DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the
application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bhanage fails to disclose the sensing response device generating PDP data based on CSI data, and feeding back a part of that PDP data. Applicant asserts that in Bhanage, the client device only sends channel state information (CSI) as feedback, and the access point (AP) generates the PDP, noting that Bhanage explicitly differentiates feedback information from the power delay profile.
Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) during examination, words of a claim are given their plain and ordinary meaning unless defined otherwise in the specification. The claim broadly recites “trigger the sensing response device to generate, based on channel state information (CSI) data, PDP data for feedback” and “receiving… a part of PDP data in the generated PDP data.” The claim does not recite any specific mathematical transformation, data structure, or format for the “PDP data,” nor does it preclude the “PDP data” from being a subset of, or synonymous with, the raw or processed channel state information that profiles the path delays.
Bhanage teaches that the client device processes the received wireless signals to generate feedback information (CSI) that describes the multi-paths from the AP to the client device (Bhanage, paragraph [0035], [0038], and Fig. 4, element 414). Because this feedback information inherently contains the multipath signal strength and delay characteristics required to plot a power delay profile (as evidenced by the AP’s ability to compute the distance from it), the feedback information generated by the client device in Bhanage reads on the broadly claimed “PDP data.”
Furthermore, the claim recites generating PDP data “based on” CSI data. In Bhanage, the client device evaluates the state of the channel (CSI) from the received sounding frames and generates the feedback information (PDP data) describing the various paths (Bhanage, paragraph [0025] and [0035]). The transmission of this multipath feedback information from the client to the AP reads on “receiving… a part of PDP data in the generated PDP data.”
While Applicant argues that Bhanage’s Figure 2 separates “feedback information” (126) and “power delay profile” (128) at the network device, this does not limit the scope of the claims. The claims do not require the “PDP data” transmitted by the client to be in a final, plotted, or specific mathematical format distinct from the path-describing CSI. Because the feedback information generated and transmitted by the client in Bhanage contains the power and delay profile data of the channel paths, it fully meets the broad limitations of the claim. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhanage (US 2015/0312875 A1), hereinafter “BHANAGE”.
Regarding claim 1, BHANAGE teaches, ‘A communication method, comprising:’ (Method and
paragraph [0001], computer networks):
‘sending, by a sensing initiation device, an indication for power delay profile (PDP) data
feedback to a sensing response device, to trigger the sensing response device to generate, based on channel state information (CSI) data, PDP data for feedback;’ (Paragraph [0035], in Step 209, the associated access point transmits request to the client device for the feedback information in accordance with one or more embodiments. In one or more embodiments, the associated access point transmits one or more wireless signals that include the request for feedback information … The client device processes the one or more wireless signals in order to generate feedback information. If the feedback information is channel state information, then the client device may not need to be modified in order to perform embodiment (corresponds to AP transmits request for feedback information, then client device generates feedback information including CSI to be transmitted to AP));
‘and receiving, by the sensing initiation device, a part of PDP data in the generated PDP data from the sensing response device.’ (Paragraph [0038], the power delay profile is computed based on the feedback information (corresponds to this PDP is computed by AP based on feedback information including CSI).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the
sending an indication for PDP data feedback comprises:
‘sending, by the sensing initiation device, the indication for PDP data feedback to the sensing
response device by using at least one of a trigger frame, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, an announcement frame, or a PDP frame for indicating PDP data feedback.’ (Paragraph [0055], FIG. 5, an access point (500) (corresponds to sensing initiation device) sends a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame (502) followed by an NDP frame (504) (corresponds to indication for PDP data feedback). In response, the client device (506) (corresponds to a sensing response device) sends the feedback which is the compressed beamforming action frame (508). The beamforming action frame (506) includes the channel state information (CSI) which is used to determine the power-delay profile of the client device (506) with respect to the access point (500)).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 1, ‘wherein the
receiving a part of PDP data comprises:’ (Paragraph [0038], the power delay profile is computed based on the feedback information (corresponds to this PDP is computed by AP based on feedback information including CSI):
‘receiving, by the sensing initiation device, the part of PDP data from the sensing response device by using a PDP report frame.’ (Paragraph [0055], in the sounding process, an access point (500) sends a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame (502) followed by an NDP frame (504). In response, the client device (506) sends the feedback which is the compressed beamforming action frame (508). The beamforming action frame (506) includes the channel state information (CSI) which is used to determine the power-delay profile of the client device (506) with respect to the access point (500)).
Regarding claim 12, BHANAGE teaches, ‘A communication apparatus, comprising:’ (System and
paragraph [0001], computer networks):
‘a processor, wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, and the memory stores
instructions;’ (Paragraph [0064], FIG. 8, the computing system (800) may include one or more computer processor(s) (802), may be an integrated circuit for processing instructions, associated memory (804));
‘and when the instructions are executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to:’ (Paragraph [0064], the computer processor(s) (802) may be an integrated circuit for processing instructions):
‘send an indication for power delay profile (PDP) data feedback to a sensing response device, to trigger the sensing response device to generate, based on channel state information (CSI) data, PDP data for feedback;’ (Paragraph [0035], in Step 209, the associated access point transmits request to the client device for the feedback information in accordance with one or more embodiments. In one or more embodiments, the associated access point transmits one or more wireless signals that include the request for feedback information … The client device processes the one or more wireless signals in order to generate feedback information. If the feedback information is channel state information, then the client device may not need to be modified in order to perform embodiment (corresponds to AP transmits request for feedback information, then client device generates feedback information including CSI to be transmitted to AP));
‘and receive a part of PDP data in the generated PDP data from the sensing response device.’ (Paragraph [0038], the power delay profile is computed based on the feedback information (corresponds to this PDP is computed by AP based on feedback information including CSI).
Regarding claim 20, ‘A computer-readable storage medium storing a program, wherein when at
least a part of the program is executed by a processor in a device, the device is enabled to perform operations comprising:’ (Paragraph [0065], the software instructions may correspond to computer readable program code that when executed by a processor(s), is configured to perform embodiments);
‘sending an indication for power delay profile (PDP) data feedback to a sensing response device, to trigger the sensing response device to generate, based on channel state information (CSI) data, PDP data for feedback;’ (Paragraph [0035], in Step 209, the associated access point transmits request to the client device for the feedback information in accordance with one or more embodiments. In one or more embodiments, the associated access point transmits one or more wireless signals that include the request for feedback information … The client device processes the one or more wireless signals in order to generate feedback information. If the feedback information is channel state information, then the client device may not need to be modified in order to perform embodiment (corresponds to AP transmits request for feedback information, then client device generates feedback information including CSI to be transmitted to AP));
‘and receiving a part of PDP data in the generated PDP data from the sensing response device.’ (Paragraph [0038], the power delay profile is computed based on the feedback information (corresponds to this PDP is computed by AP based on feedback information including CSI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHANAGE in view of Nezou et al. (US 2020/0029324 A1), hereinafter “NEZOU”
Regarding claims 3 and 14, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 2, BHANAGE does
not explicitly teach but NEZOU teaches, ‘wherein a common information field or a dedicated information field in the trigger frame indicates to perform PDP data feedback.’ (NEZOU – paragraph [0046], the trigger frame comprises a first field allowing stations receiving it to identify the trigger frame as being dedicated to initiate collection of feedbacks from stations of the plurality during the reserved transmission opportunity. Paragraph [0087], when receiving a trigger frame, the station knows that it is a NDP feedback trigger frame. The station thus knows that a NDP feedback process is being performed on the communication channel and that a NDP feedback procedure has started and that a NDP feedback is expected by the access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of NEZOU with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of NEZOU into BHANAGE is that NEZOU provides a communication method comprising an access point (AP) and a plurality of stations (non-AP), accessing a communication channel to send a trigger frame reserving a transmission opportunity on the communication channel and defining resource units, RUs, forming the communication channel for the stations to transmit data to the access point; wherein the trigger frame comprises a first field allowing stations receiving it to identify the trigger frame as being dedicated to initiate collection of feedbacks from stations of the plurality during the reserved transmission opportunity. (See paragraphs [0044]-[0046], NEZOU)
Regarding claims 4 and 15, BHANAGE and NEZOU teaches, the method according to claim 3,
BHANAGE does not explicitly teach but NEZOU teaches, ‘wherein a trigger type field comprised in the common information field in the trigger frame indicates to perform PDP data feedback.’ (NEZOU – paragraph [0204], the "Trigger Type" subfield 620 comprises a value specifying that the trigger frame is a dedicated NDP feedback trigger frame. The new dedicated NDP feedback trigger frame 600, a receiving station can identify the trigger frame as being a NDP feedback trigger frame, thereby triggering the NDP feedback mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of NEZOU with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of NEZOU into BHANAGE is that NEZOU provides a communication method comprising an access point (AP) and a plurality of stations (non-AP), accessing a communication channel to send a trigger frame reserving a transmission opportunity on the communication channel and defining resource units, RUs, forming the communication channel for the stations to transmit data to the access point; wherein the trigger frame comprises a first field allowing stations receiving it to identify the trigger frame as being dedicated to initiate collection of feedbacks from stations of the plurality during the reserved transmission opportunity. (See paragraphs [0044]-[0046], NEZOU)
Regarding claims 5 and 16, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 2, BHANAGE does
not explicitly teach but NEZOU teaches, ‘wherein a sounding dialog token field or a dedicated information field in the NDPA frame indicates to perform PDP data feedback.’ (NEZOU – paragraphs [0110]-[0111], a dedicated Null Data Packet (NDP) feedback trigger frame designed to be sent by an access point (AP) of a wireless communication network comprising a plurality of stations (non-AP), the NDP feedback trigger frame comprising a second field indicating a type of feedbacks to be collected from the stations. This trigger frame dedicated to the NDP feedback procedure comprises a specific field allowing stations (non-AP nodes) receiving this trigger frame to identify it as being a dedicated NDP feedback trigger frame. A receiving station knows that a NDP feedback procedure has started and that a NDP feedback is expected by the access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of NEZOU with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of NEZOU into BHANAGE is that NEZOU provides a communication method comprising an access point (AP) and a plurality of stations (non-AP), accessing a communication channel to send a trigger frame reserving a transmission opportunity on the communication channel and defining resource units, RUs, forming the communication channel for the stations to transmit data to the access point; wherein the trigger frame comprises a first field allowing stations receiving it to identify the trigger frame as being dedicated to initiate collection of feedbacks from stations of the plurality during the reserved transmission opportunity. (See paragraphs [0044]-[0046], NEZOU)
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHANAGE in view of NEZOU in view of Viger et al. (US 2022/0322426 A1), hereinafter “VIGER”.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, BHANAGE and NEZOU teach, the method according to claim 5, BHANAGE and NEZOU do not explicitly teach but VIGER teaches, ‘wherein an association identifier (AID) field comprised in the dedicated information field in the NDPA frame indicates to perform PDP data feedback.‘ (VIGER – paragraphs [0062]-[0068], receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data
packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame defining a first range of association identifiers, AIDs, of stations authorized to access a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses, … sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of VIGER with BHANAGE and NEZOU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of VIGER into BHANAGE and NEZOU is that VIGER provides receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data
packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame reserving a plurality of
resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses by stations, determining whether an association identifier, AID, field in the received NFRP trigger frame includes a predefined AID value defining a random access for the stations to the plurality of RU tone sets, randomly selecting a responding RU tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set. (See paragraphs [0018]-[0021], VIGER)
Claims 7, 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHANAGE in view of VIGER.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 2, BJAMAGE does
not explicitly teach but VIGER teaches, ‘wherein the PDP frame comprises a multi-input multi- output (MIMO) control field, and the MIMO control field comprises an indication for at least one of a number of columns, a number of rows, or a number of quantized bits of a matrix element of a PDP matrix for feedback.’ (VIGER - paragraph [0089], a two-bit range scaling field may be enough when the first range (and thus the number of RU tone sets) comprises a higher number of AIDs (for wider channels with
or without MIMO). For instance, an 80 MHz channel with MIMO provides 144 RU tone sets. 4 rescaling levels may thus provide a second range covering all the assignable AIDs (144x24=2304>2007 assignable AIDs). It turns that a bit length of the range scaling field may depend on a width the first range (i.e. depend on a channel bandwidth field "UL BW" and a multiplexing flag field specified in the NFRP trigger frame)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of VIGER with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of VIGER into BHANAGE is that VIGER provides receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame reserving a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses by stations, determining whether an association identifier, AID, field in the received NFRP trigger frame includes a predefined AID value defining a random access for the stations to the plurality of RU tone sets, randomly selecting a responding RU tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set. (See paragraphs [0018]-[0021], VIGER)
Regarding claim 9, BHANAGE teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
BHANAGE does not explicitly teach but VIGER teaches, ‘sending, by the sensing initiation device, at least one of an indication for a range of interested or an indication for an offset to the sensing response device.’ (VIGER - paragraph [0042], at the station, determining whether an AID associated with a resource unit in the subsequent trigger frame corresponds to an index of the selected responding RU tone set given a predefined offset value. The AID may be the sum of the index and the offset value. This makes it possible to target a specific one of the responding stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of VIGER with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of VIGER into BHANAGE is that VIGER provides receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame reserving a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses by stations, determining whether an association identifier, AID, field in the received NFRP trigger frame includes a predefined AID value defining a random access for the stations to the plurality of RU tone sets, randomly selecting a responding RU tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set. (See paragraphs [0018]-[0021], VIGER)
Regarding claim 10, BHANAGE and VIGER teach, the method according to claim 9, BHANAGE
does not explicitly teach but VIGER teaches, ‘wherein the sensing initiation device sends the at least one of the indication for the range of interested or the indication for the offset to the sensing response device by using at least one of a trigger frame, a null data packet announcement NDPA frame, an announcement frame, or a PDP frame for indicating PDP data feedback.’ (VIGER – paragraphs [0062]-[0068], receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame defining a first range of association identifiers, AIDs, of stations authorized to access a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses, determining, from the NFRP trigger frame, an access scheme to the RU tone sets, when it is determined a random access to the RU tone sets, obtaining a scale factor from a range scaling field in the NFRP trigger frame, obtaining a second range of station AIDs from the first range and the scale factor, when an AID of the station is included in the second range, randomly selecting a responding RU
tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the
selected responding RU tone set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of VIGER with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of VIGER into BHANAGE is that VIGER provides receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame reserving a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses by stations, determining whether an association identifier, AID, field in the received NFRP trigger frame includes a predefined AID value defining a random access for the stations to the plurality of RU tone sets, randomly selecting a responding RU tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set. (See paragraphs [0018]-[0021], VIGER)
Regarding claim 11, BHANAGE and VIGER teach, the method according to claim 10, BHANAGE
does not explicitly teach but VIGER teaches, ‘wherein a trigger dependent information field comprised in a common information field in the trigger frame indicates at least one of the range of interested or the offset.’ (VIGER - paragraph [0046], an AID associated with the resource unit in the subsequent trigger frame is built from the index of the responding RU tone set and from an offset value. This makes it possible to uniquely identify the responding stations while keeping compliant with the 802 .11 ax standard where some range of AIDs are already used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of VIGER with BHANAGE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of VIGER into BHANAGE is that VIGER provides receiving, from an access point, AP, a null data packet, NDP, feedback report poll, NFRP, trigger frame, the NFRP trigger frame reserving a plurality of resource unit, RU, tone sets for NDP feedback report responses by stations, determining whether an association identifier, AID, field in the received NFRP trigger frame includes a predefined AID value defining a random access for the stations to the plurality of RU tone sets, randomly selecting a responding RU tone set from the plurality of RU tone sets, and sending a NDP feedback report response on the selected responding RU tone set. (See paragraphs [0018]-[0021], VIGER)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the
extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479