Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5: “the command value” lacks antecedent basis. Emend to “a command value”.
Further, to improve clarity, emend
“the control device increases the predetermined range, and increases an absolute value of each of the upper limit and the lower limit, as the command value of the power command increases.”
With
“the control device increases both (a) the predetermined range, and (b) increases an absolute value of each of the upper limit and the lower limit, as the command value of the power command increases.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Functional limitations of Claims 1-5, i.e.
the control device performing first voltage control in accordance with a first voltage command in the first battery unit, and performing power control in accordance with a power command in the second battery unit, setting a limit value for a change in electric power in the first voltage control, and when a difference between an output voltage value and a command voltage value exceeds a predetermined range, performing second voltage control in accordance with a second voltage command in the second battery unit.
the predetermined range based on a command value of the power command.
the control device increases the predetermined range as the command value of the power command increases.
the control device sets the limit value by setting an upper limit and a lower limit on an amount of change in current value in the first voltage control.
increases the predetermined range, and increases an absolute value of each of the upper limit and the lower limit, as the command value of the power command increases.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al (USPGPN 20090315392; hereinafter Ichi) in view of Iwata et al (USPGPN 20080192519)
Independent Claim 1, Ichi teaches a power supply system (Figs. [1, 2, 6, 8]) comprising:
a plurality of battery units connected to a load in parallel with each other and each including a battery and a converter (Figs. [1, 8]); and
a control device that controls each of the plurality of battery units (#2 & 4 in Fig. 8, Fig. 6, 2 & 4 in Fig. 1),
the plurality of battery units including a first battery unit and a second battery unit (see esp. Figs. [1, 8]), and
the control device performing first voltage control (control via [36/46], ¶’s [89-93, 95, 97]) in accordance with a first voltage command in the first battery unit, and performing power control in accordance with a power command (via [34, 44, 50], ¶’s [89-91, 93, 94, 97) in the second battery unit (Figs. [5A-7]),
setting a limit value for a change in electric power in the first voltage control (s106 of Fig. 7 of Figs. [5A-7]), and
when a difference between an output value and a command value exceeds a predetermined range (36 & 46 are shown to demonstrate the difference values in light of command from 50, range of the fluctuation allowed values), performing second voltage control in accordance with a second voltage command in the second battery unit (Figs. [5A-7] has the second converter compensating for the first converter when the command is beyond a range of the prescribed threshold value;
noted that Vh and VL’s difference in 36/46 represents the difference in voltage values).
Ichi fails to explicitly teach when a difference between an output voltage value and a command voltage value exceeds a predetermined value, performing second voltage control in accordance with a second voltage command in the second battery unit.
Iwata teaches when a difference between an output voltage value and a command voltage value exceeds a predetermined value, performing second voltage control in accordance with a second voltage command in the second battery unit (¶’s [58, 97, 103] in light of Fig. 1, where the converters are in parallel with each other analogous to Ichi and the present application; describes voltages V1B, V2B, V3B, i.e. voltage control). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by off-setting/compensating a converter with another to reach the desired output characteristics, it serves to improve the reliability of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ichi with Iwata to provide improved reliability.
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Ichi and Iwata teaches the control device sets the limit value by setting an upper limit and a lower limit on an amount of change in current value in the first voltage control (the range of the prescribed threshold value for the fluctuation is the upper and lower limits in Ichi meets this requirement)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichi in view of Iwata, further in view of Tsuno et al (USPGPN 20240322564)
Dependent Claim 2, Ichi teaches the predetermined range (as explained above, the fluctuations and the threshold, along with the power command).
Ichi is silent to adjustment of a discharge predetermined value based on a command value of a power command.
Tsuno teaches adjustment of a discharge predetermined value based on a command value of a power command (¶’s [104-107], discharge threshold is changed based on power command sent to a converter, see analogous structure of Fig. 1; Tsuno teaches this provides improved minute control (i.e. precise control), ¶’s [104, 107])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ichi in view of Iwata with Tsuno to provide improved precise control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For Claims 3 and 5, the prior art teaches the limitations of Claims 1, 2, and 4; the prior art fails to teach the further inclusion of and combination with the control device increases the predetermined range as the command value of the power command increases (with respect to [wrt] Claim 3) and the control device increases the predetermined range, and increases an absolute value of each of the upper limit and the lower limit, as the command value of the power command increases (wrt Claim 5).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859