DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application Number: 18/369,748 filed on 9/18/23 has a total of 15 claims pending for examination; there is/are 1 independent claims and 14 dependent claims, all of which are examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (e) with reference to Application Number: 202320391611.8 filed on 3/6/23.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plastic fastening member further comprises an arc-shaped mounting groove having a second bottom opening and corresponding to the rear leg tube” (see 112b rejection below of claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to improperly introduce a second vertical rod when reciting “two of the vertical rods” in line 3. The claim should be amended to properly introduce a second instance of a vertical rod since only a single vertical rod had been previously introduced at this point within the claim dependency.
Also, the claim appears to improperly introduce a second ladder frame when reciting “two of the ladder frames” in line 4. The claim should be amended to properly introduce a second instance of a ladder frame since only a single ladder frame had been previously introduced at this point within the claim dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the phrase “plastic fastening member” renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear if it should be interpreted as a fastening member being manufactured out of a plastic material or if the fastening member is plastic as in it’s capable of being flexible or bendable.
With further regards to claim 1, the phrase “the vertical rod is located at a front position of the outside of the front leg tube” renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear how Applicant’s figures show this limitation. The figures appear to only show the vertical rod element(s) 32 on lateral sides of element 12. As such, the limitation is being interpreted as ---the vertical rod is located at a lateral position of the outside of the front leg tube---.
With regards to claims 2-15, due to their direct or indirect dependence from claim 1, they suffer from the same deficiencies and are rejected under the same rationale.
With further regards to claim 2, the phrase “the plastic fastening member further comprises an arc-shaped mounting groove having a second bottom opening and corresponding to the rear leg tube.” renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear if the arc-shaped mounting groove truly corresponds to the rear leg tube since figure 4 of the specification appears to disclose element 162 to correspond to the opening for the vertical rod of the handrail and not the rear leg. As shown, the arc shape of element 162 is interpreted to correspond to the opening for the vertical rod of the handrail and not for the rear leg tube. Due to the above, the cited phrase is being interpreted as ---the plastic fastening member further comprises a mounting groove having a second bottom opening and corresponding to the rear leg tube---.
With further regards to claims 11-12, due to their direct or indirect dependence from claim 2, they suffer from the same deficiencies and are rejected under the same rationale.
Due to the vagueness and a lack of clear definiteness in the claims, the claims have been treated on their merits as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,149,493 to Boyer (hereinafter Boyer) in view of US Patent No. 7,100,739 to Parker et al. (hereinafter Parker).
With regards to claim 1, Boyer teaches a connecting structure [figs 9-13 – element 10’] of a handrail [figs 9-13 element 16’] and a ladder frame [figs 9-13 elements 12’, 14’] of a lambdoid foldable ladder [figs 9-11], wherein:
the handrail comprises a vertical rod [figs 9-13 element 16’],
the ladder frame comprises a front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’], a rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’] , and a plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’],
the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’] is disposed on a top end of the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’ – as shown], and a top end of the rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’] is rotatably connected to the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’], so as to enable the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’] and the rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’] to form a lambdoid rotatable structure [figs 9-11],
the vertical rod [figs 9-13 element 16’] is parallel to the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’] and is configured to slide to pass through the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’ – element 16’ is slid into and fitted within an upper opening of element 30’],
the rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’] and the vertical rod [figs 9-13 element 16’] are disposed on an outside of the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’ – as shown, elements 16’ and 14’ are outside of element 12’],
a connecting position of the rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’] and the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’] is located at a rear position of the outside of the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’ – as shown],
and the vertical rod [figs 9-13 element 16’] is located at a front position of the outside of the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’ – as shown].
Boyer teaches all of the above but is silent as to the fastening member comprised of plastic.
However, Parker teaches a ladder fastening member [Parker figs 1, 12 elements 10 made of elements 27] comprised of plastic [Parker column 6 lines 30-34] for the benefit of providing durability as well as a desirable aesthetic appearance [Parker column 6 lines 30-34].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boyer and Parker to have the fastening member [Parker figs 1, 12 elements 10 made of elements 27] comprise plastic [Parker column 6 lines 30-34] for the benefit of providing durability as well as a desirable aesthetic appearance [Parker column 6 lines 30-34].
With regards to claim 2, the combination of Boyer and Parker teaches the connecting structure of the handrail and the ladder frame of the lambdoid foldable ladder according to claim 1, wherein:
the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’] comprises an insert groove [figs 9-13 element 30’ is shown to fit around element 12’] having a first bottom opening [figs 9-13 element 30’ – opening where element 12’ is shown inserted within element 30’] and corresponding to the front leg tube [figs 9-13 element 12’], and
the plastic fastening member [figs 9-13 element 30’] further comprises an arc-shaped mounting groove (interpreted as “a groove” – see 112b rejection above) [figs 9-13 element 30’ is shown to fit around element 14’] having a second bottom opening [figs 9-13 element 30’ – opening where element 14’ is shown inserted within element 30’] and corresponding to the rear leg tube [figs 9-13 element 14’].
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,149,493 to Boyer (hereinafter Boyer) in view of US Patent No. 7,100,739 to Parker et al. (hereinafter Parker) in view of US Patent No. 3,139,155 to Skeels (hereinafter Skeels).
With regards to claim 3 and 11 the combination of Boyer and Parker teaches all of the above but is silent as to wherein a cross-section of the front leg tube is rectangular,
a cross-section of the rear leg tube is a square, and
a cross-section of the vertical rod is circular.
However, Skeels teaches a ladder [Skeels fig 1 element 10] having a cross-section of a front leg being rectangular [Skeels fig 1 element(s) 11 is shown having a rectangular cross-section], a cross-section of a rear leg being a square [Skeels fig 1 element(s) 14 is shown having a square cross-section], and a cross-section of a vertical rod being circular [Skeels fig 1 element 26 is shown having a circular cross-section] for the benefit of providing a stable ladder structure that is secure for a user to ascend or descent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boyer, Parker and Skeels to have a cross-section of the front leg tube be rectangular [Skeels fig 1 element(s) 11 is shown having a rectangular cross-section], a cross-section of the rear leg tube be a square [Skeels fig 1 element(s) 14 is shown having a square cross-section], and a cross-section of a vertical rod be circular [Skeels fig 1 element 26 is shown having a circular cross-section] for the benefit of providing a stable ladder structure that is secure for a user to ascend or descent.
With regards to claims 4 and 12, the combination of Boyer and Parker teaches all of the above but is silent as to wherein: a diameter of the vertical rod is smaller than a width of the rear leg tube.
However, Skeels teaches a ladder [Skeels fig 1 element 10] having a diameter of a vertical rod [Skeels fig 1 elements 26a, 26b] of a handrail [Skeels fig 1 element 26] being smaller than a width of a rear leg [Skeels fig 1 shows element 26 being narrower than elements 14] for the benefit of providing a stable ladder structure that is secure for a user to ascend or descent and is comfortable to grip/handle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boyer, Parker and Skeels to have a diameter of the vertical rod [Skeels fig 1 elements 26a, 26b] be smaller than a width of a rear leg tube [Skeels fig 1 shows element 26 being narrower than elements 14] for the benefit of providing a stable ladder structure that is secure for a user to ascend or descent and is comfortable to grip/handle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 5, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest the ladder frame further comprises a sliding sleeve, the sliding sleeve is slidably sleeved on the front leg tube, a bottom end of the vertical rod is connected to the sliding sleeve, and the vertical rod is configured to drive the sliding sleeve to slide on the front leg tube, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claims 6-10 and 13-15, due to their direct or indirect dependence from claim 5, they include allowable subject matter for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication No. 20230417106 to Leng teaches a foldable ladder having front and rear legs that connect at the top to a sleeve that allows them to pivot.
US Patent Application Publication No. 20200248507 to Moss et al. teaches handrails attached to ladder stiles.
US Patent Application Publication No. 20100170750 to Leng teaches in figure 3 a ladder having front legs, rear legs and a handrail that couple via a connector element.
US Patent No. 11,753,868 to Boyer et al. teaches a step stool with a slidable handrail.
US Patent No. 11,525,304 to Gian teaches a telescoping handrail for a ladder that attaches to the ladder using elbows.
US Patent No. 11,319,751 to Zhu et al. teaches a ladder having a telescopic handle and a connecting piece element where the front leg, rear leg and handrail meet.
US Patent No. 10,844,660 to Leng teaches a folding ladder hanving a handrail that has a narrower diameter than the front leg tubes so as to slide within the front leg tubes.
US Patent No. 2,467,800 to Backlin et al teaches a handrail being attached to a foldable ladder.
DEM
/DAVID E MARTINEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634