/Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 11/24/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination burden are not undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show ‘arm – 708’ as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the male engagement feature of the first end is configured to engage the female engagement feature of the second end.”
It is unclear whether the engagement between the male and female engagement features occurs between the same panel or between different panels.
To expedite examination, Examiner interprets the scope of claim 2, ‘the engagement between the male and female engagement features occurs between different panels.’
As regarding claim 4, the word "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the word "substantially" is a required by the Applicant as part of the claimed invention or not.
Claims 5-6 depend on claim 4; and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carr et al (US 20220233983; hereinafter Carr).
As regarding claim 1, Carr discloses the claimed invention for a panel (46, 44, 44A) for filter extender, comprising: a first end having a male engagement feature (90 of fig. 7); a second end having a female engagement feature (110 of fig. 7); a back edge (sidewall 50 of fig. 7) connecting the first and second ends; a front edge (sidewall 50) connecting the first and second ends; and a clip (70, 154) extending from front edge in a direction away from the back edge, the clip integral to the panel, the entire clip offset from a centerline bifurcating the first and second edges (figs. 6-7).
As regarding claim 2, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for wherein the male engagement feature of the first end is configured to engage the female engagement feature of the second end (figs. 6-7).
As regarding claim 3, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for wherein the front edge further comprises a lip (110 of fig. 11A) that extends perpendicular to a plane (50) of an outer surface of the panel bounded by the front and back edges.
As regarding claim 4, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for wherein the clip further comprises: an arm (70) extend from the front edge; and a catch (154) spaced from the front edge by the arm, the catch oriented in a direction substantially parallel (there is a portion of 154 that parallel with 110; no number) to the lip.
As regarding claim 6, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for wherein the clip further comprises: a tab (70 of fig. 7) coupled to the catch, the tab disposed at an angle (90 degree) outward relative to the plane of the outer surface of the panel.
As regarding claim 7, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for one or more recesses (154 of fig. 7) formed in an outer surface of the panel that is bounded by the front and back edges.
As regarding claim 8, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for an outer surface of the panel that is bounded by the front and back edges; and a lip (110) extending perpendicular and away from the outer surface, the lip recessed from the front edge, wherein the back edge has a surface that is parallel to the lip.
As regarding claim 9, Carr discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Carr discloses the claimed invention for wherein the female engagement feature (112 of fig. 7) is configured to retain another identical panel at a right angle to the panel.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 5 contains allowable subject matter because prior art does not teach fairly suggested wherein the arm further comprises: a portion thinned relative to other portions of the clip that allows the clip to deflect from an original position upon engagement with a filter and return to the original position once force applied to the clip is removed.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773