Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 01/15/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant's submission filed on 01/15/26 has been entered.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claims 13-15 have been canceled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the last word in the claim (i.e., “cmmand”) is misspelled. Additionally, claims 2-12 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the claim recites the limitation "the LCP". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, abbreviations should be spelled out prior to first use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MediaTek (“On aligning wake-up time between TX and RX UE”, R2-2101645, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112, 8.15.2.2 (cited by Applicant of Record) in view of Xu (US 20220210801 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MediaTek discloses an apparatus (Tx UE [[pg. 5 sec. 2.4 (inherent)] to which a sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds, configured in a first terminal equipment (Tx UE [[pg. 5 sec. 2.4]), the first terminal equipment performing sidelink transmission to a second terminal equipment (Rx UE [[pg. 5 sec. 2.4]), the second terminal equipment using sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) (Tx and Rx UEs using DRX in SL communication, including MAC CE (i.e., to which DRX reception command corresponds) [pg. 5 sec. 2.4]), wherein the apparatus comprises:
to which a sidelink discontinuous reception command (SL DRX Command) corresponds after the first terminal equipment triggers the sidelink discontinuous reception cmmand [pg. 5 sec. 2.4].
Although MediaTek discloses SL DRX, as discussed above, MediaTek does not explicitly disclose for triggering a scheduling request: first triggering processor circuitry configured to trigger a first scheduling request. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Xu.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses:
for triggering a scheduling request [par. 0093]:
first triggering processor circuitry [par. 0093, fig. 12 no. 1201] configured to trigger a first scheduling request [par. 0093, fig. 4 “SR”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MediaTek with Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of sending data to terminal 2 when it does not have a SL grant [Xu par. 0093].
Regarding claim 2, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
MediaTek and Xu further disclose:
wherein the first triggering processor circuitry triggers the first scheduling request [Xu, as discussed above] to which the sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds [MediaTek, as discussed above] when one of the following conditions is satisfied that:
there exists no sidelink resource used for new transmission [Xu par. 0093]; and
a sidelink resource used for new transmission is unable to accommodate a sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE and its sub-header.
Regarding claim 3, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
MediaTek and Xu further disclose wherein the apparatus further comprises:
second triggering processor circuitry [Xu par. 0093, fig. 12 no. 1201] configured to trigger a second scheduling request [par. 0093, fig. 4, where UE1 and UE2 continue communicating over time] to which the sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds after the first terminal equipment transmits the sidelink discontinuous reception command [MediaTek, as discussed above].
Regarding claim 4, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
MediaTek and Xu further disclose:
wherein the second triggering processor circuitry triggers the second scheduling request to which the sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds when one of the following conditions is satisfied that:
a sidelink resource used for new transmission is able to accommodate a sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE and its sub-header and all data waiting to be transmitted (SL data is transmitted (i.e., must accommodate the above) [fig. 4 “SL data”]); and
a sidelink resource used for new transmission is able to accommodate a sub- header of a sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE and all data waiting to be transmitted (SL data is transmitted (i.e., must accommodate the above) [fig. 4 “SL data”]).
Regarding claim 5, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Xu further discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises:
a receiver [fig. 16 no. 160, “Control circuit”, “Antenna”] configured to receive configuration information transmitted by a network device, the configuration information comprising at least one SR configuration [par. 0112]; and
a transmitter [fig. 16 no. 160, “Control circuit”, “Antenna”] configured to transmit the first scheduling request to which the sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds by using at least one SR configuration in the at least one SR configuration [par. 0112].
Regarding claim 6, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
MediaTek further discloses:
wherein the configuration information is contained in RRC signaling [pg. 2 sec. 2.1 “Drawback 2”].
Regarding claim 7, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Xu further discloses:
wherein the SR configuration comprises PUCCH resources on a bandwidth part (BWP) (Freq. domain position (i.e., BWP) [par. 0111]).
Regarding claim 9, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Xu further discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises:
canceling processor circuitry [fig. 12 no. 1202] configured to, when a sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE is transmitted, cancel the first scheduling request to which the sidelink discontinuous reception command corresponds [par. 0098-99].
Regarding claim 10, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Xu further discloses further comprising:
a first transmitter [fig. 16 no. 160, “Control circuit”, “Antenna”] configured to transmit a sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE (SL DRX command MAC CE) to the second terminal device, and a priority of the sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE is predefined [par. 0094, 116, where the priority is previously known].
Regarding claim 11, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Xu further discloses:
wherein during the LCP process of the first terminal device, the priority of the sidelink discontinuous reception command MAC CE is lower than a priority of the sidelink CSI reporting MAC CE and higher than a priority of the sidelink traffic channel data (SL BSR priority is higher than UL data priority and the UL BSR MAC CE priority is higher than the SL BSR MAC CE priority or SL BSR MAC CE priority is higher than UL BSR MAC CE (i.e., one of ordinary skill in the art would choose priorities based on the requirements of the system processing) [par. 0116, 257]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MediaTek and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20220007388 A1).
Regarding claim 8, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although MediaTek discloses SL DRX, as discussed above, MediaTek and Xu do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one SR configuration is SR configuration configured by the network device for a sidelink channel state information reporting. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses:
wherein the at least one SR configuration is SR configuration configured by the network device for a sidelink channel state information reporting [fig. 16 no. S1640, fig. 13-14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MediaTek and Xu with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of alleviating the overhead of an eNB caused by increasing data traffic [Lee par. 0002].
Regarding claim 12, MediaTek and Xu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although MediaTek and Xu disclose a generator [fig. 16 “Processor”, “Control circuit”], configured to generate a MAC PDU [Xu par. 0087 (and following)] if there is the SL DRX command MAC CE generated [MediaTek, as discussed above], as discussed above, MediaTek and Xu do not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus further comprises: for a PSSCH transmission. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises:
for a PSSCH transmission [par. 0112, 118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MediaTek and Xu with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of alleviating the overhead of an eNB caused by increasing data traffic [Lee par. 0002].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465