DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 03/04/2026. Claims 1, 15 and 17 were amended. Claims 3-4 and 18 remain canceled. Claim 21 was newly added. Likewise, claims 1-2, 5-17 and 19-20 are pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 in line 10 recites the limitation:
“…disabling, by a controller, a power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the reference signal …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16-17 and 19-21 depend from claim 15 and all are also rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorner et al. (EP 0784844) in view of in view of Komori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2018/0243647) further in view of Shah et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2015/0002278).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Thorner teaches a device, comprising:
a receiver to receive an input audio signal and output a received audio signal (Fig 1; ¶012-¶014); and
signal conversion circuitry (¶012; control system 106 converts the audio signals conventionally generated by the video game into control signals for the tactile sensation generator) to apply a frequency-dependent adjustment to the received audio signal to convert the received audio signal to a haptic signal for use by a haptic actuator (¶016; increased vibration with engine revs (higher pitched sound). The amplitude and frequency of the vibration is changed as the video car changes speed. Also, impacts with obstacles that are evidenced by low frequency, high amplitude audio signals result in forceful, high-frequency vibrations throughout the seat pad, & ¶017; processor 112 responds to the pitch (frequency), volume (amplitude) and rate of change of the audio signal by producing a processed signal indicative of these characteristics of the input audio signal; also ¶021, ¶030) and
further suggests the concept of a controller (Fig 1; control system 106) programmed to dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal (¶023-¶027).
Komori from an analogous art teaches an information processing apparatus including: a control section configured to generate a control signal that controls an operation of a tactile feedback apparatus including a tactile feedback section. The control section changes control on the tactile feedback apparatus on the basis of a type of the tactile feedback section which is recognized by the control section (Abstract Solution). Komori also teaches the controller programmed dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal (see details in ¶071-¶073, ¶148-¶151). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s controller with dynamically adjusting a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal, as taught by Komori in order to further enhance the haptic experience for users of the device.
Thorner and Komori do not explicitly mention wherein their controller is programmed to disable a power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value. Shaw from an analogous haptic actuator response art teaches the concept of a haptic feedback system includes a processor or controller 12. Coupled to processor 12 is a memory 20 and an actuator drive circuit 16, which is coupled to an actuator 18 (¶015) Processor 12 outputs the control signals to actuator drive circuit 16, which includes electronic components and circuitry used to supply actuator 18 with the required electrical current and voltage (i.e., "motor signals") to cause the desired haptic effects (¶016). Power to actuator 210 is controlled by a gate 215. Gate 215 may be implemented by a comparator component. Gate 215 may be a mixed signal circuit block with analog and digital parts. Gate 215 is decision making logic that compares the actual current with the desired current. In some embodiments, the desired current may be converted to an equivalent desired voltage for comparison. Likewise, in some embodiments, the actual current may be converted to an equivalent actual voltage for comparison. In some embodiments, the desired current is provided by processor 12 in the form of a Pulse Width Modulated ("PWM") Digital pulse interruption signal. Gate 215 controls a switch 220 based on a comparison between a desired current level and the actual current level. When the actual current level is greater than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to interrupt power provided to actuator 210. When the actual current level is less than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to provide power to actuator 210. Thus, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current provided to actuator 210 will approximate the desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Switch 220 may be opened or closed to interrupt or provide power, respectively… so that when turned ON, switch 220 will allow the power source to be connected to actuator 210 that will provide drive current. When turned OFF, switch 220 will disconnect the power source, stopping source current through actuator 210 (¶024). Thus, Shah teaches a controller programmed to disable a power supply connected to a haptic actuator. In other words, it was known at the time of filing the invention that control systems and/or a controller can easily control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for enabling and/or disabling said haptic actuator. Examiner further posits that it would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for a variety of reasons, including Shah’s, wherein, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current/voltage provided to an actuator will approximate a desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Some other reasons also known in the art prior to filing the invention, for example, shutting power off during times of circuitry power overload, be it voltage, current or wattage per se, as a fail safe to protect such systems/devices from damage and also shutting power off during times of circuitry power under utilization or inefficient usage of power with very little benefit as intended, which is known to save power, particularly in lower powered battery systems where the power is supply is limited and requires power-savings protocols to extend functionality overall. Likewise, the control systems and/or controller can be used control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above a defined non-zero threshold value and also below a defined non-zero threshold value. It still would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above or below any threshold value above 0, including a defined non-zero threshold value. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value, as a person with ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue power under-utilization or inefficient usage of power or the well known power savings option within their technical grasp.
Regarding claim 2, Thorner, Komori and Shah teach the device of Claim 1, and Thorner further teaches wherein the signal conversion circuitry comprises:
equalizer circuitry to apply a frequency-based gain adjustment to the received audio signal to generate an equalized signal (¶021); and amplifier circuitry to amplify the equalized signal (¶021, where the audio signal has a low amplitude, additional fixed gain amplification may be necessary before and/or after the variable gain preamplifier. Once amplified, the audio signal forms an input to the equalizer 306… depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both.; also see ¶030).
Regarding claim 5, Thorner, Komori and Shah teach the device of Claim 2, and Thorner further teaches wherein the equalizer circuitry comprises a filter to attenuate at least one frequency of the received audio signal (¶021 depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both. As such, a game player can adjust the frequency content of the audio that is used to generate tactile sensation generator control signals and, consequently, tailor the tactile sensation to the game being executed; also see ¶031).
Regarding claim 6, Thorner, Komori and Shah teach the device of Claim 5, and Thorner further teaches, wherein the filter comprises a band-pass filter (¶021; equalizer contains three parallel connected filters: a high pass filter 312, a low pass filter 314, and a bandpass filter 316).
Regarding claim 7, Thorner, Komori and Shah teach the device of claim 2, and Thorner further teaches, wherein the amplifier circuitry comprises:
a pre-amplifier to pre-amplify the equalized signal (¶018; audio signal processor 112 contains a front end circuit 300, a preamplifier 302) and
a high voltage amplifier to further amplify the equalized signal (¶023; capacitor temporarily holds the peak amplitude of the rectified audio… voltage level on capacitor forms an input to a high impedance voltage amplifier).
Regarding claim 11, Thorner teaches a device, comprising:
a receiver to receive an input audio signal and output a received audio signal (Fig 1; ¶012-¶014);
equalizer circuitry to apply a frequency-based gain adjustment to the received audio signal to generate an equalized signal (¶021, once amplified, the audio signal forms an input to the equalizer 306… depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both; also see ¶030); amplifier circuitry to amplify the equalized signal to generate a haptic signal to drive a haptic actuator (¶021, where the audio signal has a low amplitude, additional fixed gain amplification may be necessary before and/or after the variable gain preamplifier; also see ¶030); and
a controller (Fig 1; control system 106) to dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal (¶023-¶027).
Thorner does not explicitly mention wherein the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal. Komori from an analogous art also teaches an information processing apparatus including: a control section configured to generate a control signal that controls an operation of a tactile feedback apparatus including a tactile feedback section. The control section changes control on the tactile feedback apparatus on the basis of a type of the tactile feedback section which is recognized by the control section (Abstract Solution). Komori also teaches a controller to dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal (see details in ¶071-¶073, ¶148-¶151). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s controller with dynamically adjusting a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal, as taught by Komori in order to further enhance the haptic experience for users of the device.
Thorner and Komori alone or in combination do not explicitly mention wherein their controller is programmed to disable a power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value. Shaw from an analogous haptic actuator response art teaches the concept of a haptic feedback system includes a processor or controller 12. Coupled to processor 12 is a memory 20 and an actuator drive circuit 16, which is coupled to an actuator 18 (¶015) Processor 12 outputs the control signals to actuator drive circuit 16, which includes electronic components and circuitry used to supply actuator 18 with the required electrical current and voltage (i.e., "motor signals") to cause the desired haptic effects (¶016). Power to actuator 210 is controlled by a gate 215. Gate 215 may be implemented by a comparator component. Gate 215 may be a mixed signal circuit block with analog and digital parts. Gate 215 is decision making logic that compares the actual current with the desired current. In some embodiments, the desired current may be converted to an equivalent desired voltage for comparison. Likewise, in some embodiments, the actual current may be converted to an equivalent actual voltage for comparison. In some embodiments, the desired current is provided by processor 12 in the form of a Pulse Width Modulated ("PWM") Digital pulse interruption signal. Gate 215 controls a switch 220 based on a comparison between a desired current level and the actual current level. When the actual current level is greater than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to interrupt power provided to actuator 210. When the actual current level is less than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to provide power to actuator 210. Thus, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current provided to actuator 210 will approximate the desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Switch 220 may be opened or closed to interrupt or provide power, respectively… so that when turned ON, switch 220 will allow the power source to be connected to actuator 210 that will provide drive current. When turned OFF, switch 220 will disconnect the power source, stopping source current through actuator 210 (¶024). Thus, Shah teaches a controller programmed to disable a power supply connected to a haptic actuator. In other words, it was known at the time of filing the invention that control systems and/or a controller can easily control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for enabling and/or disabling said haptic actuator. Examiner further posits that it would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for a variety of reasons, including Shah’s, wherein, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current/voltage provided to an actuator will approximate a desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Some other reasons also known in the art prior to filing the invention, for example, shutting power off during times of circuitry power overload, be it voltage, current or wattage per se, as a fail safe to protect such systems/devices from damage and also shutting power off during times of circuitry power under-utilization or inefficient usage of power with very little benefit as intended, which is known to save power, particularly in lower powered battery systems where the power is supply is limited and requires power-savings protocols to extend functionality overall. Likewise, the control systems and/or controller can be used control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above a defined non-zero threshold value and also below a defined non-zero threshold value. It still would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above or below any threshold value above 0, including a defined non-zero threshold value. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value, as a person with ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue power under-utilization or inefficient usage of power or the well known power savings option within their technical grasp.
Regarding claim 12, Thorner and Komori teach the device of Claim 11, and Thorner further teaches wherein the equalizer circuitry comprises a filter to attenuate at least one frequency of the received audio signal (¶021 depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both. As such, a game player can adjust the frequency content of the audio that is used to generate tactile sensation generator control signals and, consequently, tailor the tactile sensation to the game being executed; also see ¶031).
Regarding claim 13, Thorner and Komori teach the device of Claim 12, and Thorner further teaches, wherein the filter comprises a band-pass filter (¶021; equalizer contains three parallel connected filters: a high pass filter 312, a low pass filter 314, and a bandpass filter 316).
Regarding claim 14, Thorner and Komori teach the device of claim 11, and Thorner further teaches, wherein the amplifier circuitry comprises:
a pre-amplifier to pre-amplify the equalized signal (¶018; audio signal processor 112 contains a front end circuit 300, a preamplifier 302) and
a high voltage amplifier to further amplify the equalized signal (¶023; capacitor temporarily holds the peak amplitude of the rectified audio… voltage level on capacitor forms an input to a high impedance voltage amplifier).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorner et al. (EP 0784844) in view of Shah et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2015/0002278).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Thorner teaches a method of controlling a haptic actuator (Fig 1; control system 106), comprising:
receiving, at a receiver, an input audio signal (Fig 1; ¶012-¶014);
outputting, from the receiver, a received audio signal (Fig 1; ¶012-¶014);
filtering haptic-audible frequencies from the received audio signal, wherein haptic- audible frequencies comprise one or more defined frequency bands determined to produce audible output from the haptic actuator (see filters/filtering; ¶021);
automatically converting the received and filtered audio signal to a haptic signal (for converting see; ¶012, Fig 1; control system 106 converts the audio signals conventionally generated by the video game into control signals for the tactile sensation generator and for filtering see filters/filtering; ¶021); and
driving a haptic actuator based on the haptic signal (¶012; control system 106 converts the audio signals conventionally generated by the video game into control signals for the tactile sensation generator; also ¶015; tactile sensation generator contains a seat pad 200 having localized vibration producing actuators 206 distributed within the pad. Also see ¶016).
Thorner does not explicitly mention wherein disabling, by a controller, a power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the reference/haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value. Shaw from an analogous haptic actuator response art teaches the concept of a haptic feedback system includes a processor or controller 12. Coupled to processor 12 is a memory 20 and an actuator drive circuit 16, which is coupled to an actuator 18 (¶015) Processor 12 outputs the control signals to actuator drive circuit 16, which includes electronic components and circuitry used to supply actuator 18 with the required electrical current and voltage (i.e., "motor signals") to cause the desired haptic effects (¶016). Power to actuator 210 is controlled by a gate 215. Gate 215 may be implemented by a comparator component. Gate 215 may be a mixed signal circuit block with analog and digital parts. Gate 215 is decision making logic that compares the actual current with the desired current. In some embodiments, the desired current may be converted to an equivalent desired voltage for comparison. Likewise, in some embodiments, the actual current may be converted to an equivalent actual voltage for comparison. In some embodiments, the desired current is provided by processor 12 in the form of a Pulse Width Modulated ("PWM") Digital pulse interruption signal. Gate 215 controls a switch 220 based on a comparison between a desired current level and the actual current level. When the actual current level is greater than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to interrupt power provided to actuator 210. When the actual current level is less than the desired current level, gate 215 will control switch 220 to provide power to actuator 210. Thus, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current provided to actuator 210 will approximate the desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Switch 220 may be opened or closed to interrupt or provide power, respectively… so that when turned ON, switch 220 will allow the power source to be connected to actuator 210 that will provide drive current. When turned OFF, switch 220 will disconnect the power source, stopping source current through actuator 210 (¶024). Thus, Shah teaches a controller programmed to disable a power supply connected to a haptic actuator. In other words, it was known at the time of filing the invention that control systems and/or a controller can easily control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for enabling and/or disabling said haptic actuator. Examiner further posits that it would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for a variety of reasons, including Shah’s, wherein, through the constant on/off switching of switch 220, the actual current/voltage provided to an actuator will approximate a desired current for a variable supply voltage range (¶023). Some other reasons also known in the art prior to filing the invention, for example, shutting power off during times of circuitry power overload, be it voltage, current or wattage per se, as a fail safe to protect such systems/devices from damage and also shutting power off during times of circuitry power under-utilization or inefficient usage of power with very little benefit as intended, which is known to save power, particularly in lower powered battery systems where the power is supply is limited and requires power-savings protocols to extend functionality overall. Likewise, the control systems and/or controller can be used control the enabling and/or disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above a defined non-zero threshold value and also below a defined non-zero threshold value. It still would require no more than "ordinary skill" to include controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude above or below any threshold value above 0, including a defined non-zero threshold value. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try controlling the disabling of the power supply connected to the haptic actuator for durations of the haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value, as a person with ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue power under-utilization or inefficient usage of power or the well known power savings option within their technical grasp
Regarding claim 16, Thorner and Shah teach the method of Claim 15, and Thorner further teaches wherein automatically converting the received audio signal to a haptic signal (Fig 1) comprises:
applying, by an equalizer circuitry, a frequency-based gain adjustment to the received audio signal to generate an equalized signal (¶021); and
amplifying, by an amplifier circuitry, the equalized signal (¶021, where the audio signal has a low amplitude, additional fixed gain amplification may be necessary before and/or after the variable gain preamplifier. Once amplified, the audio signal forms an input to the equalizer 306… depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both.; also see ¶030).
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorner et al. (EP 0784844) in view of Shah et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2015/0002278) further in view of Komori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2018/0243647).
Regarding claim 17, Thorner and Shah teach the method of Claim 15, and Thorner further teaches the method comprising a controller (Fig 1; control system 106) and further suggests the controller dynamically adjusting a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the reference signal (¶023-¶027).
Thorner and Shah are silent on a controller to dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the reference signal. Komori from an analogous art also teaches an information processing apparatus including: a control section configured to generate a control signal that controls an operation of a tactile feedback apparatus including a tactile feedback section. The control section changes control on the tactile feedback apparatus on the basis of a type of the tactile feedback section which is recognized by the control section (Abstract Solution). Komori also teaches a controller to dynamically adjust a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the reference signal (see details in ¶071-¶073, ¶148-¶151). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s controller with dynamically adjusting a voltage applied to the haptic actuator as a function of the equalized signal, as taught by Komori in order to further enhance the haptic experience for users of the device.
Regarding claim 19, Thorner, Shah and Komori teach the method of Claim 17, and Thorner further teaches wherein the reference signal comprises the received audio signal (Fig 1; ¶012-¶014).
Regarding claim 20, Thorner, Shah and Komori teach the method of Claim 15, and Thorner further teaches wherein applying, by the equalizer circuitry, a frequency- based gain adjustment to the received audio signal (¶021, where the audio signal has a low amplitude, additional fixed gain amplification may be necessary before and/or after the variable gain preamplifier. Once amplified, the audio signal forms an input to the equalizer 306… depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both.; also see ¶030) comprises applying a filter to attenuate at least one frequency range of the received audio signal (¶021 depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both. As such, a game player can adjust the frequency content of the audio that is used to generate tactile sensation generator control signals and, consequently, tailor the tactile sensation to the game being executed; also see ¶031).
Regarding claim 21, Thorner, Shah and Komori teach the method of Claim 15, and Thorner further teaches comprising filtering haptic-imperceptible frequencies from the received audio signal, wherein haptic-imperceptible frequencies comprise one or more defined frequency bands determined to produce human-imperceptible haptic output by the haptic actuator (audio signal forms an input to the equalizer 306. The equalizer contains three parallel connected filters: a high pass filter 312, a low pass filter 314, and a bandpass filter 316. The high pass filter has an illustrative passband of 2kHz to 13kHz, the low pass filter has an illustrative passband of 28Hz to 350Hz, and the bandpass filter has a passband of 230Hz to 10.3kHz. The three paths each form an input to a summing amplifier 318. Additionally, each of the three paths has a switch (switches 320, 322, and 324) to select one or more of the paths as an input to the summing amplifier 318. As such, depending on which of the signal paths are connected to the summing amplifier, the equalizer can selectively amplify or attenuate low frequencies, high frequencies or both; ¶021).
Claim 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorner et al. (EP 0784844) in view of in view of Komori et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2018/0243647) further in view of Shah et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2015/0002278) and still further in view of in view of Helmer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2020/0409460).
Regarding claim 8, Thorner, Komori and Shaw teach the device of claim 1, but all are silent on wherein the receiver comprises a Bluetooth receiver. Helmer from an analogous art teaches a method of providing vibro-tactile feedback to a user of a user interface device comprising at least one actuator adapted to provide vibro-tactile feedback to the user (Abstract). Helmer further teaches wherein a receiver comprises a Bluetooth receiver (¶057; may be accomplished, for example, via one or several of the audio (or audio/video) channels of the application device used to playback sounds or a dedicated audio channel, using either a wired (e.g. analog, digital coaxial, digital optical, HDMI, DisplayPort, USB, Ethernet, FireWire or Thunderbolt cable) or a wireless (e.g. Bluetooth or Wi-Fi) connection. The audio and/or acoustic information may be directly transmitted to the user interface device and, more particularly its control part, where the obtained audio and/or acoustic information may be processed further as set forth below also see ¶106 & ¶126). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s device with the receiver comprises a Bluetooth receiver, as taught by Helmer, so that audio and/or acoustic information may be directly transmitted to the user interface device and, more particularly its control part, where the obtained audio and/or acoustic information may be processed further.
Regarding claim 9, Thorner, Komori and Shaw teach the device of claim 1, but all do not expressly mention, wherein the device comprises a game controller. Helmer further teaches the concept wherein the device comprises a game controller (¶014; Examples of the user interface device thru ¶035, and particularly ¶116; a computer game input device). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s device with wherein the receiver comprises a game controller, as taught by Helmer to further enhance the versatility of the device and applications thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Thorner, Komori and Shaw teach the device of claim 1, but all do not expressly mention, wherein the device comprises a virtual reality headset. Helmer further suggests the concept whereby the device supports virtual reality, for example (¶229; comprises gaming software 4 providing a virtual driving game and hardware PC for executing that software) and the implementation of headsets as well (¶057; user interface device may have an audio (or audio/video) output connection (wired or wireless) as a pass-through feature so that obtained audio and/or acoustic information can be provided audio rendering equipment (e.g. loudspeaker system or headphones). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Thorner’s device with wherein the device comprises a virtual reality headset, as taught by Helmer to further enhance the versatility of the device and applications thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
(1) (Remarks, filed 3/04/2026, pg. labeled 6, Para. 5)
Applicant set forth various arguments in the Response to Office Action filed September 24, 2025, including the argument that the cited Thorner reference teaches away from the claimed invention, in particular the feature of disabling a haptic actuator for periods of low-amplitude signals, as Thorner specifically teaches to instead amplify low-amplitude signals to ensure a tactile sensation. Applicant cited MPEP 2141.02(VI) and relevant case law (e.g., Gore v. Garlock, 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983)) regarding a reference that teaches away from a claimed invention.
Moreover, in previously rejecting claims 1-20, Applicant argues that Thorner and Komori alone or in combination, does not disclose, teach or suggest "or would lead one to the feature of disabling a power supply for a haptic actuator for low-amplitude periods ". Particularly, that a person of ordinary skill in the art reading Thorner would have been led away from disabling a haptic actuator for periods of low-amplitude signals, as Thorner specifically teaches to amplify low-amplitude signals to ensure a tactile sensation. So, it would not have been obvious to modify the proposed Thorner-Komori combination to include the claimed feature of disabling a power supply connected to a haptic actuator for durations of a haptic signal having an amplitude below a defined non-zero threshold value.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to previous claim(s) 1-20 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on Thorner as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
.
[End of Arguments].
Conclusion
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685