DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 2, 8, and 15 have been canceled in the present application. Claims 1, 7, 9, 16, and 20 have been amended in the present application. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 25, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 11 that Kim fails to teach forming a conductive line directly on the lens holder, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that since terminal unit 60 is electrically connected to only through an additional, separate conductive member 90, Kim fails to teach forming a conductive line directly on the lens holder. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., forming a conductive line directly on the lens holder) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim language merely states “from a first conductive line on the first lens holder.” Under BRI, the term “on” merely requires a component to be somehow connected to or very near another component and allows for intervening elements. Thus terminal unit 60 is considered to be on lens holder 140 since terminal unit 60 is connected to lens holder 140 through conductive adhesive member 69 and conductive member 90 (Kim Figure 13B). Therefore Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on 12 that conductive member taught by Kim is incompatible with the laser direct forming process taught by Zhou, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that since the conductive members 90 and terminal units 60 taught by Kim are discrete elements, the laser direct forming process taught by Zhou would be incompatible since “conductive traces are formed directly on the surface component” and “can produce an integral conductive line on the surface of that component.” Thus using laser direct forming would mean that terminal unit 60 and conductive member 90 would no longer be discrete elements and fundamentally change the principle of the operation of Kim’s electrical interconnection scheme. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adapt the laser forming process to the device taught by Kim for example by forming terminal unit 60 and conductive member 90 separately and connecting them (which Kim already does). “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See MPEP §2141.03(I). Therefore Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that Kim in view of Zhou fails to disclose the conductive layer extending from the first lens cover to the first base, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Kim in view of Zhou fails to teach the conductive layer extending from the first lens cover to the first base since Kim in view of Zhou only discloses that terminal unit 60 uses additional separate components to connect holder 80 and lens holder 140 and does not teach a continuous line extending from one to the other. However, the claim language does not require a continuous line or direct contact between elements. “Extending” can be interpreted in much the same way as “on” which allows for additional intervening components. Thus, as shown in Figure 13B of Kim, terminal unit 60 extends from holder 80 to lens holder 140 even though conductive adhesive member 69 and conductive member 90 are disposed between terminal unit 60 and lens holder 140. Therefore Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and Examiner rejects claim 1 over Kim in view of Zhou.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on 13-14 that Kim and Choi fail to teach the second conductive line disposed on the encapsulant, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that since the since conductive members 90 taught by Kim are not formed directly on the surface of sensor base 180, Kim fails to teach a second conductive line disposed on the encapsulant. However, under BRI “disposed on” allows for additional elements to between an element disposed on another. Kim teaches that conductive members 90 are on lens holder 140 which is on sensor base 180 ([0113] and [0115]). Thus Kim teaches conductive members 90 are disposed on sensor base 180. Therefore Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and Examiner rejects claims 7 and 14 over Kim in view of Choi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0146369 – hereinafter referred to as “Kim”) in view of Zhou et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN 115685643 A – machine translation – hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a manufacturing method for an autofocus camera module (Figure 1 camera module 100), comprising:
providing a first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113), a liquid lens (Figure 2 lens unit 130 with liquid lens 50, [0120]), and a circuit board assembly (Figure 1 substrate 190, [0095] substrate 190 is a circuit board),
wherein the first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113) comprises a first lens holder (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140) and a first lens group (lens unit 113) received in the first lens holder (Figure 2 lens unit 113 is disposed in lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140), the first lens holder (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140) is provided with a first base (Figure 2 lens holder 140), a first lens barrel (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110), and a first lens cover (Figure 13A holder 80 covers the lower part of lens barrel 110) sequentially connected to each other (Figures 2 and 13A holder 80, lower part of lens barrel 110, and lens holder 140 are connected sequentially), the liquid lens (Figure 4 liquid lens 50) comprises a plurality of connecting pads (Figure 4 electrodes 51, [0137]), and the circuit board assembly (substrate 190) comprises a plurality of driving elements (Figure 2 terminals 195; [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173] terminals 195 send various drive signals to the liquid lens and constitute drive elements);
forming a first conductive line (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 (units 63 and 65 in Figure 13B), [0170]) on the first lens holder (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 is on lens holder 140, [0115] and [0247]), the first conductive line extending from the first lens cover to the first base (Figures 11 and 13B terminal unit 60 extend from holder 80 to lens holder 140);
applying a solder material ([0169] conductive adhesive includes solder) onto the plurality of connecting pads of the liquid lens ([0169] solder applied to electrodes 50);
soldering the plurality of connecting pads of the liquid lens to the first lens cover through the solder material (Figure 13B, [0164] electrodes 50 are soldered to terminal units 60 connect to holder 80), thereby causing the plurality of connecting pads to be electrically connected to one end of the first conductive line ([0169] electrodes 50 are electrically to terminal units 60); and
mounting the circuit board assembly to the first base of the first lens holder (Figure 2 lens holder 140 is connected to substrate 190, [0089]), thereby causing another end of the first conductive line to be electrically connected to the plurality of driving elements (Figures 2 and 11 terminal unit 60 are electrically connected to terminal 195 through conductive members 90, [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173]).
Kim fails to teach forming the first conductive line on the first lens holder by laser direct forming technology. However, Zhou teaches a camera module with a liquid lens (Figure 1) using laser direct forming technology to form conductive lines ([0094]). Zhou further teaches laser direct forming technology can avoid interference from other internal metals and reduce the module size ([0094]). In addition changing the method of producing the conductive line would not have an effect on the function of the device as power and driving signals would still be delivered to the liquid lens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first conductive line taught by Kim using laser direct forming technology as taught by Zhou in order to avoid interference with other internal metals and reduce module size (Zhou [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Zhou teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Kim further teaches setting a second lens assembly on a side of the first lens assembly containing the first lens holder (Figure 2 upper part of lens barrel 110 and lens unit 112 is above the lower part of lens barrel 110 containing lens unit 113), wherein the second lens assembly comprises a second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 upper part of lens barrel 110) and a second lens assembly received in the second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 lens unit 112 is in upper part of lens barrel 110); and accommodating the liquid lens inside the second lens holder (Figure 13A liquid lens 50 is disposed in upper part of lens barrel 110, [0397]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0146369) in view of Zhou (Chinese Patent Publication CN 115685643 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Choi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0041604).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Zhou teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Kim further teaches a method for manufacturing the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 substrate 190) comprises:
setting the plurality of driving elements on a surface of a circuit board (Figure 2 terminal 195 on substrate 191, [0097]);
setting an encapsulant (Figure 2 sensor base 180, [0096]) on the surface of the circuit board (Figure 3 sensor base 180 is on substrate 191, [0096])
forming a second conductive line on the encapsulant (Figure 2 conductive members 90 are on sensor base 180, [0097]), thereby causing the second conductive line to be electrically connected to the plurality of driving elements ([0097] conductive members 90 connect to terminal 195 on substrate 191);
setting an image sensor (Figure 2 image sensor 160, [0086]) on the surface of the circuit board containing the plurality of driving elements (Figure 3 image sensor 160 is on substrate 191); and
setting an optical filter (Figure 2 filter 150, [0106]) on a surface of the encapsulant away from the circuit board (Figure 3 filter 150 is on sensor base 180 away from substrate 191), thereby causing the optical filter to correspond to the image sensor (Figure 3 filter 560 corresponds to sensor 160, [0110]).
Kim and Zhou fail to teach the encapsulant encapsulates the plurality of driving elements. However, Choi teaches a camera module (Figure 2) with an encapsulant (Figure 2 second cover 38, [0058]) that encapsulates the plurality of driving elements (Figures 3 and 4 cover 38 encapsulates electrode pad 55 which are driving elements [0084]). Choi further teaches an encapsulant can be used to protect board components from external shocks and foreign substances ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim and Zhou to include an encapsulant that encapsulates the driving elements as taught by Choi in order to protect board components from external shock and foreign substances (Choi [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Zhou, and Choi teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Kim further teaches electrically connecting the first conductive line to the second conductive line (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 connects to conductive member 90, [0256]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0146369) in view of Zhou (Chinese Patent Publication CN 115685643 A) as applied to claim 5 above in view of Lee et al. (Korean Patent Publication KR 100711247 – machine translation – hereinafter referred to as “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Zhou teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 5. Kim and Zhou fail to teach forming a third conductive line on the second lens holder, thereby causing the third conductive line to be electrically connected to the first conductive line; and soldering another liquid lens on a side of the second lens holder away from the first lens holder, thereby causing the another liquid lens to be electrically connected to the third conductive line.
However, Lee teaches a camera module (Figure 1) with another liquid lens on a side of the second lens holder away from the first lens holder (Figure 1 liquid lens 300 is on lens group 310 away from lens group 330, page 3 second to last paragraph). Lee further teaches using two liquid lenses in order to implement both focus and zoom function (Page 4 paragraph 5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the second liquid lens in order to power the second liquid lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim and Zhou by adding another liquid lens as taught by Lee in order to provide both focus and zoom function (Lee page 4 paragraph 5) and to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the another liquid lens to power the another liquid lens.
Claims 7, 9-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0146369) in view of Choi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0041604).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches an autofocus camera module (Figure 1 camera module 100) comprising:
a circuit board assembly (Figure 1 substrate 190, [0095] substrate 190 is a circuit board) comprising a circuit board (Figure 3 substrate 191, [0098]), a plurality of driving elements (Figure 2 terminals 195; [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173] terminals 195 send various drive signals to the liquid lens and constitute drive elements) arranged on the circuit board (Figure 2 terminal 195 on substrate 191, [0097]), an encapsulant (Figure 2 sensor base 180, [0096]), and a second conductive line (Figure 2 conductive members 90, [0097]) disposed on the encapsulant ([0113] and [0115] conductive members 90 are on lens holder 140 which is on sensor base 180); and
a lens mechanism (Figure 2 lens barrel 110, lens assembly 120, and lens holder 140 are a lens mechanism, [0086], [0114]) disposed on the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 lens barrel 110, lens assembly 120, and lens holder 140 is disposed on substrate 190), the lens mechanism comprising:
a first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113);
a second lens assembly (Figure 2 upper part of lens barrel 110 and lens unit 112); and
a liquid lens (Figure 2 lens unit 130 with liquid lens 50, [0120]) disposed between the first lens assembly and the second lens assembly (Figure 2 lens unit 130 is between lens unit 113 and lens unit 112),
wherein the first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113) comprises a first lens holder (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140), a first lens group (lens unit 113) received in the first lens holder (Figure 2 lens unit 113 is disposed in lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140), and a first conductive line (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 (units 63 and 65 in Figure 13B), [0170]) disposed on the first lens holder (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 is on lens holder 140, [0115] and [0247]), the first lens holder is connected to one side of the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 lens holder 140 is connected to substrate 190, [0089]), and
the liquid lens (Figure 4 liquid lens 50) comprises a plurality of connecting pads (Figure 4 electrodes 51, [0137]) and a solder material located on the plurality of connecting pads ([0169] conductive adhesive includes solder), the plurality of connecting pads of the liquid lens is soldered to the first lens holder through the solder material ([0169] terminal units 60 and 70 are connected to electrodes 50 with solder which are connected to lens holder 140 through conductive members 90), the first conductive line electrically connects the plurality of connecting pads and the plurality of driving elements (Figures 2 and 11 terminal unit 60 and conductive members 90 connect electrodes 50 and terminals 195, [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173]) through the second conductive line (Figures 2 and 11 conductive members 90), and the second conductive line is connected the first conductive line and the circuit board (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 connects to conductive member 90, [0256]; [0097] conductive members 90 connect to terminal 195 on substrate 191).
Kim fails to teach the encapsulant encapsulates the plurality of driving elements. However, Choi teaches a camera module (Figure 2) with an encapsulant (Figure 2 second cover 38, [0058]) that encapsulates the plurality of driving elements (Figures 3 and 4 cover 38 encapsulates electrode pad 55 which are driving elements [0084]). Choi further teaches an encapsulant can be used to protect board components from external shocks and foreign substances ([0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim to include an encapsulant that encapsulates the driving elements as taught by Choi in order to protect board components from external shock and foreign substances (Choi [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Choi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Kim further teaches the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 substrate 190) further comprises an image sensor (Figure 2 image sensor 160, [0086]), the encapsulant defines a first opening (Figure 2 bore 181), a portion of the circuit board is exposed from the first opening ([0105] image sensor 160 on substrate 191 is exposed through bore 181), the image sensor is disposed in the first opening and connected to the circuit board ([0105] image sensor 160 is exposed through bore 181; [0098] image sensor 160 is connected to substrate 191).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Choi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Kim further teaches the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 substrate 190) further comprises an optical filter (Figure 2 filter 150, [0106]), the optical filter is arranged on a surface of the encapsulant (Figure 3 filter 150 is on surface of sensor base 180, [0106]), the optical filter covers the first opening and faces the image sensor, (Figure 3 filter 150 faces image sensor 160) and a portion of the optical filter is accommodated in the first lens holder (Figure 3 filter 150 is in lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Kim further teaches the second lens assembly (Figures 2 and 3 upper part of lens barrel 110 and lens unit 112) comprises a second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 upper part of lens barrel 110) and a second lens group received in the second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 lens unit 112 is in upper part of lens barrel 110), the second lens holder is disposed on a side of the first lens holder away from the circuit board assembly (Figure 3 upper part of lens holder 110 is above lower part of lens holder 110 and away from substrate 191), and the liquid lens (Figure 13A liquid lens 50) is accommodated in the second lens holder (Figure 13A liquid lens 50 is disposed in upper part of lens barrel 110, [0397]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches an electronic device (Figure 39 optical device 200A) comprising an autofocus camera module (Figure 1 camera module 100), the an autofocus camera module (Figure 1 camera module 100) comprising:
a circuit board assembly (Figure 1 substrate 190, [0095] substrate 190 is a circuit board) comprising a circuit board (Figure 3 substrate 191, [0098]), a plurality of driving elements (Figure 2 terminals 195; [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173] terminals 195 send various drive signals to the liquid lens and constitute drive elements) arranged on the circuit board (Figure 2 terminal 195 on substrate 191, [0097]), an encapsulant (Figure 2 sensor base 180, [0096]), and a second conductive line (Figure 2 conductive members 90, [0097]) disposed on the encapsulant ([0113] and [0115] conductive members 90 are on lens holder 140 which is on sensor base 180); and
a lens mechanism (Figure 2 lens barrel 110, lens assembly 120, and lens holder 140 are a lens mechanism, [0086], [0114]) disposed on the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 lens barrel 110, lens assembly 120, and lens holder 140 is disposed on substrate 190), the lens mechanism comprising:
a first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113);
a second lens assembly (Figure 2 upper part of lens barrel 110 and lens unit 112); and
a liquid lens (Figure 2 lens unit 130 with liquid lens 50, [0120]) disposed between the first lens assembly and the second lens assembly (Figure 2 lens unit 130 is between lens unit 113 and lens unit 112),
wherein the first lens assembly (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110, lens holder 140, and lens unit 113) comprises a first lens holder (Figure 2 lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140), a first lens group received in the first lens holder (Figure 2 lens unit 113 is disposed in lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140), and a first conductive line (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 (units 63 and 65 in Figure 13B), [0170]) disposed on the first lens holder (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 is on lens holder 140, [0115] and [0247]), the first lens holder is connected to one side of the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 lens holder 140 is connected to substrate 190, [0089]), and
the liquid lens (Figure 4 liquid lens 50) comprises a plurality of connecting pads (Figure 4 electrodes 51, [0137]) and a solder material located on the plurality of connecting pads ([0169] conductive adhesive includes solder), the plurality of connecting pads of the liquid lens is soldered to the first lens holder through the solder material ([0169] terminal units 60 and 70 are connected to electrodes 50 with solder which are connected to lens holder 140 through conductive members 90), the first conductive line electrically connects the plurality of connecting pads and the plurality of driving elements (Figures 2 and 11 terminal unit 60 and conductive members 90 connect electrodes 50 and terminals 195, [0097], [0115], [0151], [0173]) through the second conductive line (Figures 2 and 11 conductive members 90), and the second conductive line connects the first conductive line and the circuit board (Figure 13B terminal unit 60 connects to conductive member 90, [0256]; [0097] conductive members 90 connect to terminal 195 on substrate 191).
Kim fails to teach the encapsulant encapsulates the plurality of driving elements. However, Choi teaches a camera module (Figure 2) with an encapsulant (Figure 2 second cover 38, [0058]) that encapsulates the plurality of driving elements (Figures 3 and 4 cover 38 encapsulates electrode pad 55 which are driving elements [0084]). Choi further teaches an encapsulant can be used to protect board components from external shocks and foreign substances ([0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim to include an encapsulant that encapsulates the driving elements as taught by Choi in order to protect board components from external shock and foreign substances (Choi [0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Choi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Kim further teaches the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 substrate 190) further comprises an optical filter (Figure 2 filter 150, [0106]), the optical filter is arranged on a surface of the encapsulant (Figure 3 filter 150 is on surface of sensor base 180, [0106]), the optical filter covers the first opening and faces the image sensor, (Figure 3 filter 150 faces image sensor 160) and a portion of the optical filter is accommodated in the first lens holder (Figure 3 filter 150 is in lower part of lens barrel 110 and lens holder 140).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Choi teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 16. Kim further teaches the circuit board assembly (Figure 2 substrate 190) further comprises an image sensor (Figure 2 image sensor 160, [0086]), the encapsulant defines a first opening (Figure 2 bore 181), a portion of the circuit board is exposed from the first opening ([0105] image sensor 160 on substrate 191 is exposed through bore 181), the image sensor is disposed in the first opening and connected to the circuit board ([0105] image sensor 160 is exposed through bore 181; [0098] image sensor 160 is connected to substrate 191).
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Choi teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Kim further teaches the second lens assembly (Figures 2 and 3 upper part of lens barrel 110 and lens unit 112) comprises a second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 upper part of lens barrel 110) and a second lens group received in the second lens holder (Figures 2 and 3 lens unit 112 is in upper part of lens barrel 110), the second lens holder is disposed on a side of the first lens holder away from the circuit board assembly (Figure 3 upper part of lens holder 110 is above lower part of lens holder 110 and away from substrate 191), and the liquid lens (Figure 13A liquid lens 50) is accommodated in the second lens holder (Figure 13A liquid lens 50 is disposed in upper part of lens barrel 110, [0397]).
Claims 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0146369) in view of Choi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0041604) as applied to claims 7 and 14 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (Korean Patent Publication KR 100711247).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Choi teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Kim and Choi fail to teach another liquid lens, wherein the second lens assembly further comprises a third conductive line, one end the third conductive line is connected to the first conductive line, the another liquid lens is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly, and another end of the third conductive line is connected to the another liquid lens.
However, Lee teaches a camera module (Figure 1) with another liquid lens (Figure 1 liquid lens 300), wherein the second lens assembly further comprises a third conductive line and the another liquid lens is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly (Figure 1 liquid lens 300 is on lens group 310 away from lens group 330, page 3 second to last paragraph). Lee further teaches using two liquid lenses in order to implement both focus and zoom function (Page 4 paragraph 5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the second liquid lens in order to power the second liquid lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim and Choi by adding another liquid lens as taught by Lee in order to provide both focus and zoom function (Lee page 4 paragraph 5) and to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the another liquid lens to power the another liquid lens.
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Choi, and Lee teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Kim further teaches a protective cover (Figure 2 cover 300, [0309]), wherein the protective cover is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly (Figure 3 cover 300 is disposed on the surface of the upper part of lens barrel 110), the protective cover defines a second opening (Figure 2 bore 303, [0390]).
Kim and Choi fail to teach a portion of the another liquid lens is exposed from the second opening. However Lee teaches another liquid lens (Figure 1 liquid lens 300) that is exposed through an opening (Figure 1 liquid lens 300 is exposed in order to allow for imaging). Lee further teaches using two liquid lenses in order to implement both focus and zoom function (Page 4 paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim, Choi, and Lee by adding another liquid lens exposed through an opening as taught by Lee in order to provide both focus and zoom function (Lee page 4 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Choi teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 14. Kim and Choi fail to teach another liquid lens, wherein the second lens assembly further comprises a third conductive line, one end the third conductive line is connected to the first conductive line, the another liquid lens is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly, and another end of the third conductive line is connected to the another liquid lens.
However, Lee teaches a camera module (Figure 1) with another liquid lens (Figure 1 liquid lens 300), wherein the second lens assembly further comprises a third conductive line and the another liquid lens is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly (Figure 1 liquid lens 300 is on lens group 310 away from lens group 330, page 3 second to last paragraph). Lee further teaches using two liquid lenses in order to implement both focus and zoom function (Page 4 paragraph 5). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the second liquid lens in order to power the second liquid lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim and Choi by adding another liquid lens as taught by Lee in order to provide both focus and zoom function (Lee page 4 paragraph 5) and to provide a third conductive line connected to the first conductive line and the another liquid lens to power the another liquid lens.
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Choi, and Lee teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 19. Kim further teaches a protective cover (Figure 2 cover 300, [0309]), wherein the protective cover is disposed on a surface of the second lens holder away from the first circuit board assembly (Figure 3 cover 300 is disposed on the surface of the upper part of lens barrel 110), the protective cover defines a second opening (Figure 2 bore 303, [0390]).
Kim and Choi fail to teach a portion of the another liquid lens is exposed from the second opening. However Lee teaches another liquid lens (Figure 1 liquid lens 300) that is exposed through an opening (Figure 1 liquid lens 300 is exposed in order to allow for imaging). Lee further teaches using two liquid lenses in order to implement both focus and zoom function (Page 4 paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module taught by Kim, Choi, and Lee by adding another liquid lens exposed through an opening as taught by Lee in order to provide both focus and zoom function (Lee page 4 paragraph 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jun (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0185076) teaches a similar camera module with a liquid lens between two lens assemblies.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872