Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s response dated 8-12-26 and this office action is a final rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,758,960. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of the ‘960 patent are substantially similar to claims 1-13 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,893,173 to Bray in view of KR Patent No. 20-0420923 “Safety Cap having Anti-static Function” (hereinafter referred to as Safety Cap).
Referring to claims 1 and 13, Bray discloses A headwear apparatus for positioning on the head of an animal comprising, a body – at 14,50,52, the body having a first side portion opposite a second side portion – see the side portions of 14,50,52 in figures 1-4, the body having a front side extending between the first side portion and the second side portion – see the front portions of 14,50,52 in figures 1-4, the front portion positioned opposite a rear side of the body – see rear portions of 14,50,52 in figures 1-4, a first strap – at 32,40,44, having a first end thereof in a first connection to the first side portion at a position thereon adjacent the front side of the body – see at 24c and 60c in figures 2 and 4, and having a second end thereof opposite the first end thereof, the second end of the first strap having a second connection thereof to the first side portion at a position thereon adjacent the rear side of the body – see at 24d and 60d in figures 2 and 4, a second strap – at 32,42,46, having a first end thereof engaged in a first connection to the second side portion at a position thereon adjacent the front side of the body – see at 34b,60b in figures 2 and 4, and having a second end thereof opposite the first end thereof, the second end of the second strap in a second connection thereof to the second side portion at a fixed position thereon adjacent the rear side of the body – see at 24a,60a in figures 2 and 4 with items 24a,60a in fixed position on the body, a fastener – see the knot (not labeled but shown under the neck and back of the jaw of the animal in figure 1), the fastener extending between a first end thereof and a second end thereof – see ends of knot in figure 1, the fastener having a first fastener portion which is engageable in a removable engagement with a second fastener portion – see ends of the strap removably engaged via the knot in figure 1, and the fastener – the knot in figure 1, is configured to substantially engage the underside of the neck of the animal between the first and second end of the fastener when the fastener is at the frontal location – see knot in relation to the animal in figure 1. Bray does not disclose the first end of the fastener in a first sliding engagement upon the first strap, the second end of the fastener in a second sliding engagement upon the second strap, the fastener being slidable along the first sliding engagement and along the second sliding engagement, between a frontal location below a bill projecting from the front side of the body and a rearward positioning adjacent the rear side of the body. Safety Cap does disclose the first end of the fastener – at either one of items 50, in a first sliding engagement upon the first strap – at 55, the second end of the fastener – other of items 50, in a second sliding engagement upon the second strap – other of items 55, the fastener being slidable along the first sliding engagement and along the second sliding engagement – see at 50 in figures 1-3, between a frontal location below a bill – at 10, front of 10, projecting from the front side of the body – at 10 – see figures 1-3, and a rearward positioning adjacent the rear side of the body – rear of 10 – see figures 1-3, and the fastener – at 50, is configured to substantially engage the underside of the neck of the animal between the first and second end of the fastener – at 50, when the fastener is at the frontal location – see figures 1-3. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray and add the fastener of Safety Cap, so as to yield the predictable result of removably securing the body to the animal in different positions/orientations as desired.
Referring to claim 5, Bray as modified by Safety Cap further discloses the removable engagement between the first fastener portion – at 50, and the second fastener portion – at the other of 50, having cooperative fasteners positioned in each of said first fastener portion – see at 50, and the second fastener portion – at 50, the cooperative fasteners being from a group including hook and loop fabric, snaps, buttons, clips, magnets, or grommets – see snaps/clips in figures 1-3 of Safety Cap. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray and add the fastener of Safety Cap, so as to yield the predictable result of removably securing the body to the animal in different positions/orientations as desired.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray as modified by Safety Cap as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,031,388 to Ode.
Referring to claim 2, Bray as modified by Safety Cap does not disclose a first curved recess formed through the first side portion of the body, a second curved recess formed through the second side portion of the body, and wherein the first curved recess is adapted for positioning around a first ear of an animal wearing the headwear, and the second curved recess is adapted for positioning around a second ear of the animal wearing the headwear. Ode does disclose a first curved recess – at 16, formed through the first side portion of the body – at 10,14 – see figures 1-2 and 4, a second curved recess – at 18, formed through the second side portion of the body – at 10,14 – see figures 1-2 and 4, and wherein the first curved recess is adapted for positioning around a first ear of an animal wearing the headwear – see figure 4, and the second curved recess is adapted for positioning around a second ear of the animal wearing the headwear – see figure 4. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap and add the first and second recesses allowing for positioning of the animal’s ears therethrough as disclosed by Ode, so as to yield the predictable result of better securing the device to the animal during use.
Referring to claim 3, Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode further discloses the first curved recess – at 16, defined by a first curved edge formed in the first side portion – see at 14,16 in figures 1-2 and 4 of Ode, the second curved recess – at 18, defined by a second curved edge formed in the second side portion – see at 14,18 in figures 1-2 and 4, and the first curved edge extending above and around the first ear of the animal wearing the headwear – see at 16 in figure 4 of Ode, and the second curved edge extending above and around the second ear of the animal wearing the headwear – see at 18 in figure 4 of Ode. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap and add the first and second recesses allowing for positioning of the animal’s ears therethrough as disclosed by Ode, so as to yield the predictable result of better securing the device to the animal during use.
Claim(s) 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. 100,000 to Anderson.
Referring to claim 4, Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode does not disclose the first curved edge extending in between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion, and the second curved edge extending in between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion. Anderson does disclose Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode and add the curved edges in relation to the straps as disclosed by Anderson, so as to yield the predictable result of better securing the hat to the animal’s ear area during use.
Referring to claim 6, Bray as modified by Safety Cap, Ode and Anderson further discloses the removable engagement between the first fastener portion – at 50, and the second fastener portion – at the other of 50, having cooperative fasteners positioned in each of said first fastener portion – see at 50, and the second fastener portion – at 50, the cooperative fasteners being from a group including hook and loop fabric, snaps, buttons, clips, magnets, or grommets – see snaps/clips in figures 1-3 of Safety Cap. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap, Ode and Anderson and add the fastener of Safety Cap, so as to yield the predictable result of removably securing the body to the animal in different positions/orientations as desired.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray as modified by Safety Cap as applied to claims 1 or 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,515,546 to Shifrin.
Referring to claims 7 and 11, Bray as modified by Safety Cap does not disclose a first slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap and a second portion of the first strap, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, the second portion of the first strap extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, a second slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap and a second portion of the second strap, the first portion of the second strap extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster. Shifrin does disclose a first slide adjuster – at 46, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap – at 42, and a second portion of the first strap – at 42 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 34 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2 the second portion of the first strap – at 42, extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 36 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2, a second slide adjuster – at 48, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap – at 40, and a second portion of the second strap – at 40 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the second strap – at 40, extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 34, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 36, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap and add the slide adjusters of Shifrin, so as to yield the predictable result of fitting the device to animals of different sizes as desired.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Shifrin.
Referring to claims 8 and 9, Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode does not disclose a first slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap and a second portion of the first strap, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, the second portion of the first strap extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, a second slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap and a second portion of the second strap, the first portion of the second strap extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster. Shifrin does disclose a first slide adjuster – at 46, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap – at 42, and a second portion of the first strap – at 42 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 34 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2 the second portion of the first strap – at 42, extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 36 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2, a second slide adjuster – at 48, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap – at 40, and a second portion of the second strap – at 40 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the second strap – at 40, extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 34, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 36, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap and Ode and add the slide adjusters of Shifrin, so as to yield the predictable result of fitting the device to animals of different sizes as desired.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray as modified by Safety Cap, Ode and Anderson as applied to claims 4 and 6 above, and further in view of Shifrin.
Referring to claims 10 and 12, Bray as modified by Safety Cap, Ode and Anderson does not disclose a first slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap and a second portion of the first strap, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, the second portion of the first strap extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the first slide adjuster, a second slide adjuster in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap and a second portion of the second strap, the first portion of the second strap extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second slide adjuster. Shifrin does disclose a first slide adjuster – at 46, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the first strap – at 42, and a second portion of the first strap – at 42 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the first strap extending between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 34 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2 the second portion of the first strap – at 42, extending between the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see item 36 in figure 1 which would have a corresponding component on the other side of the device with respect to the strap – at 42, and the first slide adjuster – at 46 – see figures 1-2, a second slide adjuster – at 48, in a sliding engagement with both of a first portion of the second strap – at 40, and a second portion of the second strap – at 40 – see figures 1-2, the first portion of the second strap – at 40, extending between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 34, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2, and the second portion of the second strap extending between the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion – at 36, and the second slide adjuster – at 48 – see figures 1-2. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bray as modified by Safety Cap, Ode and Anderson and add the slide adjusters of Shifrin, so as to yield the predictable result of fitting the device to animals of different sizes as desired.
Response to Arguments
4. It is noted that applicant will address the non-statutory double patenting rejections when all other rejections are overcome.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1, 5 and 13, the Safety Cap reference KR 20-0420923 discloses the first end of the fastener – at either one of items 50, in a first sliding engagement upon the first strap – at 55, the second end of the fastener – other of items 50, in a second sliding engagement upon the second strap – other of items 55, the fastener being slidable along the first sliding engagement and along the second sliding engagement – see at 50 in figures 1-3. Further, Safety Cap reference is analogous art in that the Safety Cap reference is in the same field of endeavor being protective headgear for animals and is also reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved of providing a headgear that is adjustably secured to fit animals of different sizes and orientations as seen in figures 1-2 of Safety Cap. Further, Safety Cap discloses a bill at the front of item 10 as seen in figures 1-2 with reference numeral and lead line for reference numeral 10 pointing directly to the bill. Therefore, Safety Cap discloses the fastener being slidable along the first sliding engagement and along the second sliding engagement – see at 50 in figures 1-3, between a frontal location below a bill – at 10, front of 10, projecting from the front side of the body – at 10 – see figures 1-3. Further, Safety cap discloses the fastener – at 50, is slidable to a rearward position adjacent the rear side of the body – at 10 – see figures 1-3, where the fastener – at 50 can slide along item 55 to be at a position at the rear of item 10. Further, there is a motivation/rationale to combine the device of Safety Cap with the device of Bray US 5893173, with the motivation/rationale being providing a device that is removably secured the body to the animal in different positions/orientations as desired.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 2 and 3, applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to parent claim 1 discussed earlier.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 4 and 6, the Anderson reference US 100,000, is not used to disclose the straps connected at their ends to a side portion of the body as seen in paragraph 3 of this office action. Further, Anderson does disclose the first curved edge – at either of F, extending in between the first connection of the first strap to the first side portion and the second connection of the first strap to the first side portion – see either strap at I connecting to B in figures 1-2 with the curved edge of F positioned between items I along the width of the device, and the second curved edge – other of items F, disposed between the first connection of the second strap to the second side portion and the second connection of the second strap to the second side portion – see other of items I connecting to B in figures 1-2 – see item F on the other side of the device that is disposed between items I as seen in figures 1-2.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 7 and 11, the Shiffrin reference US 5515546 is analogous prior art in that the device of Shiffrin is in the same field of endeavor being protective head gear and is also reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved being of providing a headgear that is adjustably secured to fit animals of different sizes and orientations as seen in figures 1-2 of Shiffrin.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 8 and 9 applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 7 and 11 discussed earlier.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 10 and 12, applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 11 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643