Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…the first initial performance point to obtain a second optimization performance point…” of lines 4-5 should read “…the first initial performance point, obtain a second optimization performance point…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “a communication interface configured to receive performance parameters of a motor provided in a fan”
Claim 12: “a communication device configured to receive performance parameters of a motor”
Claim 20: “a display device, wherein the fan control apparatus is configured to control the display device to display a fault code…”
With regards to the communication interface of claim 1, the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is understood to be a computer. Although the written disclosure doesn’t explicitly say “computer,” and Fig. 1 assigns number 141 to the communication interface shown as a box, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the communication interface 141 is a computer based on the entirety of the disclosure. For example, referencing the 09/19/2023 specification, [0163] states “The communication interface 141 may communicate with the first processor 140a. For example, the communication interface 141 may use LIN communication or may use CAN”, wherein [0079] describes “the wired communication module may further include a Local Interconnect Network (LIN)” and [0078] describes “the wired communication module may include various wired communication modules such as a controller area network (CAN)”.
With regards to the communication device of claims 12 and 16, the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function is also understood to be a computer. Although the written disclosure doesn’t explicitly say “computer,” and Fig. 1 assigns number 120 to the communication device shown as a box, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the communication device 120 is a computer based on the entirety of the disclosure. For example, referencing the 09/19/2023 specification, [0081] states “The communication device 120 may perform transmission and reception of information between the input device 111 and the controller 140, perform transmission and reception of information between the display device 112 and the controller 140, and perform transmission and reception of information between various sensors 131, 132, 133, 134 and the controller 140”, and [0083] describes “The communication device 120 may perform transmission and reception of information between the controller 140 and a server 2”.
With regards to the display device of claim 20, the corresponding structure described in the specification is that of an electronic visual display panel, as described in [0075]: “The display device 112 may be provided as a cathode ray tube (CRT), a digital light processing (DLP) panel, a plasma display panel (PDP), liquid crystal display (LCD) panel, electro luminescence (EL) panel, electrophoretic display (EPD) panel, electrochromic display (EGO) panel, light emitting diode (LED) panel, organic LED (OLED) panel, and/or the like, without being limited thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “big data” in claims 8 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “big data” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, the use of the word “big” indefinite since there is no defined threshold that defines a data set as qualifying as “big” data. The specification dated 09/19/2023 does not further define this term.
Claim 17 is rejected based on its dependence to rejected claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed (US10386800B2) in view of Tsuboi (DE10133243A1), referring to the English translation dated 01/29/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed teaches
a fan control apparatus (“FIG. 2 illustrates an example control system with an air-handling unit”) [0012] comprising:
a communication interface (controller 14) configured to receive performance parameters of a motor provided in a fan (“Data for previous operation is gathered to represent past behavior. In the example shown, the controller 14 receives the data from sensors, calculates the data from other information, and/or uses the data for control or operation of the air-handling unit 12”) [0031];
a memory configured to store reference data (“The memory 16 is a random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), removable media, flash, solid state, or other memory. The memory 16 stores set points, sensor values, control information, and/or instructions for control by the controller 14”) [0037]; and
a processor (“server 24 is a processor”) [0043] configured to
generate first and second reference performance curve maps based on the reference data stored in the memory (fig. 3; first curve map for operating range, second curve for surge range; “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of total fan pressure as a function of fan flow. Three curves representing pressure as a function of flow at different fan speeds (revolutions per minute (rpm)) are shown. A surge region exists where the same fan total pressure occurs for two different fan flows (cfm)”) [0073],
Ahmed does not teach
periodically generate first and second performance points based on the performance parameters of the motor received by the communication interface
identify a positional change of the first performance point periodically generated on the first reference performance curve map,
identify a positional change of the second performance point periodically generated on the second reference performance curve map, and
determine whether a performance of the fan is decreased based on the positional change of the first performance point and the positional change of the second performance point
Tsuboi teaches
periodically generate first and second performance points based on the performance parameters of the motor received by the communication interface (“The curve L showing a relationship between the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf and the total power consumption W has a minimum Q. First, it is assumed that the capacitor fan motor is driven by an arbitrary initial voltage Vf 0 (the point P 0). From this point, the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is changed each time by adding the modification value. DELTA.Va”[0034]; shown on fig. 4 as P0, P1, etc.)
identify a positional change of the first performance point periodically generated on the first reference performance curve map, identify a positional change of the second performance point periodically generated on the second reference performance curve map (from point P0 to P1 to P2, etc.), and
determine whether a performance of the fan is decreased based on the positional change of the first performance point and the positional change of the second performance point (“Each time the change is made, the main controller 9 calculates the total power consumption of the entire air conditioner using a predetermined formula and compares the result value with the value before the change (step F 11 in FIG. 5 ). The change of the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is repeated using the same modification value until the calculated total power consumption is larger than the value before the change (the path R3 and the step S6 in FIG. 5). Thus, the point representing the control state moves from P0 to P1, to P2, and to P3”) [0034]
Ahmed teaches a system wherein “For analysis, the performance of the fan 18 may be determined. For example, the demand flow curve 36 for the fan 18 is determined. Efficiency may be calculated as a ratio of power delivered by the fan to the power input to the fan” [0074], however does not teach how the system can optimize fan flow for peak efficiency. Tsuboi teaches “In FIG. 4, the algorithm of changing the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf to achieve a value that produces a minimum total power consumption condition” [0034], thus to approach the desired point Q on fig. 4. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide this algorithmic efficiency calculation method of Tsuboi to operation of Ahmed, in order periodically modify the fan speed to approach the high efficiency region, thus to approach peak performance of the system (wherein the first curve map and first performance point are associated with the normal operating range of fig. 3 of Ahmed, and the second curve map and second performance point are associated with the surge operating range of fig. 3 of Ahmed).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the performance parameters of the motor include current data of the motor, voltage data of the motor (“The measurements include fan speed, pressure, power input, and flow” [0008]; power delivered to electric system is a product of voltage and current), and speed data of the motor (“This cloud-based server 24 determines the control parameters for the air-handling unit 12 using a heuristic approach rather than a rigorous optimization based on rules. Machine learning and/or iterative fitting processes are applied to determine the values of the control parameters for the air-handling unit 12 . Load, temperature, cost, mass flow, and/or other information may be used in the analysis. The set points provided to the controller 14 may be any, such as damper position or fan speed”) [0068]
Regarding claim 11, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the memory is configured to store a fault diagnosis source code and a fault response source code (memory 26 of the server 24 described below), and wherein the processor is configured to determine a fault based of the fault diagnosis source code stored in the memory (“the server 24 or the computer 30 performs analysis of the operation of the air-handling unit 12 . The analysis is of the air-handling unit 12 as an individual component or within an overall HVAC system (e.g., tens of air-handling units in a floor or entire building). Data analytics for monitoring ongoing operation, predicting maintenance or further problems, identifying design flaws, determining variation from design or specification, or identifying opportunity (e.g., more efficient operation with reassignment of zones) is provided” [0069 of Ahmed]; monitoring of ongoing operation and predicting maintenance or further problems reads on determining a fault, wherein code to determine the fault is inherent to a computer capable of fault determination) and to control a fault response based on the fault response source code stored in the memory based on a determination of the fault (“In act 66 , the information, including any problem and/or opportunity, are presented on a display 32” [0107]; presenting problem information on display 32 reads on controlling a fault response, wherein code to perform response is inherent to a computer capable of performing response)
Claim(s) 3-7, 9-10, 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed (US10386800B2) in view of Tsuboi (DE10133243A1), referring to the English translation dated 01/29/2026, in further view of Petrak (US20170341486A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmed, as modified, does not teach the fan control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein, in response to operation of the fan at an initial time, the processor is configured to obtain first current data, first voltage data, and first speed data of the motor, to generate a first initial performance point based on the obtained first current data and the obtained first speed data, and to generate a second initial performance point based on the obtained first voltage data and the obtained first speed data
Petrak teaches “The blower sensor 112 is operably coupled to the blower 110 . In the illustrated embodiment, the blower sensor 112 obtains blower operational information. Blower operational information as used herein refers to information corresponding to or describing the functioning or use of the blower. For example, information relating to power consumed, shaft torque, shaft rotational speed, or the like during blower operation are examples of blower operational information… Examples of blower sensors include one or more devices to measure current and/or voltage of a blower motor, or, as another example, a dynometer or other device for measuring or determining torque and/or horsepower of a blower, or, as another example, a tachometer for measuring speed feedback” [0021]. While Ahmed teaches obtaining power delivered to the fan, it does not explicitly teach how this power figure is obtained. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the blower sensor 112 of Petrak, which includes blower motor current and voltage sensors, and a tachometer for measuring blower rotational speed, to the system of Ahmed, as modified, in order to effectively obtain the power data of the blower to be used in efficiency analysis.
Thus, the combination teaches
wherein, in response to operation of the fan at an initial time, the processor is configured to obtain first current data, first voltage data, and first speed data of the motor (associated with equivalent of point P0 of Tsuboi as applied to Ahmed, as modified by Petrak), to generate a first initial performance point based on the obtained first current data and the obtained first speed data (first point based on first current, voltage and speed data, as modified by Petrak), and to generate a second initial performance point based on the obtained first voltage data and the obtained first speed data (“A surge region exists where the same fan total pressure occurs for two different fan flows (cfm)” [0074 of Ahmed); thus, configured to generate point for surge system as well, wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 4, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the processor is configured to set a first boundary area based on position information of the first initial performance point on a first performance map (system of Tsuboi teaches “First, it is assumed that the capacitor fan motor is driven by an arbitrary initial voltage Vf 0 (the point P 0). From this point, the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is changed each time by adding the modification value. DELTA.Va” [0034]; thus, boundary is within the set modification value) and to set a second boundary area based on position information of the second initial performance point on a second performance map (configured to generate point for surge system as well as described in [0073], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 5, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the processor is configured to: in response to operation of the fan at a present time, obtain second current data, second voltage data, and second speed data of the motor (data associated with P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a first present performance point based on the obtained second current data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a second present performance point based on the obtained second voltage data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point);
in response to mapping the first present performance point to the first performance map, determine that the performance of the fan is changed, based on the first present performance point being located outside the first boundary area of the first performance map (performance changes due to modification value added to P0 (wherein boundary is within modification value), resulting in P1 as taught by Tsuboi); and
in response to mapping the second present performance point to the second performance map, determine that the performance of the fan is changed, based on the second present performance point being located outside the second boundary area of the second performance map (performance changes due to modification value added to P0 (wherein boundary is within modification value), resulting in P1 as taught by Tsuboi, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 6, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the processor is configured to: in response to operation of the fan at a present time, obtain second current data, second voltage data, and second speed data of the motor (data associated with P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a first present performance point based on the obtained second current data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a second present performance point based on the obtained second voltage data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point);
map the first initial performance point and the first present performance point to the first reference performance curve map (mapping of points of fig. 3 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
determine a positional change of the first present performance point based on a position of the first initial performance point on the mapped first performance map (positional change associated with new point along curve following the modification value applied, as taught by Tsuboi);
map the second initial performance point and the second present performance point to the second reference performance curve map (mapping of points of fig. 4 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point);
determine a positional change of the second present performance point based on a position of the second initial performance point on the mapped second performance map positional change associated with new point along curve following the modification value applied, as taught by Tsuboi, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second performance points); and
determine whether the performance of the fan is decreased based on the positional change of the first present performance point and the positional change of the second present performance point (“Each time the change is made, the main controller 9 calculates the total power consumption of the entire air conditioner using a predetermined formula and compares the result value with the value before the change (step F 11 in FIG. 5 ). The change of the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is repeated using the same modification value until the calculated total power consumption is larger than the value before the change” [0034 of Tsuboi])
Regarding claim 7, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the processor is configured to determine a direction of the positional change of the first present performance point corresponding to the positional change of the first present performance point and to determine a direction of the positional change of the second present performance point corresponding to the positional change of the second present performance point (“Each time the change is made, the main controller 9 calculates the total power consumption of the entire air conditioner using a predetermined formula and compares the result value with the value before the change (step F 11 in FIG. 5 )” [0034 of Tsuboi], thus configured to determine if power consumption is moving in positive or negative direction for both normal and surge scenarios)
Regarding claim 9, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein, based on a determination that the performance of the fan is decreased, the processor is configured to obtain a first optimization performance point based on position information of the first initial performance point (“From this point, the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is changed each time by adding the modification value.DELTA.Va. Each time the change is made, the main controller 9 calculates the total power consumption of the entire air conditioner using a predetermined formula and compares the result value with the value before the change (step F 11 in FIG. 5 ). The change of the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is repeated using the same modification value until the calculated total power consumption is larger than the value before the change (the path R3 and the step S6 in FIG. 5). Thus, the point representing the control state moves from P0 to P1, to P2, and to P3. At the point P3, the total power consumption after the change becomes larger than that before the change (W2 < W3). When this condition is satisfied, the main controller 9 inverts the sign of the modification value and reduces the magnitude of the modification value” [0034 of Tsuboi]; thus, at P3, it is determined that performance decreased, and thus a first optimization performance point P4 is determined based on the inverted and reduced modification value, the position of which is a result of the selected position of the first initial performance point P0 and subsequent modification value additions at P1, P2, and P3)
to obtain a second optimization performance point based on position information of the second initial performance point (configured to generate second optimization point as described above, for a surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second performance points, and
to update software for controlling the fan based on the first optimization performance point and the second optimization performance point (fan output values are updated based on values of first optimization performance point and the second optimization performance point (P4 of Tsuboi applied to Ahmed))
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the fan control apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the processor is configured to change an operation point of the motor through the update of the software (voltage change described in [0073] of Tsuboi, wherein current voltage reads on operation point)
Regarding claim 12, Ahmed teaches
an air conditioner (air-handling unit 12) including a fan coupled to a motor (“The fan 18 includes a blade and a motor”) [0035];
a speed sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor (“The sensors 20 are for measuring temperature, relative humidity, fan speed, pressure, input power, and fan flow”) [0039];
a communication device (controller 14) configured to receive performance parameters of a motor (“Data for previous operation is gathered to represent past behavior. In the example shown, the controller 14 receives the data from sensors, calculates the data from other information, and/or uses the data for control or operation of the air-handling unit 12”) [0031];
a memory configured to store reference data (“The memory 16 is a random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), removable media, flash, solid state, or other memory. The memory 16 stores set points, sensor values, control information, and/or instructions for control by the controller 14”) [0037]; and
a fan control apparatus (“FIG. 2 illustrates an example control system with an air-handling unit”) [0012] configured to
generate first and second reference performance curve maps based on the reference data stored in the memory (fig. 3; first curve map for operating range, second curve for surge range; “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of total fan pressure as a function of fan flow. Three curves representing pressure as a function of flow at different fan speeds (revolutions per minute (rpm)) are shown. A surge region exists where the same fan total pressure occurs for two different fan flows (cfm)”) [0073]
Ahmed does not teach
A vehicle, comprising:
a current sensor configured to detect a current of the motor; a voltage sensor configured to detect a voltage of the motor;
periodically generate first and second performance points based on the performance parameters of the motor received by the communication device,
identify a positional change of the first performance point periodically generated on the first reference performance curve map,
identify a positional change of the second performance point periodically generated on the second reference performance curve map, and
determine whether a performance of the fan is decreased based on the positional change of the first performance point and the positional change of the second performance point
Tsuboi teaches
A vehicle (“The present invention relates to a vehicle air conditioner that can reduce the total power consumption of the air conditioner”) [001], comprising:
periodically generate first and second performance points based on the performance parameters of the motor received by the communication device (“The curve L showing a relationship between the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf and the total power consumption W has a minimum Q. First, it is assumed that the capacitor fan motor is driven by an arbitrary initial voltage Vf 0 (the point P 0). From this point, the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is changed each time by adding the modification value. DELTA.Va”[0034]; shown on fig. 4 as P0, P1, etc.)
identify a positional change of the first performance point periodically generated on the first reference performance curve map, identify a positional change of the second performance point periodically generated on the second reference performance curve map (from point P0 to P1 to P2, etc.), and
determine whether a performance of the fan is decreased based on the positional change of the first performance point and the positional change of the second performance point (“Each time the change is made, the main controller 9 calculates the total power consumption of the entire air conditioner using a predetermined formula and compares the result value with the value before the change (step F 11 in FIG. 5 ). The change of the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is repeated using the same modification value until the calculated total power consumption is larger than the value before the change (the path R3 and the step S6 in FIG. 5). Thus, the point representing the control state moves from P0 to P1, to P2, and to P3”) [0034]
Ahmed teaches a system wherein “For analysis, the performance of the fan 18 may be determined. For example, the demand flow curve 36 for the fan 18 is determined. Efficiency may be calculated as a ratio of power delivered by the fan to the power input to the fan” [0074], however does not teach how the system can optimize fan flow for peak efficiency. Tsuboi teaches “In FIG. 4, the algorithm of changing the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf to achieve a value that produces a minimum total power consumption condition” [0034], thus to approach the desired point Q on fig. 4. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide this algorithmic efficiency calculation method of Tsuboi to operation of Ahmed, in order periodically modify the fan speed to approach the high efficiency region, thus to approach peak performance of the system (wherein the first curve map and first performance point are associated with the normal operating range of fig. 3 of Ahmed, and the second curve map and second performance point are associated with the surge operating range of fig. 3 of Ahmed). It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Ahmed in view of Tsuboi to a vehicle, as taught in Tsuboi, in order to reduce power consumption of the vehicle air conditioner and thus increase fuel economy.
Petrak teaches
a current sensor configured to detect a current of the motor; a voltage sensor configured to detect a voltage of the motor (“The blower sensor 112 is operably coupled to the blower 110 . In the illustrated embodiment, the blower sensor 112 obtains blower operational information. Blower operational information as used herein refers to information corresponding to or describing the functioning or use of the blower. For example, information relating to power consumed, shaft torque, shaft rotational speed, or the like during blower operation are examples of blower operational information… Examples of blower sensors include one or more devices to measure current and/or voltage of a blower motor, or, as another example, a dynometer or other device for measuring or determining torque and/or horsepower of a blower, or, as another example, a tachometer for measuring speed feedback”) [0021];
While Ahmed teaches obtaining power delivered to the fan, it does not explicitly teach how this power figure is obtained. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the blower sensor 112 of Petrak, which includes blower motor current and voltage sensors, and a tachometer for measuring blower rotational speed, to the system of Ahmed, as modified, in order to effectively obtain the power data of the blower to be used in efficiency analysis.
Regarding claim 13, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 12,
wherein, in response to operation of the fan at an initial time, the processor is configured to obtain first current data, first voltage data, and first speed data of the motor (associated with equivalent of point P0 of Tsuboi as applied to Ahmed, as modified by Petrak), to generate a first initial performance point based on the obtained first current data and the obtained first speed data (first point based on first current, voltage and speed data, as modified by Petrak), and to generate a second initial performance point based on the obtained first voltage data and the obtained first speed data (“A surge region exists where the same fan total pressure occurs for two different fan flows (cfm)” [0074 of Ahmed); thus, configured to generate point for surge system as well, wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 14, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 13,
wherein the fan control apparatus is configured to set a first boundary area based on position information of the first initial performance point on a first performance map (system of Tsuboi teaches “First, it is assumed that the capacitor fan motor is driven by an arbitrary initial voltage Vf 0 (the point P 0). From this point, the actual capacitor fan motor control voltage Vf is changed each time by adding the modification value. DELTA.Va” [0034]; thus, boundary is within the set modification value) and to set a second boundary area based on position information of the second initial performance point on a second performance map (configured to generate point for surge system as well as described in [0073], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 14,
wherein the fan control apparatus is configured to: in response to operation of the fan at a present time, obtain second current data, second voltage data, and second speed data of the motor (data associated with P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a first present performance point based on the obtained second current data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed);
generate a second present performance point based on the obtained second voltage data and the obtained second speed data (P1 of Tsuboi, as applied to Ahmed, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point);
in response to mapping the first present performance point to the first performance map, determine that the performance of the fan is changed, based on the first present performance point being located outside the first boundary area of the first performance map (performance changes due to modification value added to P0 (wherein boundary is within modification value), resulting in P1 as taught by Tsuboi); and
in response to mapping the second present performance point to the second performance map, determine that the performance of the fan is changed, based on the second present performance point being located outside the second boundary area of the second performance map (performance changes due to modification value added to P0 (wherein boundary is within modification value), resulting in P1 as taught by Tsuboi, configured to generate point for surge system described in [0073 of Ahmed], wherein surge scenario is associated with second initial performance point)
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein,
when determining whether the performance of the fan is decreased, the fan control apparatus is configured to identify use information and region information of the air conditioner and to determine whether the performance of the fan is decreased based on the identified use information and the identified region information of the air conditioner (“The air conditioner according to the present invention calculates a target capacitor fan motor voltage (i.e., a rotational speed) by initially using an initial regression function of the ambient temperature and the vehicle speed<DP N=6> speed, and then calculates a modification value such as the difference between this value and its last value… The search for the appropriate actual capacitor fan motor control voltage that establishes the minimum power consumption condition is terminated when the calculated total power consumption begins to fluctuate within a certain predetermined width. At this time, a set of correlation data including the final actual condenser fan motor control voltage, the ambient temperature, and the vehicle speed may be obtained. This data record is overwritten on one line of the initial basic data. By repeating the entire above procedure in response to changes in conditions of the ambient temperature and the vehicle speed, the basic data is renewed line by line” [0013 of Tsuboi]; thus, as modified by Tsuboi, fan control apparatus is configured to identify use information (vehicle speed) and region information (ambient temperature) of the air conditioner; system then determine whether the performance of the fan is decreased based on movement from P0 to P1 to P2, etc. for that particular curve, which is based on the initial identified use information and the identified region information of the air conditioner)
Regarding claim 19, Ahmed, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 12,
wherein the memory is configured to store a fault diagnosis source code and a fault response source code (memory 26 of the server 24 described below), and wherein the fan control apparatus is configured to determine a fault based of the fault diagnosis source code stored in the memory (“the server 24 or the computer 30 performs analysis of the operation of the air-handling unit 12 . The analysis is of the air-handling unit 12 as an individual component or within an overall HVAC system (e.g., tens of air-handling units in a floor or entire building). Data analytics for monitoring ongoing operation, predicting maintenance or further problems, identifying design flaws, determining variation from design or specification, or identifying opportunity (e.g., more efficient operation with reassignment of zones) is provided” [0069 of Ahmed]; monitoring of ongoing operation and predicting maintenance or further problems reads on determining a fault, wherein code to determine the fault is inherent to a computer capable of fault determination) and to control a fault response based on the fault response source code stored in the memory based on a determination of the fault (“In act 66 , the information, including any problem and/or opportunity, are presented on a display 32” [0107]; presenting problem information on display 32 reads on controlling a fault response, wherein code to perform response is inherent to a computer capable of performing response)
Regarding claim 20, the vehicle according to claim 19, further comprising:
a display device, wherein the fan control apparatus is configured to control the display device to display a fault code and a confirmation message for responding to the fault based on the determination of the fault (“In act 66 , the information, including any problem and/or opportunity, are presented on a display 32 . The results of the analysis are presented to the user. The problem or opportunity are specifically identified, such as indicating a box to be replaced, a zone for increased occupancy, confirmation of cost savings, correlation with outdoor conditions, trend indicating a need for maintenance or adjustment, or other information. Alternatively or additionally, a graph, chart, or data are displayed for user interpretation” [0107]; wherein trend indicating a need for maintenance or adjustment reads on fault code and confirmation of cost savings reads on confirmation message)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the subject matter not found includes “determine a cause of a decrease in performance of the fan corresponding to the direction of the positional change of the first present performance point and the direction of the positional change of the second present performance point based on big data received by a server”, in combination with the other elements of the claim. The closest art of record Ahmed in view of Tsuboi and Petrak, as applied in the office action, however a modification to include this additional claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claim 17 is indicated as allowable subject matter based on its dependence to claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Takase (US20220048364A1) and Rappl (US20230117319A1), which teach similar fan control apparatuses to that claimed.
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762