DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/18/2025 (hereafter the amendments) are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
The amendments have overcome each and every rejection to the claims under 35 USC § 112 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/01/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20220210703 A1, hereafter Yu) in view of Da Silva et al. (US 20240040461 A1, hereafter Da Silva), and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20220361057 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses:
A method of a user equipment (U01, first node, UE) in a wireless communication system (Figs.1-2&5, [0309] In one embodiment, the UE 201 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0310] In one embodiment, the UE 241 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0311] In one embodiment, the UE 201 is a UE.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node; [0705] In one embodiment, the second node N02 comprises a base station.), configuration information (first signaling, second signaling, third signaling, fourth signaling; Hereafter, the third signaling of Yu is used as an example of “configuration information” for claim mapping of this claim and claims dependent thereon. Note however that each of Yu’s signaling can be equated to “configuration information”. See the cited paragraphs for details.) ([0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; receives a second signaling in step S5102; receives a third signaling in step S5103; receives a fourth signaling in step S5104; [0429] The second node N02 transmits the first signaling in step S5201; transmits the second signaling in step S5202; transmits the third signaling in step S5203; transmits the fourth signaling in step S5204) comprising at least a pre-condition (condition for entry into the first-type event to be satisfied by the second cell), a trigger condition (condition for entry into the first-type event to be satisfied by the first cell), and a cancel condition (condition for departure from the first-type event) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling) for a handover (a handover of a TN cell to an NTN cell) from the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) to a satellite (N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) ([0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; [0228] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event is used to trigger a handover of a TN cell to an NTN cell.; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.; [0792] In one embodiment, an NTN cell includes a cell covered by the NTN node.; [0801] In one subembodiment, a maintenance base station for the TN cell is a TN base station.);
receiving a first reference signal (first reference signal) from the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 … receives a first reference signal in the first cell in step S5107; receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; [0430] The third node N03 transmits the first reference signal in step S5301.; [0713] In one embodiment, the second node N02 is the same as at least one of the third node N03) and a second reference signal (second reference signal) from the satellite (N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) (Fig.5; [0431] The fourth node N04 transmits the second reference signal in step S5401.; [0718] In one embodiment, a maintenance base station for the second cell is the NTN node; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.), respectively;
measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power) of each of the first reference signal (first reference signal) and the second reference signal (second reference signal) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … receives a first reference signal in the first cell in step S5107; receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; determines a first measurement result and a second measurement result in step S5109; determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set … the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality; [0433] In one embodiment, in the step S5109, a measurement for the first reference signal according to a first measurement quantity set is used to determine the first measurement result, while a measurement for the second reference signal according to the first measurement quantity set is used to determine the second measurement result.; [0472] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality comprises: a measurement quantity in the first measurement quantity set is used to determine a reference signal received power.); and
transmitting a first measurement report (first measurement result, second measurement result, and/or measurement report in first message) to the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set, … and the first message comprises the first measurement result and the second measurement result; the first measurement result is associated with a first cell, while the second measurement result is associated with a second cell, the first cell and the second cell are respectively two different cells, and a RAT adopted by the first cell is the same as a RAT adopted by the second cell; the first message comprises a measurement report), based on a determination that the trigger condition related to the first reference signal and the pre-condition related to the second reference signal are satisfied ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event. [0230] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event being satisfied is used to trigger transmission of the first message.).
Yu does not disclose wherein, based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and after completing the handover, a second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein, based on a cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition), a second measurement report is not transmitted depending on reportOnLeave indication (reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report as taught by Da Silva, in order to be compliant with reportOnLeave that indicates no initiation of measurement reporting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Yu and Da Silva do not disclose based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover, the second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Kim discloses:
based on a condition that is satisfied after completing a handover ([0227] … Thus, if the measID is reused as a CHO execution condition, the UE may not be likely to release the measurement configuration for the CHO even though the UE should release the CHO configuration after handover complete. Then the measId(s) may remain in the measurement configuration so that unnecessary events of conditions can be met without target cell configuration. ; See also [0228]), a second measurement report is not transmitted ([0229] Therefore, in this disclosure, after successful mobility (e.g., CHO) complete, the UE may be able to handle the existing measurement configuration as below:… [0231] 2) The UE may remove the one or more measurement configurations (hence the corresponding measurement report is not transmitted) which are reused in the conditional mobility command (e.g., CHO command) from the measurement configurations as reference information to execute the mobility (e.g., CHO).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu and Da Silva to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover as taught by Kim, in order to avoid triggering of unnecessary events (Kim, [0227]) regardless of reportOnLeave indication setting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses:
wherein the configuration information (third signaling) comprises at least one of a first RSRP threshold of the first reference signal, a first Hysteresis (Hys) parameter for the first reference signal, a second RSRP threshold (first threshold) of the second reference signal (second reference signal) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling), a second Hys parameter for the second reference signal, and a third Hys parameter for the first reference signal.
Regarding claim 3,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the trigger condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the first reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the first Hys parameter from the first RSRP threshold.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a trigger condition (entering condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Ms) of a first reference signal (reference signal [of the serving cell]) is less than a value (Thresh-Hys) obtained by subtracting a first Hys parameter (Hys) from a first RSRP threshold (Thresh) ([0603] 5.5.4.3 Event A2 (Serving Becomes Worse than Threshold) [0604] The UE shall: [0605] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A2-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0606] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A2-2, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0607] 1> for this measurement, consider the serving cell indicated by the measObjectNR associated to this event.
Ms+Hys<Thresh Inequality A2-1 (Entering condition)
Ms−Hys>Thresh Inequality A2-2 (Leaving condition)
[0608] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0609] Ms is the measurement result of the serving cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of measurement result of the serving cell. [0610] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0611] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a2-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0612] Ms is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP; Note that Ms <Thresh-Hys is the same as Ms+Hys<Thresh; See also [0309]-[0316]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the trigger condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the first reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the first Hys parameter from the first RSRP threshold as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A2 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a2-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0611]).
Regarding claim 5,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the cancel condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the first reference signal is greater than a sum of the first RSRP threshold and the third Hys parameter.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a cancel condition (leaving condition for this event, condition A2-2) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Ms) of a first reference signal (reference signal) is greater than a sum (Thresh+Hys) of a first RSRP threshold (Thresh) and a third Hys parameter (Hys) (5.5.4.3 Event A2 (Serving Becomes Worse than Threshold) [0604] The UE shall: [0605] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A2-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0606] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A2-2, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0607] 1> for this measurement, consider the serving cell indicated by the measObjectNR associated to this event.
Ms+Hys<Thresh Inequality A2-1 (Entering condition)
Ms−Hys>Thresh Inequality A2-2 (Leaving condition)
[0608] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0609] Ms is the measurement result of the serving cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of measurement result of the serving cell. [0610] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0611] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a2-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0612] Ms is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP; Note that Ms>Thresh+Hys is the same as Ms−Hys>Thresh).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cancel condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the first reference signal is greater than a sum of the first RSRP threshold and the third Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A2 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [309]) with a2-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0315]).
Regarding claim 6,
Yu does not disclose: transmitting the second measurement report to the base station based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover.
However, Da Silva discloses:
transmitting a second measurement report to a base station (initiate the measurement reporting procedure) based on a cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition) and before completing a handover ([0863] Delete the CHO for at least one cell indicated in case that cell becomes worse than before and/or achieves a leaving condition for the message. Upon that, network node 403 contacts the target network node and cancels the previously configured CHO.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise transmitting the second measurement report to the base station based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover as taught by Da Silva, in order to update a prediction model in an effort to predict the best candidate node (Da Silva, [0892] These measurements may be event-triggered reported to the first network node 403a to be used latter on to update the prediction model and also used at the UE side as an input in the prediction model to predict, e.g., the best candidate second network node 403b ‘T’ TTIs ahead.; See also [0876], [0894]).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Yu discloses:
wherein the user equipment (U01, first node, UE) has a flight capability ([0308] Examples of UE 201 include cellular phones, smart phones, Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) phones, laptop computers, Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), Satellite Radios, non-terrestrial base station communications, satellite mobile communications, Global Positioning Systems (GPSs), multimedia devices, video devices, digital audio players (for example, MP3 players), cameras, games consoles, unmanned aerial vehicles, air vehicles; See also [0951]).
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses:
A method of a user equipment (U01, first node, UE) in a wireless communication system (Figs.1-2&5, [0309] In one embodiment, the UE 201 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0310] In one embodiment, the UE 241 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0311] In one embodiment, the UE 201 is a UE.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a satellite (N02, second node, N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) ([0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; [0227] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event is used to trigger a handover of an NTN cell to a TN cell.; [0713] In one embodiment, the second node N02 is the same as … the fourth node N04.; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.; [0792] In one embodiment, an NTN cell includes a cell covered by the NTN node.), configuration information (first signaling, second signaling, third signaling, fourth signaling; Hereafter, the third signaling of Yu is used as an example of “configuration information” for claim mapping of this claim and claims dependent thereon. Note however that each of Yu’s signaling can be equated to “configuration information”. See the cited paragraphs for details.) ([0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; receives a second signaling in step S5102; receives a third signaling in step S5103; receives a fourth signaling in step S5104; [0429] The second node N02 transmits the first signaling in step S5201; transmits the second signaling in step S5202; transmits the third signaling in step S5203; transmits the fourth signaling in step S5204) including at least a trigger condition (condition for entry into the first-type event) and a cancel condition (condition for departure from the first-type event) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling) for a handover (handover of an NTN cell to a TN cell) from the satellite (N02, second node, N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) to a base station (N03, third node, TN base station, TN node; [0706] In one embodiment, the third node N03 comprises a base station.) ([0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; [0227] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event is used to trigger a handover of an NTN cell to a TN cell.; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.; [0792] In one embodiment, an NTN cell includes a cell covered by the NTN node.; [0801] In one subembodiment, a maintenance base station for the TN cell is a TN base station.);
receiving a reference signal (first reference signal) from the base station (N03, third node, TN base station, TN node) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 … receives a first reference signal in the first cell in step S5107; receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; [0430] The third node N03 transmits the first reference signal in step S5301.);
measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power) of the received reference signal (first reference signal) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … receives a first reference signal in the first cell in step S5107; receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; determines a first measurement result and a second measurement result in step S5109; determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set … the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality; [0433] In one embodiment, in the step S5109, a measurement for the first reference signal according to a first measurement quantity set is used to determine the first measurement result, while a measurement for the second reference signal according to the first measurement quantity set is used to determine the second measurement result.; [0472] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality comprises: a measurement quantity in the first measurement quantity set is used to determine a reference signal received power.); and
transmitting a first measurement report (first measurement result, second measurement result, and/or measurement report in first message) to the satellite (N02, second node, N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set, … and the first message comprises the first measurement result and the second measurement result; the first measurement result is associated with a first cell, while the second measurement result is associated with a second cell, the first cell and the second cell are respectively two different cells, and a RAT adopted by the first cell is the same as a RAT adopted by the second cell; the first message comprises a measurement report) based on a determination that the trigger condition related to the received reference signal is satisfied ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event. [0230] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event being satisfied is used to trigger transmission of the first message.),
wherein the configuration information (third signaling) comprises at least an RSRP threshold (first threshold) of the received reference signal (first reference signal) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling).
Yu does not disclose the configuration information comprises a hysteresis (Hys) parameter for the received reference signal, and wherein, based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and after completing the handover, a second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Da Silva discloses:
a configuration information comprises a hysteresis (Hys) parameter (Hys) for a received reference signal (reference signal) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh is the same as Mn >Thresh+Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn>Thresh+Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]), and
wherein, based on a cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition), a second measurement report is not transmitted depending on reportOnLeave indication (reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the configuration information of Yu to comprise a Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
It would have been also obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report as taught by Da Silva, in order to be compliant with reportOnLeave that indicates no initiation of measurement reporting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Yu and Da Silva does not disclose based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover, the second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Kim discloses:
based on a condition that is satisfied after completing a handover ([0227] … Thus, if the measID is reused as a CHO execution condition, the UE may not be likely to release the measurement configuration for the CHO even though the UE should release the CHO configuration after handover complete. Then the measId(s) may remain in the measurement configuration so that unnecessary events of conditions can be met without target cell configuration. ; See also [0228]), a second measurement report is not transmitted ([0229] Therefore, in this disclosure, after successful mobility (e.g., CHO) complete, the UE may be able to handle the existing measurement configuration as below:… [0231] 2) The UE may remove the one or more measurement configurations (hence the corresponding measurement report is not transmitted) which are reused in the conditional mobility command (e.g., CHO command) from the measurement configurations as reference information to execute the mobility (e.g., CHO).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu and Da Silva to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover as taught by Kim, in order to avoid triggering of unnecessary events (Kim, [0227]) regardless of reportOnLeave indication setting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Regarding claim 11,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the trigger condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is greater than a sum of the RSRP threshold and the Hys parameter.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a trigger condition (entering condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Mn) of a received reference signal (reference signal [of the neighbouring cell]) is greater than a sum (Thresh+Hys) of a RSRP threshold (Thresh) and a Hys parameter (Hys) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh is the same as Mn >Thresh+Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn>Thresh+Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the trigger condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is greater than a sum of the RSRP threshold and the Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
Regarding claim 12,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the cancel condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the Hys parameter from the RSRP threshold.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a cancel condition (leaving condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Mn) of a received reference signal (reference signal [of the neighbouring cell]) is less than a value (Thresh-Hys) obtained by subtracting a Hys parameter (Hys) from a RSRP threshold (Thresh) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh is the same as Mn<Thresh−Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn<Thresh−Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cancel condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the Hys parameter from the RSRP threshold as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses:
the satellite (N02, second node, N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) comprises a serving cell ([0708] In one embodiment, the second node N02 comprises a maintenance base station for a serving cell of the first node U01.).
Yu does not disclose transmitting the second measurement report to the serving cell based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover.
However, Da Silva discloses:
transmitting the second measurement report to a serving cell (initiate the measurement reporting procedure) based on a cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition) and before completing a handover ([0863] Delete the CHO for at least one cell indicated in case that cell becomes worse than before and/or achieves a leaving condition for the message. Upon that, network node 403 contacts the target network node and cancels the previously configured CHO.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise transmitting the second measurement report to the serving cell based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover as taught by Da Silva, in order to update a prediction model in an effort to predict the best candidate node (Da Silva, [0892] These measurements may be event-triggered reported to the first network node 403a to be used latter on to update the prediction model and also used at the UE side as an input in the prediction model to predict, e.g., the best candidate second network node 403b ‘T’ TTIs ahead.; See also [0876], [0894]).
Regarding claim 17, Yu discloses:
A method of user equipment (U01, first node, UE) in a wireless communication system (Figs.1-2&5, [0309] In one embodiment, the UE 201 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0310] In one embodiment, the UE 241 corresponds to the first node in the present disclosure. [0311] In one embodiment, the UE 201 is a UE.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node; [0705] In one embodiment, the second node N02 comprises a base station.), configuration information (first signaling, second signaling, third signaling, fourth signaling; Hereafter, the third signaling of Yu is used as an example of “configuration information” for claim mapping of this claim and claims dependent thereon. Note however that each of Yu’s signaling can be equated to “configuration information”. See the cited paragraphs for details.) ([0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; receives a second signaling in step S5102; receives a third signaling in step S5103; receives a fourth signaling in step S5104; [0429] The second node N02 transmits the first signaling in step S5201; transmits the second signaling in step S5202; transmits the third signaling in step S5203; transmits the fourth signaling in step S5204) including at least a trigger condition (condition for entry into the first-type event) and a cancel condition (condition for departure from the first-type event) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling) for a handover (a handover of a TN cell to an NTN cell) from the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) to a satellite (N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) ([0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; [0228] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event is used to trigger a handover of a TN cell to an NTN cell.; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.; [0792] In one embodiment, an NTN cell includes a cell covered by the NTN node.; [0801] In one subembodiment, a maintenance base station for the TN cell is a TN base station.);
receiving a reference signal (second reference signal) from the satellite (N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 … receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; [0431] The fourth node N04 transmits the second reference signal in step S5401.; [0718] In one embodiment, a maintenance base station for the second cell is the NTN node; [0739] In one embodiment, the NTN node comprises a satellite.), and measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power) of the received reference signal (second reference signal) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … receives a first reference signal in the first cell in step S5107; receives a second reference signal in the second cell in step S5108; determines a first measurement result and a second measurement result in step S5109; determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set … the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality; [0433] In one embodiment, in the step S5109, a measurement for the first reference signal according to a first measurement quantity set is used to determine the first measurement result, while a measurement for the second reference signal according to the first measurement quantity set is used to determine the second measurement result.; [0472] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement quantity set is related to signal quality comprises: a measurement quantity in the first measurement quantity set is used to determine a reference signal received power.); and
transmitting a first measurement report (first measurement result, second measurement result, and/or measurement report in first message) to the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) (Fig.5; [0428] The first node U01 receives a first signaling in step S5101; … determines first measurement information and second measurement information in step S5110; and transmits a first message in step S5111.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, the first signaling indicates the first measurement quantity set, … and the first message comprises the first measurement result and the second measurement result; the first measurement result is associated with a first cell, while the second measurement result is associated with a second cell, the first cell and the second cell are respectively two different cells, and a RAT adopted by the first cell is the same as a RAT adopted by the second cell; the first message comprises a measurement report) based on a determination that the trigger condition related to the received reference signal is satisfied ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event. [0230] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event being satisfied is used to trigger transmission of the first message.), wherein the configuration information (third signaling) comprises at least an RSRP threshold (first threshold) of the received reference signal (second reference signal) ([0218] In one embodiment, the first cell is a cell that satisfies a said first-type event, and the second cell is another cell that satisfies a said first-type event.; [0432] In Embodiment 5, … ; the third signaling comprises a first threshold, the first threshold being related to the first measurement quantity set; [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; [0565] In one embodiment, the first threshold is used to determine a condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0570] In one embodiment, the phrase that the first measurement result and the second measurement result fulfill the first threshold comprises: a relation between the first measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event, and a relation between the second measurement result and the first threshold fulfills the condition for entry into the first-type event.; [0613] In one embodiment, the first threshold and the third threshold are used to determine a condition for departure from the first-type event.; See also [0580], [0581], [0587], [0608], [0610], [0611], [0612] for examples of other signaling).
Yu does not disclose the configuration information comprises a Hysteresis (Hys) parameter for the received reference signal, and wherein, based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and after completing the handover, a second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Da Silva discloses:
a configuration information comprises a hysteresis (Hys) parameter (Hys) for a received reference signal (reference signal) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh is the same as Mn >Thresh+Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn>Thresh+Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]), and
wherein, based on a cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition), a second measurement report is not transmitted depending on reportOnLeave indication (reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the configuration information of Yu to comprise a Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
It would have been also obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report as taught by Da Silva, in order to be compliant with reportOnLeave that indicates no initiation of measurement reporting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Yu and Da Silva does not disclose based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover, the second measurement report is not transmitted.
However, Kim discloses:
based on a condition that is satisfied after completing a handover ([0227] … Thus, if the measID is reused as a CHO execution condition, the UE may not be likely to release the measurement configuration for the CHO even though the UE should release the CHO configuration after handover complete. Then the measId(s) may remain in the measurement configuration so that unnecessary events of conditions can be met without target cell configuration. ; See also [0228]), a second measurement report is not transmitted ([0229] Therefore, in this disclosure, after successful mobility (e.g., CHO) complete, the UE may be able to handle the existing measurement configuration as below:… [0231] 2) The UE may remove the one or more measurement configurations (hence the corresponding measurement report is not transmitted) which are reused in the conditional mobility command (e.g., CHO command) from the measurement configurations as reference information to execute the mobility (e.g., CHO).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu and Da Silva to further comprise not transmitting the second measurement report based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after completing the handover as taught by Kim, in order to avoid triggering of unnecessary events (Kim, [0227]) regardless of reportOnLeave indication setting (Da Silva, [0490]).
Regarding claim 18,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the trigger condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is greater than a sum of the RSRP threshold and the Hys parameter.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a trigger condition (entering condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Mn) of a received reference signal (reference signal [of the neighbouring cell]) is greater than a sum (Thresh+Hys) of a RSRP threshold (Thresh) and a Hys parameter (Hys) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh is the same as Mn >Thresh+Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn>Thresh+Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the trigger condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is greater than a sum of the RSRP threshold and the Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
Regarding claim 19,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the cancel condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the Hys parameter from the RSRP threshold, and the method further comprises transmitting the second measurement report to the base station based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a cancel condition (leaving condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Mn) of a received reference signal (reference signal [of the neighbouring cell]) is less than a value (Thresh-Hys) obtained by subtracting a Hys parameter (Hys) from a RSRP threshold (Thresh) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh is the same as Mn<Thresh−Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn<Thresh−Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]), and
transmitting the second measurement report to a base station (initiate the measurement reporting procedure) based on the cancel condition (leaving condition) that is satisfied (Fig.5, [0275] The UE 401 may initiate a transmission of a message in step 505, e.g. a measurement reporting procedure; [0490] reportOnLeave Indicates whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when the leaving condition is met for a cell in cells; See also [0283]) after transmitting a first measurement report ([0534] 2> if the reportType is set to eventTriggered and if the entry condition applicable for this event, i.e. the event corresponding with the eventId of the corresponding reportConfig within VarMeasConfig, is fulfilled for one or more applicable cells for all measurements … [0538] 3> initiate the measurement reporting procedure; Note that the entry into an event must happen before the leaving form the event; hence the measurement reporting per the entry condition is before the measurement reporting per the leaving condition) and before completing a handover ([0863] Delete the CHO for at least one cell indicated in case that cell becomes worse than before and/or achieves a leaving condition for the message. Upon that, network node 403 contacts the target network node and cancels the previously configured CHO.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cancel condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the received reference signal is less than a value obtained by subtracting the Hys parameter from the RSRP threshold as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
It would have been also obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu to further comprise transmitting the second measurement report to the base station based on the cancel condition that is satisfied after transmitting the first measurement report and before completing the handover as taught by Da Silva, in order to update a prediction model in an effort to predict the best candidate node (Da Silva, [0892] These measurements may be event-triggered reported to the first network node 403a to be used latter on to update the prediction model and also used at the UE side as an input in the prediction model to predict, e.g., the best candidate second network node 403b ‘T’ TTIs ahead.; See also [0876], [0894]).
Regarding claim 20, Yu discloses:
wherein a coverage of a serving cell (serving cell) for the base station (N02, second node, TN base station, TN node) overlaps a coverage of one or more target cells ([0188] In one embodiment, there is an overlapping coverage between the neighboring cell and the serving cell in the present disclosure.) for one or more satellites ([0710] In one embodiment, the fourth node N04 comprises a maintenance base station for a neighboring cell of a serving cell of the first node U01.) including the satellite (N04, fourth node, NTN node compris[ing] a satellite), and the user equipment (U01, first node, UE) has a flight capability ([0308] Examples of UE 201 include cellular phones, smart phones, Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) phones, laptop computers, Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), Satellite Radios, non-terrestrial base station communications, satellite mobile communications, Global Positioning Systems (GPSs), multimedia devices, video devices, digital audio players (for example, MP3 players), cameras, games consoles, unmanned aerial vehicles, air vehicles; See also [0951]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Da Silva and Kim, in further view of Fudaba et al. (US 20150208312 A1, hereafter Fudaba).
Regarding claim 4,
Yu does not disclose: wherein the pre-condition comprises a condition in which the RSRP of the second reference signal is greater than a sum of the second RSRP threshold and the second Hys parameter, and the second RSRP threshold comprises a minimum value at which the RSRP of the second reference signal is measured.
However, Da Silva discloses:
wherein a pre-condition (entering condition for this event) comprises a condition in which a RSRP (Mn) of a second reference signal (reference signal [of the neighbouring cell]) is greater than a sum (Thresh+Hys) of a second RSRP threshold (Thresh) and a second Hys parameter (Hys) ([0630] 5.5.4.5 Event A4 (Neighbour Becomes Better than Threshold) [0631] The UE shall: [0632] 1> consider the entering condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-1, as specified below, is fulfilled; [0633] 1> consider the leaving condition for this event to be satisfied when condition A4-2, as specified below, is fulfilled.
Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh Inequality A4-1 (Entering condition)
Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh Inequality A4-2 (Leaving condition)
[0634] The variables in the formula are defined as follows: [0635] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell, not taking into account any offsets. If triggerBasedOnPredictions is set to ‘true’, the variable corresponds to the predictions of the measurement result of the neighbouring cell. [0636] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0637] Ocn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. cellIndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0638] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0639] Thresh is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a4-Threshold as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0640] Mn is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP, or in dB in case of RSRQ and RS-SINR. [0641] Ofn, Ocn, Hys are expressed in dB. [0642] Thresh is expressed in the same unit as Mn; Note that Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh is the same as Mn >Thresh+Hys−Ofn−Ocn and Mn>Thresh+Hys when Ofn and Ocn are 0dB; See also [0356]-[0365]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pre-condition of Yu to comprise a condition in which the RSRP of the second reference signal is greater than a sum of the second RSRP threshold and the second Hys parameter as taught by Da Silva, in order to apply the event A4 (Yu, [0219] In one subembodiment, the said first-type event comprises Event AX1, where X1 is a positive integer which is no greater than 100.; Da Silva, [0603]) with a4-threshold per the configuration information (Yu, [0563] In one embodiment, the third signaling comprising a first threshold comprises: the first threshold is a field in the third signaling, and names of the field include at least one of a1-Threshold, or a2-Threshold, or a3-Offset, or a4-Threshold, or a5-Threshold1 or a6-Offset.; Da Silva, [0639]).
Yu, Da Silva, and Kim do not disclose the second RSRP threshold comprises a minimum value at which the RSRP of the second reference signal is measured.
However, Fudaba discloses:
a second RSRP threshold comprises a minimum value at which a RSRP of a second reference signal is measured ([0040] At Step S5 described above, a method of indicating a report about the measurement information made by the femto base station 10 to the HO target mobile station includes a method of, for example, alleviating the trigger condition of the report about the measurement information made by a mobile station. This method is implemented by the measurement information collecting unit 12 in the femto base station 10 temporarily changing various parameters, such as an offset value or a threshold, that are used to set the trigger condition only for the HO target mobile station. … Furthermore, in a case of an event A4, by setting the threshold at the time of “an RSRP value received from an adjacent cell>a threshold”, which is the trigger condition, to the minimum value, the femto base station 10 can also acquire the measurement information from the HO target mobile station).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second RSRP threshold of Yu, Da Silva, and Kim to comprise a minimum value at which the RSRP of the second reference signal is measured as taught by Fudaba, in order to acquire the measurement information from the HO target mobile station (Fudaba, [0040]).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Da Silva and Kim, and in further view of Maaref et al. (US 20240056925 A1, hereafter Maaref).
Regarding claim 8,
Yu, Da Silva, and Kim do not disclose: wherein a coverage of a target cell for the satellite comprises a coverage of a serving cell for the base station.
However, Maaref discloses:
wherein a coverage (1100B) of a target cell for a satellite (NTN BS 170B; Note that a cell for NTN is a target cell for handover from TN to NTN) comprises a coverage (1100A) of a serving cell for a base station (TN BS 170A) (Fig. 11; [0006] There is a desire for improved methods for user devices to connect to TNs and NTNs, in particular for handover events between a TN and an NTN.; [0127] FIG. 11 illustrates a scenario in which the TN BS 170A has a TN service area 1100A. FIG. 11 illustrates that a NTN BS 170B has a NTN service area 1100B.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu, Da Silva, and Kim so that a coverage of a target cell for the satellite comprises a coverage of a serving cell for the base station as taught by Maaref, in order to extend the coverage available to a mobile device beyond the coverage available using only a terrestrial (cellular) network (Maaref, [0050] It is known that when terrestrial networks (TNs) are integrated with non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) the result can be that the coverage available to a mobile device is extended beyond the coverage available using only a terrestrial (cellular) network.).
Regarding claim 15,
Yu, Da Silva, and Kim do not disclose: wherein a coverage of a serving cell for the satellite comprises a coverage of a target cell for the base station.
However, Maaref discloses:
wherein a coverage (1100B) of a serving cell for a satellite (NTN BS 170B; Note that a cell for NTN is a serving cell for handover from NTN to TN) comprises a coverage (1100A) of a target cell for a base station (TN BS 170A) (Fig. 11; [0006] There is a desire for improved methods for user devices to connect to TNs and NTNs, in particular for handover events between a TN and an NTN.; [0127] FIG. 11 illustrates a scenario in which the TN BS 170A has a TN service area 1100A. FIG. 11 illustrates that a NTN BS 170B has a NTN service area 1100B.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yu, Da Silva, and Kim so that a coverage of a serving cell for the satellite comprises a coverage of a target cell for the base station as taught by Maaref, in order to extend the coverage available to a mobile device beyond the coverage available using only a terrestrial (cellular) network (Maaref, [0050] It is known that when terrestrial networks (TNs) are integrated with non-terrestrial networks (NTNs) the result can be that the coverage available to a mobile device is extended beyond the coverage available using only a terrestrial (cellular) network.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418