DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 7/17/2025, have been fully considered but they are not entirely persuasive.
Applicant Argues that Kuehnle fails to disclose first and second calibration information, each including an arranged position, a photographing angle, and a photographing direction for each of the plurality of cameras arranged on both trailers. In support, Applicant states that the Kuehnle optical axis location and focal length are not enough. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As set forth in Kuehnle: [0017]; each ECU has knowledge of the number and calibration of each camera associated with it; [0018] ECU in each vehicle segment coordinates sensor characteristic signals, such as camera field of view and camera installation parameters; Each segment's ECU collects, formats, manages and packages its local information and information flow, including any parameters associated with its segment. The segment ECUs transmit this information to master ECU in tractor; [0020]; calibration information of each camera includes optical axis location and focal length; all camera information is provided between the tractor and trailer ECUs; [0022]; trailer has a forward passenger side trailer camera, a forward driver side trailer camera, a rear passenger side trailer camera and a rear driver side trailer camera; system is not limited to only four trailer cameras or to six total cameras, but any desired number of cameras may be couple to the respective ECUs, and any desired number of trailers may be coupled to the vehicle; [0023]; trailer cameras have overlapping fields of view and capture video image data of their respective views of the surroundings of the trailer; [0034]; processor executes an articulation angle compensation module to determine an articulation angle between the tractor and the trailer, and to compensate for the articulation angle when executing an image processing module to generate a composite image of the vehicle from the tractor image data and the trailer image data; stitching module stitches together image frames from the tractor and trailer image data and removes redundant pixels such as occur due to the overlapping fields of view of the pluralities of cameras.
Thus Kuehnle discloses first and second calibration information, each including an arranged position, a photographing angle, and a photographing direction for each of the plurality of cameras arranged on both trailers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Kuehnle et al. (US 2016/0366336).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kuehnle discloses:
A method for generating a surround view image of a trailer vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving, by an image processing device of a tractor, first calibration information for a plurality of cameras arranged on a first trailer from an image processing device arranged on the first trailer (Kuehnle: Fig 1; [0017]-[0020]; ECUs on tractor and trailer; master ECU / first ECU 14 in tractor; second ECU 24 in trailer; each ECU has calibration information on cameras; datalink between ECUs; all camera information and images are shared between ECUs; [0032]; [0025]; articulation angle a between the tractor 12 and trailer 22; [0030]; [0034]; [0041]);
receiving, by the image processing device of the tractor, first trailer image information comprising images captured by the plurality of cameras of the first trailer from the first trailer (Kuehnle: [0019]-[0020]; first ECU 14 in tractor receives images from second ECU 24 in trailer; [0023]-[0025]);
generating, by the image processing device of the tractor, tractor image information comprising images captured by a plurality of cameras arranged on the tractor (Kuehnle: [0019]-[0020]; first ECU stitches images to generate a tractor surround view image; [0022]) ; and
generating, by the image processing device of the tractor, the surround view image of the trailer vehicle using the first trailer image information, the tractor image information, and the first calibration information (Kuehnle: [0019]-[0020]; first ECU stiches the stitched trailer image data with the previously stitched tractor image data to generate a complete surround view image; [0023]-[0025]);
receiving, by the image processing device of the tractor, second calibration information for a plurality of cameras arranged in a second trailer and second trailer image information comprising images captured by the plurality of cameras arranged in the second trailer from an image processing device arranged on the second trailer when the tractor and the second trailer are newly connected (Kuehnle: Fig 1; [0017]-[0020]; multiple trailers, including newly added trailer; each trailer has its own ECU and sensors/cameras; each ECU has its own calibration; each ECU transmits images and calibration information to master ECU; [0034]; detecting trailer near primary ECU/tractor); and
generating, by the image processing device of the tractor, a new surround view image for the trailer vehicle using the first trailer image information, the second trailer image information, and the second calibration information (Kuehnle: Fig 1; [0017]-[0020]; first ECU stiches the stitched trailer image data with the previously stitched tractor image data to generate a complete surround view image using images and calibration information from trailer; driver is provided a consistent surround view of the vehicle regardless of which tractor is connected to which trailer; [0023]-[0025]);
wherein the first calibration information comprises an arranged position, a photographing angle, and a photographing direction for each of the plurality of cameras arranged on the first trailer (Kuehnle: [0017]; each ECU has knowledge of the number and calibration of each camera associated with it; [0018] ECU in each vehicle segment coordinates sensor characteristic signals, such as camera field of view and camera installation parameters; Each segment's ECU collects, formats, manages and packages its local information and information flow, including any parameters associated with its segment. The segment ECUs transmit this information to master ECU in tractor; [0020]; calibration information of each camera includes optical axis location and focal length; all camera information is provided between the tractor and trailer ECUs; [0022]; trailer has a forward passenger side trailer camera, a forward driver side trailer camera, a rear passenger side trailer camera and a rear driver side trailer camera; system is not limited to only four trailer cameras or to six total cameras, but any desired number of cameras may be couple to the respective ECUs, and any desired number of trailers may be coupled to the vehicle; [0023]; trailer cameras have overlapping fields of view and capture video image data of their respective views of the surroundings of the trailer; [0034]; processor executes an articulation angle compensation module to determine an articulation angle between the tractor and the trailer, and to compensate for the articulation angle when executing an image processing module to generate a composite image of the vehicle from the tractor image data and the trailer image data; stitching module stitches together image frames from the tractor and trailer image data and removes redundant pixels such as occur due to the overlapping fields of view of the pluralities of cameras),
wherein the second calibration information comprises an arranged position, a photographing angle, and a photographing direction for each of the plurality of cameras arranged on the second trailer (Kuehnle: [0017]; each ECU has knowledge of the number and calibration of each camera associated with it; [0018] ECU in each vehicle segment coordinates sensor characteristic signals, such as camera field of view and camera installation parameters; Each segment's ECU collects, formats, manages and packages its local information and information flow, including any parameters associated with its segment. The segment ECUs transmit this information to master ECU in tractor; [0020]; calibration information of each camera includes optical axis location and focal length; all camera information is provided between the tractor and trailer ECUs; [0022]; trailer has a forward passenger side trailer camera, a forward driver side trailer camera, a rear passenger side trailer camera and a rear driver side trailer camera; system is not limited to only four trailer cameras or to six total cameras, but any desired number of cameras may be couple to the respective ECUs, and any desired number of trailers may be coupled to the vehicle; [0023]; trailer cameras have overlapping fields of view and capture video image data of their respective views of the surroundings of the trailer; [0034]; processor executes an articulation angle compensation module to determine an articulation angle between the tractor and the trailer, and to compensate for the articulation angle when executing an image processing module to generate a composite image of the vehicle from the tractor image data and the trailer image data; stitching module stitches together image frames from the tractor and trailer image data and removes redundant pixels such as occur due to the overlapping fields of view of the pluralities of cameras), and
wherein a size of the first trailer and a size of the second trailer are different, or the first calibration information and the second calibration information are different each other (Kuehnle: [0017]; each ECU has knowledge of the number and calibration of each camera associated with it; [0018] ECU in each vehicle segment coordinates sensor characteristic signals, such as camera field of view and camera installation parameters; Each segment's ECU collects, formats, manages and packages its local information and information flow, including any parameters associated with its segment. The segment ECUs transmit this information to master ECU in tractor; [0020]; calibration information of each camera includes optical axis location and focal length; all camera information is provided between the tractor and trailer ECUs; [0022]; trailer has a forward passenger side trailer camera, a forward driver side trailer camera, a rear passenger side trailer camera and a rear driver side trailer camera; system is not limited to only four trailer cameras or to six total cameras, but any desired number of cameras may be couple to the respective ECUs, and any desired number of trailers may be coupled to the vehicle; [0023]; trailer cameras have overlapping fields of view and capture video image data of their respective views of the surroundings of the trailer; [0034]; processor executes an articulation angle compensation module to determine an articulation angle between the tractor and the trailer, and to compensate for the articulation angle when executing an image processing module to generate a composite image of the vehicle from the tractor image data and the trailer image data; stitching module stitches together image frames from the tractor and trailer image data and removes redundant pixels such as occur due to the overlapping fields of view of the pluralities of cameras).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Kuehnle discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the image processing device of the tractor is an electronic control unit (ECU) arranged on the tractor, and the image processing device of the first trailer is an ECU arranged on the first trailer (Kuehnle: Fig 1-4; [0017]-[0025]).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Kuehnle discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first calibration information further comprises a turning angle of the first trailer, and the image processing device of the tractor further uses the turning angle to generate the surround view image (Kuehnle: [0025]; [0030]; [0034]; [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Kuehnle discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first trailer image information comprises a surround view image of the first trailer or the images captured by the plurality of cameras of the first trailer (Kuehnle: [0019]-[0020]; [0023]-[0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuehnle et al. (US 2016/0366336).
Regarding claim 3,
Kuehnle teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the image processing device of the tractor generates the surround view image (as shown above)
Kuehnle fails to teach:
by using a deep learning model.
Official notice is taken that it was, at the time of invention, well known for an image processing device of a tractor that generates a surround view image to use a deep learning model.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine a deep learning model with the image processing device of the tractor that generates the surround view image in Kuehnle. Using a deep learning model would enhance image quality and customization options.
Since Applicant’s 07/17/2025 reply does not specifically point out any supposed errors in the official notice in examiner’s 04/08/2025 action, such as why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art, Applicant does not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or Applicant’s traverse is not adequate. Thus, this official notice is maintained, considered prior art and made final. It is noted that a mere request by the applicant that the examiner provide documentary evidence in support of an officially-noticed fact is not a proper traversal (See MPEP 2144.03).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488