Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (Patent No. 4,125,214) in view of Howell Sr.
Re: claim 1, Penn teaches a grill guard (Fig. 1 - 11) for a vehicle (13) comprising a grill structural frame (49 & 17) and a center assembly (61) having a center structural frame (63 & 65) wherein:
a) the grill guard (11) is attached to the vehicle (13) by the grill structural frame (49 & 17); and
b) the center assembly (61) is attached to the grill structural frame (49 & 17) and folded down (See Fig. 1) while the grill structural frame (49 & 17) remains fixed in its original location attached to the vehicle (See Fig. 1);
c) the grill structural frame (49 & 17) is comprised of two structural members (17) connected to a grill member (15) and side wing structures (49), and is designed to provide an unobstructed opening in the center of the vehicle when the center assembly is folded down (See Fig. 1);
d) the side wing structures (49) are fixedly attached to the vehicle's body via vehicle mounting features (53 & 59); and
e) the unobstructed opening in the center of the vehicle provided by the grill structural frame when the center assembly is folded down allows a user to have unobstructed access to the vehicle (See Fig. 1).
Penn fails to teach a releasably fold down center assembly having a latching assembly; the grill guard attached to the front of the vehicle.
However, Howell Sr. teaches a grill structural frame (Annotated Fig. 2 – Grill Structural Frame) and a releasably fold down center assembly (11) having a latching assembly (Fig. 1 – 17) wherein: the grill guard (1) is attached to front (See Fig. 2) of the vehicle (V) by the grill structural frame (Annotated Fig. 2 – Grill Structural Frame).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s positioning and center assembly with those of Howell Sr.’s positioning and latch assembly in order to provide the advantage of a guard that does not fall into the open position due to bumps, vibrations, or sudden movements.
Re: claim 2, Penn teaches wherein the grill guard (11) is attached to the vehicle (13) by vehicle mounting features (Fig. 3 – 27, 45, 59) of the grill structural frame (Fig. 1 - 49 & 17). Penn fails to teach wherein the grill guard is attached to the front of the vehicle.
Howell Sr. teaches the grill guard (Fig. 2 – 1) is attached to the front of the vehicle (See Fig. 2 - V).
Re: claim 3, Penn fails to teach wherein the vehicle mounting features include mounting brackets.
However, Howell Sr. teaches wherein the vehicle mounting features include mounting brackets (Col. 5 – lines 13-16).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s mounting features with those of Howell Sr.’s brackets in order to provide the advantage of having an apparatus which has more positive engagement with the vehicle and is less likely to fall off the vehicle due to vibrations, bumps, and wear over time.
Re: claim 4, Penn teaches wherein each of the two structure members (Fig. 1 – 17) includes at least one pivot feature (81 & 69). Penn fails to teach a) each of the two structural members includes at least one latching feature; and b) the latching assembly is configured to releasably engage with the latching features and the pivot features of the two structural members.
However, Howell Sr. teaches wherein:
a) each of the two structural members (Fig. 2 - 3 & 5) includes at least one latching feature (Fig. 3 - 17a) and at least one pivot feature (Fig. 4 – 13b); and
b) the latching assembly (17) is configured to releasably engage (Fig. 7 - 17p) with the latching features (17a) and the pivot features (13b) of the two structural members (3 & 5).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s structural members with those of Howell Sr.’s latch assembly in order to provide the advantage of a guard that does not fall into the open position due to bumps, vibrations, or sudden movements.
Re: claim 6, Penn teaches wherein each of the two structural members (Fig. 1 – 17) includes at least one pivot feature (81 & 69). Penn fails to teach wherein:
a) each of the two structural members includes at least one latching feature and at least one pivot feature;
b) the latching assembly is configured to releasably engage with the latching features and the pivot features of the two structural members;
c) when the center assembly is in a non-released configuration, the center assembly is retained by the latching assembly's engagement with the latching features of the structural members; and
d) when the center assembly is in a released configuration, the latching assembly is released from the latching features and with the assistance of the pivot features.
However, Howell Sr. teaches wherein:
a) each of the two structural members (3 & 5) includes at least one latching feature (Fig. 2 – 17a & 17b) and at least one pivot feature (Fig. 7 – 13b);
b) the latching assembly (17) is configured to releasably engage (Fig. 5 & 7 – 17p) with the latching features (17a) and the pivot features (13b) of the two structural members (3 & 5);
c) when the center assembly (11) is in a non-released configuration (Fig. 1 & 6), the center assembly (11) is retained by the latching assembly's (17) engagement (17p) with the latching features (17a) of the structural members (3 & 5); and
d) when the center assembly (11) is in a released configuration (Fig. 2 & 7), the latching assembly (17) is released from (See Fig. 7) the latching features (17a) and with the assistance of the pivot features (13b).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s structural members with those of Howell Sr.’s latch assembly in order to provide the advantage of a guard that does not fall into the open position due to bumps, vibrations, or sudden movements.
Re: claim 7, Howell Sr. further teaches wherein the at least one latching feature (17a) include a latching aperture (17a) and a latching interface (Face of element 3 shown in Fig. 7) having a bumper (15s).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s structural members with those of Howell Sr.’s latch assembly in order to provide the advantage of a guard that does not fall into the open position due to bumps, vibrations, or sudden movements.
Re: claim 8, Penn and Howell Sr. fail to teach wherein the at least one pivot feature is a semi-circular cutout.
The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Re: claim 9, Penn teaches wherein the center structural frame includes one or more non-latching members (65) and pivot members (81 & 69). Penn fails to teach wherein the center structural frame includes a latching member.
Howell Sr. teaches wherein the center structural frame (11a, 11b, 11c) includes a latching member (11a & 11b).
Penn and Howell Sr. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of vehicle guards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Penn’s center structural frame with those of Howell Sr.’s latching member in order to provide the advantage of a guard that does not fall into the open position due to bumps, vibrations, or sudden movements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re: claim 10-12 and 21, claim 10 was previously identified as allowable subject matter as objected to being dependent on a rejected claim. Applicant has amended the claim to be independent thus overcoming the objection. Claims 11-12 and 21 depend on allowable claim 10.
Re: claim 13-20, claims previously identified as allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Penn in view of Howell Sr.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP C ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612