DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0113523 (Van Ravens).
Regarding claim 1, Van Ravens teaches an electrical alternating current power system for a marine vessel (Fig. 1-2 shows AC power system for a marine vessel) [0001, 0043] with at least first and second loads (Fig. 1-2 shows first and second power consumers 5), comprising:
a first generator comprising an output (Fig. 1-2 shows a first generator 1 having output), a first circuit breaker at the output of the first generator (Fig. 1-2 shows circuit breaker at the output of generator 1), and a first AC bus connecting the first generator to the first load through the first circuit breaker (Fig. 1-2 shows first AC bus that supply AC power produced by the first generator 1 to the first power consumer 5);
a second generator comprising an output (Fig. 1-2 shows a second generator 1 having an output), a second circuit breaker at the output of the second generator (Fig. 1-2 shows a second generator 1 having second circuit breaker at the output), and a second AC bus directly connecting the second generator to the second load through the second circuit breaker (Fig. 1-2 shows a second AC bus directly connecting the second generator 1 to the second power consumer 5 through the second circuit breaker) [0043-44]; and
first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1-2 shows transformers and inverters), connected together and respectively connected to the first and second loads via the first and second AC buses (Fig. 1-2 shows transformers and inverters connected together and respectively connected to the first and second power consumers 5 via first and second AC buses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0027124 (Hartig).
Regarding claim 1, Hartig teaches an electrical alternating current power system for a marine vessel (Fig. 1 shows AC power system for a marine vessel) [0023] with at least first and second loads (Fig. 1 shows first and second drive motors 5), comprising:
a first generator comprising an output (Fig. 1 shows a first generator 34 having output), a first circuit breaker at the output of the first generator (Fig. 1 shows circuit breaker 9 at the output of generator 34), and a first AC bus connecting the first generator to the first load through the first circuit breaker (Fig. 1 shows first AC bus that supply AC power produced by the first generator 34 to the first drive motor 5) [0070];
a second generator comprising an output (Fig. 1 shows a second generator 4 having an output), a second circuit breaker at the output of the second generator (Fig. 1 shows a second generator 4 having second circuit breaker 9 at the output), and a second AC bus directly connecting the second generator to the second load through the second circuit breaker (Fig. 1 shows a second AC bus directly connecting the second generator 4 to the second drive motor 5 through the second circuit breaker 9) [0069]; and
first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverters 22), connected together and respectively connected to the first and second loads via the first and second AC buses (Fig. 1 shows transformers and inverters connected together and respectively connected to the first and second drive motors 5 via first and second AC buses).
Regarding claim 2, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverters 22) includes a bi-directional converter (Fig. 1 shows inverter 22 being bi-directional) between alternating current and direct current (Fig. 1 shows inverter 22 work as AC-DC converter and the reverse manner as well) [0012, 0029, 0073-74].
Regarding claim 3, Hartig teaches further comprising: a DC bus (Fig. 1 shows a DC bus) connecting the first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverter 22 connecting to a DC bus); and
an energy storage connected to the DC bus (Fig. 1 shows battery system connected to inverter as a energy supply) [0030, 0074].
Regarding claim 6, Hartig teaches an electrical power system for at least first and second loads, comprising:
first and second generators having outputs (Fig. 1 shows generator 34 and generator 4 having outputs);
first and second generator circuit breakers at the outputs of the first and second generators, respectively (Fig. 1 shows generators 34 and 4 having circuit breaker 9 at the outputs) [0071];
a first AC bus directly connecting the first and second generators to the first load via the first and second generator circuit breakers, respectively (Fig. 1 shows a first AC bus directly connecting the generators 34 and 4 to the first drive motor 5 via the first and second generator circuit breakers 9) [0070-72];
third and fourth generators having outputs (Fig. 1 shows third and fourth generators 25);
third and fourth generator circuit breakers at the outputs of the third and fourth generators, respectively (Fig. 1 shows third and fourth generator circuit breakers 26 at the outputs of the third and fourth generators 25) [0073-0074];
a second AC bus directly connecting the third and fourth generators to the second load via the third and fourth generator circuit breakers, respectively (Fig. 1 shows a second AC bus directly connecting the third and fourth generators 25 to the second load drive motor 5 via the third and fourth generator circuit breakers 26) [0075];
a bus-tie circuit breaker directly connecting the first and second AC buses (Fig. 1 shows bus tie circuit breaker 16 and 26 directly connecting the first and second AC buses) [0072, 0075];
first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverters 22), connected together and respectively connected to the first and second AC buses (Fig. 1 shows transformers and inverters connected together and respectively connected to the first and second AC buses).
Regarding claim 7, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverters 22) includes a bi-directional converter (Fig. 1 shows inverter 22 being bi-directional) between alternating current and direct current (Fig. 1 shows inverter 22 work as AC-DC converter and the reverse manner as well) [0012, 0029, 0073-74].
Regarding claim 8, Hartig teaches further comprising: a DC bus (Fig. 1 shows a DC bus) connecting the first and second galvanic isolators (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverter 22 connecting to a DC bus); and
an energy storage connected to the DC bus (Fig. 1 shows battery system connected to inverter as an energy supply) [0030, 0074].
Regarding claim 13, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first, second galvanic isolators include a transformer (Fig. 1 shows first and second transformers 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0027124 (Hartig) in view of US 2020/0185917 (Haugan).
Regarding claim 4, Hartig does not teach further comprising a DC/DC converter connecting the energy storage to the DC bus.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising a DC/DC converter (Fig. 2A-B shows DC-DC 223) connecting the energy storage to the DC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows batteries 103 to DC bus).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a DC/DC converter connecting the energy storage to the DC bus as taught by Haugan in order to supply energy at various voltage levels according to the load demand minimizing loss during voltage conversion.
Regarding claim 5, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first and second galvanic isolators includes an inverter and a transformer (Fig. 1 shows transformers 21 and inverters 22).
Regarding claim 9, Hartig does not teach further comprising a DC/DC converter connecting the energy storage to the DC bus.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising a DC/DC converter (Fig. 2A-B shows DC-DC 223) connecting the energy storage to the DC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows batteries 103 to DC bus).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a DC/DC converter connecting the energy storage to the DC bus as taught by Haugan in order to supply energy at various voltage levels according to the load demand minimizing loss during voltage conversion.
Regarding claim 10, Hartig does not teach further comprising: third and fourth galvanic isolators providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current, each having first and second terminals, the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator connected to the first loads, and the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator connected to the second loads; a second DC bus connecting the second terminals of the third and fourth isolators; and a second energy storage connected to the second DC bus.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising: third and fourth galvanic isolators (Fig. 2A-B shows third and fourth transformers 143) providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current (Fig. 2A-B shows converter 133 being bi-directional) [0058], each having first and second terminals (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second terminals of converters 133), the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of the third transformer 143 and converter 133) connected to the first loads (Fig. 2A-B shows first load 123), and the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of fourth transformer 143 and converter 133) connected to the second loads (Fig. 2A-B shows second loads 123); a second DC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows second DC bus) connecting the second terminals of the third and fourth isolators (Fig. 2A-B shows second terminals of third and fourth converters 133); and a second energy storage (Fig. 2A-B shows second battery 103) connected to the second DC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows second DC bus).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach third and fourth galvanic isolators providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current, each having first and second terminals, the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator connected to the first loads, and the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator connected to the second loads; a second DC bus connecting the second terminals of the third and fourth isolators; and a second energy storage connected to the second DC bus as taught by Haugan in order to ensure efficient power supply to the various load according to the load demands while also maintaining uninterruptible power supply to the other loads.
Regarding claim 11, Hartig does not teach further comprising a second DC/DC converter connecting the second energy storage to the second DC bus.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising a second DC/DC converter (Fig. 2A-B shows a second DC-DC converter 223) connecting the second energy storage (Fig. 2A-B shows second battery 103) to the second DC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows second DC bus).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second DC/DC converter connecting the second energy storage to the second DC bus as taught by Haugan in order to supply energy at various voltage levels according to the load demand minimizing loss during voltage conversion.
Regarding claim 12, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first, second galvanic isolators include a transformer (Fig. 1 shows first and second transformers 21).
However, Hartig does no teach third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer.
However, Haugan teaches third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer (Fig. 1A-B shows first, second, third, fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer as taught by Haugan in order to increase the safety and reliability of the power supply to all the loads in the system.
Regarding claim 14, Hartig does not teach further comprising third and fourth galvanic isolators providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current, each having first and second terminals, the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator connected to the first loads, the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator connected to the second loads, and the second terminals of the third and fourth galvanic isolators connected together.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising third and fourth galvanic isolators (Fig. 2A-B shows third and fourth transformers 143 and converters 133) providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current (Fig. 2A-B shows converter 133 work as AC-DC converter in normal mode and DC-AC converter in failure mode) [0057-0060], each having first and second terminals (Fig. 2A-B shows converters 133 having first and second terminals), the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator connected to the first loads (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of the third transformer 143 and converter 133 connected to the first loads 123), the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator connected to the second loads (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of the fourth transformer 143 and converter 133 connected to second load 123), and the second terminals of the third and fourth galvanic isolators connected together (Fig. 2A-B shows second terminals of the third and fourth transformers 143 connected together via MV).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have third and fourth galvanic isolators providing bi-directional conversion between alternating current and direct current, each having first and second terminals, the first terminal of the third galvanic isolator connected to the first loads, the first terminal of the fourth galvanic isolator connected to the second loads, and the second terminals of the third and fourth galvanic isolators connected together as taught by Haugan in order to increase the safety and reliability of the power supply to all the loads in the system.
Regarding claim 15, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first, second galvanic isolators include a transformer (Fig. 1 shows first and second transformers 21).
However, Hartig does no teach third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer.
However, Haugan teaches third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer (Fig. 1A-B shows first, second, third, fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer as taught by Haugan in order to increase the safety and reliability of the power supply to all the loads in the system.
Regarding claim 16, Hartig does not teach further comprising first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers, each having first and second terminals, the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first AC bus, the first terminals of the third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the second AC bus, and the second terminal of the first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first terminal of the first, second, third and fourth galvanic isolators, respectively.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers (Fig. 2A-B shows first, second third and fourth circuit breakers 141), each having first and second terminals (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second terminals of circuit breakers 141), the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminals of first and second circuit breakers 141) connected to the first AC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows first AC bus), the first terminals of the third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the second AC bus (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminals of third and fourth circuit breakers 141 connected to the second AC bus), and the second terminal of the first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers (Fig. 2A-B shows second terminal of the first, second, third fourth circuit breakers 141) connected to the first terminal of the first, second, third and fourth galvanic isolators, respectively (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second terminal of the first, second, third, fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers, each having first and second terminals, the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first AC bus, the first terminals of the third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the second AC bus, and the second terminal of the first, second, third and fourth isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first terminal of the first, second, third and fourth galvanic isolators, respectively as taught by Haugan in order to ensure more efficient power supply to be carried on with safety.
Regarding claim 17, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first, second galvanic isolators include a transformer (Fig. 1 shows first and second transformers 21).
However, Hartig does no teach third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer.
However, Haugan teaches third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer (Fig. 1A-B shows first, second, third, fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer as taught by Haugan in order to increase the safety and reliability of the power supply to all the loads in the system.
Regarding claim 18, Hartig does not teach further comprising first and second isolator connection circuit breakers, each having first and second terminals, the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first and second AC buses, respectively, the second terminal of the first isolator connection circuit breaker connected to the first terminal of the first and third galvanic isolators, and the second terminal of the second isolator connection circuit breaker connected to the first terminal of the second and fourth galvanic isolators.
However, Haugan teaches further comprising first and second isolator connection circuit breakers (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second circuit breakers 141), each having first and second terminals (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second terminals of first and second circuit breakers 141), the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first and second AC buses (Fig. 2A-B shows first and second AC buses connected to first terminals of circuit breakers 141), respectively, the second terminal of the first isolator connection circuit breaker (Fig. 2A-B shows second terminal of circuit breakers 141) connected to the first terminal of the first and third galvanic isolators (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of first and second transformers 143), and the second terminal of the second isolator connection circuit breaker (Fig. 2A-B shows second terminal of the second circuit breaker 141) connected to the first terminal of the second and fourth galvanic isolators (Fig. 2A-B shows first terminal of the second and fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have first and second isolator connection circuit breakers, each having first and second terminals, the first terminals of the first and second isolator connection circuit breakers connected to the first and second AC buses, respectively, the second terminal of the first isolator connection circuit breaker connected to the first terminal of the first and third galvanic isolators, and the second terminal of the second isolator connection circuit breaker connected to the first terminal of the second and fourth galvanic isolators as taught by Haugan in order to ensure more efficient power supply to be carried on with safety.
Regarding claim 19, Hartig teaches wherein each of the first, second galvanic isolators include a transformer (Fig. 1 shows first and second transformers 21).
However, Hartig does no teach third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer.
However, Haugan teaches third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer (Fig. 1A-B shows first, second, third, fourth transformers 143).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have third and fourth galvanic isolators includes a transformer as taught by Haugan in order to increase the safety and reliability of the power supply to all the loads in the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836