CTNF 18/369,872 CTNF 87747 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification The title of the invention is not descriptive. Simply reciting a “power supply system” is not sufficient enough to encompass what the inventive concept is of this application/claims. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim 1, “subjected to the voltage control every prescribed period” is unclear since there is now previously introduced period and therefore is it not clear what exactly every prescribed period is limiting. Claims 2-7 depend from claim and are rejected for the same reasons. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takagi [US 2024/0022103] . With respect to claim 1 , Takagi discloses a power supply system [ Fig. 1 ] comprising: a plurality of cell units [ STR1-STRm ] each including a cell [ M1-Mm ] and a converter [ PC1-PCm ], the plurality of cell units being connected in parallel to each other [ as depicted ]; and a control device that controls each of the plurality of cell units [ C1-Cm ], wherein the control device subjects at least one cell unit of the plurality of cell units to voltage control such that an output voltage from the power supply system attains to a voltage command [ par. 0022-0026 ] and subjects remaining cell unit(s) to power control such that output power from the power supply system attains to a power command [ par. 0036-0040; 0045; i.e. other battery cells/string are activated in response to deactivation of other cells to maintain the output and prevent excessive concentration of a processing load to one string ], and is configured to switch the at least one cell unit to be subjected to the voltage control every prescribed period [ see the various switches including 11 and S1 and S2 ]. With respect to claim 2 , Takagi further discloses wherein a single cell unit is provided as the at least one cell unit [ i.e. Fig. 1 shows at least switch S1 is subjected to a single cell ]. With respect to claim 6 , Takagi further discloses wherein the control device sets the prescribed period in accordance with a state of the at least one cell unit subjected to the voltage control [ i.e. the bypass switch is activate based on the status of the cell ]. With respect to claim 7 , Takagi further discloses wherein the state is represented by a degree of deterioration of the cell included in the at least one cell unit, and the control device sets the prescribed period to be shorter as the degree of deterioration is higher [ par. 0016 ] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi [US 2024/0022103] as applied above, and further in view of Zhao et al. [US 2021/0399326] . With respect to claim 3 , Takagi fails to disclose wherein a three-phase inverter is diverted for use as the converter, and cells different from one another are connected to arms of respective phases of the three-phase inverter. However, Zhao relates to a battery system where an inverter includes three phases, each phase including a battery cell [ Fig. 2 ]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Takagi to include a three phase inverter connected as taught by Zhao for the benefit of a large-scale battery system (and therefore more power) as suggested by Zhao while providing a more efficient design [ par. 0025 ] . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if canceled and incorporated into independent claim 1 including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. With respect to claim 4 , the prior art of record does not suggest or disclose the claimed combination of elements or steps as recited, most particularly the claimed, “further comprising a plurality of power supply sub units connected in parallel to each other, each of the plurality of power supply sub units including three cell units, wherein the three cell units include the cells connected to the arms of different phases of the three-phase inverter, respectively, and the control device is configured to carry out the voltage control and the power control in units of a power supply sub unit of the plurality of power supply sub units.” Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and is objected to for the same reasons. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-35 Claim s 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/369,881 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations in the instant application are present in the conflicting application, i.e. the instant application simply adds a limitation regarding the power control of the output power but that limitations is found in dependent claim 4 of the conflicting application. The additional claims are either present in the conflicting application or rendered obvious in view of the prior arts applied above for the same limitations . This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATHANIEL R PELTON whose telephone number is (571)270-1761. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am to 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/369,872 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859