DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The previous claim objections are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, line 3, the phrase “for manual operation mode” should be “for a manual operation mode”.
Regarding claim 5, lines 5-6, the phrase “from manual operation mode to automated operation mode” should be “from the manual operation mode to an automated operation mode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 8, the terms “Partial Working Mode Perfusion” and “Left Atrial Perfusion”, according the instant specification, these terms are interchangeable (instant specification, paragraph [00116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “the replaceable reservoir comprises … a diverter that when activated redirects at least a portion of the perfusate from the first filter to the second filter”. However, amended independent claim 1 already has two diverters. It is unclear if claim 3’s diverter is the same as one of the amended independent claim 1’s diverters or not.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the replaceable reservoir comprises: a first supply reservoir configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit; a second supply reservoir configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit; and a bulk perfusate diversion system …”. It is unclear if the three elements (i.e. a first supply reservoir, a second supply reservoir, and a bulk perfusate diversion system) constituting the replaceable reservoir are the same elements as what are already claimed in amended independent claim 1. This claim appears to be disclosing what is already in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassanein-4357 (US 20060154357) (previously cited in the International Search Report filed 05/06/2024) in view of Freed (US 20150017710) (previously cited), Brassil (US 20220408720) (previously cited), and Migliazza (US 20240130358) (newly cited). Regarding claim 1, Hassanein-4357 discloses a system for perfusion of an organ (paragraph [0009]), the system comprising:
an organ chamber (paragraph [0011] “organ chamber assembly”) configured to house an organ (paragraph [0011] “heart”);
a fluid circuit (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0101]) comprising:
tubing that couples to the organ within the organ chamber and carries a perfusate to and from the organ (Figs. 3-4 and paragraph [0090] and paragraph [0225] “perfusate lines”);
a pump coupled to the tubing (Figs. 3-4 and paragraph [0011]), the pump configured to drive the perfusate through the fluid circuit (paragraph [0011]);
a reservoir (paragraph [0011]) coupled to the fluid circuit;
an oxygenator (paragraph [0011]) coupled to the tubing and configured to exchange oxygen gas (paragraph [0013]) with waste gas (paragraph [0097] “carbon dioxide”, inherent to the heart that a waste gas can be carbon dioxide) in the perfusate;
a hemofilter (paragraph [0198]) coupled to the tubing and configured to remove an ultrafiltrate comprising metabolic waste (paragraph [0198] “debris, blood particles, emboli, and air bubbles”) from the perfusate; and
a controller (paragraph [0097] “controller 150”) coupled to the fluid circuit, the controller configured to manage a plurality of perfusion parameters of the fluid circuit to perfuse the organ (paragraphs [0097], [0115], [0138] “gas flow into the oxygenator”, “temperatures”, and “the pumping” subsystems).
Hassanein-4357, Fig. 1
Hassanein-4357 does not disclose:
a replaceable reservoir coupled to the fluid circuit and comprising:
a first supply reservoir having a first inlet and a first outlet;
a second supply reservoir having a second inlet and a second outlet;
an inlet diverter in fluid communication with the fluid circuit, the first inlet, and the second inlet; and
an outlet diverter in fluid communication with the first outlet, the second outlet, and the fluid circuit;
wherein the inlet diverter and the outlet diverter are configured to selectively redirect perfusate flow between the first supply reservoir and the second supply reservoir such that a first quantity of perfusate in the fluid circuit is replaced with a second quantity of perfusate while perfusion of the organ continues without interruption;
a filtrate replacement fluid supply coupled to the fluid circuit and configured to supply filtrate replacement fluid to the perfusate to replace at least a portion of fluid removed from the perfusate as the ultrafiltrate.
Regarding feature 1, Freed discloses a replaceable reservoir coupled to the fluid circuit (paragraph [0039]).
In the analogous art of apparatuses for heart transplantation, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hassanein-4357 with the replaceable reservoir of Freed in order to replace the reservoir to sterilize the reservoir of the apparatus for multiple uses.
Migliazza discloses a first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”) having a first inlet (annotated Fig. 3, bottom-right of element 11, “valve”) and a first outlet (paragraph [0104]; annotated Fig. 3, right element 16 “first outlet port”);
a second supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 15 “a second chamber”) having a second inlet (annotated Fig. 3, bottom-left of element 11, “valve”) and a second outlet (paragraph [0104]; annotated Fig. 3, left element 16 [sic, labeled 16 in Fig. 3, should be element 17 from paragraph [0104]] “first outlet port”);
an inlet diverter in fluid communication with the fluid circuit, the first inlet, and the second inlet (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 11 “valve”); and
an outlet diverter in fluid communication with the first outlet, the second outlet, and the fluid circuit (paragraph [0104], shutoff valves together constitute this limitation, “[each outlet port] may each include a shut off valve or a stopcock”);
wherein the inlet diverter (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 11 “valve”) and the outlet diverter (paragraph [0104], shutoff valves together constitute this limitation, “[each outlet port] may each include a shut off valve or a stopcock”) are configured to selectively redirect perfusate flow (paragraph [0101]) between the first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”) and the second supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 15 “a second chamber”) such that a first quantity of perfusate in the fluid circuit is replaced with a second quantity of perfusate while perfusion of the organ continues without interruption (paragraph [0101]).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion and preservation systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of modified Hassanein-4357 with the two reservoirs of Migliazza in order to facilitate priming of the fluid inflow and outflow lines (Migliazza, paragraph [0104]) so that there are fewer or no air bubbles in the lines.
Regarding the phrase “are configured to selectively redirect perfusate flow between the first supply reservoir and the second supply reservoir such that a first quantity of perfusate in the fluid circuit is replaced with a second quantity of perfusate while perfusion of the organ continues without interruption” the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Hassanein-4357 would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the first and second reservoirs.
Magliazzi, annotated Fig. 3
Regarding feature 2, Brassil discloses a filtrate replacement fluid supply coupled to the fluid circuit and configured to supply filtrate replacement fluid to the perfusate to replace at least a portion of fluid removed from the perfusate as the ultrafiltrate (paragraph [0125] “reservoir bottle … stores and supplies dialysate”).
In the analogous art of apparatuses for organ isolation, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hassanein-4357 with the filtrate replacement fluid of Brassil in order to filter wastes from perfusate but add replacement fluid for the perfusate fluid filtered out with the wastes so that the total amount of fluid in the system remains constant over time allowing for predictable and steadier operating states.
Brassil, Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Hassanein-4357 discloses the reservoir (paragraph [0011]) and perfusate (paragraph [0011]).
Hassanein-4357 does not disclose wherein the inlet diverter and the outlet diverter are configured such that the second supply reservoir supplies the second quantity of perfusate to the fluid circuit while the first supply reservoir receives at least a portion of the first quantity of perfusate from the fluid circuit, whereby the second quantity of perfusate displaces at least a portion of the first quantity of perfusate from the fluid circuit into the first supply reservoir.
Migliazza discloses wherein the inlet diverter (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 11 “valve”) and the outlet diverter (paragraph [0104], shutoff valves together constitute this limitation, “[each outlet port] may each include a shut off valve or a stopcock”) are configured such that the second supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 15 “a second chamber”) supplies the second quantity of perfusate to the fluid circuit (paragraph [0101] “Upon initial activation of the system, perfusion fluid 18 returning to the fluid reservoir 10 via the fluid outflow line 44 may be directed into the second chamber 15 via the valve 11.”) while the first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”) receives at least a portion of the first quantity of perfusate from the fluid circuit (paragraph [0101] “Actuation of the valve 11 at some time after initial activation of the system may direct perfusion fluid 18 returning to the fluid reservoir 10 via the fluid outflow line 44 into the first chamber 13 via the valve 11.”), whereby the second quantity of perfusate displaces at least a portion of the first quantity of perfusate from the fluid circuit (paragraph [0101] “Actuation of the valve 11 at some time after initial activation of the system may direct perfusion fluid 18 returning to the fluid reservoir 10 via the fluid outflow line 44 into the first chamber 13 via the valve 11.”) into the first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion and preservation systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of modified Hassanein-4357 with the two reservoirs of Migliazza in order to facilitate priming of the fluid inflow and outflow lines (Migliazza, paragraph [0104]) so that there are fewer or no air bubbles in the lines.
Regarding claim 4, Hassanein-4357 does not disclose wherein the replaceable reservoir comprises:
a first supply reservoir configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit;
a second supply reservoir configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit; and
a bulk perfusate diversion system configured to exchange perfusate in the first supply reservoir with perfusate in the second supply reservoir for a bulk removal of metabolic waste in the perfusate.
Regarding the term “replaceable reservoir”, see Freed’s disclosure above to parent claim 1.
Migliazza discloses wherein the reservoir comprises:
a first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”) configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 8, elements 44 “fluid outflow line” and 42 “fluid inflow line”);
a second supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 15 “a second chamber”) configured to be coupled to the fluid circuit (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 8, elements 44 “fluid outflow line” and 42 “fluid inflow line”); and
a bulk perfusate diversion system (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 11 “valve” for an inlet diverter; and, paragraph [0104], shutoff valves together constitute this limitation, “[each outlet port] may each include a shut off valve or a stopcock” for an outlet diverter) configured to exchange perfusate (paragraph [0101]) in the first supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 13 “a first chamber”) with perfusate in the second supply reservoir (paragraph [0101]; Fig. 3, element 15 “a second chamber”).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion and preservation systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of modified Hassanein-4357 with the two reservoirs and bulk perfusate diversion system of Migliazza in order to supply perfusate and replacement fluid for the perfusate fluid in order to filter out wastes so that the organ remains viable over the time that the perfusate is recirculated in the fluid circuit.
Regarding the limitation “configured to exchange perfusate in the first supply reservoir with perfusate in the second supply reservoir for a bulk removal of metabolic waste in the perfusate”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Hassanein-4357 would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of the first supply reservoir, second supply reservoir, and a bulk perfusate diversion system as taught above.
Regarding claim 5, Hassanein-4357 discloses further comprising:
a user interface configured to display information to an operator and accept input data from the operator for perfusion parameters for manual operation mode of at least one control loop of a plurality of control loops of the system (paragraph [0151] “operator interface”); and
wherein the controller (paragraph [0097] “controller 150”) is configured to transition the at least one control loop from manual operation mode to automated operation mode in response to user input from the operator (paragraph [0154] “manually impose, or adjust … a subsystem” and/or “automatically program the pumping subsystem”).
Regarding claim 6, Hassanein-4357 discloses wherein the controller (paragraph [0097] “controller 150”) is configured to operate the at least one control loop in the automated operation mode (paragraph [0154] “manually impose, or adjust … a subsystem” and/or “automatically program the pumping subsystem”) while another one of the plurality of control loops operates in the manual operation mode (paragraph [0159] “provide manual control over the operation of the system 100. For example, the knob 626 may be used to provide instructions to the controller 150 to increase perfusion fluid flow rates, gas flow rates, etc.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hassanein-4357 discloses wherein the controller modulates the plurality of perfusion parameters of the fluid circuit to perfuse the organ based on a perfusion protocol (paragraphs [0143], [0145], [0151], and [0154]).
Regarding claim 9, Hassanein-4357 discloses wherein the controller modulates a rate of the perfusate based on a measured parameter of at least one of the organ and the fluid circuit (paragraph [0017]).
Hassanein-4357 does not disclose wherein the controller modulates at least one of a rate at which filtrate replacement fluid is supplied to the perfusate and a rate at which ultrafiltrate is removed from the perfusate based on a measured parameter of at least one of the organ and the fluid circuit.
Brassil discloses wherein the controller (paragraphs [0098] and [0103], Fig. 1, element 15 “CPU”) modulates at least one of a rate at which filtrate replacement fluid is supplied to the perfusate and a rate at which ultrafiltrate is removed from the perfusate based on a measured parameter of at least one of the organ and the fluid circuit (paragraph [0112], Fig. 1, element 26 “pressure sensor”; paragraph [0118], Fig. 1, element 36 “flow sensor”; paragraphs [0123]-[0124], Fig. 1, element 42.1, “Dialysis pressure sensor”).
In the analogous art of apparatuses for organ isolation, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hassanein-4357 with the controller modulating the flow of the filtrate replacement fluid and ultrafiltration removal based on measured parameters of Brassil in order to manage perfusion pressure, flow, and pulsatility (Brassil, paragraph [0098]), and so that lactate, one of the waste products, can be removed from the perfusate for less feedback inhibition of glycolysis in the organ, resulting in viability improvements (Brassil, paragraph [0175]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassanein-4357 (US 20060154357) (previously cited in the International Search Report filed 05/06/2024) in view of Freed (US 20150017710) (previously cited), Brassil (US 20220408720) (previously cited), and Migliazza (US 20240130358) (newly cited) as applied in claim 1, further in view of Hassanein-5011 (WO 9915011) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Hassanein-4357 discloses the reservoir (paragraph [0011]).
Hassanein-4357 does not disclose wherein the replaceable reservoir comprises a first filter, a second filter, and a diverter that when activated redirects at least a portion of the perfusate from the first filter to the second filter.
Hassanein-5011 discloses wherein the reservoir comprises a first filter and a second filter (Fig. 5, elements 214 are a pair of filters in parallel and pg. 27, first full paragraph).
Regarding the term “diverter”, Hassanein-5011 discloses a flow control means (pg. 6, letter “h”) and a Y-connector (pg. 29, first half paragraph) within their invention.
In the analogous art of devices for maintaining an organ, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Hassanein-4357 with the pair of filters of Hassanein-5011, the flow control means, and the Y-connector of Hassanein-5011 in order to branch the flow of perfusate and control the total flow between the branches; the pair of filters receives flow of perfusate from these branches in parallel.
Hassanein-011, Fig. 5
Regarding the term “replaceable reservoir”, see Freed’s disclosure above to parent claim 1.
Regarding the phrase “that when activated redirects at least a portion of the perfusate from the first filter to the second filter”, this would be expected based on the placement of a flow control means within a Y – connector. Additionally, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Hassanein-4357 would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the Y-connector and a flow control means.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassanein-4357 (US 20060154357) (previously cited in the International Search Report filed 05/06/2024) in view of Freed (US 20150017710) (previously cited), Brassil (US 20220408720) (previously cited), and Migliazza (US 20240130358) (newly cited) as applied to claim 7; or alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hassanein-4357 (US 20060154357) (previously cited in the International Search Report filed 05/06/2024) in view of Freed (US 20150017710) (previously cited), Brassil (US 20220408720) (previously cited), and Migliazza (US 20240130358) (newly cited) as applied to claim 7, further in view of Sciortino (US 20230217916) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Hassanein-4357 discloses wherein the organ is a heart (paragraph [0009]), and includes at least one perfusion mode selected from working-mode perfusion (normal flow mode in paragraph [0010]) and a “Langendorff” perfusion (retrograde aortic flow mode in paragraph [0010]).
Hassanein-4357 does not disclose wherein the perfusion protocol includes at least one perfusion mode selected from “Partial Working Mode Perfusion” and “Left Atrial Perfusion”.
Regarding the terms “Partial Working Mode Perfusion” and “Left Atrial Perfusion”, according the instant specification, these terms are interchangeable (instant specification, paragraph [00116]).
Regarding the limitations above, the limitations are deemed to be phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, and no further rejections are required at this time.
Nevertheless, Sciortino discloses “Left Heart Working Mode” which is same as “Left Atrial Perfusion” or “Partial Working Mode Perfusion” (paragraphs [0009], [0014], and [0055]) as well as the other modes of perfusion (paragraph [0014] “Langendorff Perfusion Mode” and “Whole Heart Working Mode”).
In the analogous art of ex-vivo heart perfusion systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hassanein-4357 with the protocols of Sciortino in order to perfuse the heart in different methods for a variety of reasons, including: resuscitation under Langendorff perfusion mode (Sciortino, paragraphs [0053] and [0055]), testing for ventricular contractility for myocardial viability (Sciortino, paragraph [0055]), working mode for simulating full physiological circulation (Sciortino, paragraph [0052]).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Fahy (US 5856081) (newly cited) – This invention is a perfusion apparatus that contains two parallelized filters that provide sterilization to the perfusate (see Fig. 1A, elements F1 and F1`).
Vacanti (US 20230380415) (newly cited) – This invention is a liquid-tight case for a tissue device and system which has a two-inlet manifold.
Flake (US 20180168901) (newly cited) – This invention is a extracorporeal support apparatus for a premature fetus that contains a parallel filter setup (see Fig. 12, elements 250).
Jessop (US 20230189792) (newly cited) – This invention has two reservoirs and valves, but the reservoirs are in a reciprocating arrangement with the tissue compartment.
Hou (US 20220400665) (newly cited) – This invention has two inlet reservoirs and a stopcock to switch between the two reservoirs, but no inlet diverter to the two reservoirs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding pgs. 8-9 of 13 of Applicant remarks, the interview summary provided by the Applicant is acknowledged.
Regarding pg. 9 of 13 of Applicant remarks, the information about the reference in the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged.
Regarding pg. 9 of 13 of Applicant remarks, the replacement abstract is acknowledged. The examiner studied the abstract and did not find any objections.
Regarding pg. 10 of 13 of Applicant remarks, the previous claim objections are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Regarding pgs. 10-11 of 13 of Applicant remarks, the claim amendments are addressed within this Office Action and are examined on the merits. In brief:
Claim 1 has been amended, but is now rejected with newly cited Migliazzi.
Claim 2 has been amended, but is now rejected with newly cited Migliazzi.
Claim 6 has been amended, but stands rejected.
Claim 8 has been amended, but stands rejected.
Claim 9 has been amended, but stands rejected.
Claims 3-5 and 7 are original claims, but stand rejected.
Regarding pg. 11 of 13 of Applicant remarks, claim 8 is no longer rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). The claim includes a proper Markush group.
Regarding pgs. 11-12 of 13 of Applicant remarks, reference Migliazzi is newly cited. Migliazzi describes the amended features of claim 1 about a first supply reservoir, a second supply reservoir, an inlet diverter, and an outlet diverter.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799