Response to Arguments
In their response dated 9/28/2026 applicants amended claim 20 to include limitation of claims 27 and 28. This amendment overcame the rejection of Furukawa in view of Baker. At the same time the amendment completely changed the scope of the claim 20 because other than claims 26-28, none of the dependent claims required limitation of the pore size. In claim 26 the pore size is part of the zeolite designation such as 3A, 4A, 5A or ZSM-5.
Applicants further argued that the prior art of record did not teach any relationship between the molecule size of the aversive material and the size of the zeolite.
The prior art does not have to teach any relationships. It has to teach a zeolite with claimed pore size and aversive substance that is infused into the zeolite. By definition if a substance is infused into zeolite that substance has to be smaller in size than the pore of the zeolite itself. There is a document issues by ACS Materials
Zeolites: Structure, Molecular Sieving & Catalysis
Which provides visual aid in understanding how the pores of the zolites work and what size compounds can fit through the pores of a specific zeolite. However, office action does not allow inclusion of the interactive websites. The applicants can email the examiner at Katarzyna.kolb@uspto.gov and the website will be forwarded. The best that can be done is copy and paste still screen shots of the website. The website discloses two different way zeolite allow infusion or passing through the pores. One is based on the size of the compound and another based on the shape. This relationship is well know and well established in the art.
With respect to the size of the pore and size of the compounds passing through:
Hexane is stopped because it is too big while water, nitrogen and methane pass through. Basically, any molecule that is less than 3.9Å will pass through
With respect to the shape:
What can enter pores of the zeolite works in the same way as based on size.
While prior art of record did not explain this, it is a basic knowledge one of ordinary skill in the art has to possess in order to know which zeolites to use for which substance in order for that substance to be infused, absorb or pass through. This substance will always be smaller than the pore size of the zeolite.
ANDO as applied in the office action dated 6/26/2026 teaches ZSM-5 as one of the zeolites and the two zeolites that are exemplified include HSZ 385HUA and HSZ 960HOA bot made by Tosoh Corporation. The examiner will include specs for the HAS 385 HUA (latter could not be located) from Tosoh to show that the pore size of that particular zeolite is 9Å and such was utilized by ANDO actual example 9. Having said, the invention description of Ando in [0014] states that the pore size is preferably 0.8-1.5 nm for a reason. That particular pore size is specifically designed to fit pyrethroid compound [0011] which depending on the substituents or modification has molecular weight of 325-425 [0010]. Term preferably, by no means is exclusionary to just that specific pore size. Otherwise, Ando would not say that Tosoh zeolites and natural zeolites [0018] explicitly listing ZSM-5 can be used as well referring to them as microporous. (note HSZ means high silica zeolite – refers to the content of silica within zeolite itself)
By saying that natural zeolites can be used, Adno opens the door to any naturally occurring zeolite (Greek Zeo (to boil) and lithos (stone). Term zeolite, coined by Swedish mineralogist Axel Fredrik Cronstedt, means microporous, crystalline aluminosilicate. Term microporous itself means that the pore size is less than 2nm. The ACS material published in 2018 will become evidentiary reference in newly stated rejection to satisfy arguments directed to pore size and relationship between the pore size, molecules that are being infused (size) as well as chemistry behind the absorption of such molecules. The zeolite pores have to be big enough to allow infusion of molecules but not too small so that molecules get stuck (for lack of better terminology).
Baker who teaches a jacket of the optical fiber cable only states that zeolites are used without disclosing any information about the zeolites themselves. There are two types of zeolites. Synthetic and natural. If the zeolite of Baker was brand new synthetic zeolite, Baker would have to describe that zeolite in his specification. However, any natural zeolite (since they are microporous) can be used by Baker. The rejection will be restated to reflect the amendment as well as to reflect concerns in the applicants arguments (which actually were already addressed).
Double patenting rejection in agreement with the applicants, the rejection will be held in abeyance until claims are in condition for allowance.
Rejoinder: Furukawa, infuses zeolites with aversive compounds and essential oils using vacuum. The method should include steps that distinguish instant invention from that of Furukawa. The examiner reviewed steps of the instant invention and found that the zeolites and aversive compounds are first sonicated before vacuum is applied. As will be presented in the office action below, pore size is not viewed as inventive if the range encompasses already existing microporous zeolites on the market. In fact, claimed range encompasses almost entirety of the natural zeolite pore sizes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-26, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 20 recites maximum cross-sectional dimension D2 and pore diameter D1 satisfy following:
D2 ≤ D1 ≤ 1.25 D2
Instant specification does not provide any explanation or relationship between pore size and cross-sectional dimension of aversive substance for the case where the wo are equal to one another. Specifically, the part of the equation D2 ≤ D1 allow D1 and D2 to be equal. It is therefore unclear how zeolite can be infused with the compound having the same size as the pore. All dependent claims inherit the deficiency of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-26, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa (JP 03-145407) in view of Baker (WO 2019/075010) and evidence in publications cited throughout the rejection.
With respect to claim 20, Furukawa discloses additive composition which additive is added to polymer to protect optical cables (p. 2) from damage caused by rodents. While Furukawa does not explicitly state that the protective coating on the optical cable is claimed jackets, Baker clearly states that it is jacket that surrounds the optical cable and it is jacket that comprises rodent repellent compounds.
Example 3 of Furukawa discloses process where the rodent control agent in essential oil is incorporated (infused) into zeolite.
Furukawa does not disclose specifically the pore size diameter of the zeolite, however, as argued by the applicants in order to properly infuse or incorporate aversive compound into zeolite several aspects have to be considered which are clearly explained in the supporting article of Peres and ACS Materials publication.
First, Furukawa’s aversive compounds are terpenoids. The examples include limonene, camphor, pinene, menthol and the like (p. 3 of the translation). These are the simplest of the terpenoids and they will be utilized to illustrate the choice of zeolite. Bottom line is the pore diameter has to be larger than the aversive compound but too large otherwise the aversive substance will infuse freely in and out of zeolite and the host-guest interactions (for example, van der Waals interactions or ion-dipole interactions) that stabilize guest molecule will be too weak and aversive substance will desorb.
Limonene MW 139 g/mol
Pinene MW 136 g/mol
Menthol MW 156 g/mol
Terpenoids such as limonene and pinene are the simplest and are known as monoterpenes. The average kinematic diameter of monoterpenes is 4.5-5A, bicyclic monoterpenes are 4.8A-5.2 A Sesquiterpenes and larger terpenoids are 6A or higher. (big chemical encyclopedia, chemical substances components – google search). The regular diameter of the pinene, for example, is 7A (see attached Denoyel article Table III). This corresponds to two aspects which are disclosed in ACS Material publication (supporting evidence) which is size of the molecule or steric.
Based on this information the pore size of the zeolite has to be equal to or higher. From the evidentiary article, based on kinetic diameter, the smallest pore that can accept simple terpenes is 5A. ACS materials evidentiary reference also shows ZSM-5. Based on molecule diameter the smallest pore size would be 7A or higher that would read on zeolite X and zeolite Y. (see Tosoh publication with the pore sizes of zeolites). These zeolites will also be within the 1.25 of the aversive substance diameter.
With respect to claim 21, while Furukawa does not disclose the weathering test according to claimed test method, such property is viewed as obvious for following reason:
The polymeric jacket comprises the same components as those of the instant invention and within the same content. ASTM G154 is a hot condensation test, where warm saturated air is generated within a chamber. Most cycles alternate between 4-hour and 8 hour period of light. The repeatability of such results will vary with the materials being tested. Consequently, if the same polymeric jacket comprises the same aversive additives using the same equipment and conditions the results would be within the same range, providing the same exposure cycles are utilized.
With respect to claim 23, Furukawa discloses use of menthol (p. 3) which can be used alone or with essential oil. Examples of aversive agents include menthol, pinene, limonene and the like. Baker further teaches the same compound and further supplements the list of other known aversive agents to include cinnamaldehyde, wintergreen oil, capsaicin, peppermint oil, bergamot oil, geranium oil, predator urine, eucalyptus, bitterants, lemon citrus oil, cedarwood oil, garlic oil, and the like [0031].
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention was filed to utilize any of the listed aversive agents, as they are all known to repel rodents and pests. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that the type of the zeolite will have to also be reviewed to ensure that the chosen aversive agent can properly infuse into the porous structure.
With respect to claim 22, 30-32, Furukawa discloses the content of aversive material is 1-100 (most preferred range) per based on the content of zeolite. At the same time the convent of the aversive material is 1-10 parts by weight of the polymer article (in this case jacket) (p. 5).
Example 3 discloses use of aversive material in essential oil wherein the content of the oil is 50%, therefore remaining content of 50% is attributed to terpenoid. For lower content of the aversive material being 1%, the content of the aversive material is 10 mg.
Additionally, Baker discloses content of the first aversive material to be in a range of 0.2-12% and a second aversive material in a range of 2-40%, wherein mg/mg = % x 10. This would include aversive material of at least 2 mg/ml and second aversive material 20 mg/ml (claims) [0029]which encompasses additional claims 30-32.
Furthermore, it should be noted that the amount of the aversive material is dictated by the size and porosity of the zeolite. Consequently, the same zeolite (ZSM-5 or 5A for example) having the same pore size will be able to absorb the same amount of the same aversive material (for example pinene).
With respect to claims 24, 26, 29, Furukawa does not teach any specific zeolite that could be used in the cable jacked. However, presented above response to the arguments as well as all supporting evidence including the chemical structures of the compounds, menthol will have very much comparable kinetic and molecular diameters, consequently from the description given by Tosoh evidentiary reference, zeolite Y will also be one of the better choices as an absorbent. Others may include mordenite, L-type (previously disclosed by Ando).
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 22 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/239854 (‘854). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 20 of ‘854 discloses an optical cable having at least one optical fiber and a polymeric jacket that surrounds the at least one optical fiber. The jacket comprises polymer matrix and aversive additive wherein the aversive additive includes porous inorganic material having pores and aversive material contain within the pores (infused), wherein zeolite is porous inorganic compound.
Claim 22 includes the aversive material of instant claim 23.
Claim 25 requires the jacket to be the outermost layer of the cable which meets instant claim 25.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
*** This application was allowed on 9/9/2026
Claims 20, 22, 23, 25, 30-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 13 and 14 of copending Application No. 18/920125 (‘125). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘125 discloses optical component comprising container comprising polymeric composition, at least one optical fiber disposed in the optical container, wherein polymeric composition comprises polymeric component and aversive additive comprising inorganic particles having open structure and chemical aversive material infused into the inorganic particles. Wherein container is viewed as a component that comprises optical fiber within it. While instant claim 20 does not disclose container, such cables are run through conduits which meet the limitation of container.
Claim 2 of ‘125 states that the inorganic material includes zeolite which meets instant claim 20 as well.
Claim 4 of ‘125 states that the content of aversive agent is 0.2-12 % by weight which meets instant claims 22 and 30-32.
Claim 9 of ’125 states that the polymeric component is a jacket that meets instant claim 25.
Claim 13 OF ‘125 states that optical fiber cable does not comprise metal armor component, wherein none are disclosed in instant claims.
Claim 14 of ‘125 discloses the same aversive agents as instant claim 23.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 30, 2026