Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Score et al (US 2012/0234934).
As to claims 1 and 9, Score et al disclose a spreader comprising:
A container (40)
A flow regulator (45 and 45A)
A conveyor (50) rotated by a motor (35)
An applicator (60)
Controller (33), wherein the controller has sensors (as shown in figure 6, GPS 75 and Motor with encoder 35) and capable to control the speed of the conveyor and spreader (paragraph 0064 and 0065).
As to claim 2, the container is a hopper.
As to claim 3, the flow regulator is a gate.
As to claim 4, the conveyor comprises an apron driven by a motor (figure 2).
As to claim 6, the applicator is a spinner.
As to claim 7, further comprising a distribution manifold (52).
As to claim 8, the motor is electric.
As to claims 14-16, the speed motor is a stepper motor or a servo motor.
As to claim 17, the controller is a processor.
As to claim 18, the controller can be adapted to store and access parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Score et al (US 2012/0234934).
As to claim 5, Score et al fail to teach using a pump driven by the motor. However, since Score et al disclose an apron driven by the motor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute with another means of transportation depending on the design expediency.
As to claims 10 and 11, Score et al fail to teach a first sensor is a Hall Effect sensor and cooperate with a tone wheel. However, Score et al disclose a GPS, which monitors the speed and location of the vehicle and surroundings. Therefore, replacing a GPS with another sensor would merely be a design choice that produces the same result.
As to claims 12 and 13, Score et al disclose the manifold to have at least one valve (gate), but fail to teach the motor is a hydraulic motor. However, since Score disclose an electric motor, it would have been obvious to replace with any types of motor, since it is dependent on the design choice given that both will yield the same result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 that SCORE et al fail to teach “(b) employing a set of stored parameters when the controller is not receiving signals from the second sensor.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the claim is pertained to an apparatus claim, the function is not patentable if the examiner can show that the controller of SCORE et al is capable of performing the function. In this case, SCORE et al disclose a controller with sensors. The controller can be programmed with stored parameters and set it to perform as claimed. Thus, claims 1 and 9 are not patentable over SCORE et al. It is suggested that applicant should amend the claim to provide more structure rather than the function of the controller.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763