DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed on 6/25/2026. Claims 16 and 20 amended . Claims 2 and 21 are canceled. Claims 1, and 3-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier et al. US Publication No. 2003/0222144 cited in previous action in view of Powell US Publication No. 20160275324 cited in precious action in view of LEI et al. US Publication No. US 20190220639 A1.
Re Claim 1, Meier discloses a code reader for attachment to a garment (P44), comprising a reader unit, a control unit as well as a communication module (wireless communication capability )for wireless data transmission (P67), wherein the reader unit and the control unit as well as the control unit and the communication module have wired connections to each other, wherein the reader unit is configured to scan a code, to decode the scanned code into a character string and to transfer the character string to the control unit (P160, P159-158, P67, P112, P152) detector 1032 acquires a bar code or other decodable indicium, as indicated in box 1042. The decoder 1034 decodes the information, as indicated by box 1044).
Meier fails to discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition, and to execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison.
Powell discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition and executes actions (P74-82).
Given the teachings of Powell it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier with wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition, and to execute an action.
As suggested by Powell doing so in this mode of operation allows for performing additional tests to determine validity/ consistent character data (P74) .
Meier as modified by Powell discloses all of the claimed limitations from above except for execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison.
However Lei discloses execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison ( P5, P11, P13, P14, P19, P33, P37, P101 ; Fig. 2A).
Given the teachings of Lei it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier as modified by Powell with execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison.
Doing so would makes the formatting of validated output more powerful and flexible, without adding complexity to the configuration for data parsing/validation P31.
Re Claim 3, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and LEI discloses wherein adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string includes replacing one or more specific characters at a specific position in the character string (P40).
Re Claim 4, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and LEI discloses wherein said at least one test condition specifies at least one property of the character string (P40-P41).
Re Claim 5, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 4, and LEI discloses wherein one of the at least one test condition specifies one or more specific characters at a specific position in the character string and/or a length of the character string (P40-41).
Re Claim 6, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 4, and Powell discloses wherein said at least one control unit is configured to compare said at least one test condition via character comparison of the character string with the test condition ( P5, P101, P11, P13, P14, P19, P33, P37, P40-P41, P47).
Re Claim 7, Meier ,Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and LEI discloses wherein several test conditions are grouped together into different groups of test conditions (P101).
Re Claim 8, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and LEI discloses wherein a sequence is stored in the control unit in which at least one of the test conditions or groups of test conditions are to be tested (P39).
Re Claim 9, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and Powell discloses wherein the control unit is configured to receive at least one of at least one further test condition, or action, or a further set of test conditions by means of a communication module (P70-82).
Re Claim 10, Meier, POWELL and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and Powell discloses wherein the action is at least one of part of the set of test conditions or stored together with the associated test condition in the control unit (P70-P82) .
Re Claim 11, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and Meier discloses wherein the code reader is at least one of a one-piece device or the code reader comprises a housing in which the reader unit and the control unit are located (Fig. 1A) .
Re Claim 12, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the code reader according to claim 1, and Meier discloses wherein the reader unit is configured to scan several codes after activation of a reading process, to decode the scanned codes each into a character string and to transfer the character strings to the control unit (P93, P123).
Re Claim 16, Meier discloses a work system comprising a code reader and a control device wherein the code reader comprises a reader unit, a control unit as well as a communication module for wireless data transmission (P67, P112, P152), wherein the reader unit and the control unit as well as the control unit and the communication module have wired connections to each other, wherein the reader unit is configured to scan a code, to decode the scanned code into a character string and to transfer the character string to the control unit(P159-160, P67, P112, P152).
Meier fails to disclose wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition, and to execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, and wherein the work system is configured so that the code reader sends a character string to the control device by means of the communication module wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process.
However Powell discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition, and to execute an action(P75-82).
Given the teachings of Powell it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier with wherein the control unit comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to receive the character string, to compare the character string with said at least one test condition, and to execute an action.
As suggested by Powell Doing so in this mode of operation allows for performing additional tests to determine validity/ consistent character data (P74) .
Meier as modified by Powell discloses all of the claimed limitations from above except for execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, and wherein the work system is configured so that the code reader sends a character string to the control device by means of the communication module, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process.; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison.
LEI discloses execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, and wherein the work system is configured so that the code reader sends a character string to the control device by means of the communication module, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process.; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison P5 P11, P13, P14, P19, P33, P37, P101.,
Given the teachings of Lei it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier as modified by Powell with execute an action as a direct consequence of the comparison, and wherein the work system is configured so that the code reader sends a character string to the control device by means of the communication module, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities:- adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of the communication module; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process.; or - if several character strings are transmitted to the control unit in the same reading process, comparing the character strings with said at least one test condition, and sending one or more of the character strings by means of the communication module as at least one of an entire character string, a part of the character string, or an adapted character string depending on a result of the comparison
Doing so would makes the formatting of validated output more powerful and flexible, without adding complexity to the configuration for data parsing/validation P31.
Re Claim 17, Meier, Powell AND LEI disclose the work system according to claim 16, Meier discloses wherein the control device is at least one of a control system or a connection device (P159) .
Re Claim 18, Meier, Powell AND LEI discloses the work system according to claim 16, and Powell discloses wherein the control device is configured to transmit at least one of single test conditions, actions or a set of test conditions to the code reader, and the code reader is configured to apply at least one of the received test condition or the received set of test conditions for the comparison (P70-P82).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier et al. US Publication No. 2003/0222144 cited in previous action in view of LEI et al. US Publication No. US 20190220639 A1 in view of ZHOU et al. CN Publication No. 102622574, translation provided by Examiner, cited in previous action.
Re Claim 20, Meier discloses a work system comprising a code reader for attachment to a garment and a control device that is a connection device, wherein the code reader comprises a reader unit as well as communication module for wireless data transmission, wherein the code reader is configured to at least one of scan a code, to decode the scanned code into a character string and to send the character string to the control device by means of the communication module, or to scan a code and to send the scanned code to the control device by means of the communication module (P159-160, P67, P112, P152) ,
Meier fails to disclose wherein the control device comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to at least one of receive the character string or receive the scanned code and to decode the scanned code into a character string, to compare the character string with at least one test condition, and to execute an action as a direction consequence of the comparison and wherein the control device is a connection device is one of a smartphone, tablet, a smart watch , smart glasses, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following activities: - adapting at least one of the character string or a further character string and sending the adapted character string by means of a communication module of the control device; or - sending an instruction to the reader unit to end or to continue a reading process.
However LEI discloses wherein the control device comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to at least one of receive the character string or receive the scanned code and to decode the scanned code into a character string, to compare the character string with at least one test condition, and to execute an action as a direction consequence of the comparison and wherein the control device is a connection device (P5 P11, P13, P14, P19, P33, P37, P101).
Given the teachings of LEI it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier with wherein the control device comprises at least one of at least one test condition or one set of test conditions and is configured to at least one of receive the character string or receive the scanned code and to decode the scanned code into a character string, to compare the character string with at least one test condition, and to execute an action as a direction consequence of the comparison and wherein the control device is a connection device.
Doing so would makes the formatting of validated output more powerful and flexible, without adding complexity to the configuration for data parsing/validation P31.
Meier as modified by LEI discloses all of the claimed limitations from above except for wherein the control device is a connection device is one of a smartphone, tablet, a smart watch , smart glasses.
ZHOU discloses wherein the connection device is one of a smartphone, tablet, smart watch , smart glasses (P6, P19).
Given the teachings of ZHOU it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier and LEI with wherein the control device is a connection device is one of a smartphone, tablet, a smart watch , smart glasses.
Doing so effectively improves scanning efficiency (p14).
Claim(s)19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier et al. US Publication No. 2003/0222144 cited in previous action in view of Powell US Publication No. 20160275324 cited in precious action in view of LEI et al. US Publication No. US 20190220639 as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Nowaczyk US Publication No. 20150356391 A1, cited in previous action.
Re Claim 19, Meier, Powell and LEI disclose the work system according to claim 16, and Meier discloses specifically a handheld optical reader (P44) .
Meier, Powell and LEI fail to disclose wherein the work system comprises a garment that has an input means for the code reader.
However Nowaczyk discloses wherein the work system comprises a garment that has an input means for the code reader (Abstract, P21-23).
Given the teachings of Nowaczyk it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Meier, Powell and LEI with wherein the work system comprises a garment that has an input means for the code reader.
As suggested by Nowaczyk in this manner, the operator's hands remain free to handle objects or goods while scanning or completing other tasks (P22).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance in Re Claim 13:, the prior art of record, fails to specifically disclose wherein the reader unit is configured to scan several codes after activation of a reading process, to decode the scanned codes each into a character string and to transfer the character strings to the control unit, and wherein at least one of the actions or the set of test conditions define a sequence in which character strings are to be sent by means of the communication module, and the control unit is configured to send the character string in that sequence. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claimed invention are not anticipated by nor made obvious over the prior art of record .
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Brunelli et al. discloses process for bar code scanning.
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876