DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 12/15/2025. Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 have been amended. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Additionally, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Here, under step 1 of the Alice analysis, system claims 1-7 and 21 are directed to a processor; and a memory storing program instructions, method claims 8-14 and 22 are directed to a series of steps, and computer program product claims 15-20 and 23 are directed to computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith. Thus the claims are directed to a machine, process, and manufacture, respectively.
Under step 2A Prong One of the analysis, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite planning and executing task based scheduling and operations of a distribution warehouse locality, including accessing, generating, optimizing, scheduling, and providing steps.
The limitations of accessing, generating, optimizing, scheduling, and providing, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers organizing human activity concepts, but for the recitation of generic computer components.
Specifically, the claim elements recite automatically accessing a set of customer orders for fulfillment from the distribution warehouse locality within a planned schedule time period, each customer order including a priority for fulfillment; automatically accessing current inventory levels for the distribution warehouse locality; automatically accessing expected shipments of inventory to the distribution warehouse locality thereby increasing inventory levels; automatically accessing a set of expected labor resources at the distribution warehouse locality for handling the expected shipments of inventory and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the planned schedule time period; automatically generating a set of tasks within the planned schedule time period for handling expected shipments of inventory to the distribution warehouse, thereby increasing inventory levels, and for fulfilling each customer order from the distribution warehouse, thereby decreasing inventory levels; automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the customer orders; automatically scheduling the allocated set of expected labor resources and the set of tasks for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders considering inventory levels over the planned schedule time period, the scheduling including a start time and an end time for each scheduled task including time buffers for each start time and each end time; automatically spatially optimizing an allocation of the scheduled set of tasks with the identified set of actors for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period, the spatial optimization utilizing the start time, end time and time buffers for further scheduling each scheduled task to reduce travel by the set of actors; and automatically providing a set of signals describing the optimized allocated set of tasks to the identified set of actors for performing the allocated set of tasks in response to the provided set of signals.
That is, other than reciting a processor and a memory storing program instructions, the claim limitations merely cover managing interactions between people, including following rules or instructions, thus falling within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims include a processor and a memory storing program instructions. The a processor and a memory storing program instructions in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a processor and a memory storing program instructions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
None of the dependent claims recite additional limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 2-4 recite additional implementing, accessing, and optimizing steps. Claims 5-7 further describe the allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources for each customer order. Claim 21 recites additional accessing, optimizing, and scheduling steps. Similarly, dependent claims 9-14, 16-20, 22 and 23 recite additional details that further restrict/define the abstract idea. A more detailed abstract idea remains an abstract idea.
Under step 2B of the analysis, the claims include, inter alia, a processor and a memory storing program instructions.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
There isn’t any improvement to another technology or technical field, or the functioning of the computer itself. Moreover, individually, there are not any meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, i.e., implementation via a computer system. Further, taken as a combination, the limitations add nothing more than what is present when the limitations are considered individually. There is no indication that the combination provides any effect regarding the functioning of the computer or any improvement to another technology.
In addition, as discussed in paragraph 00106 of the specification, “As depicted in Figure 9, computer system/server 912 in data processing system 900 is shown in the form of a general-purpose computing device. The components of computer system/server 912 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 916, a system memory 928, and a bus 918 that couples various system components including system memory 928 to processor 916.”
As such, this disclosure supports the finding that no more than a general purpose computer, performing generic computer functions, is required by the claims.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l et al., No. 13-298 (U.S. June 19, 2014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1).
As per claim 1, Grabovski et al disclose a data processing system for automatically and dynamically planning and executing task based scheduling and operations of a distribution warehouse locality, the data processing system (i.e., systems for dynamically and discretely managing tasks performed in retail facilities (particularly, in the warehouses thereof) by the facilities' workers, ¶ 0025) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing program instructions which when processed by the processor perform the operations of:
automatically accessing a set of customer orders for fulfillment from the distribution warehouse locality within a planned schedule time period, each customer order including a priority for fulfillment (i.e., an "order" (or "task set") 24--defined herein as any communication expressly or implicitly containing a requisition to a worker to perform one or more inventory-related tasks--is received from a task generator 22a, the order 24 is decomposed into its constituent tasks, ¶ 0029);
automatically accessing current inventory levels for the distribution warehouse locality (i.e., An example of an "order" is a "service ticket" generated manually by a manager, or automatically by inventory management software, expressly requesting a worker (or workers) at a warehouse to perform an inventory count of a particular product or SKU, or to restock certain shelves or bins, ¶ 0036);
automatically accessing expected shipments of inventory to the distribution warehouse locality thereby increasing inventory levels (i.e., An "order" can comprise one broad task (e.g., receive shipment) or several related narrow tasks (e.g., meet carrier at loading dock, scan contents of shipment, unload shipment, release carrier, transfer shipment to inventory), ¶ 0037);
automatically accessing a set of expected labor resources at the distribution warehouse locality for handling the expected shipments of inventory and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the planned schedule time period (i.e., The dynamic task manager 100 comprises a task source interface 110, a scheduling agent 112, a prioritization agent 116, a route optimization agent 118, and a task performer interface 114. The task source interface 110 functions to receive task sets from the task generator 22. The scheduling agent 112 functions to create a master task sequence from the incoming task sets received at the task source interface 110. The scheduling agent 112 is configured and in communication with both the prioritization 116 and route optimization agents 118, ¶ 0033, wherein An "order" can comprise one broad task (e.g., receive shipment) or several related narrow tasks, ¶ 0037);
automatically generating a set of tasks within the planned schedule time period for handling expected shipments of inventory to the distribution warehouse, thereby increasing inventory levels (i.e., An "order" can comprise one broad task (e.g., receive shipment) or several related narrow tasks (e.g., meet carrier at loading dock, scan contents of shipment, unload shipment, release carrier, transfer shipment to inventory). By decomposing a broad task into appropriately narrower specific tasks, it is possible with the present invention to guide less experienced workers through complicated operations, ¶ 0037), and for fulfilling each customer order from the distribution warehouse, thereby decreasing inventory levels (i.e., The task source interface 110 functions to receive task sets from the task generator 22. The scheduling agent 112 functions to create a master task sequence from the incoming task sets received at the task source interface 110. The scheduling agent 112 is configured and in communication with both the prioritization 116 and route optimization agents 118, ¶ 0033. Orders 24a, 24b, and 24c--each containing several discrete tasks--are received from task generators at different times. As they arrive, the individual tasks are extracted and queued into a master task sequence 26. The queue is subject to change as further discussed below, but nonetheless, ready for assignment to workers, ¶ 0050);
automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the customer orders (i.e., The scheduling agent 112 is configured and in communication with both the prioritization 116 and route optimization agents 118, such that the prioritization agent 116 can influence the scheduling of the task within the master task set as a function of time-based requirements and the route optimization agent 118, ¶ 0033);
automatically scheduling the allocated set of expected labor resources and the set of tasks for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders considering inventory levels over the planned schedule time period, the scheduling including a start time and an end time for each scheduled task including time buffers for each start time and each end time (i.e., The scheduling agent 112 is configured and in communication with both the prioritization 116 and route optimization agents 118, such that the prioritization agent 116 can influence the scheduling of the task within the master task set as a function of time-based requirements and the route optimization agent 118, ¶ 0033, wherein An example of an "order" is a "service ticket" generated manually by a manager, or automatically by inventory management software, expressly requesting a worker (or workers) at a warehouse to perform an inventory count of a particular product or SKU, or to restock certain shelves or bins, or to unload an incoming shipment at a particular docking zone, ¶ 0036);
automatically accessing an identified set of actors associated with the set of expected labor resources within an execution schedule time period that is within the planned schedule time period (i.e., . The scheduling agent 112 is configured and in communication with both the prioritization 116 and route optimization agents 118, such that the prioritization agent 116 can influence the scheduling of the task within the master task set as a function of time-based requirements, ¶ 0033);
automatically spatially optimizing an allocation of the scheduled set of tasks with the identified set of actors for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period, the spatial optimization utilizing the start time, end time and time buffers for further scheduling each scheduled task to reduce travel by the set of actors (i.e., Each discrete task is matched specifically (i.e., "personalized") to an appropriate worker on a rolling real-time basis, the assignment being adjusted or modified, when and to the extent required, to satisfy certain temporal or spatial criteria (e.g., time and route optimization). When a worker signals completion of an assigned task, the next discrete task in the queue that matches appropriately the worker's skills and/or availability is pulled from the queue and assigned to the worker, ¶ 0026. Scheduling--discussed in further detail below--is apparent in FIG. 3. Task C2 (having "expedited" priority) is placed on the top of the queue; task C3 (having "low" priority) is placed at the bottom. Similarly, tasks likely to be performed in the same areas of a warehouse inventory (cf., "electronics) are grouped together, reducing travel time between work zones, ¶ 0053); and
automatically providing a set of signals describing the optimized allocated set of tasks to the identified set of actors for performing the allocated set of tasks in response to the provided set of signals (i.e., The task performer interface 114 functions to transmit a personalized task to the task performer 20 in response to the receipt of an express or implied task request from the task performer, ¶ 0034).
As per claim 5, Grabovski et al disclose the allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources for each customer order is automatically updated; and wherein the allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of actors for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period is dynamically updated in response (i.e., status updates are accomplished automatically once a previously assigned task is assigned or completed. Completion of a picking task, for example, can be reported to a task manager instantaneously once labels on both a picked item and the tote in which it is placed are scanned. With the prior task completed, it can be deleted from a master task schedule and the worker's status information updated to "awaiting task", ¶ 0049).
As per claim 7, Grabovski et al disclose the allocation of the set of tasks with the set of labor resources for the set of customer orders is dynamically updated when a portion of the identified set of actors are missing (i.e., In respect of "current activity", regardless of the variety of nomenclature or tags available for code activities (e.g., "active", "inactive", "pending", "on break", "idle", "awaiting task", "tasked", "engaged", "unassigned", etc.), it is important that information regarding whether or not a worker is ready for a next assignment be quickly and regularly communicated to the task manager, ¶ 0049).3 4 6 21
Claims 8, 12 and 14 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 1, 5 and 7, respectively, since they are the method claims corresponding to the system claims.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 1 and 5, respectively, since they are the computer program product claims corresponding to the system claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1), in view of Hance et al (US 20180060765 A1).
As per claim 2, Grabovski et al does not disclose wherein the automatically generated set of tasks includes cross-docking whereby a customer order is fulfilled directly from an expected shipment of inventory.
Hance et al disclose one possible application includes order fulfillment (e.g., for individual customers), in which cases may be opened and individual items from the cases may be put into packaging within boxes to fulfill individual orders. Another possible application includes distribution (e.g., to stores or other warehouses), in which mixed pallets may be constructed containing groups of different types of items (i.e., types of products) to ship to stores. A further possible application includes cross-docking, which may involve transporting between shipping containers without storing anything (e.g., items may be moved from four 40-foot trailers and loaded into three lighter tractor trailers, and could also be palletized) (¶ 0014).
Grabovski et al and Hance et al are concerned with effective warehouse management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the automatically generated set of tasks includes cross-docking whereby a customer order is fulfilled directly from an expected shipment of inventory in Grabovski et al, as seen in Hance et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 9 is rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claim 2, since it is the method claim corresponding to the system claim.
Claim 16 is rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claim 2, since it is the computer program product claim corresponding to the system claim.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 17, 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1), in view of Hance et al (US 20190066041 A1).
As per claim 3, Grabovski et al does not disclose automatically accessing an identified set of automated machines associated with the set of expected labor resources within the execution schedule time period; wherein spatially optimizing the allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of actors for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period includes automatically optimizing the allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of automated machines for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the set of customer orders utilizing the start time, end time and time buffers for further scheduling each scheduled task.
Hance et al disclose In order to determine whether or not to reroute a delivery vehicle to an automated warehouse, a projected availability time for cargo at the warehouse may be determined. The projected availability time is a clock time or window of time at which the cargo is expected to be available for pickup by a delivery vehicle. In some examples, the projected availability time is a time at which one or more mobile robots at the automated warehouse are expected to have moved the cargo to a loading dock at the warehouse (¶ 0027). Scheduling information for robots at the automated warehouse may be considered. The scheduling information includes future tasks scheduled to be performed by robots at the warehouse. Such tasks may include repositioning inventory at the facility, unloading cargo from a delivery truck, and loading cargo onto a delivery truck, as well as other operations. In some examples, the scheduling information may include a separate ordered queue of tasks currently assigned to each robot at the warehouse (¶ 0028).
Grabovski et al and Hance et al are concerned with effective warehouse management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include automatically accessing an identified set of automated machines associated with the set of expected labor resources within the execution schedule time period; wherein spatially optimizing the allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of actors for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period includes automatically optimizing the allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of automated machines for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the set of customer orders utilizing the start time, end time and time buffers for further scheduling each scheduled task in Grabovski et al, as seen in Hance et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 4, Grabovski et al does not disclose the identified set of automated machines and the identified set of actors perform the allocated set of tasks in response to the provided set of signals.
Hance et al disclose warehouse and supply-chain coordinator 100 is in communication with each of robots 750, 752, 754, 756, 758, 760 so that warehouse and supply chain coordinator 100 can send commands and/or other messages to the robots and receive responses and/or other messages from the robots (¶ 0123).
Grabovski et al and Hance et al are concerned with effective warehouse management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the identified set of automated machines and the identified set of actors perform the allocated set of tasks in response to the provided set of signals in Grabovski et al, as seen in Hance et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, Grabovski et al does not disclose the allocation of the set of tasks with the set of labor resources for the set of customer orders is dynamically updated when incoming shipments are delayed.
Hance et al disclose tasks can be scheduled based on the truck's estimated time of arrival so that congestion at the loading dock is reduced or eliminated to reduce or eliminate delay in delivering the pallet(s) from the warehouse to the truck (¶ 0046).
Grabovski et al and Hance et al are concerned with effective warehouse management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the allocation of the set of tasks with the set of labor resources for the set of customer orders is dynamically updated when incoming shipments are delayed in Grabovski et al, as seen in Hance et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 21, Grabovski et al does not disclose accessing a set of equipment resources at the distribution warehouse locality for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the planned schedule time period; wherein automatically optimizing includes automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources and the set of equipment resources for each customer order; wherein automatically scheduling includes automatically scheduling the allocated set of expected labor resources, the set of equipment resources, and the set of tasks for fulfilling the set of customer orders; wherein accessing an identified set of actors includes accessing an identified set of actors associated with the set of expected labor resources and an identified set of equipment associated with the set of equipment resources, within the execution schedule time period; and wherein automatically optimizing includes automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of actors and the identified set of equipment for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period, the optimization including reducing travel by the set of actors.
Hance et al disclose an automated warehouse is a facility with robots that are configured to perform automated tasks to facilitate management of inventory at the facility. By using robots in an automated warehouse, visibility into warehouse operation may be improved. In particular, data from the robots may allow for accurate inventory tracking as well as accurate projections of when inventory may be made available for pickup at the warehouse (¶ 0023).
In order to project when the cargo will be available for pickup, scheduling information for robots at the automated warehouse may be considered. The scheduling information includes future tasks scheduled to be performed by robots at the warehouse. Such tasks may include repositioning inventory at the facility, unloading cargo from a delivery truck, and loading cargo onto a delivery truck, as well as other operations. In some examples, the scheduling information may include a separate ordered queue of tasks currently assigned to each robot at the warehouse (¶ 0028).
The scheduling information includes scheduled tasks to be performed by robots at automated warehouse 1808. In some examples, the scheduled tasks may include ordered queues of tasks assigned to each robot. In further examples, some or all of the scheduled tasks for the fleet of robots at automated warehouse 1808 may not yet be assigned to particular robots (¶ 0158).
Grabovski et al and Hance et al are concerned with effective warehouse management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include accessing a set of equipment resources at the distribution warehouse locality for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the planned schedule time period; wherein automatically optimizing includes automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources and the set of equipment resources for each customer order; wherein automatically scheduling includes automatically scheduling the allocated set of expected labor resources, the set of equipment resources, and the set of tasks for fulfilling the set of customer orders; wherein accessing an identified set of actors includes accessing an identified set of actors associated with the set of expected labor resources and an identified set of equipment associated with the set of equipment resources, within the execution schedule time period; and wherein automatically optimizing includes automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the identified set of actors and the identified set of equipment for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period, the optimization including reducing travel by the set of actors in Grabovski et al, as seen in Hance et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 10, 11, 13 and 22 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 3, 4, 6 and 21, respectively, since they are the method claims corresponding to the system claims.
Claims 17, 18, 20 and 23 are rejected based upon the same rationale as the rejection of claims 3, 4, 6 and 21, respectively, since they are the computer program product claims corresponding to the system claims.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is not directed to a method of organizing human activity as the claims include "automatically providing a set of signals describing the optimized allocated set of tasks to the identified set of actors for performing the allocated set of tasks in response to the provided set of signals.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 (as well as the dependent claims) improve the narrow technical field of scheduling the handling of expected shipments and fulfillment of customer orders in a distribution warehouse. This is a highly technical approach that is a novel and unobvious improvement over the cited art that enables automated scheduling and allocation of tasks for handling of expected shipments and fulfilling customer orders taking into account inventory levels, the scheduling including start times, end times and buffers for the scheduled tasks that are then utilized for spatially optimizing the task scheduling with actors that reduces travel, which is a significant advancement of the art. As a result, the amended claims are deemed to have overcome this 101 rejection.
Under Step 2B, it is respectfully submitted that the additional elements of claims 1, 8 and 15 provide significantly more than the recited abstract idea, because these claims, as amended, represents a non-routine improvement to the narrow technical field of scheduling the handling of expected shipments and fulfillment of customer orders in a distribution warehouse. Limitations that the courts have found to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include improvements to a technology or technical field. As described above, Claims 1, 8 and 15 improve the narrow technical field of automatically and dynamically planning and executing task based scheduling and operations of a distribution warehouse locality.
This is a highly technical approach that automatically enables automated scheduling and allocation of tasks for handling of expected shipments and fulfilling customer orders taking into account inventory levels, the scheduling including start times, end times and buffers for the scheduled tasks that are then utilized for spatially optimizing the task scheduling with actors that reduces travel, which is a significant advancement of the art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As recited in paragraph 0027 of the specification, “Database 120 may also include constraints and capacities 124 which includes site constraints, actor and action constraints, types of tasks which may be created for performance by actors (also referred to herein as labor resources and workers), automated machines (i.e., robots or other automated equipment which may also be included as labor resources), as well as other types of data which may generally be more static. Other types of data such as current labor resources (i.e., how many and which actors are currently on-site), customer order fulfillment penalties and rewards (e.g., delayed unloading or delayed customer shipments), etc. may be stored in database 120, either in dynamic data 122, constraints and capacities 124 or in other databases or files 126 within of in conjunction with database 120.”
Additionally, paragraph 0034 recites “Schedule execution module 270 may operate by taking the revised output plan from the schedule planning module 220, which includes task start and end times as well as high-level personnel assignments (i.e. 3 persons of a given actor type case picking these 5 orders from 10:00 to 11:15), and modifies the WMS work queue priorities to optimally sequence work to the appropriate actors given where they are and the work requirements.”
Similarly, the claim language recites “automatically accessing a set of expected labor resources at the distribution warehouse locality for handling the expected shipments of inventory and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the planned schedule time period; automatically accessing an identified set of actors associated with the set of expected labor resources within an execution schedule time period that is within the planned schedule time period; and automatically spatially optimizing an allocation of the scheduled set of tasks with the identified set of actors for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders within the execution schedule time period, the spatial optimization utilizing the start time, end time and time buffers for further scheduling each scheduled task to reduce including reducing travel by the set of actors”.
As such, and contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the claim limitations merely cover managing interactions between people, including following rules or instructions, thus falling within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. 2019 PEG Section III(A)(2), 84 Fed. Reg. at 54-55. Besides the abstract idea, the claims include a data processing system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing program instructions.
The data processing system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing program instructions in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014).
Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use computer components as a tool (i.e., data processing system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing program instructions). There is no change to the computers and/or other technology recited in the claims, thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology. See, e.g., Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, Inc., 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019) (using a computer to provide a trader with more information to facilitate market trades improved the business process of market trading, but not the computer) and the cases discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a)(I), particularly FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data is not an improvement when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer) and Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (using a generic computer to automate a process of applying to finance a purchase is not an improvement to the computer’s functionality). Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Under step 2B of the analysis, the claims include, inter alia, a processor and a memory storing program instructions. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
There isn’t any improvement to another technology or technical field, or the functioning of the computer itself. Moreover, individually, there are not any meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, i.e., implementation via a computer system. Further, taken as a combination, the limitations add nothing more than what is present when the limitations are considered individually. There is no indication that the combination provides any effect regarding the functioning of the computer or any improvement to another technology.
Regarding amended claims 1, 8 and 15, Applicant also argues that Grabovski does not teach or suggest "automatically generating a set of tasks within the planned schedule time period for handling expected shipments of inventory to the distribution warehouse, thereby increasing inventory levels, and for completing each customer order from the distribution warehouse, thereby decreasing inventory levels; automatically optimizing an allocation of the set of tasks with the set of expected labor resources for handling the expected shipments and fulfilling the customer orders; and automatically scheduling the allocated set of expected labor resources and the set of tasks for handling the expected shipments and for fulfilling the set of customer orders considering inventory levels over the planned schedule time period, the scheduling including a start time and an end time for each scheduled task including time buffers for each start time and each end time". Additionally, regarding amended claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17, Applicant argues that neither Grabovski nor Hance teach or suggest the amended claim language. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the updated rejection, Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1), Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1), in view of Hance et al (US 20180060765 A1), and Grabovski et al (US 20140136255 A1), in view of Hance et al (US 20190066041 A1), indeed disclose Applicant’s amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE D BOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623 May 19, 2026