CTNF 18/369,837 CTNF 101710 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Species V in the reply filed on April 15, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the various species, I-IX, are just different implementations of the same invention and thus it would not be a serious burden to examine all of them on their merits. This is not found persuasive because the various species, no matter how minor the differences may appear to be, are still patentably distinct (i.e., are not obvious variants of one another), and prior art that reads on one may not read on another, thus creating a serious search burden. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 Claims 4-6, 8, 10, 12, and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 15, 2026. PNG media_image1.png 710 1020 media_image1.png Greyscale Fig. 18 of Aoyama, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Aoyama et. al. , Pub. No. US 2017/0062528, hereafter referred to as Aoyama . Regarding claim 1 , Aoyama teaches all of the limitations of the claim in Fig. 18, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner: “ A display device ” ([0001]) “ comprising: a substrate ” ([0402]; Fig. 18, substrate 31); “ at least one light emitting unit ” ([0402]; Fig. 18, light-emitting element 40) “ bound on the substrate ” (Fig. 18; the light-emitting element 40 is considered bound to the substrate 31 through other elements); “ a transparency controllable unit disposed on the substrate ” ([0402]; Fig. 18, liquid crystal element 60; also see [0317]); “ and an integrated circuit unit ” (Fig. 18, transistors 205 and 206) “ overlapped with the substrate ” (Fig. 18; note the placements of the transistors 205 and 206 relative to the substrate 31) “ and comprising a semiconducting structure ” ([0171]; Fig. 18, semiconductor layer 231) “ and a conductive structure ” ([0169] and [0171]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 221 and insulating layer 211) “ overlapped with the semiconducting structure ” (Fig. 18; note the relative placement of the conductive layer 221 and the semiconductor layer 231), “ wherein the integrated circuit unit is electrically connected to the at least one light emitting unit ” ([0169]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 224; note that the conductive layer 224 is in electrical contact with both the transistor 205 and the light-emitting element 40) “ and the transparency controllable unit ” ([0408]; Fig. 18, terminal portion 207; note that the terminal portion 207 is in electrical contact with both the transistor 206 and the conducting layer 191, which is part of the liquid crystal element 60). Regarding claim 2 , Aoyama, further teaches “ The display device of claim 1, wherein the conductive structure ” ([0169] and [0171]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 221 and insulating layer 211) “ comprises a conductive layer ” ([0171]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 221) “ and an insulating layer ” ([0169]; Fig. 18, insulating layer 211) “ disposed between the semiconducting structure and the conductive layer ” (Fig. 18; note the relative positions of the semiconducting structure 231, the insulating layer 211, and the conductive layer 221). Regarding claim 3 , Aoyama anticipates “ The display device of claim 2, wherein a material of the semiconducting structure comprises silicon carbide (SiC), silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), gallium arsenide (GaAs), indium phosphide (InP) or gallium nitride (GaN) ” by teaching the use of silicon, germanium, or gallium arsenide as the material for the semiconductors used in the transistors ([221]: “As a semiconductor material used for the transistor, for example, an element of Group 14 (e.g., silicon or germanium), a compound semiconductor, or an oxide semiconductor can be used. Typically, a semiconductor containing silicon, a semiconductor containing gallium arsenide, an oxide semiconductor containing indium, or the like can be used.”). Regarding claim 7 , Aoyama further teaches “ The display device of claim 2, wherein the integrated circuit unit ” (Fig. 18, transistors 205 and 206) “ is bound under the substrate ” (Fig. 18; note the relative positions of the transistors 205 and 206 and the substrate 31), “ the conductive layer ” ([0171]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 221) “ is disposed between the substrate and the insulating layer ” (Fig. 18; note the relative positions of the substrate 31, the conductive layer 221, and the insulating layer 211), “ and the insulating layer ” ([0169]; Fig. 18, insulating layer 211) “ is disposed between the conductive layer and the semiconducting structure ” (Fig. 18; note the relative positions of the conductive layer 221, the insulating layer 211, and the semiconducting layer 231). Regarding claim 13 , Aoyama further teaches “ The display device of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit unit ” (Fig. 18, transistors 205 and 206) “ and the at least one light emitting unit ” ([0402]; Fig. 18, light-emitting element 40) “ are overlapped ” (Fig. 18; note the relative placement of the transistors 205 and 206 and the light-emitting element 40). PNG media_image2.png 528 785 media_image2.png Greyscale Fig. 9 of Higaki, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner. PNG media_image3.png 379 780 media_image3.png Greyscale Fig. 10 of Higaki, reproduced with annotations added by the examiner. PNG media_image4.png 366 695 media_image4.png Greyscale Fig. 11B of Higaki, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 9, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama in view of Higaki et. al. , Pub. No. 2008/0136989, hereafter referred to as Higaki . Regarding claim 1 , Aoyama teaches “ A display device ” (Aoyama [0001]) “ comprising: a substrate ” (Aoyama [0402]; Fig. 18, substrate 31); “ at least one light emitting unit ” (Aoyama [0402]; Fig. 18, light-emitting element 40) “ bound on the substrate ” (Aoyama Fig. 18; the light-emitting element 40 is considered bound to the substrate 31 through other elements); “ a transparency controllable unit disposed on the substrate ” (Aoyama [0402]; Fig. 18, liquid crystal element 60; also see [0317]); “ and an integrated circuit unit ” (Aoyama Fig. 18, transistor 201) “ overlapped with the substrate ” (Aoyama [0071] and [0165]; Fig. 18, circuit 34, transistor 201) “ and comprising a semiconducting structure ” (Aoyama [0171]; Fig. 18, semiconductor layer 231) “ and a conductive structure ” (Aoyama [0169] and [0171]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 221 and insulating layer 211) “ overlapped with the semiconducting structure ” (Aoyama Fig. 18; note the relative placement of the conductive layer 221 and the semiconductor layer 231), but does not teach “ wherein the integrated circuit unit is electrically connected to the at least one light emitting unit and the transparency controllable unit. ” Higaki, on the other hand, teaches a driver circuit (Higaki [0174]; Fig. 10, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner, driver circuit portion; Fig. 11B, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner, driver circuit 1301) that is electrically connected (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 11B, connection region 1307) to a pixel circuit (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 10, pixel region; Fig. 11B, pixel region 1302). The electrical connection between the driver circuit and the pixel circuit taught by Higaki can be incorporated into the device of Aoyama as an electrical connection between the transistor 201 and the transistors 205 and 206 that are connected to the light-emitting element 40 and the liquid crystal element 60, respectively. The combined device teaches “ wherein the integrated circuit unit ” (Aoyama [0071] and [0165]; Fig. 18, circuit 34 and transistor 201) “ is electrically connected to the at least one light emitting unit and the transparency controllable unit ” (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 11B, connection region 1307). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have electrically connected transistor 201 in circuit 34 of the device of Aoyama to the transistors 205 and 206, as taught by Higaki, because such a connection would allow the circuit 34 of Aoyama to drive both the light-emitting element 40 and the liquid crystal element 60 via the transistors 205 and 206, respectively, and it would have been a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures. Regarding claim 9 , the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “ The display device of claim 1 ”, but does not teach “ wherein the integrated circuit unit comprises a molding structure surrounding the semiconducting structure and the conductive structure. ” Higaki, on the other hand, does teach “ wherein the integrated circuit unit comprises a molding structure ” (Higaki [0163]; Fig. 10, sealing material 628) “ surrounding the semiconducting structure and the conductive structure ” (Higaki Fig. 10; note that, in combination with the substrates 610 and 633, the sealing material 628 completely encloses the driver circuit portion and the pixel region). The sealing material of Higaki can be implemented in the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 as the addition of sealing material enclosing the driver and pixel circuits. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to enclose the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 using the sealing material taught by Higaki because the sealing material would protect the internal circuitry from damage due to moisture and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures. Regarding claim 11 , the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 teaches “ The display device of claim 1 ”, but does not teach “ wherein the at least one light emitting unit comprises at least three light emitting units, and the integrated circuit unit is electrically connected to the at least three light emitting units and electrically connected to the transparency controllable unit. ” Higaki, on the other hand, teaches an embodiment of their invention consisting of three light-emitting elements, one red, one green, and one blue (Higaki [0146]; Fig. 9, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner, electrode layers 1015R, 1015G, and 1015B). The three differently-colored light-emitting elements of Higaki can be implemented into the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 by adding two additional light-emitting elements. The combined device teaches “ wherein the at least one light emitting unit comprises at least three light emitting units ” (Higaki [0146]; Fig. 9, electrode layers 1015R, 1015G, and 1015B), “ and the integrated circuit unit is electrically connected to the at least three light emitting units ” (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 11B, connection region 1307; note that the three electrode layers 1015R, 1015G, and 1015B are part of the pixel region and thus connected to the driver circuit 1301) “ and electrically connected to the transparency controllable unit ” (Aoyama [0402]; Fig. 18, liquid crystal element 60; also see [0317]; note that the liquid crystal elements 60 are also part of the pixel region in the combined device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have used three light-emitting elements, one red, one green, and one blue, in the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 because the combination of three light-emitting elements in one pixel would allow for a higher-resolution color display and it would be a simple combination of elements of the two disclosures. Regarding claim 16 , the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki described in the discussion of claim 1 further teaches “ The display device of claim 1, further comprising a first transistor ” (Aoyama [0165]; Fig. 18, transistor 205) “ disposed on the substrate ” (Aoyama [0070]; Fig. 18, substrate 31; note that the transistor 205 is bound to the substrate 31 through other elements) “ and electrically connected between the at least one light emitting unit ” (Aoyama [0169]; Fig. 18, conductive layer 224; note that the conductive layer 224 is in electrical contact with both the transistor 205 and the light-emitting element 40) “ and the integrated circuit unit ” (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 11B, connection region 1307; note that the transistor 205 is part of the pixel region 1302 in the combined device). Regarding claim 17 , the combined device of Aoyama and Higaki as applied to claim 1 further teaches “ The display device of claim 16, further comprising a second transistor ” (Aoyama [0402]; Fig. 18, transistor 206) “ disposed on the substrate ” (Aoyama [0070]; Fig. 18, substrate 31; note that the transistor 206 is bound to the substrate 31 through other elements) “ and electrically connected between the transparency controllable unit ” (Aoyama [0408]; Fig. 18, terminal portion 207; note that the terminal portion 207 is in electrical contact with both the transistor 206 and the conducting layer 191, which is part of the liquid crystal element 60) “ and the integrated circuit unit ” (Higaki [0178]; Fig. 11B, connection region 1307; note that the transistor 206 is part of the pixel region 1302 in the combined device). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT EMIL THROCKMORTON whose telephone number is (571) 272-7014. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 12 PM and 1 PM - 5:30 PM ET Monday-Thursday, 7:30 AM - 11:30 AM and 12:30 PM - 4:30 PM ET Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, STEVEN H LOKE can be reached at (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.E.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2818 /STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/369,837 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818