DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Claim 15 is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/25/2026 was filed after the filing date of the application on 9/20/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedli (US 20220379515 A1) in view of Liao (US 6826994) and Penazzi (US 20230028211 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Friedli teaches an apparatus for producing a locking ring on a closure cap for a container (see Figures 1a-1c), comprising:
a stationary fixture (13) configured to accommodate at least one cutting knife (13.2) and comprising a cutting blade extending extends along a cutting section (see Figure 7);
a transport installation (11) configured to transport a support mandrel along the cutting section, wherein the support mandrel is configured to support at least one of a shell of a closure cap blank and a shell internal side such that the shell, during a cutting procedure, rolls on the cutting blade, and wherein the support mandrel comprises a rotatable mounting configured to mount the support mandrel such that the mandrel rotates about a rotation axis oriented perpendicularly to the cutting section (see Figures 7-8); and
wherein the stationary fixture is configured to accommodate at least one cutting knife in a first configuration wherein the cutting blade comprises a first radial position relative to a path of the support mandrel (see Figure 3) and;
the apparatus further comprises a synchronizing installation by means of which an advancing movement of the transport installation along the cutting section is able to be synchronized with a rotating movement of the support mandrel about the rotation axis (paragraph 0018).
Friedli fails to teach in a second configuration wherein the cutting blade comprises a second radial position relative to the path of the support mandrel, and wherein a radial distance of the cutting blade from a path of the support mandrel is larger in the second position than in the first position; the support mandrel includes at least one section running around a circumferential surface of the support mandrel in an angular range, wherein the section is made of a cuttable material: in the first configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the cuttable material of the at least one section of the support mandrel so as to create a lasting groove in the cuttable material, the lasting groove having an axial extension; in the second configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the shell of the closure cap blank to generate a slot geometry in the shell of the closure cap, wherein a thickness of the cutting blade in the second configuration is smaller than the axial extension such that free space is defined in all directions between the cutting blade and walls of the lasting groove.
Liao teaches adjusting the position of the knife to cut different depth into the cap (col. 4 lines 1-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify the device of Friedli to add the adjustable knife mechanism, as taught by Liao, in order to cut different depth (col. 4 lines 1-42 of Liao).
Penazzi teaches a cap cutting device including the support mandrel includes at least one section running around a circumferential surface of the support mandrel in an angular range, wherein the section is made of a cuttable material (7, see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify the device of modified Friedli to add the soft portion to replace the cutting groove, as taught by Penazzi, in order to allow maximum efficiency (paragraph 0023 of Penazzi).
The resulting device of modified Friedli teaches in the first configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the cuttable material of the at least one section of the support mandrel so as to create a lasting groove in the cuttable material (as modified by Penazzi, cutting into the soft part, see Figure 2 of Penazzi), the lasting groove having an axial extension (material added, see Figure 2 of Penazzi); in the second configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the shell of the closure cap blank to generate a slot geometry in the shell of the closure cap (as modified by Liao, cutting at a different position for the blade), wherein a thickness of the cutting blade in the second configuration is smaller than the axial extension such that free space is defined in all directions between the cutting blade and walls of the lasting groove (as modified, the blade can move to change cutting depth, there would be a space if the blade is moved to a position that only cut the cap).
Regarding claim 2, modified Friedli further teaches the stationary fixture is further configured to accommodate the cutting knife in different radial positions relative to the path of the support mandrel (as modified by Liao, via 308, see Figure 8 of Liao).
Regarding claim 3, modified Friedli further teaches the stationary fixture further comprises an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a radial position of the fixture relative to the path of the support mandrel (as modified by Liao, via 308, see Figure 8 of Liao).
Regarding claim 4, modified Friedli further teaches a radial distance of the cutting blade in the second configuration from the cutting blade in the first configuration is 0.1-0.5 mm (paragraph 0024 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 5, modified Friedli further teaches a cross-sectional geometry of a cutting edge of the cutting blade is tapered (see Figure 2b of Friedli).
Regarding claim 6, modified Friedli further teaches the cuttable material is a polymer (as modified by Penazzi, PEEK, paragraph 0054 of Penazzi).
Regarding claim 7, modified Friedli further teaches the cuttable material is polyether ether ketone (as modified by Penazzi, PEEK, paragraph 0054 of Penazzi).
Regarding claim 8, modified Friedli further teaches at least one section made of the cuttable material comprises a single ring arranged circumferentially on the support mandrel (see Figure 7 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 9, modified Friedli further teaches at least one circumferential recess is arranged adjacent to the ring (see Figures 4-5 and 7 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 10, modified Friedli further teaches two circumferential recesses are arranged adjacent to the ring, one on each side of the ring (see Figures 4-5 and 7 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 11, modified Friedli further teaches the slot geometry comprises portions which in relation to the rotation axis of the support mandrel extend at an angle of less than 90° (see Figures 4-5 and 7 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 12, modified Friedli further teaches the cutting knife comprises a plurality of cutting blades arranged in the direction of the rotation axis of the support mandrel at least one of one on top of one another and at least in partial overlap (see Figure 3 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 13, modified Friedli further teaches the slot geometry is defined by at least 1.25 revolutions of the support mandrel about its rotation axis, and wherein a geometry of the groove of the support mandrel corresponds to a superimposition of the slot geometry during the at least 1.25 revolutions (see paragraph 0028 and Figure 3 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 14, modified Friedli further teaches the transport installation is configured as a rotary table, wherein a plurality of support mandrels are disposed along a circumference of the rotary table, and in that the cutting blade of the cutting knife extends along the circumference of the rotary table (see paragraph 0034 of Friedli).
Regarding claim 16, Friedli teaches an apparatus for producing a locking ring on a closure cap for a container (see Figures 1a-1c), comprising:
a stationary fixture (13) configured to accommodate at least one cutting knife (13.2) and comprising a cutting blade extending extends along a cutting section (see Figure 7);
a transport installation (11) configured to transport a support mandrel along the cutting section, wherein the support mandrel is configured to support at least one of a shell of a closure cap blank and a shell internal side such that the shell, during a cutting procedure, rolls on the cutting blade, and wherein the support mandrel comprises a rotatable mounting configured to mount the support mandrel such that the mandrel rotates about a rotation axis oriented perpendicularly to the cutting section (see Figures 7-8); and
wherein the stationary fixture is configured to accommodate at least one cutting knife in a first configuration wherein the cutting blade comprises a first radial position relative to a path of the support mandrel (see Figure 3) and;
the apparatus further comprises a synchronizing installation by means of which an advancing movement of the transport installation along the cutting section is able to be synchronized with a rotating movement of the support mandrel about the rotation axis (paragraph 0018).
Friedli fails to teach in a second configuration wherein the cutting blade comprises a second radial position relative to the path of the support mandrel, and wherein a radial distance of the cutting blade from a path of the support mandrel is larger in the second position than in the first position; the support mandrel includes at least one section running around a circumferential surface of the support mandrel in an angular range, wherein the section is made of a cuttable material: wherein at least one section made of the cuttable material comprises a single ring arranged circumferentially on the support mandrel, wherein at least one circumferential groove is arranged adjacent to the ring; in the first configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the cuttable material of the at least one section of the support mandrel so as to create a lasting groove in the cuttable material, the lasting groove having an axial extension; in the second configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the shell of the closure cap blank to generate a slot geometry in the shell of the closure cap, wherein a thickness of the cutting blade in the second configuration is smaller than the axial extension such that free space is defined in all directions between the cutting blade and walls of the lasting groove.
Liao teaches adjusting the position of the knife to cut different depth into the cap (col. 4 lines 1-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify the device of Friedli to add the adjustable knife mechanism, as taught by Liao, in order to cut different depth (col. 4 lines 1-42 of Liao).
Penazzi teaches a cap cutting device including the support mandrel includes at least one section running around a circumferential surface of the support mandrel in an angular range, wherein the section is made of a cuttable material (7, see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify the device of modified Friedli to add the soft portion to replace the cutting groove, as taught by Penazzi, in order to allow maximum efficiency (paragraph 0023 of Penazzi).
The resulting device of modified Friedli teaches wherein at least one section made of the cuttable material comprises a single ring arranged circumferentially on the support mandrel, wherein at least one circumferential groove is arranged adjacent to the ring (as added by Penazzi); in the first configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the cuttable material of the at least one section of the support mandrel so as to create a lasting groove in the cuttable material (as modified by Penazzi, cutting into the soft part, see Figure 2 of Penazzi), in the second configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the shell of the closure cap blank to generate a slot geometry in the shell of the closure cap (as modified by Liao, cutting at a different position for the blade).
Regarding claim 17, modified Friedli further teaches the circumferential groove is configured such that, in the first configuration, in the horizontal sections of slot geometry, tip of the cutting blade is accommodated by the circumferential groove (as modified by Penazzi, cutting into the soft part, see Figure 2 of Penazzi).
Regarding claim 18, modified Friedli further teaches wherein, in the non-horizontal sections of the slot geometry, tip of the cutting blade creates the lasting groove in the cuttable material (as modified by Penazzi, cutting into the soft part, see Figure 2 of Penazzi).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that modified Friedli fails to teach the added limitation in claim 1. The Examiner disagrees and notes the resulting device of modified Friedli teaches in the first configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the cuttable material of the at least one section of the support mandrel so as to create a lasting groove in the cuttable material (as modified by Penazzi, cutting into the soft part, see Figure 2 of Penazzi), the lasting groove having an axial extension (material added, see Figure 2 of Penazzi); in the second configuration, the cutting blade of the at least one cutting knife is configured and arranged to engage with the shell of the closure cap blank to generate a slot geometry in the shell of the closure cap (as modified by Liao, cutting at a different position for the blade), wherein a thickness of the cutting blade in the second configuration is smaller than the axial extension such that free space is defined in all directions between the cutting blade and walls of the lasting groove (as modified, the blade can move to change cutting depth, there would be a space if the blade is moved to a position that only cut the cap).
In response to applicant's argument to claim 16. the examiner disagrees and notes that modified Friedli teaches wherein at least one section made of the cuttable material comprises a single ring arranged circumferentially on the support mandrel, wherein at least one circumferential groove is arranged adjacent to the ring (as modified by Penazzi, the soft material added by Penazzi)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 3/03/2026