DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the amendment received on 7/16/2026:
Claims 1-25 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 13-14, 17-19, and 21-23 have been amended, and Claims 24-25 stand withdrawn.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been maintained in light of the amendment and are reworded only to reflect new claim language. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-23) in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The claims under consideration are 1-23.
Claim Interpretation
5. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 17 recite “the polymeric binder responsible for holding together particles to maintain a strong connection between the electrodes of the battery” but this limitation is not disclosed or even suggested in the instant disclosure as filed. Claims 2-16 and 18-23 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
7. Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 recite “a strong connection between the electrodes of the battery”. The term “strong” in claims 1 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strong” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 further recite “the electrodes of the battery” but this limitation lacks antecedent basis because there are “an anode” and “a multi-layer cathode” recited previously in the claim, but because “electrodes” is not previously defined, then it is unclear what is encompassed by the claimed “the electrodes”.
Claims 2-16 and 18-23 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-17, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2021/0036323 (hereinafter “Kim ‘323”) in view of Zhang et al. J. Power Sources 463 (2020) 228212 (hereinafter “Zhang NPL”) and Barde US PG Publication 2013/0316253.
Regarding Claims 1-7, 11, and 15-16, Kim ‘323 discloses a rechargeable battery comprising an anode 12 which can include material such as lithium, carbon, graphite, silicon, sodium, zinc, aluminum (paras 0018-0020, meeting Claims 15), a cathode current collector that can be stainless steel (see Claim 24 of Kim ‘323, meeting Claims 16), a multi-layer cathode comprising (i) at least one halogen or metal halide active material (the cathode comprises a halogen or metal halide and specifically contains lithium iodide, see paras 0032, 0036, 0038-0040, 0052, LiI being a mono-iodide salt, meeting Claim 11), (ii) a first electrode layer 16 in contact with the current collector (see Claim 24 of Kim ‘323 which describes a cathode current collector in contact with the cathode), wherein the first electrode layer comprises at least one adhesion promoting binder (e.g. PVDF, para 0037, meeting Claim 2) and at least one first conductive additive (e.g. graphene, conductive carbon black, paras 0033-0034, meeting Claim 3) and the at least one halogen or metal halide incorporated therein (para 0040, meeting Claim 6), and (iii) a second electrode layer (metal halide rich layer) 17 (para 0040, having a metal halide or halogen incorporated therein, meeting Claim 7), and an electrolyte 14 in contact with the anode and cathode (para 0048) (see entire disclosure and especially Figs 1-2; paras 0018, 0032-0052).
Kim ‘323 does not specifically disclose wherein the second electrode layer 17 comprises at least one polymeric binder in the second electrode layer of the multi-layer cathode, the polymeric binder responsible for holding together particles to maintain a connection between the electrodes of the battery while participating in a complexation interaction with the at least one halogen or metal active material and at least one second conductive additive with a conductivity ≥ 5 S/cm. However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium-iodine battery cathode improvements, Zhang NPL discloses wherein an iodine-based cathode layer typically suffers from loss of active material iodine and iodide during cycling via “shuttling” and that this type of cathode can be stabilized by trapping iodine in porous carbon (active graphene/AG, meeting Claim 5) and that this combination is further improved by combining e.g. active graphene with iodine and then mixing with a polymeric binder such as PVP (polyvinylpyrrolidone) or amylose (via amylose corn starch or ACS) (both meeting Claim 4) such that the binder participates in a complexation interaction (inclusion complexation) because this complexation interaction inhibits the dissolution of iodine into the electrolyte and ultimately improves cycling stability and Coulombic efficiency (see entire disclosure of Zhang NPL, and especially highlighted sections). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the iodine-containing second cathode layer of Kim ‘323 such that it comprises at least one polymeric binder that participates in a complexation interaction with the at least one halogen or metal active material and at least one second conductive additive because Zhang NPL teaches that this solves a known issue of loss of active material iodine and iodide during cycling via “shuttling” by trapping iodine in porous carbon such as active graphene and then mixing with a polymeric binder such as PVP (polyvinylpyrrolidone) or amylose (via amylose corn starch or ACS) such that the binder participates in a complexation interaction (inclusion complexation) because this complexation interaction inhibits the dissolution of iodine into the electrolyte and ultimately improves cycling stability. Further, the skilled artisan would understand that the polymeric binder in the second electrode layer of the multi-layer cathode of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL would necessarily (by holding together particles via said complexation) such that an electrical connection between electrodes is maintained (“strong” is not considered here because of the lack of clarity described in the rejection under 35 USC 112b).
Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang does not specifically discuss the electrochemical surface area of the first conductive additive such that it is greater than or equal to 800 m2/g. However, in the same field of endeavor of oxygen-using lithium battery design, Barde discloses that carbon-based cathode additives should be optimized for their surface area in order to specifically affect and optimize the electrochemical surface area, for example, to ensure a large number of reaction sites (see paras 0064, 0077). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the cathode of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang such that the at least one first conductive additive has an electrochemical surface area ≥ 800 m2/g because Barde teaches that conductive carbon additives in a similar type of cathode should have optimized surface areas in order to ensure an optimized electrochemical surface area since e.g. one wants to ensure a large number of reaction sites. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
The cited prior art does not specifically teach wherein the at least one second conductive additive has a conductivity ≥ 5 S/g. However, since the prior art uses active graphene as the second conductivity additive (see Zhang’s “AG”, which is active graphene), and graphene is the same material used in the instant invention as a second conductive additive, the skilled artisan would expect the prior art’s graphene to have a conductivity ≥ 5 S/g.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim ‘323 teaches that one or more metal halide rich layers 17 (second cathode layer having the same composition) can form. Although Kim ‘323 does not specify that more than one of the second cathode layer 17 as modified by Zhang NPL can form, it would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form more than one of said layers in order to further provide the benefit of said layer, such as to provide the iodine/iodide material without losing it to the electrolyte. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Kim ‘323 further discloses an oxidizing gas such as air, oxygen, nitric oxide, or nitrogen dioxide (meeting Claim 10) in contact necessarily with the anode, cathode, and electrolyte since it is in the electrolyte, which is in contact with the anode and cathode (paras 0030, 0041-0042).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Kim ‘323 further discloses wherein the electrolyte is a liquid electrolyte and comprises at least one solvent and at least one ionic salt (meeting Claim 12) and wherein the solvent can be 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) (paras 0024, 0051, meeting Claim 13) and the salt can be LiNO3 (para 0051, meeting Claim 14) (see paras 0022-0029).
Regarding Claims 17, 20, and 22-23, Kim ‘323 discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a lithium-containing anode 12 (paras 0018-0020), a stainless steel cathode current collector (see Claim 24 of Kim ‘323), a two-layer cathode comprising (i) lithium iodide as an active cathode material (paras 0032, 0036, 0038-0040, 0052), (ii) a first electrode layer 16 in contact with the current collector (see Claim 24 of Kim ‘323 which describes a cathode current collector in contact with the cathode), wherein the first electrode layer comprises lithium iodide as an active cathode material incorporated therein (para 0040, meeting Claim 22), comprises two adhesion promoting binders (e.g. mixtures of binders can be used, para 0037, which would include the use of two binders) and at least two first conductive additives (e.g. can include mixtures of electrically conductive graphene, conductive carbon black, paras 0033-0034), and (iii) a second electrode layer (metal halide rich layer) 17 (para 0040, having the lithium iodide active material incorporated therein, meeting Claim 23), and a liquid electrolyte 14 comprising at least one organic solvent and at least one ionic salt (para 0022) in contact with the anode and cathode (para 0048), and an oxidizing gas in contact necessarily with the anode, cathode, and electrolyte since it is in the electrolyte, which is in contact with the anode and cathode (paras 0030, 0041-0042) (see entire disclosure and especially Figs 1-2; paras 0018, 0030-0052).
Kim ‘323 does not specifically disclose wherein the second electrode layer 17 comprises at least one polymeric binder in the second electrode layer of the multi-layer cathode, the polymeric binder responsible for holding together particles to maintain a connection between the electrodes of the battery while participating in a complexation interaction with the at least one halogen or metal active material and at least one second conductive additive with a conductivity ≥ 5 S/cm. However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium-iodine battery cathode improvements, Zhang NPL discloses wherein an iodine-based cathode layer typically suffers from loss of active material iodine and iodide during cycling via “shuttling” and that this type of cathode can be stabilized by trapping iodine in porous carbon (active graphene/AG) and that this combination is further improved by combining e.g. active graphene with iodine and then mixing with a polymeric binder such as PVP (polyvinylpyrrolidone) or amylose (via amylose corn starch or ACS) such that the binder participates in a complexation interaction (inclusion complexation) because this complexation interaction inhibits the dissolution of iodine into the electrolyte and ultimately improves cycling stability and Coulombic efficiency (see entire disclosure of Zhang NPL, and especially highlighted sections). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the iodine-containing second cathode layer of the rechargeable battery of Kim ‘323 such that it comprises at least one polymeric binder such as PVP (meeting Claim 20) that participates in a complexation interaction with the at least one halogen or metal active material and at least one second conductive additive because Zhang NPL teaches that this solves a known issue of loss of active material iodine and iodide during cycling via “shuttling” by trapping iodine in porous carbon such as active graphene and then mixing with a polymeric binder such as PVP (polyvinylpyrrolidone) such that the binder participates in a complexation interaction (inclusion complexation) because this complexation interaction inhibits the dissolution of iodine into the electrolyte and ultimately improves cycling stability.
Further, the skilled artisan would understand that the polymeric binder in the second electrode layer of the multi-layer cathode of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL would necessarily (by holding together particles via said complexation) such that an electrical connection between electrodes is maintained (“strong” is not considered here because of the lack of clarity described in the rejection under 35 USC 112b).
Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang does not specifically discuss the electrochemical surface areas of the first conductive additives such that they are greater than or equal to 800 m2/g. However, in the same field of endeavor of oxygen-using lithium battery design, Barde discloses that carbon-based cathode additives should be optimized for their surface area in order to specifically affect and optimize the electrochemical surface area, for example, to ensure a large number of reaction sites (see paras 0064, 0077). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the cathode of the rechargeable battery of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang such that the two first conductive additives have an electrochemical surface area ≥ 800 m2/g because Barde teaches that conductive carbon additives in a similar type of cathode should have optimized surface area in order to ensure an optimized electrochemical surface area since e.g. one wants to ensure a large number of reaction sites. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
The cited prior art does not specifically teach wherein the at least one second conductive additive has a conductivity ≥ 5 S/g. However, since the prior art uses active graphene as the second conductivity additive (see Zhang’s “AG”, which is active graphene), and graphene is the same material used in the instant invention as a second conductive additive, the skilled artisan would expect the prior art’s graphene to have a conductivity ≥ 5 S/g.
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2021/0036323 (hereinafter “Kim ‘323”) in view of Zhang et al. J. Power Sources 463 (2020) 228212 (hereinafter “Zhang NPL”) and Barde US PG Publication 2013/0316253, as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of Chen US PG Publication 2020/0052279.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde discloses the claimed rechargeable battery as described in the rejection of Claim 17, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Kim ‘323 discloses the use of PVDF as the adhesion promoting binder of which there can be multiple types used together as mixtures or combinations thereof (see rejections above) but does not specifically disclose that the at least two adhesion promoting binders of the first electrode layer are sodium carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) and styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR). However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cathode design, Chen teaches that cathodes can be formed of active material, conductive additives, and binders such as PVDF, CMC, and SBR as functional equivalents (see e.g. para 0018). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use SBR and CMC as the at least two adhesion promoting binders of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde because Chen teaches that in a similar configuration, these are known functionally equivalent binders and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
10. Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2021/0036323 (hereinafter “Kim ‘323”) in view of Zhang et al. J. Power Sources 463 (2020) 228212 (hereinafter “Zhang NPL”) and Barde US PG Publication 2013/0316253, as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of Kim US PG Publication 2022/0020996 (hereinafter “Kim ‘996”).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde discloses the claimed rechargeable battery as described in the rejection of Claim 17, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde discloses the use of graphene as a first conductive additive (see above) and e.g. carbon black (para 0034) but does not specifically recite “Ketjen black”. However in the same field of endeavor of cathode design including e.g. metal halides such as LiI, Kim ‘996 discloses wherein nitrogen-doped single layer graphene mixed with Ketjen black are used in combination to improve utilization of the metal halide for enhanced specific capacity and energy density of the battery (see at least e.g. paras 0051-0052, 0071). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use graphene and Ketjen black as the at least two first conductive additives of the first electrode layer of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde because Kim ‘996 teaches that these conductive additives to improve utilization of the metal halide in a cathode for enhanced specific capacity and energy density of the battery.
Regarding Claim 21, Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde fails to disclose the use of Ketjen black as the at least one second conductive additives of the second electrode layer. However, because Kim ‘996 discloses wherein nitrogen-doped single layer graphene mixed with Ketjen black are used in combination to improve utilization of the metal halide for enhanced specific capacity and energy density of the battery (see at least e.g. paras 0051-0052, 0071), the skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to add graphene and Ketjen black to the second electrode layer of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde such that Ketjen black would serve as one of the at least one second conductive additives of the second electrode layer of Kim ‘323 modified by Zhang NPL and Barde because Kim ‘996 teaches that these conductive additives to improve utilization of the metal halide in a cathode for enhanced specific capacity and energy density of the battery.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection above. Further:
12. Applicant argues that in the rejections of Claims 1 and 17, the Office action has not addressed the limitation “a second electrode layer coated over the first electrode layer” and that the prior art Kim ‘323 does not disclose this feature of the claim.
The Office has considered this argument and respectfully disagrees. It is submitted that the Figure shown in the Office action (previously and above) shows second electrode layer 17 of the multi-layer cathode is a coating over the first electrode layer 16 and so this layer is understood to be coated over the first electrode layer. There does not appear to be anything in the instant disclosure, or more importantly, the claims, that provides any special feature or property associated with the term “coated” to distinguish the instant application’s second electrode’s structure from that of Kim ‘323. This limitation is a product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Accordingly, this argument is not found convincing and the rejection of record is maintained.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729