DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the Supplemental Amendment filed on 06 April 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claims 1, 18, and 20 have been amended, Claim 17 been cancelled, and Claim 21 has been added. Thus, Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites “through a wall of a heart” in the last two lines of the claim. Since “a wall” and “a heart” have already been recited in the claim, it is unclear as to whether this is referring to the same wall and heart. Therefore this limitation is indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “through the wall of the heart”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required. Claims 2-16 and 21 are rejected for depending on Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim recites “wherein the frame includes a stem”. However, since “a stem” has already been recited in Claim 18, it is unclear as to whether this is referring to the same or a different stem. Therefore this limitation is indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the frame includes the stem”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites “a means for contracting”. This will be interpreted as “contraction element 1200”, as described in Paragraph [0036]-[0038] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leasure (US Patent No. 7,172,551, previously cited) in view of Spence et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0223839).
Regarding Claim 1, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device (400, Fig. 7; Abstract) configured to be placed in a ventricle of a heart (Col. 1, Lines 42-62; Col. 5, Lines 6-11), the ventricular assist device comprising: a pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) having an opening (420, Fig. 7) and defining an internal volume (chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) configured to fill with blood in through the opening; a contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the frame configured to be coupled to a wall of the heart (Col. 1, Lines 42-62; Col. 5, Lines 6-11; Col. 2, Lines 62-65; see pump 100 in Fig. 1 coupled to ventricle), further comprising: a stem (end 423, Fig. 7) coupled to the frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) of the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the stem configured to be coupled to the wall of the heart (Col. 1, Lines 42-62; Col. 5, Lines 6-11; Col. 2, Lines 62-65; see pump 100 in Fig. 1 coupled to ventricle).
Leasure does not explicitly disclose wherein the stem comprises a body sized to pass through a wall of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen. Spence et al. teaches a ventricular assist device (Paragraph 0007) configured to be placed within a heart (Paragraph 0051), comprising a stem (14, Fig. 2-4) attached to a frame (15, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0051), wherein the stem (14, Fig. 2-4) comprises a body sized to pass through a wall (3, see Figs 2-3; Paragraph 0050-0051) of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen (see lumen of cannula stem 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0048-0051).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stem in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure to include a body sized to pass through a wall of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen, as taught by Spence et al., in order to limit movement of a target tissue such as cardiac wall (Spence et al., Paragraph 0039), and to allow for the support, incise, and/or otherwise facilitate the coupling the device to the target tissue (Spence et al., Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 2, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) includes an electroactive polymer (Col. 5, Lines 22-40).
Regarding Claim 15, Leasure further discloses a pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) having an opening (420, Fig. 7) and defining an internal volume (chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) configured to fill with blood in through the opening, wherein the pumping pouch is impermeable to blood (Claim 1, 8).
Regarding Claim 16, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) is made of an inelastic material (Col. 5, Lines 3-10; Col. 2, Line 65 – Col. 3, Line 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device (400, Fig. 7; Abstract) as described in detail with respect to Claim 1 above. However, the embodiment of Fig. 7 does not explicitly disclose wherein the contraction element includes a flap coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the flap having a first end portion coupled to the pumping pouch, the flap having a second end portion that is free. An alternative embodiment of Leasure teaches wherein the contraction element includes a flap (balloon/portions 322, 336, 334; Fig. 6) coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch (320, 326, 316, Fig. 6), the flap having a first end portion (portions 332, 336 connected to pouch/elements 320, 326, 316, Fig. 6) coupled to the pumping pouch, the flap having a second end portion that is free (free end 334, 322, Fig. 6; Col. 4, Line 51-Col. 5, Line 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a flap in the contraction element, the flap coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the flap having a first end portion coupled to the pumping pouch, the flap having a second end portion that is free, as taught in the alternative embodiment of Leasure, in order to increase the overall pumping force or redundancy of the design, since Leasure discloses that “the intention is to cover all modifications, equivalents, and alternatives falling within the spirit and scope of the invention” (Col. 2, Lines 25-32), and since the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 3, 5-8, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Leasure (US Patent No. 7,172,551, previously cited) in view of Spence et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0223839), further in view of Thanikachalam (US Patent No. 10,492,911, previously cited).
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) includes an electroactive polymer (Col. 5, Lines 22-40). However, Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein the contraction element includes a shape memory alloy or a twisted coil alloy.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device (Abstract, ventricular ejection device 1, Figs. 1C-D; 4C-D) configured to be placed in a ventricle of a heart (Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Abstract), the ventricular assist device comprising: a pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C) having an opening and defining an internal volume configured to fill with blood in through the opening (Col. 4, Lines 21-42); a contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) coupled to the pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C), the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) capable of squeezing at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64); and a frame (anchoring stent 4, Figs. 1A-D, Fig. 2; 5A-C) coupled to the pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C), the frame configured to be coupled to a wall of the heart (device 1 coupled to wall of heart, Fig. 4D-E; Col. 4, Lines 7-20; Col. 6, Lines 39-56; Claim 3), further comprising a stem (anchoring elements 11, Figs. 2, 3B-C, 4D-E; Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35) coupled to the pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C), the stem configured to be coupled to the wall of the heart (Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35; Col. 2, Lines 1-25), wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a shape memory alloy (made from shape memory alloy such as Nitonol, Col. 5, Lines 5-22, 40-46; Claim 11) or a twisted coil alloy (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil, made from shape memory alloy or other alloys, Col. 5, Lines 5-22, 40-46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device as disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a shape memory alloy or a twisted coil alloy, as taught by Thanikachalam, in order to provide for sufficient structural forces while maintaining flexible properties, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 6, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a circumferential band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the circumferential band encircling the internal volume.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a circumferential band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the circumferential band encircling the internal volume (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil which is attached to and encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a circumferential band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the circumferential band encircling the internal volume, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 7, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but does not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a helix coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the helix winding around the internal volume.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a helix coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the helix winding around the internal volume (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil which is attached to and encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a helix coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the helix winding around the internal volume, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 8, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a partial band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the partial band at least partially encircling the internal volume.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a partial band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the partial band at least partially encircling the internal volume (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil which is attached to and at least partially encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a partial band coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the partial band at least partially encircling the internal volume, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 10, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a side strip coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the side strip extending from an upper portion of the pumping pouch to a lower portion of the pumping pouch.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a side strip coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the side strip extending from an upper portion of the pumping pouch to a lower portion of the pumping pouch (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil [which could be a considered a ‘side strip’] which is attached to and encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, from an upper portion to a bottom portion, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a side strip coupled to a side wall of the pumping pouch, the side strip extending from an upper portion of the pumping pouch to a lower portion of the pumping pouch, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 11, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a bottom strip coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a bottom strip coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil [which could be a considered a ‘bottom strip’ at the bottom portion] which is attached to and encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, through a bottom portion, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination include a bottom strip coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 12, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7) configured to be actuated by electricity to squeeze (Abstract; Claim 3; Col. 5, Line 3-40) at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening (Col. 5, Lines 10-21); and a frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), but Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not disclose wherein the contraction element includes a spring coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (spring 9, Figs. 2, 5B, 5C) includes a spring coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch (spring 9 is a ‘twisted’/helical coil which is attached to and encircles the sidewall of recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, through a bottom portion, see Figs. 2, 5B, 5C; Col. 2, Lines 1-20; Col. 4, Lines 51-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a spring coupled to a bottom wall of the pumping pouch, as taught by Thanikachalam, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 14, Leasure discloses a ventricular assist device further wherein the frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) is coupled to the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the frame configured to be coupled to a wall of the heart (Col. 1, Lines 42-62; Col. 5, Lines 6-11; Col. 2, Lines 62-65; see pump 100 in Fig. 1 coupled to ventricle), further comprising: a stem (end 423, Fig. 7) coupled to the frame (struts 426 or member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) of the pumping pouch (wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21), the stem configured to be coupled to the wall of the heart (Col. 1, Lines 42-62; Col. 5, Lines 6-11; Col. 2, Lines 62-65; see pump 100 in Fig. 1 coupled to ventricle). However, Leasure and Spence et al. in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein the frame includes one or more tissue anchors.
Thanikachalam teaches a ventricular assist device further wherein the frame includes one or more tissue anchors (anchoring stent 4 includes anchoring elements 11, Figs. 2, 3B-C, 4D-E; Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35) configured to be coupled to the wall of the heart (Col. 2, Lines 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the frame in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include one or more tissue anchors configured to be coupled to the wall of the heart, in order to securely anchor the device within the ventricle, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leasure (US Patent No. 7,172,551, previously cited) in view of Spence et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0223839), further in view of Vidlund (US Patent No. 10,639,145, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 4, Leasure disclose the ventricular assist device further wherein the contraction element (actuators 440, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 10-21) includes an electroactive polymer (Col. 5, Lines 22-40). However, neither Leasure nor Spence et al. explicitly disclose wherein the contraction element includes a shape memory ceramic.
Vidlund et al. teaches a cardiac assist device (Abstract) comprising contraction elements including a shape memory ceramic (Col. 39, Lines 50-61). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contraction element as disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination to include a shape memory ceramic, as taught by Vidlund et al., in order to “provide sufficient structural integrity to withstand the intracardiac forces without dislocating, permanently deforming or fracturing”, as also taught by Vidlund et al. (Col. 39, Lines 50-61), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leasure (US Patent No. 7,172,551, previously cited) in view of Spence et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0223839), further in view of Buckner et al. (US Patent No. 7,758,491, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 13, Leasure a ventricular assist device further comprising a frame including struts (struts 426 and member 422, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21) which are attached to circular sections of the pumping pouch (circular top and bottom of wall 416 defining chamber 418, Fig. 7; Col. 5, Lines 3-21).
However, neither Leasure nor Spence et al. explicitly disclose wherein the frame includes an upper ring coupled to an upper portion of the pumping pouch, a lower ring coupled to a lower portion of the pumping pouch, and one or more struts coupling the upper ring to the lower ring.
Buckner et al. teaches a ventricular cardiac assist device (Abstract, Col. 3, Lines 15-60) comprising a frame (bistable cage 10, Fig. 1) including an upper ring (top band 20, Fig. 1) coupled to an upper portion of the device, a lower ring (bottom band 15, Fig. 1) coupled to a lower portion of the device, and one or more struts (30, 32, 31, Fig. 1) coupling the upper ring to the lower ring (Col. 8, Line 56 – Col. 9, Line 23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an upper ring coupled to an upper portion of the pumping pouch, a lower ring coupled to a lower portion of the pumping pouch, and one or more struts coupling the upper ring to the lower ring, as taught by Buckner et al., in the frame of the ventricular assist devices disclosed by Leasure and Spence et al. in combination, in order to increase the mechanical stability of the device due to the ring/cage structure, as also taught by Buckner et al. (Abstract; Col. 8, Line 56 – Col. 9, Line 25; Col. 3, Lines 35-55).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thanikachalam (US Patent No. 10,492,911, previously cited) in view of Spence et al. (US Publication No. 2015/0223839).
Regarding Claim 18, Thanikachalam discloses a method for delivering a ventricular assist device (Abstract, ventricular ejection device 1, Figs. 1C-D; 4C-D) into a ventricle of the heart, the ventricular assist device including a pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C) coupled to a frame (anchoring stent 4, Figs. 1A-D, Fig. 2; 5A-C), the method comprising: introducing a catheter (16, Fig. 4A) into the ventricle of the heart (Col. 6, Lines 35-56); ejecting the ventricular assist device from the catheter (16, Fig. 4A; Col. 6, Lines 35-56) into the ventricle of the heart to allow the pumping pouch (recoiling part 5 including membrane 12, Figs. 1A-D, 5A-C) and the frame (anchoring stent 4, Figs. 1A-D, Fig. 2; 5A-C) to expand in the ventricle of the heart (16, Fig. 4A; Col. 6, Lines 35-56); and anchoring the frame to a wall of the heart (Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35; Col. 2, Lines 1-25).
Thanikachalam does not disclose wherein the frame includes a stem comprising a body sized to span across the wall, the body comprising a lumen; and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pumping pouch.
Spence et al. teaches method for delivering a ventricular assist device (Paragraph 0007) configured to be placed within a heart (Paragraph 0051), comprising a stem (14, Fig. 2-4) attached to a frame (15, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0051), wherein the stem (14, Fig. 2-4) comprises a body sized to pass through and span across a wall (3, see Figs 2-3; Paragraph 0050-0051) of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen (see lumen of cannula stem 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0048-0051), and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pouch (application of current to activate deformation from first configuration to second configuration of end portion 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0066, 0100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a stem comprising a body sized to span across the wall, the body comprising a lumen; and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pumping pouch, as taught by Spence et al., in the frame of the method for delivering a ventricular assist device disclosed by Thanikachalam, in order to limit movement of a target tissue such as cardiac wall (Spence et al., Paragraph 0039), and to allow for the support, incise, and/or otherwise facilitate the coupling the device to the target tissue (Spence et al., Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 19, Thanikachalam discloses the method for delivering a ventricular assist device further wherein the frame (anchoring stent 4, Figs. 1A-D, Fig. 2; 5A-C) includes a stem (anchoring stent 4 includes anchoring elements 11, Figs. 2, 3B-C, 4D-E; Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35), and wherein anchoring the frame includes attaching the stem to the wall of the heart (Col. 5, Lines 5-40; Col. 6, Lines 5-35; Col. 2, Lines 1-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed. None of Leasure, Spence et al., Thanikachalam, Vidlund, nor Buckner et al. explicitly discloses or teaches the ventricular assist device comprising all of the claimed elements of Claim 20 as amended, specifically the means for contracting capable of squeezing at least a portion of the pumping pouch to force at least a portion of the blood out through the opening; a frame coupled to the pumping pouch, the frame configured to be coupled to a wall of the heart; and a stem connected to the frame and comprising a body having a longitudinal length sufficient to span across the wall of the heart, the body comprising a lumen surrounding a wire, the wire configured to deliver an electrical current to the means for contracting.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of Claims 1-20 with respect to the previously cited Leasure and/or Thanikachalam have been fully considered. However, the arguments are considered moot due to the new grounds of rejection made above under 35 U.S.C 103 with the addition of the newly cited Spence et al. reference.
The Examiner agrees that Leasure does not explicitly disclose wherein the stem comprises a body sized to pass through a wall of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen. However, newly cited Spence et al. teaches a ventricular assist device (Paragraph 0007) configured to be placed within a heart (Paragraph 0051), comprising a stem (14, Fig. 2-4) attached to a frame (15, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0051), wherein the stem (14, Fig. 2-4)comprises a body sized to pass through a wall (3, see Figs 2-3; Paragraph 0050-0051) of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen (see lumen of cannula stem 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0048-0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stem in the ventricular assist device disclosed by Leasure to include a body sized to pass through a wall of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen, as taught by Spence et al., in order to limit movement of a target tissue such as cardiac wall (Spence et al., Paragraph 0039), and to allow for the support, incise, and/or otherwise facilitate the coupling the device to the target tissue (Spence et al., Paragraph 0052).
The Examiner further agrees that Thanikachalam does not disclose wherein the frame includes a stem comprising a body sized to span across the wall, the body comprising a lumen; and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pumping pouch. However, newly cited Spence et al. teaches method for delivering a ventricular assist device (Paragraph 0007) configured to be placed within a heart (Paragraph 0051), comprising a stem (14, Fig. 2-4) attached to a frame (15, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0051), wherein the stem (14, Fig. 2-4) comprises a body sized to pass through and span across a wall (3, see Figs 2-3; Paragraph 0050-0051) of the heart, wherein the body comprises a lumen (see lumen of cannula stem 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0048-0051), and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pouch (application of current to activate deformation from first configuration to second configuration of end portion 14, Figs. 2-4; Paragraph 0066, 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a stem comprising a body sized to span across the wall, the body comprising a lumen; and passing electricity through a wire disposed in the lumen to activate a deformation of the pumping pouch, as taught by Spence et al., in the frame of the method for delivering a ventricular assist device disclosed by Thanikachalam, in order to limit movement of a target tissue such as cardiac wall (Spence et al., Paragraph 0039), and to allow for the support, incise, and/or otherwise facilitate the coupling the device to the target tissue (Spence et al., Paragraph 0052).
No additional specific arguments were made with respect to the previously cited Vidlund or Buckner et al. references, nor specifically with respect to dependent Claims 2-16 and 19.
Therefore, Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected as described in detail above. Claim 20 is allowed. Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA M. BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796