DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims. Claims 2-7, 9-11, and 16-20 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on February 05, 2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For example, amended claim 1 recites the following:
1. (Currently Amended) A method of improving battery life of a mobile device, the method being performed by a data processing system configured to communicate via a network with at least one mobile device, comprising: receiving a plurality of battery change indications, each battery change indication indicating a variation of battery level of a respective mobile device of a plurality of mobile devices between a first battery level at a first time when presenting a respective content item of a plurality of content items on the mobile device and a second battery level at a second time when presenting during the respective content item on the mobile device,
wherein each of the plurality of content items includes one or more of an image, an audio, a video, a text file, or a multimedia file;
determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications; modifying the plurality of content items based upon the determined relationships to generate a modified plurality of content items; and providing content items of the modified plurality of content items to present on one or more mobile devices.
MPEP § 2151.01 states, in part that “to satisfy the written description, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor has possession of the claimed invention at the time of the filling”.
The highlighted portion directed to claim 1 above was amended by Applicants in response to the Final Office Action filed on November 19, 2025, in which according to Applicants are allegedly supported by ¶s [006], [0012], [0027], [0030], [0041] and [0047] of Applicants specification. (p. 1 of the remarks filed on January 20, 2026). These paragraphs are recited below for convenience which recite the following:
“[0006] In some implementations, content items of the plurality of content items have associated content item properties, and where determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items includes determining relationships between variation of battery level and content item properties.
[0012] At least one aspect is directed to a method for managing content to improve battery life of a mobile device. The method includes receiving, by a data processing system including one or more servers, a plurality of content requests from a plurality of mobile devices. The method further includes transmitting, by the data processing system, responsive to each content request of the plurality of content requests, a respective content item selected from a set of content items to the respective mobile device from which the content request was received. The method also includes receiving, by the data processing system, from each of the plurality of mobile devices to which the respective content item was transmitted, battery status information of a battery powering the respective mobile device. The method additionally includes determining, by the data processing system, for each content item transmitted to a respective mobile device using the battery status information received from the respective mobile device to which the content item was transmitted, an amount of power the mobile device consumed to present the content item. The method further includes determining, by the data processing system, for each content item, a battery usage value corresponding to the determined amounts of power mobile devices consumed to present the content item. The method also includes modifying, by the data processing system, based on the respective battery usage values of the content items of the set of content items, a content selection policy for selecting content items from the set of content items to transmit to mobile devices responsive to receiving content requests.
[0027] Content displayed on a computing device, such as a mobile device, can include text and other content items, such as images or video. An application executing on the mobile device can request these content items from a server and display them on the mobile device. The displaying of the content items on the mobile device consumes power, which can be provided by a battery on the mobile device. Moreover, the amount of power consumed for displaying a content item can depend upon the nature of the content item. For example, displaying a video content item may consume more power than displaying an image content item. In some cases, displaying high power consuming content items may undesirably drain the battery.
[0030] The content provider computing device 115 can include servers or other computing devices operated by a content provider entity to provide one or more content items for display on information resources at the client computing device 125. The content provided by the content provider computing device 115 can include third-party content items for display on information resources, such as a website or web page that includes primary content, e.g., content provided by the content publisher computing device 120. The content items can also be displayed on a search results web page. For instance, the content provider computing device 115 can provide or be the source of one or more content items for display in content slots of content web pages, such as a web page of a company where the primary content of the web page is provided by the content publisher computing device, or for display on a search results landing page provided by a search engine. The content items associated with the content provider computing device 115 can be displayed on information resources other than web pages, such as content displayed as part of the execution of an application (such as a global positioning system (GPS) or map application, or other types of applications) on a smartphone or other client computing device 125. The content items can be any type of content file, including an image file, an audio file, a video file, a HTML 5 file, a markup language file, a graphics file, or any multimedia file.
[0041] In some implementations, the battery usage script can include additional scripts or computer programs that can be transmitted to the client computing device 125 in conjunction with the requested content item. These additional scripts or computer programs can determine additional performance parameters of the client computing device 125 in relation to displaying or rendering the requested content item. For example, the script provider module 140 can provide a frame rate script which when executed at the client computing device 125, can determine the frame rate (measured, for example, in frames per second) at which the client computing device 125 displays or renders the content item. The script provide module 140 also can provide a latency script, which when executed at the client computing device 125, can determine the latency (for example, in milliseconds) in displaying or rendering the content item on the client computing device 125. The script provider module 140 also can provide scripts that monitor and record user behavior during the displaying or rendering of a content item. For example, the scripts can monitor and record an item clicked by the user, or a user action, such as requesting a different webpage, or terminating an application, that results in the termination of the display or rendering of the content item. The battery usage script can transmit the recorded information to the data processing system 110. Battery usage scripts are discussed in more detail below with reference to FIG. 3.
[0047] FIG. 3 shows a representation of an example content item 300 received by a client computing device 125. As mentioned above, the content item received by the client computing device 125 can include content to be displayed or rendered on the client computing device 125 and one or more scripts provided by the script provider module 140 (FIG. 1). The content item 300 includes at least a content portion 302 and a battery usage script 352. The content portion 302 can include content that is to be displayed or rendered on the client computing device. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the content portion 302 can include one or more of images 304, videos 306, audio 308, and other content 310. The battery usage script 352 can include one or more scripts that are to be executed by the computing application, such as the computing application discussed above in relation to FIG. 2. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the battery usage script 352 can include one or more scripts such as a first battery level script 312, a second battery level script 314, a frame rate script 316 and one or more other suitable scripts 320.”
Based on the above paragraphs, the Office respectfully submits the specification fails to disclose the expression directed to “a first battery level at a first time when presenting a respective content item of a plurality of content items on the mobile device and a second battery level at a second time when presenting the respective content item on the mobile device” as currently claimed. Stated differently, while ¶ [0012] of the specification does disclose “an amount of power the mobile device consumed to present the content item”, the specification lacks to disclose an embodiment for the specific claimed sequence (emphasis added by the Office) of collecting a first battery level and second battery level at two different times while presenting the content items as currently claimed. Indeed, a key word search of Applicant’s specification for these specific sequence of steps yields no results.
Therefore, in view of above findings, the specification fails to disclose in sufficient detail that Applicant’s had possession of the subject matter directed to the amended claim because “the vast majority of written description problems arise when the patentee amends or adds claims with limitations not found in the original claim set and using language that does not directly map to specification disclosure”. In Re Cisco Systems v. Cirrex (Fed. Cir. 2017)
Independent claims 8, 15 are rejected under the same rational already described in claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are rejected based on their dependency because said claims do not cure the deficiencies presented in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10,12-17,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0114721 (hereinafter, “Azadet”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0301587 (hereinafter, “Chae”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0131145 (hereinafter, “Garg”).
As per claim(s) 1, 8, 15, Azadet discloses a method of improving battery life of a mobile device, the method being performed by a data processing system configured to communicate via a network with at least one mobile device, comprising:
receiving a plurality of battery change indications, each battery change indication indicating a variation of battery level of a respective mobile device of a plurality of mobile devices between a first battery level at a first time of a respective content item of a plurality of content items on the mobile device and a second battery level at a second time of the respective content item on the mobile device; (Fig. 1 illustrates a plurality of electronic devices which may be cellular telephones and are battery operated. ¶ [0014] Further, FIG. 3 illustrates a number of records 301-305 that are collected to indicate changes from the different battery levels. It is therefore apparent for the Office to submit that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the number of different time events for which battery levels are collected is similar to the claimed expressions directed to first battery level at a first time and second battery level at a second time as currently claimed.)
determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications; (Fig. 3 illustrates relationship between the associated changes to the different battery levels and bit rates for supplying data packets )
modifying the plurality of content items based upon the determined relationships to generate a modified plurality of content items; and (Fig. 3 illustrates relationship between the associated changes to the different battery levels and bit rates for supplying data packets)
providing content items of the modified plurality of content items to present on one or more mobile devices. (Fig. 3 illustrates relationship between the associated changes to the different battery levels and bit rates for supplying data packets)
Azadet does not distinctly disclose receiving power information associated when presenting content items, wherein each of the plurality of content items includes one or more of an image, an audio, a video, a text file, or a multimedia file;
.
However, Chae explicitly discloses that. In particular Chae discloses the following:
receiving a plurality of battery change indications, (power change information at the local level that at least includes “a battery power lower than a predefined value”; ¶ [0069] ) each battery change indication indicating a variation of battery level of a respective mobile device of a plurality of mobile devices between a first battery level at a first time when presenting of a respective content item of a plurality of content items on the mobile device and a second battery level at a second time 1when presenting of the respective content item on the mobile device; (inter alia: ¶s [0150]-[0151] state that: “ the normal power control data may be data for displaying the screen on the display unit 530 with a specific FPS set as a default. For example, the graphic processing unit 520 may control the application to output display data on the display unit 530 with a normal frame rate (e.g., a frame rate of 60 FPS in case of an application with 60 FPS, a frame rate of 30 FPS in case of an application with 30 FPS, etc.)” and “ the power control data may be data for displaying the screen with a specific FPS lower than normal power data. Then the graphic processing unit 520 may output display data to the display unit 530 with FPS adjusted by the power control data. The power control data may be data to be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to adjust and control a display frame of the display unit 530. That is, a changed power level may be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to process FPS to a lower value than a predetermined FPS. As discussed above, FPS is the frequency unit of redrawing a frame on the display unit 530. Even though the FPS is lowered by a proper value, users may be unaware of any change in the screen. The changed power level may be determined at the server. Specifically, the server may collect power level change values of each application from the respective electronic devices, average the collected values for each application, and determine the power control data, i.e., a sweet spot, which is optimized to execute the application in a state where a battery fails to maintain a predetermined quantity of charge.” )
wherein each of the plurality of content items includes one or more of an image, an audio, a video, a text file, or a multimedia file; (changed power level may be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to process FPS to a lower value than a predetermined FPS. As discussed above, FPS is the frequency unit of redrawing a frame on the display unit 530; ¶s [0150]-[0151] )
determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications; (inter alia: ¶s [0150]-[0151] state that: “ the normal power control data may be data for displaying the screen on the display unit 530 with a specific FPS set as a default. For example, the graphic processing unit 520 may control the application to output display data on the display unit 530 with a normal frame rate (e.g., a frame rate of 60 FPS in case of an application with 60 FPS, a frame rate of 30 FPS in case of an application with 30 FPS, etc.)” and “ the power control data may be data for displaying the screen with a specific FPS lower than normal power data. Then the graphic processing unit 520 may output display data to the display unit 530 with FPS adjusted by the power control data. The power control data may be data to be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to adjust and control a display frame of the display unit 530. That is, a changed power level may be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to process FPS to a lower value than a predetermined FPS. As discussed above, FPS is the frequency unit of redrawing a frame on the display unit 530. Even though the FPS is lowered by a proper value, users may be unaware of any change in the screen. The changed power level may be determined at the server. Specifically, the server may collect power level change values of each application from the respective electronic devices, average the collected values for each application, and determine the power control data, i.e., a sweet spot, which is optimized to execute the application in a state where a battery fails to maintain a predetermined quantity of charge.” )
modifying the plurality of content items based upon the determined relationships to generate a modified plurality of content items; and (inter alia: ¶s [0150]-[0151] state that: “ the normal power control data may be data for displaying the screen on the display unit 530 with a specific FPS set as a default. For example, the graphic processing unit 520 may control the application to output display data on the display unit 530 with a normal frame rate (e.g., a frame rate of 60 FPS in case of an application with 60 FPS, a frame rate of 30 FPS in case of an application with 30 FPS, etc.)” and “ the power control data may be data for displaying the screen with a specific FPS lower than normal power data. Then the graphic processing unit 520 may output display data to the display unit 530 with FPS adjusted by the power control data. The power control data may be data to be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to adjust and control a display frame of the display unit 530. That is, a changed power level may be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to process FPS to a lower value than a predetermined FPS. As discussed above, FPS is the frequency unit of redrawing a frame on the display unit 530. Even though the FPS is lowered by a proper value, users may be unaware of any change in the screen. The changed power level may be determined at the server. Specifically, the server may collect power level change values of each application from the respective electronic devices, average the collected values for each application, and determine the power control data, i.e., a sweet spot, which is optimized to execute the application in a state where a battery fails to maintain a predetermined quantity of charge.” )
providing content items of the modified plurality of content items to present on one or more mobile devices. (inter alia: ¶s [0150]-[0151] state that: “ the normal power control data may be data for displaying the screen on the display unit 530 with a specific FPS set as a default. For example, the graphic processing unit 520 may control the application to output display data on the display unit 530 with a normal frame rate (e.g., a frame rate of 60 FPS in case of an application with 60 FPS, a frame rate of 30 FPS in case of an application with 30 FPS, etc.)” and “ the power control data may be data for displaying the screen with a specific FPS lower than normal power data. Then the graphic processing unit 520 may output display data to the display unit 530 with FPS adjusted by the power control data. The power control data may be data to be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to adjust and control a display frame of the display unit 530. That is, a changed power level may be used for the graphic processing unit 520 to process FPS to a lower value than a predetermined FPS. As discussed above, FPS is the frequency unit of redrawing a frame on the display unit 530. Even though the FPS is lowered by a proper value, users may be unaware of any change in the screen. The changed power level may be determined at the server. Specifically, the server may collect power level change values of each application from the respective electronic devices, average the collected values for each application, and determine the power control data, i.e., a sweet spot, which is optimized to execute the application in a state where a battery fails to maintain a predetermined quantity of charge.” )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Azadet and Chae because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Chae’s teaching of changing the frame rate would enhance Azadet's system by allowing the system to optimize power consumption based on specific applications associated with presenting image data.
Azadet as modified does not distinctly disclose where the claimed “content item” is narrowly interpreted as being associated with a web server.
However, Garg explicitly discloses that. In particular, Garg discloses the following:
receiving a plurality of battery change indications, each battery change indication indicating a variation of battery level of a respective mobile device of a plurality of mobile devices between a first battery level at a first time when presenting a respective content item of a plurality of content items on the mobile device and a second battery level at a second time when presenting the respective content item on the mobile device; (¶ [0006] states “the mobile device provides, responsive to the device-capability-inquiry, an indication of an amount of power that is available on the mobile device, and the web server and “the mobile device provides, responsive to the device-capability-inquiry, an indication of an amount of power that is available on the mobile device, and the web server modifies the requested content based upon the amount of power that is available on the mobile device” .)
wherein each of the plurality of content items includes one or more of an image, an audio, a video, a text file, or a multimedia file; (¶ [0035] states “The display 212 generally operates to provide visual images to a user” and ¶ [0025] states “the remote server may send video content at one or more resolution levels depending upon the power capability of the mobile device 100 (e.g., video resolution may decrease as available power decreases”. )
determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications; (¶ [0025] states “the remote server may send video content at one or more resolution levels depending upon the power capability of the mobile device 100 (e.g., video resolution may decrease as available power decreases”. )
modifying the plurality of content items based upon the determined relationships to generate a modified plurality of content items; and (¶ [0025] states “the remote server may send video content at one or more resolution levels depending upon the power capability of the mobile device 100 (e.g., video resolution may decrease as available power decreases”. )
providing content items of the modified plurality of content items to present one or more mobile devices. (¶ [0025] states “the remote server may send video content at one or more resolution levels depending upon the power capability of the mobile device 100 (e.g., video resolution may decrease as available power decreases”. )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Azadet as modified and Garg because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Garg’s teaching of changing specific parameters would enhance Azadet's as modified system by allowing interface quality and optimization between the mobile device and the web server.
As per claim 2, Azadet as modified discloses a method wherein content items of the plurality of content items have associated content item properties, and wherein determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items comprises determining relationships between variation of battery level and content item properties. (Garg: web content; ¶ [006]) ) (Garg: network selection; Fig 7) , (Chae: adjustment of brightness (or resolution); ¶ [0047])
As per claim 3, Azadet as modified discloses a method wherein modifying the plurality of content items comprises: selecting a content item property based upon the determined relationships between variation of battery level and content item properties; selecting content items having an associated property corresponding to the content item property; and modifying the selected content items. (Garg: web content and cache based on power level; ¶ [006]) ) (Garg: network selection based on power level; Fig 7) , (Chae: adjustment of brightness (or resolution) based on power level; ¶ [0047])
As per claim 5, Azadet as modified discloses a method wherein each battery change indication is obtained by: transmitting a content item to a mobile device, the content item comprising content to be displayed at the mobile device and a script; (Garg: ¶ [0038]) wherein the script is arranged to cause a battery level of the mobile device to be measured at the first time and at the second subsequent time and to transmit data indicative of variation of the battery level between the first time and the second time to a server. (Garg: ¶ [0038]) & (Garg: web content and cache based on power level; ¶ [006]) ) (Garg: network selection based on power level; Fig 7) , (Chae: adjustment of brightness (or resolution) based on power level; ¶ [0047])
As per claim 6, Azadet as modified discloses a method wherein the script is embedded in the content item. (Garg: ¶ [0038])
As per claim 7, Azadet as modified discloses a method further comprising receiving mobile device property data, the mobile device property data indicating one or more mobile device properties with respective mobile devices of the plurality of mobile devices, wherein the generated modified plurality of content items is associated with at least one of the one or more mobile device properties, and wherein content items of the modified plurality of content items are provided to mobile devices based upon the at least one associated mobile device property and properties associated with the mobile devices, and wherein the one or more mobile device properties comprise a property of the mobile device selected from a group consisting of: a web page displayed with the content item; (Garg: ¶ [006]) a data communication protocol; (Garg: network selection; Fig 7) and a screen brightness. (Chae: adjustment of brightness (or resolution); ¶ [0047])
As per claims 9-10,12-14, 16-17, 19-20 recite similar features to those recited in claims 2-3,5-7, and therefore, claims 9-10,12-14, 16-17, 19-20 are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0114721 (hereinafter, “Azadet”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0301587 (hereinafter, “Chae”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0131145 (hereinafter, “Garg”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0301890 (hereinafter, “Shirrif”).
As per claims 4, 11, 18, Azadet as modified discloses a method wherein determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications comprises processing the plurality of battery change indications (Garg: web content and cache based on power level; ¶ [006]) ) (Garg: network selection based on power level; Fig 7) , (Chae: adjustment of brightness (or resolution) based on power level; ¶ [0047])
Azadet as modified does not distinctly discloses the process of using a regression model.
However, Shirrif teaches another system for use with mobile devices, wherein determining relationships between variation of battery level and content items of the plurality of content items based upon the plurality of battery change indications and the mobile device property data comprises processing the plurality of battery change indications and the mobile device property data using a regression model [0034, 0058, 0061; reporting module may generate a report including a linear regression of percentage of battery life versus time based on a common usage pattern] [Figs 7-11].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Azadet as modified and Shirrif. Azadet as modified teaches adjusting parameters based one remaining power available. Shirrif teaches collecting battery life data from mobile devices and using regression techniques to analyze battery life over time based on usage patterns of the mobile device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the applicability of using a regression model to model battery life over time. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the regression techniques from Shirrif to monitor battery level and supply selected content as disclosed in Azadet as modified.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01-20-2026 are directed to the following two items:
(i) newly added features, which have been fully considered by the rejection as further detailed above.
(ii) previously presented features. In particular, Applicants assert that Azadet allegedly fails to disclose at least “each battery change indication indicating a variation of battery level …between a first battery level at a first time …of a respective content item and a secondary battery level at a second time of the respective content item.”
As an initial matter, the Office agrees with Applicant that at least Azadet does disclose a “number of records” that includes a number of predefined battery power thresholds levels. However, Applicants have failed to show how and why these teachings are not the same as the broad limitations currently claimed other than merely pointing to some disparate teachings and concluding that Azadet does not disclose the recited claimed features.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Fig. 1 of Azadet illustrates of a plurality of electronic devices that include a power management database for receiving power management events for monitoring “the battery level” of electronic devices. ¶ [0015] Fig. 2 further illustrates this monitoring by associating the number of times the electronic system is experiencing battery level changes (i.e., battery between 85%-100%, battery level between 50%-84% which is similar to the claimed feature of first battery level and second battery level indications). Because a person of ordinary skill would recognize that battery level changes cannot occur at the same time, then one would reasonable conclude that they must occur at different times, hence the different battery level changes recorded are occurring at different times, which similar to the claimed first and second time. Therefore, it is clear that the teachings of Azagat are similar to the broad claimed expression argued.
Conclusion
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 Chae: The server may process the application power change information in real time or at regular/predetermined intervals; ¶ [0141]