DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to applicant’s submissions filed on October 29, 2025. Claims 1-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are pending.
Examiner' s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Shin discloses a slope detector that may be configured to detect a slope of the road (Applicant’s Response, pg. 7), the examiner agrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Shin does not control regenerative braking based on a slope/grade, a type of surface, and a degree of wetness of the surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling (Applicant’s Response, pg. 7), it is noted that the limitation requires that “control of the regenerative braking is based on at least one of: (i) a slope/grade on which the vehicle is located or traveling, (ii) a type of surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling, and (iii) a degree of wetness of the surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling”. Shin discloses adjusting the reference regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and operating the power converter based on the adjusted reference regenerative torque ([0093]) which satisfies this limitation.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0083, “10 degree downhill grade…imposes regenerative braking limit at 50%” should read “10 degree downhill grade…imposes regenerative braking limit at 40%,” according to Fig. 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 11-16, 18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (US 2020/0231045).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses an electric vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body (Shin, [0030] regarding a vehicle);
at least one sensor configured to detect data of the vehicle (Shin, [0116] regarding a slope detector, which may be an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor);
a rechargeable battery supported by the vehicle body (Shin, [0046] regarding a rechargeable battery);
a motor configured to drive at least one wheel of the vehicle (Shin, [0114] regarding a motor driving the wheels); and
control circuitry coupled with the rechargeable battery, the at least one sensor, and the motor (Shin, Fig. 2 regarding the controller being connected to the battery, motor, and slope detector), wherein
the control circuitry is configured to control regenerative braking of the vehicle at least by adjusting a limit of regenerative braking power available to the vehicle based on positional data based on the data from the at least one sensor (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector), and
control of the regenerative braking is based on at least one of: (i) a slope/grade on which the vehicle is located or traveling, (ii) a type of surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling, and (iii) a degree of wetness of the surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and operating the power converter based on the adjusted reference regenerative torque).
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the positional data comprises angular positional data indicative of the slope/grade on which the vehicle is located or traveling, and wherein the at least one sensor is configured so that the data from the at least one sensor comprises at least one of: acceleration, angular speed, and/or angular position (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector & [0116] regarding the slope detector being an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor).
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the regenerative braking is for recharging the battery (Shin, [0052] regarding using the regenerative energy generated during regenerative braking to charge the battery).
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured for applying a power level limit for regenerative braking to the motor based on the positional data, and causing the motor to provide braking torque that slows the vehicle based on the power level limit (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector).
Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to provide additional limiting of regenerative braking power available to the vehicle as the slope/grade of a downhill slope on which the vehicle is traveling increases, so as to (a) allow the vehicle to have unrestricted or less restricted regenerative braking for more quickly slowing the vehicle on flat ground and/or small grades/slopes, and (b) limit, and/or more significantly limit, the vehicle's deceleration when the vehicle is traveling downhill on a steep grade to reduce chances of sliding/skidding, so that the regenerative braking power available to the vehicle is more limited when operating downhill on steep grades/slopes compared to on flat ground and/or small grade/slopes (Shin, [0094] regarding decreasing the reference regenerative torque when the slope of the road is equal to or greater than a first reference slope and increasing the reference regenerative torque when the slope of the road is less than a second reference slope).
Regarding claim 8, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control regenerative braking of the vehicle by adjusting the limit of regenerative braking power available to the vehicle based on a speed of the vehicle and/or wheel(s) thereof (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and the travelling speed of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to measure, at least, angular orientation of the vehicle (Shin, [0116] regarding a slope detector, which may be an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor).
Regarding claim 12, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 11, wherein the IMU is integrated with a motor controller of the vehicle, and wherein the motor controller is for controlling speed of the motor (Shin, Fig. 2 regarding the controller being connected to the motor and slope detector & [0089] regarding the controller controlling the regenerative torque of the motor, which therefore is controlling the speed of the motor (See Fig. 6B).).
Regarding claim 13, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 11, wherein the IMU comprises at least one gyroscope and at least one accelerometer (Shin, [0116] regarding a slope detector, which may be an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor).
Regarding claim 14, Shin discloses a method of performing regenerative braking in a vehicle, the method comprising:
detecting data of the vehicle using at least one sensor of the vehicle (Shin, [0116] regarding a slope detector, which may be an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor); and
controlling regenerative braking of the vehicle, which recharges a battery of the vehicle, at least by adjusting a limit of regenerative braking power available to the vehicle based on angular positional data based on the data from the at least one sensor (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector), wherein
control of the regenerative braking is based on at least one of: (i) a slope/grade on which the vehicle is located or traveling, (ii) a type of surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling, and (iii) a degree of wetness of the surface on which the vehicle is located or traveling (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and operating the power converter based on the adjusted reference regenerative torque).
Regarding claim 15, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 14, wherein the angular positional data is indicative of the slope/grade on which the vehicle is operating, and wherein the data from the at least one sensor comprises at least one of: acceleration, angular speed, and/or angular position (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector & [0116] regarding the slope detector being an acceleration sensor, gyro sensor, angular velocity sensor, or gravity sensor).
Regarding claim 16, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 14, further comprising applying a power level limit for regenerative braking to a motor of the vehicle based on the angular positional data, and causing the motor to provide braking torque that slows the vehicle based on the power level limit (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector).
Regarding claim 18, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 14, further comprising adjusting the limit of regenerative braking power available to the vehicle based on a speed of the vehicle (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and the travelling speed of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 21, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: while the vehicle is on
Regarding claim 22, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 21, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: while the vehicle is on at least one of a flat surface, traveling uphill, and/or traveling down the slope with a grade lower than the predetermined value, apply a second power level limit for the regenerative braking to the motor, wherein the second power level limit allows for more regenerative braking and higher vehicle deceleration compared to the first power level limit (Shin, [0094] regarding decreasing the reference regenerative torque when the slope of the road is equal to or greater than a first reference slope by a value that corresponds to the slope of the road. If the slope of the road is less than the first reference slope the reference regenerative torque would have to be an initial reference regenerative torque or greater since the initial reference regenerative torque is being decreased by an amount corresponding to the slope of the road when the slope is greater than the first reference slope).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of King (US 2021/0197672).
Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured for: imparting rotation to the motor to move the vehicle based on a position of an accelerator pedal of the vehicle being pressed (Shin, [0066] regarding operating the motor when the accelerator pedal is pressed).
Shin does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured for: imparting rotation to the motor to move the vehicle based on a forward/reverse switch of the vehicle being in a forward position.
King teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured for: imparting rotation to the motor to move the vehicle based on a forward/reverse switch of the vehicle being in a forward position (King, [0017] regarding driving the motor to move the vehicle if the forward/reverse switch is set to forward).
Shin and King are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of regenerative braking. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate determining the forward/reverse switch is in the forward position, as disclosed by King, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of controlling the motor for regenerative braking based on the direction of the forward/reverse switch.
Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 5, wherein the applying the power level limit for regenerative braking to the motor based on the positional data comprises:
based on the positional data from the at least one sensor being indicative of the slope/grade on which the vehicle is located or traveling, causing the motor to provide a braking torque that slows the vehicle based on the slope/grade of ground on which the vehicle is located or traveling (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector).
Shin does not explicitly disclose wherein the applying the power level limit for regenerative braking to the motor based on the positional data comprises:
determining that the vehicle is moving in a forward direction; and
based on the vehicle moving in the forward direction, causing the motor to provide a braking torque that slows the vehicle based on the grade/slope of ground on which the vehicle is operating.
King teaches wherein the applying the power level limit for regenerative braking to the motor based on the positional data comprises:
determining that the vehicle is moving in a forward direction (King, [0082] regarding a forward/reverse switch to determine if the vehicle is going forward),
based on the vehicle moving in the forward direction, causing the motor to provide a braking torque that slows the vehicle based on the grade/slope of ground on which the vehicle is operating (King, [0090] regarding limiting regenerative braking when the vehicle is moving in the forward direction).
Motivation to combine Shin and King, in the instant claim, is the same as that stated above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1 is a commercial vehicle ([0030]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle is a golf car.
King teaches wherein the vehicle is a golf car (King, [0034] regarding the vehicle being a golf car).
Shin and King are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of regenerative braking. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate regenerative braking in a golf car, as disclosed by King, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of performing regenerative braking in golf cars.
Regarding claim 10, Shin discloses the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery comprises lithium.
King teaches wherein the battery comprises lithium (King, [0034] regarding the vehicle having a lithium battery.
Shin and King are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of regenerative braking. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate using a lithium battery, as disclosed by King, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of faster charging and increased lifespan of the battery.
Regarding claim 19, Shin discloses a vehicle comprising:
a rechargeable battery (Shin, [0046] regarding a rechargeable battery);
a motor configured to drive at least one wheel of the golf car (Shin, [0114] regarding a motor driving the wheels); and
control circuitry coupled with the rechargeable battery and the motor (Shin, Fig. 2 regarding the controller being connected to the battery and motor);
wherein the control circuitry is configured to control regenerative braking of the golf car to reduce a chance of skidding at least by adjusting regenerative braking for the golf car (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector)., and
control of the regenerative braking is based on at least one of: (i) a slope/grade on which the golf car is located or traveling, (ii) a type of surface on which the golf car is located or traveling, and (iii) a degree of wetness of the surface on which the golf car is located or traveling (Shin, [0093] regarding adjusting the regenerative torque based on the slope of the road detected by the slope detector and operating the power converter based on the adjusted reference regenerative torque).
Shin discloses the is a commercial vehicle ([0030]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle is a golf car.
King teaches wherein the vehicle is a golf car (King, [0034] regarding the vehicle being a golf car).
Shin and King are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of regenerative braking. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate regenerative braking in a golf car, as disclosed by King, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of performing regenerative braking in golf cars.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX B GRIFFIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665