DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action.
Application and Claims Status
Claims 1-20 were pending. In the amendment as filed on 6/14/2026, applicants have amended claims 1, 10, 13-14, and 18; cancelled claims 2-8; and added no new claims. Therefore, claims 1, and 9-20 are currently pending and under examination.
Specification Objections
The objection to the specification (abstract and title) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 7 because of undefined abbreviations is withdrawn based on Applicant’s cancellation of the claim. Claim 1, which now incorporates abbreviations, also has the full meaning of each term.
The objection to claims 13 and 14 because of additional prepositions is withdrawn because Applicant corrected the grammatical errors.
The objection to claim 18 because of missing articles is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 2-3 under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn based on cancellation of the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
The rejection of claims 1-20 under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Scope of Enablement – Methods of Treating) is withdrawn based on amendments to the claims. Specifically, Applicant specifies the benzenesulfonamide derivative as para-toluene sulfonamide and specifies the immunotherapeutic agents as anti-programmed cell death protein 1 (PD-I) antibodies or anti-programmed cell death-ligand 1 (PD-LI) antibodies.
The rejection of claims 1-7, 9, 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Scope of Enablement – Cancer) is withdrawn based on amendments to the claims. Applicant has limited treatment to specific cancers (breast cancer, melanoma) for which the Applicant provides support in the Specification.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Scope of Enablement – Prevention) is withdrawn based on arguments. The word “prevent” is not embraced by the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1, 9-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained. Applicants’ arguments filed on 6/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 1 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs (published January 1, 1948, cited by Examiner in Non-Final filed 3/16/2026)(hereinafter, ‘Krebs’), Carta et al. (published May 1, 2017, cited by Examiner in Non-Final filed 3/16/2026)(hereinafter, ‘Carta’), and Chafe et al. (published July 1, 2019, cited by Examiner in Non-Final filed 3/16/2026)(hereinafter, ‘Chafe’).
Regarding claim 1: Krebs first reported, in 1948, the inhibitory action of twenty-five substituted benzenesulfonamides on carbonic anhydrase (CA), including para-toluenesulfonamide. Krebs reported that “p-toluenesulphonamide…caused a 50% inhibition at molar concentrations between 1 x 10-7 and 2 x 10-7” and that it had the highest inhibitory power in a series of substituted benzenesulfonamides tested (Krebs, page 525).
Carta reports the discovery of SLC-0111 (a primary benzenesulfonamide, shown below) and its use as a “highly effective inhibitor of CA IX/XII, two isoforms predominantly found in tumors, and to possess a significant antitumor/antimetastatic effect in animal models of cancer.” Further, “SLC-0111 entered in Phase I clinical trials in 2014 for the treatment of advanced metastatic solid tumors overexpressing CA IX/XII. The Phase I clinical trials finished successfully at the end of 2016” and the compound was scheduled to enter Phase II at the time of the Carta publication.
Altogether, Krebs and Carta report the use of benzenesulfonamide inhibitors for the treatment of cancers through inhibition of carbonic anhydrase. They do not report their combined use with an immunotherapeutic agent.
Chafe discloses a combination treatment using a CA inhibitor and immune-checkpoint inhibitors (ICIs) to significantly improve the survival of patients across a broad spectrum of advanced solid cancers. Specifically, Chafe reports the use of SLC-0111 in combination with ICIs anti-PD-1 antibody and anti-CTLA-4 antibody to reduce melanoma tumor growth and breast cancer metastasis (Abstract).
Using the B16F10 murine skin melanoma cell lines—the same mouse melanoma cell line used by Applicant (page 19, para 0089)—Chafe reports, on reference page 1070, “addition of SLC-0111 to the combination of anti–PD-1 and anti–CTLA-4 further delayed tumor growth and progression (Fig. 3B and C; Supplementary Fig. S3A and S3C), and this triple combination increased the number of complete responders to 30% (3/10), resulting in the extension of survival of these mice (Fig. 3C, E, and F).”
Chafe extends their melanoma observations to other hypoxic solid tumors and report CA inhibition in combination with ICI in the 4T1 model of basal-like breast cancer—again, the same mouse model tumor cell line used by Applicant (page 16, para 0073). Chafe reports, on reference page 1072, “combination of anti–PD-1 and anti–CTLA-4 increased central necrosis within the tumors relative to controls (Fig. 4D; Supplementary Fig. S4G), and the addition of SLC-0111 to this combination increased intratumoral necrosis even further, suggesting that this combination was effectively activating the immune system to target the tumor (Fig. 4D).”
Para-toluenesulfonamide is a well-established CA inhibitor and SLC-0111 is another well-known CA inhibitor with reported clinical success. Chafe reports the use of SLC-0111 and immunotherapeutic agents as a method to treat breast cancer and melanoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the known CA inhibitor of Krebs and substitute it with the combination treatment taught by Chafe with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, said claim is rendered obvious.
Claims 9-20 are also rejected. Chafe reports, in Materials and Methods section, Animal studies subsection, page 1065:
Mice were then randomly distributed among groups in a manner to maintain equal size distributions across each treatment group. Treatment with SLC-0111 (50 mg/kg) or drug vehicle was initiated on day 1, and treatments were administered daily until study completion by oral gavage. The oral formulation (drug vehicle) of SLC-0111 consisted of 55.6% (w/w) phospholipon (Lipoid), 7.3% vitamin E TPGS (Antares Health Products Inc., #TG0101NF), 11.9% polyethylene glycol (PEG) 200 (Sigma, #P3015-500G), 16.3% PEG400 (Sigma, #202398-500G), and 8.9% propylene glycol (Sigma, #P4347-500ML). Antibodies to PD-1 (10 mg/kg), CTLA-4 (10 mg/kg), or isotype controls (10 mg/kg) were administered intraperitoneally (i.p.) on days 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11. (emphasis added)
Regarding claims 10, and 18-20: Mice were treated with 50 mg/kg of SLC-0111 (the “benzenesulfonamide derivative”) via oral gavage (i.e. oral liquid) and 10 mg/kg of antibodies to PD-1 or antibodies to CTLA-4 (the “immunotherapeutic agent”) via intraperitoneal injection. The ratio of benzenesulfonamide derivative to immunotherapeutic agent is thus 55 mg/kg: 10 mg/kg, or 5.5:1, dosed to mice via oral liquid. Accordingly, claims 10, 18-20 are rejected.
Regarding claims 16-17: The oral formulation consisted of phospholipon, a known wetting agent, and polyethylene glycol, a known binder. Accordingly, claims 16-17 are rejected.
Regarding claims 9-15, in general: The instant claims report a range of benzenesulfonamide derivative to immunotherapeutic agent between 12.5:1 to 2000:1 (claim 9) and about 55 mg/kg to about 2 mg/kg, or about 27.5:1 (claim 11) that is administered daily until study completion. While these ranges and administration frequency do not fall squarely within the reference range of 5.5:1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the amount of SLC-0111, amount of antibodies to PD-1 or antibodies to CTLA-4, and the treatment regimen taught by Chafe as a starting point for optimizing the amount and treatment regimen of SLC-0111 and antibodies to PD-1 or antibodies to CTLA-4 utilized to treat breast cancer and melanoma since Chafe teaches SCL-0111 and antibodies to PD-1 or antibodies to CTLA-4 are useful for treating both breast cancer and melanoma and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages and administration frequency would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). Accordingly, claims 9-15 are rejected.
Thus, said claims are rendered obvious.
Applicant traverses the rejection for the following reasons:
First, Applicant argues that Krebs only discloses para-toluenesulfonamide (PTS) as a kind of CA inhibitor and fails to disclose its use in combination with immunotherapeutic agents (Remarks filed on 6/14/2026, page 9) and concludes by saying this is “impermissible hindsight” (Remarks, page 10).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Krebs fails to disclose PTS in combination with immunotherapeutic agents, it must be recognized that that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. As noted in MPEP 2145 (IV): “T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." As noted in the 103 rejection, PTS is a well-established CA inhibitor and SLC-0111 is another well-known CA inhibitor with reported clinical success. Chafe reports the use of SLC-0111 and immunotherapeutic agents as a method to treat breast cancer and melanoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the known CA inhibitor of Krebs and substitute it with the combination treatment taught by Chafe with a reasonable expectation of success.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Second, Applicant argues (Remarks, page 10) that Chafe teaches away the use of an immune checkpoint inhibitor with SLC-0111, by citing Supplementary Fig. 3A and a passage from Chafe, which states, “Combining SLC-0111 with either immune-checkpoint antibody offered no additional benefit over either single agent”. Applicant further states, “To provide the desired tumor volume reducing effect, the combinations of P+C [anti-PD-1 antibody + anti-CTLA-4 antibody] or S+P+C [SCL-0111 + anti-PD-1 antibody + anti-CTLA-4 antibody] would need to be used”.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner notes that Chafe is replete with data and discussions boasting the use of CA inhibitor with immune checkpoint inhibitors. Some examples are as follows:
Abstract: “We found that targeting CAIX with the small-molecule SLC-0111 reduced glycolytic
metabolism of tumor cells and extracellular acidification, resulting in increased immune cell killing. SLC-0111 treatment in combination with immune-checkpoint inhibitors led to the sensitization of tumors to ICB, which led to an enhanced Th1 response, decreased tumor growth, and reduced metastasis.”
Page 1070: “The addition of SLC-0111 to the combination of anti–PD-1 and anti–CTLA-4 further delayed tumor growth and progression (Fig. 3B and C; Supplementary Fig. S3A and S3C), and this triple combination increased the number of complete responders to 30% (3/10), resulting in the extension of survival of these mice (Fig. 3C, E, and F).”
Page 1072: “The combination of anti–PD-1 and anti–CTLA-4 increased central necrosis within the tumors relative to controls (Fig. 4D; Supplementary Fig. S4G), and the addition of SLC-0111 to this combination increased intratumoral necrosis even further, suggesting that this combination was effectively activating the immune system to target the tumor (Fig. 4D).”
Table 1, page 1072 (shown below), which shows treatments of SLC-0111 + anti-PD-1 antibody (embraced by instant claim 1); and triple combination treatment of SLC-0111 + anti-PD-1 antibody + anti-CTLA-4 antibody (also embraced by instant claim 1):
Applicant’s decision to cherry-pick a data point or sentence from Chafe does not make the disclosure of Chafe inferior.
Furthermore, instant claim 1 uses the open-ended transitional term of “comprising”. This inclusive transitional term does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps, such as an anti-CTLA-4 antibody, which is in fact contemplated in the instant specification as an immunotherapeutic agent. Applicant recites (Specification, page 8, para [0032], lines 12-13), “In some embodiments, the ICI [Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor] is an anti-PD-1 antibody, an anti-PD-L1 antibody, an anti-CTLA-4 antibody, an anti-LAG-3 antibody, or an anti-TIM-3 antibody” (emphasis added). Therefore, the additional element of an anti-CTLA-4 in the triple combination therapy of Chafe (Table 1, shown above, and elsewhere in the reference) is not excluded by the claim language of the instant application and is even contemplated by the Applicant.
Applicant admits (Remarks, Page 10) that “To provide the desired tumor volume reducing effect, the combinations of P+C or S+P+C would need to be used”, where S+P+C refers to SLC-0111 + anti-PD-1 antibody + anti-CTLA-4 antibody. The combination of S+P+C is embraced by instant claim 1, which is drawn to “A method of treating cancer, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition and an immunotherapeutic agent to a subject in need thereof, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises a benzenesulfonamide derivative and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier thereof, wherein the benzenesulfonamide derivative is para-toluene sulfonamide, wherein the immunotherapeutic agent is anti-programmed cell death protein 1 (PD-I) antibodies or anti-programmed cell death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) antibodies…” (emphasis added).
Altogether, the scope of claims 1, and 9-20 is deemed obvious and the 35 USC § 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/SUSANNA MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624