DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/19/2023, 09/05/2024, and 11/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings received on 09/19/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable . Specification The specification filed on 09/19/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anami et al. (JP 2016110886 A, hereinafter Anami). Regarding C laim 1 , Anami discloses the limitations regarding a lithium-ion rechargeable battery ( Anami , lithium ion secondary battery , [ 0017 ]), comprising: a negative electrode plate including a negative electrode substrate and a negative electrode mixture layer applied to a surface of the negative electrode substrate ( Anami , the negative electrode 4 includes a negative electrode current collector 41 made of copper foil and a negative electrode mixture layer 42 on both sides of the negative electrode current collector , [ 0019 ] ) ; a positive electrode plate including a positive electrode substrate and a positive electrode mixture layer applied to a surface of the positive electrode substrate ( Anami , the positive electrode 3 includes a positive electrode current collector 31 made of aluminum foil or aluminum alloy foil, and a positive electrode mixture layer 32 on both sides of the positive electrode current collector 31 , [ 0018 ] ) ; a separator arranged between the negative electrode plate and the positive electrode plate ( Anami , the separator 5 is positioned between the positive electrode 3 and the negative electrode 4 , [ 0021 ]) ; and a non-aqueous electrolyte ( Anami , electrolyte , [ 0017 ]) , wherein the negative electrode substrate includes a negative electrode connection portion that projects from the negative electrode mixture layer in a first width direction and is electrically connected to a negative electrode external terminal ( Anami , negative electrode current collector includes a negative electrode connection portion that projects from the negative electrode mixture layer in a first width direction and is electrically connected to a negative electrode external terminal 10 , Annotated Figure 1 below , [ 0017 ]) , the positive electrode substrate includes a positive electrode connection portion that projects from the positive electrode mixture layer in a second width direction opposite to the first width direction and is electrically connected to a positive electrode external terminal ( Anami , positive electrode current collector includes a positive electrode connection portion that projects from the positive electrode mixture layer in a second width direction and is electrically connected to a positive electrode external terminal 11 , Annotated Figure 1 below , [ 0017 ]) , and the separator has a gas permeability that is greater at a portion facing an end of the positive electrode mixture layer in the second width direction than a portion facing an end of the positive electrode mixture layer in the first width direction ( Anami , the air permeability of the heat-treated portion 51 of the separator is 30 times or more compared to the non- heat-treated portion of the separator 52 , [ 0009 ] , Annotated Figure 1 below ) . Regarding Claim 2 , Anami discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Anami discloses the limitations regarding a lithium-ion rechargeable battery ( Anami , lithium ion secondary battery , [ 0017 ]), wherein the gas permeability of the separator increases in the second width direction ( Anami , the air permeability of the heat-treated portion 51 of the separator is 30 times or more compared to the non- heat-treated portion 52 of the separator , [ 0009 ] , Annotated Figure 1 below ) . Regarding Claim 3 , Anami discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Anami discloses the limitations regarding a lithium-ion rechargeable battery ( Anami , lithium ion secondary battery , [ 0017 ]), wherein the gas permeability of the separator at the end in the second width direction is 105% or greater with respect to the gas permeability at the end in the first width direction ( Anami , the air permeability of the heat-treated portion 51 of the separator is 30 times or more , or 3000% or more, compared to the non- heat-treated portion of the separator 52 , [ 0009 ] , Annotated Figure 1 below ; the disclosed range of 3000% or more falls within the claimed range of 30 times or more ) . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20240250307 A1 discloses a separator wherein the air permeability of a region AE ranging from the first position A to a first end E or an air permeability of a region A′E′ ranging from the first position A′ to a second end E′ is 1 to 15 times larger than an air permeability of the middle region AA′ between the first position A and the second position A′ [ 0018 ]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KEVIN NGUYEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1745 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Thursday 9:50 - 7:50 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT NICHOLAS A SMITH can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-8760 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752