DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claim(s) 1-22, drawn a photocatalytic photoreactor, classified in B01J2219/1943.
II. Claim(s) 23-26, drawn to a method for performing a photocatalytic reaction, classified in B01J2219/00711.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions Group I and II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand. For instance, water splitting of Group II may be performed by electrolytic reactors, such as electrolyzers.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
A. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
B. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
C. The inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Steven Parks on 09/29/2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claim(s) 1-22. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim(s) 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Interpretation
As to claim 1, lines 11-12, the claim sets forth a limitation requiring light to penetrate “a substantial portion” of the reaction volume. The specification at ¶51 line 8 discusses this feature and states “thus providing the photocatalyst with the necessary light to induce its catalytic activity.” Consequentially, the term “a substantial portion” will therefore be interpreted by the examiner as “a portion that is provided with the necessary light to induce catalytic activity of the photocatalyst”; in other words, so long as the transmitted incident light activates the catalytic activity of the photocatalyst, the examiner will treat the claim limitation as being met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 11, lines 3-5, the phrases “(or configured, positioned)” and “when transparent” render the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear whether the phrases in the parenthesis are further limiting the claimed inventions or not. For examination purposes, the phrase “(or configured, positioned)” is interpreted as having an apparatus either adapted, configured, or positioned to deliver light. In another instance, the phrase “(when transparent)” is interpreted as “that is transparent”.
As to claim 20, the phrase "(e.g., coated, bound, or otherwise immobilized)" in line 2 renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear whether the phrase in the parenthesis is further limiting the claimed invention or not. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 21, the phrase “(or other temperature sensor)” renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear whether the phrase in the parenthesis is further limiting the claimed invention or not. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to be part of the claim limitation. The claim limitation is met by a structure that either senses or measures temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15,17-18, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2021/0178378 to Khatiwada (hereinafter referred to as “KHATIWADA”).
As to claim 1, KHATIWADA teaches a photocatalytic photoreactor (see generally KHATIWADA at Abstract for teaching reactor systems) comprising:
a first wall having an outer surface and an opposing inner surface, the inner surface defining an interior volume (see KHATIWADA at ¶33, Fig. 2A and Fig. 2B, for teaching reactor housing 230, wherein reactor housing 230 has an outer surface and an opposing inner surface, and wherein the inner surface defines an interior volume);
a second wall having an outer surface and an opposing inner surface, the second wall being spaced apart from the first wall (see KHATIWADA at ¶33, Fig. 2A and Fig. 2B, for teaching at least one reactor cell 100 disposed within reactor housing 230; each of the at least one reactor cell 100 has an outer surface and an opposing inner surface, wherein the at least one reactor cell 100 is spaced apart from reactor housing 230) such that the first wall and the second wall together define a reaction volume between the first wall outer surface and the second wall inner surface (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 3A for teaching a reaction volume between reactor housing 230 and the at least one reactor cell 100), wherein:
the second wall is at least partially transparent (see KHATIWADA at ¶57 for teaching that any material having the desired transmittance for a predetermined light wavelength may be used, wherein the material may comprise quartz; ¶58 teaches that the optically transparent enclosure of the reactor cell is optically transparent on all sides of the enclosure), and
the reaction volume is sized and shaped to receive a particulate photocatalyst therein such that incident light passing through the second wall from the second wall outer surface, to the second wall inner surface, and into the reaction volume penetrates a substantial portion of the reaction volume when a particulate photocatalyst is contained therein (see KHATIWADA at ¶71 for teaching that a reactor cell 100 comprises a plasmonic photocatalyst on a catalyst support 120 disposed within an optically transparent enclosure 110); and
an external light transmission apparatus (see KHATIWADA at ¶33 and Fig. 2B for teaching at least one light source 220), wherein:
the light transmission apparatus is positioned external to and at least partially around the second wall outer surface (see KHATIWADA at ¶33 and Fig. 2B for teaching at least one light source 220 positioned external to and at least partially around the at least one reactor cell 100), and
the light transmission apparatus is adapted to transmit light through the second wall from the second wall outer surface, to the second wall inner surface, and into the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at ¶33 and Fig. 3A for teaching at least one light source 220 configured to transmit light into the at least one reactor cell 100).
As to claim 2, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the reaction volume has a thickness in a range of 0.5 mm to 10 mm (see KHATIWADA at ¶72 for teaching that the size and shape of the enclosure of the reactor cell may be adapted to meet the desired need such that he enclosure has an inner diameter ranging from about 0.2 cm to about 10 cm in some embodiments; 0.2 cm is 2 mm).
As to claim 3, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the reaction volume has an elongate structure with a length (L)/thickness (T) ratio of at least 10 (see KHATIWADA at ¶72 for teaching that, in some embodiments, the enclosure has a length ranging from about 10 cm to about 2 m and an inner diameter ranging from about 0.2 cm to about 10 cm; for instance, 10 cm length divided by 1 cm diameter is at least 10).
As to claim 4, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the interior volume has a characteristic lateral dimension in a range of 5 mm to 100 mm (see KHATIWADA at ¶72 for teaching that, in some embodiments, the enclosure has a length ranging from about 10 cm to about 2 m; 100 m is 10 cm).
As to claim 5, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein incident light passing through the second wall from the second wall outer surface, to the second wall inner surface, and into the reaction volume penetrates at least 50% of the reaction volume when a particulate photocatalyst is contained therein (see KHATIWADA at ¶55 for teaching that, in some embodiments, the optically transparent enclosure has at least 50% transmittance for a predetermined light wavelength; Fig. 2B teaches at least one light source 220 for delivering light to the at least one reactor cell 100).
As to claim 6, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein:
the first wall is a first cylindrical tube (see KHATIWADA at ¶33 and Fig. 2B for teaching reactor housing 230 in a form of a cylindrical tube);
the second wall is a second cylindrical tube coaxially aligned with the first cylindrical tube (see KHATIWADA at ¶33 and Fig. 2B for teaching the at least one reactor cell 100 in a form of a cylindrical tube coaxially aligned with reactor housing 230); and
the reaction volume is a circular annular volume between the first cylindrical tube and the second cylindrical tube (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 2B for teaching the at least reactor cell 100 located above the at least one light source 220 as a circular annular volume between reactor housing 230 and the at least one reactor cell 100 located below the at least one light source 220).
As to claim 8, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the light transmission apparatus comprises at least one light source, which is configured to transmit light around the circumference of the second wall and into the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 2A and Fig. 2B for teaching at least one light source 220 configured to transmit light around and into the at least one reactor cell 100).
As to claim 9, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the light transmission apparatus comprises at least one light guide, which is configured to transmit received light around the circumference of the second wall and into the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 8 and ¶43 for teaching parabolic mirror trough 800, for instance, configured to perform as a solar concentrator to increase an incidence of electromagnetic radiation on the photocatalytic reactor cell).
As to claim 10, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the light transmission apparatus comprises at least one light source and at least one light guide (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 7B for teaching the reactor system may include at least one shaft 255 having a reflective exterior surface that is disposed within the housing and at least one light source 220).
As to claim 11, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the interior volume defined by the first wall is an open interior volume adapted to receive or more of
(i) a heating apparatus adapted (or configured, positioned) to deliver thermal energy into the reaction volume through the first wall (see KHATIWADA at ¶32 for teaching that the at least one light source, which may be disposed within the interior of the housing and/or external to the housing),
(ii) a second light source adapted (or configured, positioned) to deliver light into the reaction volume through the first wall (when transparent) (see KHATIWADA at ¶41 and Fig. 8 for teaching that the light source is a solar light source; the solar light source reads as the second light source adapted to deliver light through the reactor housing 230), and
(iii) a heat transfer liquid flowing through the open interior volume to heat or cool the reaction volume via heat transfer through the first wall (see KHATIWADA at ¶39 for teaching that the at least one shaft 255 may have a cavity having an input at a first end and an output at a second end such that the at least one shaft 255 is configured to permit fluid to flow there through for thermal management of the reactor system, in which case the fluid would constitute at least part of the thermal management feature 250).
As to claim 12, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, further comprising a heating apparatus in the interior volume, the heating apparatus being adapted to deliver thermal energy into the reaction volume through the first wall (see KHATIWADA at ¶35 and ¶75 for teaching the at least one shaft 255 may have a cavity having an input at a first end and an output at a second end such that the at least one shaft 255 is configured to permit fluid to flow there through for thermal management of the reactor system, in which case the fluid would constitute at least part of the thermal management feature 250; in another embodiment, the at least one shaft comprises a metal rod and or metal wires configured for heat conduction; either embodiments are configured to deliver thermal energy through the reactor housing 230).
As to claim 13, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein:
the first wall is at least partially transparent (see KHATIWADA at ¶50 for teaching a separate housing that is at least partially optically transparent); and
the photoreactor further comprises a second light source in the interior volume, the second light source being adapted to deliver light into the reaction volume through the first wall (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 7B for teaching the at least one light sources 220 within reactor housing 230 in which the at least one light sources 220 are being adapted to deliver light into the reaction volume of the at least one reactor cell 100 through the walls of the at least one reactor cell 100).
As to claim 14, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the second wall comprises quartz glass (see KHATIWADA at ¶71 for teaching that the optically transparent enclosure 110, wherein ¶56 teaches to the optically transparent enclosure comprising a material of quartz, among others).
As to claim 15, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the first wall comprises quartz glass (see KHATIWADA at ¶67 for teaching that the catalyst support 120 can comprise of quartz, among others).
As to claim 17, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, further comprising: a particulate photocatalyst contained in the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at ¶59 and ¶60 for teaching that the plasmonic photocatalysts comprising a catalyst coupled to a plasmonic material, wherein the plasmonic material is selected from gold, among others).
As to claim 18, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the particulate photocatalyst comprises a plasmonic metal selected from the group consisting of silver (Ag), gold (Au), copper (Cu), and combinations thereof (see KHATIWADA at ¶59 and ¶60 for teaching that the plasmonic photocatalysts comprising a catalyst coupled to a plasmonic material, wherein the plasmonic material is selected from gold, among others).
As to claim 20, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, further comprising:
a particulate photocatalyst adhered to at least one of the first wall outer surface and the second wall inner surface (see KHATIWADA at ¶69 for teaching that, in some embodiments, the plasmonic photocatalyst may be present on the catalyst support as a thin coating on the outer surface of the support).
As to claim 22, KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor, wherein the photoreactor comprises:
a fluid inlet in fluid communication with the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 1B and ¶71 for teaching at least one reactant input 130 for the reactor cell 100), and
a fluid outlet in fluid communication with the reaction volume (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 1B and ¶71 for teaching at least one reformate output 140 for the reactor cell 100);
wherein the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet are at different positions relative to the reaction volume such that fluid entering the photoreactor via the fluid inlet passes through the reaction volume before exiting the photoreactor via the fluid outlet (see KHATIWADA at Fig. 1B and ¶71 for teaching the at least one reactant input 130 and the at least one reformate output 140 for the reactor cell 100 in which the reaction takes place in the middle between the at least one reactant input 130 and the at least one reformate output 140).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHATIWADA.
As to claim 7, while KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor as set forth above, KHATIWADA fails to explicitly teach the first wall and the second wall having rectangular shapes in a coaxial manner as claimed. However, KHATIWADA does teach that the enclosure of the reactor cell may have a polygonal cross-section (see KHATIWADA at ¶72). The claim limitation for claim 7 is met because having a polygonal cross-section reads as having a rectangular shape under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Here, where the only difference between the prior art and the instant claim is a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed structure and a structure having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art structure, the claimed structure is not patentably distinct from the prior art structure. In addition, the configuration/shape of the claimed structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. Please see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHATIWADA in view of US Pub. No. 2011/0150734 to Kumakiri et. al (hereinafter referred to as “KUMAKIRI”).
As to claim 16, while KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor as set forth above and the first wall and the second wall comprising at least partially porous support (see KHATWADA at ¶67 for teaching the catalyst support including aerogels, microporous beads, or transparent gamma-alumina that have porosity), KHATIWADA fails to explicitly teach the first and the second wall a selectively permeable membrane adjacent to the porous support, as claimed. However, KUMAKIRI teaches a reactor for liquid or gas treatment by photocatalytic reaction (see KUMAKIRI at Abstract), in which the reactor comprises a porous membrane contactor (see KUMAKIRI at Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 for the porous membrane contactor unit 12 comprising catalytic membrane contactor 13; ¶38 teaches that the gas or liquid flows on one side of the catalytic membrane contactor 13; see KUMAKIRI at Fig. 6 and ¶40 for teaching that photocatalysts 29 and adsorbents 30 are immobilized in or on the support as composite particles 31). Accordingly, KUMAKIRI teaches that it was well known in the photocatalytic art to have used a selectively permeable membrane adjacent to the porous support. The photoreactor can comprise of a selectively permeable membrane adjacent to the porous support. Because KUMAKIRI teaches that a permeable membrane could be added to the photocatalytic reactor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the photoreactor of KHATIWADA with the selectively permeable membrane of KUMAKIRI with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHATIWADA in view of US Pub. No. 2002/0040874 to Kantzas et. al (hereinafter referred to as “KANTZAS”).
As to claim 19, while KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor as set forth above and teaches the plasmonic photocatalysts having a diameter ranging from about 5 nm to 300 nm, KHATIWADA fails to explicitly teach wherein the particulate photocatalyst has a particle size in a range of 100 µm to 500 µm as claimed. However, KANTZAS teaches to a fluid treatment device comprising a photocatalysts (see KANTZAS at Abstract), in which the input for the fluidic treatment comprises mean particle diameter of photocatalysts as 500 microns (see KANTZAS at ¶124, Table 1). Accordingly, KANTZAS teaches that it was well known in the photocatalytic art to have used the photocatalyst having a particle size of 500 microns. The photocatalyst can comprise of particle size of 500 microns. Because KANTZAS teaches that the photoreactor can comprise with photocatalysts with the recited size, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the photoreactor of KHATIWADA comprising photocatalysts having the recited range of particle sizes of KANTZAS with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHATIWADA in view of US Pat. No. 6,334,936 to Tabatabaie-Raissi et. al (hereinafter referred to as “TABATABAIE-RAISSI”).
As to claim 21, while KHATIWADA teaches the photoreactor as set forth above, KHATIWADA fails to explicitly teach further comprising a thermocouple (or other temperature sensor) positioned within the reaction volume, as claimed. However, TABATABAIE-RAISSI teaches a combined photo- and thermocatalytic reactor supplied with an UV light source (see TABATABAIE-RAISSI at Abstract and Fig. 11a), in which the thermocouple is positioned within the oxidation space of the reactor tube (see TABATABAIE-RAISSI at Fig. 11a for teaching that the thermocouple 135 is positioned within the reaction volume space of the photocatalytic reactor tube 110). Accordingly, TABATABAIE-RAISSI teaches that it was well known in the photocatalytic and/or thermocatalytic reactor art to have used a thermocouple positioned in the reaction volume. The photoreactor can comprise of a thermocouple positioned in the reaction volume. Because TABATABAIE-RAISSI teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the photoreactor of KHATIWADA with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRYAN D. RIPA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794