DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments filed 4/27/2026 with respect to the previous 103 rejections and DP rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bae et al.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the first paragraph, the continuity data should be updated to indicate that US App. No. 17/083,472 is now US Patent No. 11,813,065.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (US 2014/0142448, hereinafter Bae).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 9 and 17-18, Bae discloses an arrhythmia monitoring system (see par. 0009). An external heart monitoring device 410 includes a sensor 120/220/410 includes a plurality of electrodes configured to sense surface ECG activity of a patient (par. 0037, 0040, 0067). ECG processing circuity 411 configured to process the ECG activity on at least one channel (par. 0047-0048). A processor 414 is connected to the channel and receives the ECG signal and transmits the ECG signal to gateway device 420/430 (par. 0049). The gateway device includes a second processor 434 that includes a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a rhythm change classifier in the form of a neural network trained based on a historical collection of a plurality of ECG signal portions with known rhythm change information (par. 0062-0065 and 0074-0077). The processor will receive the ECG signal from the external monitoring device 410 and determine with the rhythm change classifier a change in time interval of the ECG signal portion associated with an arrhythmia (par. 0057, 0068). The determined ECG signal portion is then transmitted to a remote computer system for analysis by a medical team 440, such that only the determined signal portion is transmitted separately from the entire ECG signal (par. 0015, 0024, 0045, 0049, 0053). Bae discloses the process may be carried out for many ECG signal portions to classify the portions as one of a first class that includes atrial flutter, atrial fibrillation or ventricular tachycardia (par. 0078-0079).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 19, the remote computer system allows the medical team to transmit a message to a display of a computing device associated with a technician (par. 0054). The display can be used FOR batch review, if desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, each electrode is considered a “wearable patch.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae.
Bae, as described above, discloses using a sensor to detect ECG signals. However, Bae is silent as to the sensor being a wearable defibrillator. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that wearable defibrillators include ECG electrodes for detecting arrhythmia, as shocks should only be delivered when an appropriate arrhythmia has been detected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the ECG electrodes of a wearable defibrillator as the sensor of Bae as the use would not have affected the overall operation of Bae and would have had the predictable result of sensing ECG signals for arrhythmia analysis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,065 in view of Bae. The patented claims disclose all limitations of the current claims with the exception of only transmitting the ECG signal portions associated with an arrhythmia. However, as described above, Bae discloses analogous art that processes ECG signals and only transmits the ECG signal portions associated with an arrhythmia. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to only transmit the ECG signal portions associated with an arrhythmia as taught by Bae, as this allows for more efficient data transmission (par. 0049 and 0053 of Bae)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796