DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's arguments, filed 01/23/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 01/23/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Applicants have amended claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18, and 21-22.
Applicants have left claims 4, 6, and 14 as previously presented/originally filed.
Applicants have canceled/previously canceled claims 2-3, 7-9, 11-12, 15-17, and 19-20.
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 13-14, 18, and 21-22 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections - Withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 of Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to claims 13, 18, and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the objections moot. The objections of claims 13, 18, and 21 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f) - Withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 of Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the 112(f) interpretation of “pulse pressing element” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the 112(f) interpretation moot. The 112(f) interpretation of “pulse pressing element” has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18, and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the rejection moot. The 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18, and 21 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Withdrawn and Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoharu Hasegawa (US 20060206031 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Hasegawa, in view of Addison et al. (US 20110028854 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Addison.
The claims are generally directed towards a device for measuring blood pressure, comprising: a signal conversion circuit, being configured to: receive a vibration signal from a vibration sensor, wherein the vibration signal is generated by the vibration sensor by measuring a target area, the vibration sensor comprises a metallic diaphragm and a piezoresistive strain gauge, and the metallic diaphragm is made of phosphor bronze; and convert the vibration signal into a digital signal; and a processor, being electrically connected with the signal conversion circuit, and being configured to: perform a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components having frequencies higher than 70 Hz and signal components having frequencies lower than 15 Hz in the digital signal; and determine a systolic pressure determination time point and a diastolic pressure determination time point according to the digital signal that has been filtered, thereby generating a blood pressure measurement result.
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa discloses a device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, Fig. 7, para. [0002]), comprising:
a signal conversion circuit (Fig. 4, Fig. 7, para. [0063], para. [0072]), being configured to:
receive a vibration signal from a vibration sensor, wherein the vibration signal is generated by the vibration sensor by measuring a target area, the vibration sensor comprises a metallic diaphragm and a piezoresistive strain gauge, and the metallic diaphragm is made of phosphor bronze (Fig. 3A, element 26, element 27, para. [0058-0067], “strain sensor for blood pressure detection may directly detect a pulse wave from a measurement region … strain gauge may be a metal strain gauge … metal thin plate can be phosphor bronze plate … when pressure transducer receives a pressure of the living body, a resistance of the strain gauge changes … pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”); and
convert the vibration signal into a digital signal (para. [0059], “pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”, para. [0069], para. [0072], “computer and a computer program …”); and
a processor, being electrically connected with the signal conversion circuit (Fig. 7, element 41, para. [0072]), and being configured to:
determine a systolic pressure determination time point and a diastolic pressure determination time point according to the digital signal that has been filtered, thereby generating a blood pressure measurement result (Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0028], para. [0029], para. [0059], para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”).
However, Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose the processor is configured to perform a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components.
Addison teaches an analogous device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, Fig. 2b). Addison teaches receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor (Fig. 2b, element 18, para. [0044-0045]). Addison further teaches a processor is configured to perform a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components (Fig. 2b, para. [0097], “signal may be filtered … band pass filtered to remove frequencies … pressure signal may be filtered through a narrow band-pass filter that may be centered on the scale of a ridge of a scale band of interest, such as the pulse band …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by Hasegawa to additionally be configured to perform a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components, as taught by Addison. This is because Addison teaches filtering the pressure signal allows for noise around areas of interest to be removed (para. [0097]), which allows for less data computation and a cleaner signal.
In regards to “removing signal components having frequencies higher than 70 Hz and signal components having frequencies lower than 15 Hz in the digital signal”, Addison explicitly discloses “band-pass filter … allow frequencies in the approximate range of 0-30 Hz … the cutoff frequencies of a filter area chosen based on the frequency response of the hardware platform underlying blood pressure monitoring system” (para. [0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exact cut off frequencies through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05, II, A, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969)”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hasegawa discloses the device for measuring blood pressure according to Claim 1, further comprising: a pulse pressing assembly (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, element 31, “compression means”, para. [0064]) comprising a pulse pressing belt, an air pipe, an inflator pump, and a deflation valve (para. [0064], “pressure applying pump for introducing air into the cuff and a compression band … rubber tube … air can be exhausted from the cuff to an outside through the pipe …”), wherein the processor is further configured to control the inflator pump and the deflation valve to exert pressure on the target area (Fig. 7, para. [0064], “pressure sensor for sensing the inner pressure of the cuff … so that the cuff pressure can be controlled …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the compression means are processed by the computer …”); and an air pressure sensing circuit, being electrically connected with the processor and the pulse pressing assembly and being configured to generate a pressure signal corresponding to the pulse pressing assembly and provide the pressure signal to the processor (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0064], “pressure sensor for sensing the inner pressure of the cuff …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the compression means are processed by the computer …”), wherein the processor generates the blood pressure measurement result according to the systolic pressure determination time point, the diastolic pressure determination time point, and the pressure signal (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the pulse wave detecting means and the compression means are processed by the computer and then displayed … maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure can be determined …”).
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa discloses a method for measuring blood pressure, being executed by a device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, Fig. 7, para. [0002]), and comprising:
receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor, wherein the vibration signal is generated by the vibration sensor by measuring a target area, the vibration sensor comprises a metallic diaphragm and a piezoresistive strain gauge, and the metallic diaphragm is made of phosphor bronze (Fig. 3A, element 26, element 27, Fig. 7, para. [0058-0067], “strain sensor for blood pressure detection may directly detect a pulse wave from a measurement region … strain gauge may be a metal strain gauge … metal thin plate can be phosphor bronze plate … when pressure transducer receives a pressure of the living body, a resistance of the strain gauge changes … pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”, para. [0072]);
converting the vibration signal into a digital signal (para. [0059], “pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”, para. [0069], para. [0072], “computer and a computer program …”); and
determining a systolic pressure determination time point and a diastolic pressure determination time point according to the digital signal that has been filtered so as to generate a blood pressure measurement result (Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0028], para. [0029], para. [0059], para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”).
However, Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components.
Addison teaches an analogous method for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, Fig. 2b). Addison teaches receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor (Fig. 2b, element 18, para. [0044-0045]). Addison further teaches performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components (Fig. 2b, para. [0097], “signal may be filtered … band pass filtered to remove frequencies … pressure signal may be filtered through a narrow band-pass filter that may be centered on the scale of a ridge of a scale band of interest, such as the pulse band …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hasegawa to additionally include performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components, as taught by Addison. This is because Addison teaches filtering the pressure signal allows for noise around areas of interest to be removed (para. [0097]), which allows for less data computation and a cleaner signal.
In regards to “removing signal components having frequencies higher than 70 Hz and signal components having frequencies lower than 15Hz in the digital signal”, Addison explicitly discloses “band-pass filter … allow frequencies in the approximate range of 0-30 Hz … the cutoff frequencies of a filter area chosen based on the frequency response of the hardware platform underlying blood pressure monitoring system” (para. [0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exact cut off frequencies through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05, II, A, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969)”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hasegawa discloses the method for measuring blood pressure according to Claim 10, further comprising: controlling a pulse pressing assembly comprising a pulse pressing belt, an air pipe, an inflator pump, and a deflation valve to exert pressure on the target area (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, element 31, “compression means”, para. [0064], “pressure applying pump for introducing air into the cuff and a compression band … rubber tube … air can be exhausted from the cuff to an outside through the pipe …”); and generating a pressure signal corresponding to the pulse pressing assembly (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0064], “pressure sensor for sensing the inner pressure of the cuff …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the compression means are processed by the computer …”), wherein the device for measuring blood pressure generates the blood pressure measurement result according to the systolic pressure determination time point, the diastolic pressure determination time point, and the pressure signal (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the pulse wave detecting means and the compression means are processed by the computer and then displayed … maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure can be determined …”).
Regarding claim 18, Hasegawa discloses a non-transitory tangible machine-readable medium, after being loaded into an electronic computing device, causing the electronic computing device to execute the following instructions (Abstract, Fig. 7, para. [0002]):
receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor, wherein the vibration signal is generated by the vibration sensor by measuring a target area, the vibration sensor comprises a metallic diaphragm and a piezoresistive strain gauge, and the metallic diaphragm is made of phosphor bronze (Fig. 3A, element 26, element 27, Fig. 7, para. [0058-0067], “strain sensor for blood pressure detection may directly detect a pulse wave from a measurement region … strain gauge may be a metal strain gauge … metal thin plate can be phosphor bronze plate … when pressure transducer receives a pressure of the living body, a resistance of the strain gauge changes … pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”, para. [0072]);
converting the vibration signal into a digital signal (para. [0059], “pressure is converted into an electrical signal …”, para. [0069], para. [0072], “computer and a computer program …”); and
determining a systolic pressure determination time point and a diastolic pressure determination time point according to the digital signal that has been filtered so as to generate a blood pressure measurement result (Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0028], para. [0029], para. [0059], para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”, para. [0072]).
However, Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components.
Addison teaches an analogous method and non-transitory tangible machine-readable medium for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, Fig. 2b, para. [0075]). Addison teaches receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor (Fig. 2b, element 18, para. [0044-0045]). Addison further teaches performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components (Fig. 2b, para. [0097], “signal may be filtered … band pass filtered to remove frequencies … pressure signal may be filtered through a narrow band-pass filter that may be centered on the scale of a ridge of a scale band of interest, such as the pulse band …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory tangible machine-readable medium disclosed by Hasegawa to additionally include performing a filtering process on the digital signal, wherein the filtering process comprises filtering out noise around a principal component wave corresponding to pulsation of the target area within a specific range by removing signal components, as taught by Addison. This is because Addison teaches filtering the pressure signal allows for noise around areas of interest to be removed (para. [0097]), which allows for less data computation and a cleaner signal.
In regards to “removing signal components having frequencies higher than 70 Hz and signal components having frequencies lower than 15Hz in the digital signal”, Addison explicitly discloses “band-pass filter … allow frequencies in the approximate range of 0-30 Hz … the cutoff frequencies of a filter area chosen based on the frequency response of the hardware platform underlying blood pressure monitoring system” (para. [0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exact cut off frequencies through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05, II, A, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969)”).
Regarding claim 21, modified Hasegawa discloses the non-transitory tangible machine-readable medium according to Claim 18, after being loaded into the electronic computing device, further causing the electronic computing device to execute the following instructions: controlling a pulse pressing assembly comprising a pulse pressing belt, an air pipe, an inflator pump, and a deflation valve to exert pressure on the target area (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, element 31, “compression means”, para. [0064], “pressure applying pump for introducing air into the cuff and a compression band … rubber tube … air can be exhausted from the cuff to an outside through the pipe …”); and generating a pressure signal corresponding to the pulse pressing assembly (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0064], “pressure sensor for sensing the inner pressure of the cuff …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the compression means are processed by the computer …”), wherein the electronic computing device generates the blood pressure measurement result according to the systolic pressure determination time point, the diastolic pressure determination time point, and the pressure signal (Fig. 7, Fig. 9, para. [0069], “blood pressure determine means may determine the maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure based on a feature of the obtained pulse waveform …”, para. [0073], “data obtained from the pulse wave detecting means and the compression means are processed by the computer and then displayed … maximum blood pressure and the minimum blood pressure can be determined …”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoharu Hasegawa (US 20060206031 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Hasegawa, in view of Addison et al. (US 20110028854 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Addison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Magnus Samuelsson (US 20130225941 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Samuelsson, in view of Lee et al. (US 20220015652 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hasegawa discloses the device for measuring blood pressure according to Claim 1.
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal conversion circuit comprises: three resistors, constituting a Wheatstone bridge with the vibration sensor, the Wheatstone bridge being configured to convert the vibration signal into a pair of differential signals.
Samuelsson teaches of an analogous device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, para. [0007]). Samuelsson teaches receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor (para. [0030]). Samuelsson further teaches using three resistors, constituting a Wheatstone bridge with the vibration sensor, the Wheatstone bridge being configured to convert a vibration signal into a pair of differential signals (para. [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal conversion circuitry taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally include three resistors, constituting a Wheatstone bridge with the vibration sensor, the Wheatstone bridge being configured to convert the vibration signal into a pair of differential signals, as taught by Samuelsson. This is because Samuelsson teaches a Wheatstone bridge in combination with a vibration sensor allows for a signal to be measured reliably and accurately based on a certain resistance of the Wheatstone bridge (para. [0030]).
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose a differential signal amplifier, being electrically connected with the Wheatstone bridge for receiving the pair of differential signals from the Wheatstone bridge and converting the pair of differential signals into an amplified signal.
Lee teaches an analogous device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, para. [0004]). Lee teaches receiving a vibration signal from a vibration sensor, wherein the vibration signal is generated by the vibration sensor by measuring a target area (para. [0038-0041]). Lee further teaches a differential signal amplifier for converting a pair of differential signals into an amplified signal (para. [0039], “differential amplifier … provide an amplified different output …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal conversion circuit taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally include a differential signal amplifier, being electrically connected with the Wheatstone bridge for receiving the pair of differential signals from the Wheatstone bridge and converting the pair of differential signals into an amplified signal, as taught by Lee. This is because Lee teaches a differential amplifier allows for an amplified signal of a differential piezoelectric sensor, allow for mechanical vibrations to be amplified for analysis (para. [0039]).
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose a low-pass filter, being electrically connected with the differential signal amplifier for filtering the amplified signal; and an analog-to-digital converter, being electrically connected with the low-pass filter and the processor and being configured to convert the amplified signal that has been filtered into the digital signal.
Addison further teaches a signal conversion circuit (Fig. 2b) including a low-pass filter, being electrically connected with the differential signal amplifier for filtering the amplified signal (Fig. 2b, element 68, para. [0052]); and an analog-to-digital converter, being electrically connected with the low-pass filter and the processor and being configured to convert the amplified signal that has been filtered into the digital signal (Fig. 2b, element 70, para. [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal conversion circuit taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally include a low-pass filter, being electrically connected with the differential signal amplifier for filtering the amplified signal; and an analog-to-digital converter, being electrically connected with the low-pass filter and the processor and being configured to convert the amplified signal that has been filtered into the digital signal, as taught by Addison. This is because Addison teaches a low-pass filter and an analog-to-digital converter allows for unwanted frequencies to be removed to reduce computational times (para. [0097]), and digitize the analog signal to perform processing in a microprocessor (para. [0052]).
Claims 6, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoharu Hasegawa (US 20060206031 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Hasegawa, in view of Addison et al. (US 20110028854 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Addison as applied to claims 1, 10, and 18 above, and further in view of Miele et al. (US 20020055680 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Miele.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hasegawa discloses the device for measuring blood pressure according to Claim 1.
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter.
Miele teaches an analogous device for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, para. [0015]). Miele further teaches the processor performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter (para. [0177]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filtering process taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally be implemented with a finite impulse response digital filter, as taught by Miele. This is because Miele teaches a FIR filter is a suitable filter for removing noise (para. [0095], para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hasegawa discloses the method for measuring blood pressure according to Claim 10.
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the device for measuring blood pressure performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter.
Miele teaches an analogous method for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, para. [0015]). Miele further teaches the processor performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter (para. [0177]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filtering process taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally be implemented with a finite impulse response digital filter, as taught by Miele. This is because Miele teaches a FIR filter is a suitable filter for removing noise (para. [0095], para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Hasegawa discloses the non-transitory tangible machine-readable medium according to Claim 18.
However, modified Hasegawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic computing device performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter.
Miele teaches an analogous process for measuring blood pressure (Abstract, para. [0015]). Miele further teaches the processor performs the filtering process by implementing a finite impulse response digital filter (para. [0177]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filtering process taught by modified Hasegawa to additionally be implemented with a finite impulse response digital filter, as taught by Miele. This is because Miele teaches a FIR filter is a suitable filter for removing noise (para. [0095], para. [0177]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-15, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103, specifically in view of Lee, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously cited references.
Applicants amendments necessitated a new ground of rejection. However, Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have argued on pages 9-11 of Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, that “the parameters of Addison are not result-effective variables for the claimed purpose …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited above in the newly applied rejection, Addison clearly teaches a narrow band-pass filter can be centered on a specific range of interest, which in one example can be 0-30 Hz, but also explicitly teaches the cutoff frequencies are chosen based on specific frequency responses of the hardware and what range the range of interest is (para. [0097]). That is, Addison clearly recognizes the cutoff frequencies for a band-pass filter affects the result of a blood pressure measurement, therefore the variable is result-effect (MPEP 2144.05, III, C). Further, see MPEP 2144.05, II, A, regarding routine experimentation.
Applicants have argued on pages 11-12, that “Addison teaches away from the claimed lower limit …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that “If one were to apply Applicant’s filter to the device of Addison …”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). That is, as recited above, Addison explicitly teaches a narrow band-pass filter can be centered on a specific range of interest, and explicitly teaches the cutoff frequencies can be modified (para. [0097]). Therefore, Addison does not “teach away” from modifying the cutoff frequencies to a lower limit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791