175” [0033]) ; and a security controller circuit to enable a security feature, wherein the security controller circuit enables provisioning of the integrated circuit in response to receiving the password from a user (e.g. Mevergnies “device 150 can include, but are not necessarily limited to, a processing system, a central processing unit (CPU), system on chip (SoC), devices product, microprocessor, chip and microchip (e.g., Platform Controller Hub (PCH)), integrated circuit (IC), and/or graphical processing units (GPU)” [0047]; “providing the received password to the device for verification. Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130. If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]; “Different unlock modes specify different combinations of privileged features that can be unlocked to provide access to proprietary data and/or code in a device. For example, one password could be associated with a ‘green mode,’ in which a limited number of privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with a ‘yellow mode,’ in which a greater number of privileged features are unlocked than the orange mode, but not all privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with an ‘orange mode,’ in which unrestricted use of privileged features is enabled on the device. In at least one embodiment, devices are configured to permit the provisioning of a maximum of seven passwords to enable seven levels of access to the device based on various privileged features” [0041]) ; But Mevergnies does not specifically disclose: stores an enable bit and at least a portion of the first cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area; if the enable bit stored in the secure storage area indicates that the security feature is enabled. However, the analogous art Nakada does disclose stores at least a portion of the first cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area (e.g. Nakada “stored data of the non-volatile memory 6 is encrypted. Encryption and decryption processing is performed by using the coprocessor 7 or the multiple length arithmetic circuit 8” [0045]; “when the IC card 70 is used in the electronic money system… password is encrypted and stored in the non-volatile memory 6” [0081]) . Furthermore, the analogous art Dellow does disclose stores an enable bit and if the enable bit stored in the secure storage area indicates that the security feature is enabled (e.g. Dellow “A system-on-a-chip (SoC) may comprise a security processor, a ROM, and a one-time-programmable (OTP) memory. The security processor may enable fetching code from a restricted function portion of the ROM. The restricted functions may comprise code for booting up the SoC and code that prevents enabling security algorithms within the SoC… Access to the restricted function portion or the remaining portion of the ROM is based on at least one bit from the OTP memory” [Abstract]; “at least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for enabling and/or disabling control of security functions in the processing unit 200. At least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for activating and/or deactivating control of security functions in the processing unit 200” [0026]; [0042]; [Claim 1]) . Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of integrated circuit security. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Mevergnies with the teachings of Nakada and Dellow to include stores an enable bit and at least a portion of the first cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area and if the enable bit stored in the secure storage area indicates that the security feature is enabled as claimed. First, the suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure high security for information that is exchanged through media such as networks and IC cards in terms of the protections of privacy and copyright and the security for property ( Nakada [0002]) . Secondly, the suggestion/motivation for further modification would be to enable security management mechanisms for defining and administering user rights or privileges in order to provide the necessary protection from unwanted access ( Dellow [0003]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). As to Claim 2: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the cryptographic engine generates a first hash of the password as the first cryptographic version of the password (e.g. Mevergnies “a per part secret is secured using a security function such as a cryptographic hash function that maintains pre-image resistance or other suitable function providing protection such as an encryption algorithm or other cryptographic or obfuscation function… a security function is applied to the password by security engine 125 of fusing station 120 to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value” [0033]) , and wherein the security controller circuit stores the first hash of the password in the secure storage area (e.g. Mevergnies “and the secured value and unique identifier are stored in fuses of fuse bank 175” [0033]) . As to Claim 3: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the cryptographic engine generates a second hash of the password in response to receiving the password from the user (e.g. Mevergnies “Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130” [0033]) , and wherein the security controller circuit compares the first hash of the password accessed from the secure storage area to the second hash of the password to determine whether to allow the provisioning of the integrated circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . As to Claim 5: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the security controller circuit prevents the user from the provisioning of the integrated circuit if the enable bit stored in the secure storage area indicates that the security feature is enabled and if the user fails to provide the password to the security controller circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033] see also Dellow “At least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for activating and/or deactivating control of security functions in the processing unit 200” [0026]; [0042]) . The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow as in Claim 1 above. As to Claim 6: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the security controller circuit allows access to the integrated circuit to be protected by authentication with a digital signature during the provisioning of the integrated circuit in response to receiving the password from the user (e.g. Mevergnies “The verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time)… a determination is made as to whether the verification was successful. If the signed token was not verified, then at 1114, the device can continue with a normal boot, and no privileged features on the device are unlocked” [0122]; [0128]; [0129]-[0136]) . As to Claim 7: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the security controller circuit causes access to the integrated circuit to be controlled by a private key and a public key during the provisioning of the integrated circuit in response to receiving the password from the user (e.g. Mevergnies “token signing engine 612 may use a digital signing process involving an asymmetric key pair that includes a private key and an associated public key. In this example, the token signing engine applies a one-way hash function to at least some of the contents of the token to produce a hash value. Then, a cryptographic algorithm uses the private key of the key pair to sign (or encrypt) the hash value to create a signature” [0086]; [0090]; “Aggregator 680 caches or otherwise temporarily stores the device ID and hashed public key and provides the data to security engine 690 when requested. When a token has been verified by security engine 690, it can send a request to aggregator to unlock the device based on the verified token. Aggregator 690 can use unlock data provided in the token to unlock privileged features on the device (e.g., via policy generator 652)” [0091]; [0127]; “If it is verified that the signature was created by the signing server (e.g., 610) using a private key associated with the public key in the token header, then the signature is authentic and valid” [0129]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Rager et al. (US 20080005577 A1, hereinafter Rager ) . As to Claim 4: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Dellow discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose: the security controller circuit truncates the first cryptographic version of the password to generate a truncated cryptographic version of the password, and wherein the security controller circuit stores the truncated cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area. However, the analogous art Rager does disclose the security controller circuit truncates the first cryptographic version of the password to generate a truncated cryptographic version of the password, and wherein the security controller circuit stores the truncated cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area (e.g. Rager “handset provisioned with such an unlock data block and with an active data block indicating a locked state remains in the locked state until the asymmetric digital signature of the unlock data block can be verified via a public key. A controller is operatively coupled to the handset memory and is operative to modify the stored, unlock data block” [0022]; [0024]; [0025]; “may be securely stored in the handset device 20” [0027]; “algorithm includes computing a SHA-1 hash digest on the password and then truncating the hash digest to the desired number of IV bits” [0052]; “Once the IV value is derived, it is used with the encryption algorithm to encrypt the asymmetrically digitally signed unlock data block, or a portion thereof such as the signature field portion, prior to storing in the handset device” [0053]) . Mevergnies , Nakada , Dellow , and Rager are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in secure device management. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies , Nakada , Dellow , and Rager before him or her, to modify the combination of Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow with the teachings of Rager to include the security controller circuit truncates the first cryptographic version of the password to generate a truncated cryptographic version of the password, and wherein the security controller circuit stores the truncated cryptographic version of the password in the secure storage area as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more secure method for protecting subsidy locking parameters in handset devices ( Rager [0008]; [0021]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies , Nakada , Dellow , and Rager to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Nakada . As to Claim 8: Mevergnies discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions stored thereon for causing an integrated circuit to (e.g. Mevergnies “instructions stored on a machine-readable medium which represents various logic within the processor, which when read by a machine causes the machine to fabricate logic to perform the techniques described herein” [0188]; non-transitory machine-readable storage media [0189]; integrated circuits (ICs) [0023]; [0047]) : generate a first cryptographic version of a first password using a cryptographic function (e.g. Mevergnies “security engine” [0032]; “a security function is applied to the password by security engine… to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value, obfuscated value, encrypted value, etc.)… Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password” [0033]) ; and compare at least the first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password accessed from the secure storage circuit to at least a second portion of a second cryptographic version of a second password to determine whether to allow the integrated circuit to be provisioned (e.g. Mevergnies “providing the received password to the device for verification. Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130. If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]; “Different unlock modes specify different combinations of privileged features that can be unlocked to provide access to proprietary data and/or code in a device. For example, one password could be associated with a ‘green mode,’ in which a limited number of privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with a ‘yellow mode,’ in which a greater number of privileged features are unlocked than the orange mode, but not all privileged features are unlocked. Another password could be associated with an ‘orange mode,’ in which unrestricted use of privileged features is enabled on the device. In at least one embodiment, devices are configured to permit the provisioning of a maximum of seven passwords to enable seven levels of access to the device based on various privileged features” [0041]) ; But Mevergnies does not specifically disclose: an integrated circuit to: store at least a first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password in a secure storage circuit in the integrated circuit (although Mevergnies already discloses a security function is applied to the password by security engine 125 of fusing station 120 to obtain a secured value (e.g., hashed value, obfuscated value, encrypted value, etc.), and the secured value and unique identifier are stored in fuses of fuse bank 175 by fusing station 120 [0033]) . However, the analogous art Nakada does disclose an integrated circuit to: store at least a first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password in a secure storage circuit in the integrated circuit (e.g. Nakada “stored data of the non-volatile memory 6 is encrypted. Encryption and decryption processing is performed by using the coprocessor 7 or the multiple length arithmetic circuit 8” [0045]; “when the IC card 70 is used in the electronic money system… password is encrypted and stored in the non-volatile memory 6” [0081]) . Mevergnies and Nakada are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of integrated circuit security. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies and Nakada before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Mevergnies with the teachings of Nakada to include an integrated circuit to: store at least a first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password in a secure storage circuit in the integrated circuit as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure high security for information that is exchanged through media such as networks and IC cards in terms of the protections of privacy and copyright and the security for property ( Nakada [0002]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies and Nakada to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). As to Claim 12: Mevergnies in view of Nakada discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the computer readable instructions further cause the integrated circuit to allow access to the integrated circuit to be protected by authentication during provisioning of the integrated circuit in response to verifying that at least the first portion of the first cryptographic version of the first password matches at least the second portion of the second cryptographic version of the second password received from a user (e.g. Mevergnies “Accordingly, policy generator 152 can receive an indication from aggregator 180 to unlock the device. In one example, the indication can include the password (or secured value of the password) used to unlock the device, an unlock mode associated with the password, user authentication information” [0054]; “The verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time)… a determination is made as to whether the verification was successful. If the signed token was not verified, then at 1114, the device can continue with a normal boot, and no privileged features on the device are unlocked” [0122]; [0128]; [0129]-[0136]) . As to Claim 13: Mevergnies in view of Nakada discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the computer readable instructions further cause the integrated circuit to generate a first hash of the first password, store a first part of the first hash of the first password in the secure storage circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130” [0033]) , and compare the first part of the first hash of the first password accessed from the secure storage circuit to a second part of a second hash of the second password received from a user to determine whether to allow the integrated circuit to be provisioned (e.g. Mevergnies “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Nakada as applied to Claim 8, and further in view of Dellow . As to Claim 9: Mevergnies in view of Nakada discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the computer readable instructions further cause the integrated circuit to request a user to enter the second password to provision the integrated circuit (e.g. Mevergnies “A user 140 interacts with unlock host 130 to be authenticated to unlock and use privileged features on device 150” [0032]; “when a device includes a set of passwords and a user attempts to access the device via an unlock host... to differentiate which device passwords are to be provided to the unlock host for which users authenticated at the unlock host” [0043]; “Upon receiving a password from unlock host 13” [0054]) , but does not specifically disclose: store an enable value in the secure storage circuit and if the enable value indicates that a security feature has been enabled. However, the analogous art Dellow does disclose store an enable value in the secure storage circuit and if the enable value indicates that a security feature has been enabled (e.g. Dellow “A system-on-a-chip (SoC) may comprise a security processor, a ROM, and a one-time-programmable (OTP) memory. The security processor may enable fetching code from a restricted function portion of the ROM. The restricted functions may comprise code for booting up the SoC and code that prevents enabling security algorithms within the SoC… Access to the restricted function portion or the remaining portion of the ROM is based on at least one bit from the OTP memory” [Abstract]; “at least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for enabling and/or disabling control of security functions in the processing unit 200. At least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for activating and/or deactivating control of security functions in the processing unit 200” [0026]; [0042]; [Claim 1]) . Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of integrated circuit security. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow before him or her, to modify the combination of Mevergnies and Nakada with the teachings of Dellow to include store an enable value in the secure storage circuit and if the enable value indicates that a security feature has been enabled as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for the modification would be to enable security management mechanisms for defining and administering user rights or privileges in order to provide the necessary protection from unwanted access ( Dellow [0003]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies , Nakada , and Dellow to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Nakada as applied to Claim 8, and further in view of Rager . As to Claim 10: Mevergnies in view of Nakada discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 8, but does not specifically disclose: generate a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password and store the first truncated cryptographic version of the first password in the secure storage circuit. However, the analogous art Rager does disclose generate a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password and store the first truncated cryptographic version of the first password in the secure storage circuit (e.g. Rager “handset provisioned with such an unlock data block and with an active data block indicating a locked state remains in the locked state until the asymmetric digital signature of the unlock data block can be verified via a public key. A controller is operatively coupled to the handset memory and is operative to modify the stored, unlock data block” [0022]; [0024]; [0025]; “may be securely stored in the handset device 20” [0027]; “algorithm includes computing a SHA-1 hash digest on the password and then truncating the hash digest to the desired number of IV bits” [0052]; “Once the IV value is derived, it is used with the encryption algorithm to encrypt the asymmetrically digitally signed unlock data block, or a portion thereof such as the signature field portion, prior to storing in the handset device” [0053]) . Mevergnies , Nakada , and Rager are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in secure device management. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies , Nakada , and Rager before him or her, to modify the combination of Mevergnies and Nakada with the teachings of Rager to include generate a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password and store the first truncated cryptographic version of the first password in the secure storage circuit as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more secure method for protecting subsidy locking parameters in handset devices ( Rager [0008]; [0021]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies , Nakada , and Rager to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). As to Claim 11: Mevergnies in view of Nakada and Rager discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions further cause the integrated circuit to generate a second truncated cryptographic version of the second password (e.g. Mevergnies “Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130” [0033]; see also Rager “algorithm includes computing a SHA-1 hash digest on the password and then truncating the hash digest to the desired number of IV bits” [0052]) and compare the first truncated cryptographic version of the first password to the second truncated cryptographic version of the second password to determine whether to allow the integrated circuit to be provisioned (e.g. Mevergnies “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) . The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Mevergnies , Nakada , and Rager as in Claim 10 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Dellow . As to Claim 15: Mevergnies discloses the method of claim 14 but does not specifically disclose: storing an enable bit in the secure storage circuit to enable a security feature that protects provisioning of the integrated circuit. However, the analogous art Dellow does disclose storing an enable bit in the secure storage circuit to enable a security feature that protects provisioning of the integrated circuit (e.g. Dellow “A system-on-a-chip (SoC) may comprise a security processor, a ROM, and a one-time-programmable (OTP) memory. The security processor may enable fetching code from a restricted function portion of the ROM. The restricted functions may comprise code for booting up the SoC and code that prevents enabling security algorithms within the SoC… Access to the restricted function portion or the remaining portion of the ROM is based on at least one bit from the OTP memory” [Abstract]; “at least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for enabling and/or disabling control of security functions in the processing unit 200. At least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for activating and/or deactivating control of security functions in the processing unit 200” [0026]; [0042]; [Claim 1]) . Mevergnies and Dellow are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of integrated circuit security. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies and Dellow before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Mevergnies with the teachings of Dellow to include storing an enable bit in the secure storage circuit to enable a security feature that protects provisioning of the integrated circuit as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for the modification would be to enable security management mechanisms for defining and administering user rights or privileges in order to provide the necessary protection from unwanted access ( Dellow [0003]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies and Dellow to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). As to Claim 16: Mevergnies in view of Dellow discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising: accessing the enable bit from the secure storage circuit to determine whether the security feature is enabled (e.g. Dellow “Access to the restricted function portion or the remaining portion of the ROM is based on at least one bit from the OTP memory” [Abstract]; “at least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for enabling and/or disabling control of security functions in the processing unit 200. At least one bit in the security register 202 may be utilized for activating and/or deactivating control of security functions in the processing unit 200” [0026]; [0042]; [Claim 1]) ; and requesting the second password from the user if the security feature is enabled before permitting the integrated circuit to be provisioned. (e.g. Mevergnies “A user 140 interacts with unlock host 130 to be authenticated to unlock and use privileged features on device 150” [0032]; “when a device includes a set of passwords and a user attempts to access the device via an unlock host... to differentiate which device passwords are to be provided to the unlock host for which users authenticated at the unlock host” [0043]; “Upon receiving a password from unlock host 13” [0054]) . The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Mevergnies and Dellow as in Claim 15 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mevergnies in view of Rager . As to Claim 17: Mevergnies discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: generating a second cryptographic version of the second password received from the user (e.g. Mevergnies “Device 150 uses security engine 185 to apply the same security function (e.g., cryptographic hash function, encryption algorithm, obfuscation function, etc.) to the password received from unlock host 130” [0033]) , wherein the comparing further comprises comparing the first cryptographic version of the first password to the second cryptographic version of the second password to determine whether to permit the integrated circuit to be provisioned (e.g. Mevergnies “If the secured value derived from applying the security function to the received password corresponds to the secured value stored in the device fuse bank 175, then one or more privileged features can be unlocked based on the particular policies associated with the unique identifier and/or password. Otherwise, the privileged features remain locked, thus preventing access to the proprietary data and components in the device” [0033]) , but does not specifically disclose: generating a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password that is stored in the secure storage circuit; and generating a second truncated cryptographic version of the second password. However, the analogous art Rager does disclose generating a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password that is stored in the secure storage circuit; and generating a second truncated cryptographic version of the second password (e.g. Rager “handset provisioned with such an unlock data block and with an active data block indicating a locked state remains in the locked state until the asymmetric digital signature of the unlock data block can be verified via a public key. A controller is operatively coupled to the handset memory and is operative to modify the stored, unlock data block” [0022]; [0024]; [0025]; “may be securely stored in the handset device 20” [0027]; “algorithm includes computing a SHA-1 hash digest on the password and then truncating the hash digest to the desired number of IV bits” [0052]; “Once the IV value is derived, it is used with the encryption algorithm to encrypt the asymmetrically digitally signed unlock data block, or a portion thereof such as the signature field portion, prior to storing in the handset device” [0053]) . Mevergnies and Rager are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in secure device management. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mevergnies and Rager before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Mevergnies with the teachings of Rager to include generating a first truncated cryptographic version of the first password that is stored in the secure storage circuit; and generating a second truncated cryptographic version of the second password as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more secure method for protecting subsidy locking parameters in handset devices ( Rager [0008]; [0021]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mevergnies and Rager to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Jonas et al. (US 20040146164 A1) Paatero et al. (US 20050044375 A1) Moller et al. (US 7761717 B2) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kenneth Chang whose telephone number is (571)270-7530. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:30am-5:30pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taghi Arani can be reached at 571-272-3787. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENNETH W CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438 PNG media_image1.png 35 280 media_image1.png Greyscale 11.06.2026 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 2 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 3 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 4 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 5 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 6 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 7 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 8 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 9 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 10 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 11 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 12 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 13 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 14 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 15 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 16 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 17 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 18 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 19 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 20 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 21 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 23 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 24 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 25 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 26 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 27 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 28 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 29 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 30 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/369,612 Page 31 Art Unit: 2438