DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 09/02/2025.
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-19 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-19 are amended directly or via a claim they depend from.
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-19 are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Please see document type - Priority Documents electronically retrieved by USPTO from a participating IP Office - received on 12/02/2025 for verification.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 § USC 103: Applicant has respectfully argued that
applied reference Diamond (US 2016/0035246 A1) fails to teach or suggest all the features of claim 1, arguing that Diamond specifically, “fails to disclose or render obvious anything about using one or both of an artificial intelligence engine or a machine learning engine to derive heuristic relationships between data input to a real-time control function and control parameters of the real-time control function,” and goes onto argue that Diamond fails to disclose or render obvious anything about a, “real-time control function,” which carries out the limitations of Claim 1. The argument is also applicable to independent claims 10 and 19 which contain substantially similar limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument, citing real time control function from within at least the following paragraph which recites, (Paragraph [0063]) “the generating the adaptive prediction may further include monitoring a state of the one or more electrified vehicle batteries, timing a discharge of the one or more electrified vehicle batteries, monitoring a position of the electrified vehicle relative to one or more maps, and providing an adaptive prediction of depletion as modified by the monitored position and the monitored state of the one or more electrified vehicle batteries.” Therefore, the adaptive prediction occurs in real time. Diamond goes on to describe that, the adaptive prediction may provide, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 2-4) “a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
Furthermore, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 4-6) “the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration,” and that, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 12-14) “the dynamic alteration can include changing operation characteristics of vehicle 101,” which may include for example, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 8-10) “changing a maximum acceleration, eliminating one or more drive modes, and/or adjust controls such as throttle response or the like,” and that, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 12-16) “certain powertrain operational modes reduce efficiency but increase performance. An example would be the torque split ratio on an AWD BEV which is the ratio of front axle to rear axle torque output.”
Diamond ties machine learning to the control alteration by reciting, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 22-24) “According to embodiments herein, dynamic control alteration adjusts using machine learning according to the driver’s driving style.” The Examiner is interpreting the driver’s driving style as input data that is used to adjust the dynamic control alteration which occurs by using machine learning. Therefore, the disclosure of Diamond is not limited to merely, “actively truncating power as required to maintain battery temperature and power density,” as the Applicant as argued. Additionally, as the Examiner as previously established through paragraph [0065], dynamic control operation may be implemented directly in real time. Therefore, real time dynamic alteration of vehicle operational parameters occurs at least partially due to machine learning.
Therefore, the rejections have been reapplied in the following section in a manner in which corresponds to the rearrangement of limitations form previous dependent claims 6-7 into claim 1 and claims 15-16 into claims 10 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond et al. (US 2023/0150394 A1, hereinafter Diamond), in view of White et al. (US 2017/0072938 A1, hereinafter White).
White discloses a, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 11-12) “hybrid vehicle 100 [which] is operated in a sporty and/or racetrack fashion,” placing the reference in a substantially related field of endeavor.
Claim 1 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A method for performance-optimized control of a powertrain of an electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-11) “The disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for adaptive prediction of electrified vehicle performance including receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a drivers performance requirements, receiving a set of fixed parameters related to course, vehicle and passenger status, receiving past energy consumption data for the electrified vehicle and the driver, generating an adaptive prediction of a future state of charge (SOC) of one or more electricity sources, and providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
“the method comprising: acquiring, by a sensor system of the electric vehicle, vehicle status data of the electric vehicle along a specified drive route for the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “the electrified vehicle may include a display configured to provide a recommended alteration in course based on the adaptive prediction, the recommendation including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters, a route alteration to preserve a reserve SOC for return to the choice of charging location.”
“the vehicle status data including a state of charge (SOC) of a traction battery of the electric vehicle”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0010], Lines 1-3) “this disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for battery electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 17-20) “The adaptive prediction can include the electrified vehicle’s current state of charge (SOC) and current energy capacity and consumption and number of miles on the course.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061], Lines 1-4) “the adaptive prediction may update energy usage of an electrified vehicle and include updates that take into account any regenerative sources for battery charging such as regenerative braking.” Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the disclosure of Diamond comprises a traction battery.
“and a battery temperature of the traction battery;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-17) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 19-25) “In one or more embodiments, over the air updates may recalibrate vehicle 101 for a specific track/course or for additional vehicle performance capabilities such as to allow for higher current / power discharge or charge limits or even expand battery thermal limits such that the battery would not derate or derate less based on reaching a specified temperature threshold.”
“determining, by a navigation system of the electric vehicle, a current position of the electric vehicle along the specified drive route;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0063], Lines 5-6) “monitoring a position of the electrified vehicle relative to one or more maps.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including … location via GPS.”
“receiving driver requests via a driver interface of the electric vehicle;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-5) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters.”
“and continuously controlling, by a system controller of the electric vehicle based on a real- time control function using the vehicle status data, the current position and the driver requests as input data, at least one control parameter along the specified drive route,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 1-8) “Vehicle 101 may further include drive control component 112 that may be coupled to computer 110 to provide an input for a battery SOC calculation, and may also be controlled in accordance with embodiments. For example, drive control component 112 may be configured to change the operational characteristics of vehicle 101 including altering the maximum distance and speed that vehicle 101 is capable of reaching.”
“the at least one control parameter including at least one of a torque distribution among a first electric machine driving a front axle of the electric vehicle and a second electric machine driving a back axle of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 1-17) “In other embodiments, the adaptive prediction may include … providing an adaptive efficiency alteration … An example would be the torque split ratio on an AWD BEV which is the ratio of front axle to rear axle torque output. This ratio could be controlled to favor efficiency rather than to favor vehicle dynamic control / traction.”
“… wherein the real-time control function is adapted to minimize a travel time along at least a portion of the specified drive route while conforming to one or more pre-defined constraints on the vehicle status data;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-9) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters. As shown, display 400 indicates laps remaining 406, and time remaining 408 and an exit point 410. Goal parameters can include desired range at the end of an event 412, a selected track 414, a number of desired laps 416, desired length of racing time 418.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“collecting information about the input data and control commands of the system controller based on the real-time control function along the specified drive route; storing the collected information in a persistent data storage;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 13-18) “Monitor and control module 260 may be coupled to database 270 to provide historical drive data, track data, and the like. Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
“and feeding at least one of the collected information or simulation data about vehicle behavior along the specified drive route to one or both of an artificial intelligence engine or a machine learning engine to derive heuristic relationships between the input data and the control parameters of the real-time control function, taking into account the pre-defined constraints, wherein the real- time control function is adapted based on the heuristic relationships.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 22-30) “According to embodiments herein, dynamic control alteration adjusts using machine learning according to the driver’s driving style and determines if a planned excursion is possible, or recommends a change in driving style or change in route (outbound or return) to account for energy consumption. In one or more embodiments, vehicle 101 actively truncates power as required to maintain battery temperature and power density to ensure that return trip is possible.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“or a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond does not explicitly teach a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle. However, Diamond does teach the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 4-8) “The vehicle 101 may be one of various types of vehicles such as a gasoline powered vehicle, an electrified vehicle, a hybrid electrified vehicle, or an autonomous vehicle, that is configured as an automated or semi-automated vehicle.”
White does explicitly teach the preceding claim limitations.
White teaches, (Paragraph [0013], Lines 1-11) “The hybrid powertrain 20 includes multiple torque -generating devices including an internal combustion engine 40 and at least one electric machine 35. During operation, the internal combustion engine 40 can combust fuel, such as gasoline, in order to propel the hybrid vehicle 100. For example, the internal combustion engine 40 may be a multi-cylinder internal combustion engine that converts fuel to mechanical torque through a thermodynamic combustion process. The internal combustion engine 40 can transfer torque through a transmission 50 to the first axle 62 of the driveline 60.”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-8) “The electric machine 35 may be a high-voltage multi-phase electric motor/generator configured to operate as a motor or as a generator. When operating as a motor, the electric machine 35 converts stored electric energy into to kinetic energy (i.e., torque). When operating as a generator, the electric machine 35 converts kinetic energy (e.g., torque) into electric energy that may be stored in a high-voltage energy storage system 25 (e.g., battery or battery pack).”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021]) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the ... electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-depletion mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the electric machine 35. Accordingly, when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-depletion mode, the electric energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is depleted. In the blended mode, the hybrid powertrain 20 uses power from the internal combustion engine 40 and the electric machine 35 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure directed to systems and methods for hybrid vehicle automated lap, range, and charge monitoring for track usage taught by Diamond, with the explicit torque distribution between an internal combustion engine and battery pack as taught by White, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to utilize torque distribution between multiple powerplants to manage the SOC of the battery in the hybrid vehicle as necessary to achieve track-oriented objectives. As White describes, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-8) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode,” and White goes on to describe, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 1-9) “When the hybrid vehicle 100 is driven in a sporty and/or racetrack fashion, the rate of energy depletion in the electric machine 35 may exceed the rate of replenishment capability under conventional driving conditions. It is therefore desirable to maximize the vehicle dynamic regions (i.e., vehicle operating conditions) in which the hybrid powertrain 20 can operate in the regenerative state in order to maintain the SOC of the energy storage system 25 above or at least equal to a predetermined target SOC.”
Claim 3 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more pre-defined constraints on the vehicle status data comprise at least one of a minimum allowed SOC of the traction battery, a maximum allowed SOC of the traction battery, a maximum allowed battery temperature of the traction battery, a maximum allowed temperature of an electric machine of the electric vehicle, limits on a current trajectory of the electric vehicle along the specified drive route, or traction limits of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0019], Lines 4-12) “the adaptive prediction including updated parameters based on performance of the electrified vehicle may further include predicting a derating of the electrified vehicle, providing an adaptive control efficiency alteration to reduce an energy consumption of the electrified vehicle including one or more of an efficient trajectory, a reduction in a number of motors, and/or predicting an efficiency based on regenerative energy sources.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “the method may also include recommending an alteration in course based on the adaptive prediction, the recommendation including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters, a route alteration to preserve a reserve SOC for return to a charging location.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021]) “the method may include recommending a preliminary derating based on one or more of route characteristics, consumption efficiency, battery temperature and the set of goal parameters.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 5-8) “For example, on a racetrack, the adaptive prediction can identify a location of when and where to exit a race or off-road course to avoid a shut down or excessive de-rate on a course.”
Claim 4 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the specified drive route is a closed racetrack that is circled multiple times by the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0046]) “FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 of a course to exemplify one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The course represented may be either a racetrack or an off-road course with rocks, sand and the like.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0010], Lines 4-9) “More specifically, this disclosure is related to providing electrified vehicle monitoring for on and off road performance driving and racing, and recreational off-road driving. Such metrics include vehicle range, number of laps remaining, and adequate charge time for a specific number of laps, terrain types.”
Claim 5 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring, by the sensor system, environmental data along the specified drive route; and providing the environmental data to the system controller as input data for the real-time control function.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 24-34) “For example, monitor and control module 260 adaptively predict based on data received from sensors 150 and from data received via network 140.In one or more embodiments, data regarding the course environment, such as weather as related to vehicle performance may be included as a fixed parameter. For example, hot weather can deplete electric vehicle batteries quicker than colder weather. Such data can be stored in database 270 after processing or being received via network 140. Sensors 150 can include sensors that detect directly or over GPS, and received and processed by monitor and control module 260.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0057]) “the adaptive prediction can include a level of de-rate from thermal, state of charge (SOC) or user-defined limitations. For example, in some courses, such as off road environments, de-rating can occur from sand driving or extreme rock crawling or the like.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
Claim 8 Discloses (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle status data further includes at least one of vehicle speed, vehicle acceleration, electric parameters of the traction battery, operating speed of an electric machine of the electric vehicle, or operating speed of an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0017], Lines 1-7) “the generating of the adaptive prediction of the future SOC of the electricity sources based on the set of goal parameters, the set of fixed parameters and the past energy consumption data, the adaptive prediction including updated parameters based on performance of the electrified vehicle may include monitoring a state of the one or more electrified vehicle batteries.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 7-8) “In some embodiments, an alteration can include changing a maximum acceleration.”
Claim 9 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the driver requests include at least one of acceleration demands, pedal positions, or steering commands.”
Diamond does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations. Diamond teaches the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 18-21) “if a driver reduces the maximum acceleration limit, the ability of the vehicle to accelerate to higher speeds reduces and potentially reduce the amount of energy “wasted”.”
White does explicitly teach the preceding limitation.
White teaches, (Paragraph [0020], Lines 15-21) “The accelerator pedal provides signal input including an accelerator pedal position indicating an operator request for vehicle acceleration, and the brake pedal provides signal input including a brake pedal position indicating an operator request for vehicle braking. The steering wheel provides an indication of the lateral acceleration of the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure directed to systems and methods for hybrid vehicle automated lap, range, and charge monitoring for track usage taught by Diamond, with the explicit user interface comprising accelerator pedals, brake pedals, and a steering wheel as taught by White, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to utilize significantly well-known methods in the art to receive driver inputs corresponding to vehicle control on a racetrack. As White describes, (Paragraph [0020], Lines 1-4) “The user interface 14 of the hybrid vehicle 100 includes a plurality of human/machine interface devices through which the vehicle operator commands operator of the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Claim 10 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A control system for performance-optimized control of a powertrain of an electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-11) “The disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for adaptive prediction of electrified vehicle performance including receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a drivers performance requirements, receiving a set of fixed parameters related to course, vehicle and passenger status, receiving past energy consumption data for the electrified vehicle and the driver, generating an adaptive prediction of a future state of charge (SOC) of one or more electricity sources, and providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
“the control system comprising: a sensor system configured to acquire vehicle status data of the electric vehicle along a specified drive route of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “the electrified vehicle may include a display configured to provide a recommended alteration in course based on the adaptive prediction, the recommendation including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters, a route alteration to preserve a reserve SOC for return to the choice of charging location.”
“the vehicle status data including a state of charge (SOC) of a traction battery of the electric vehicle”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0010], Lines 1-3) “this disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for battery electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 17-20) “The adaptive prediction can include the electrified vehicle’s current state of charge (SOC) and current energy capacity and consumption and number of miles on the course.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061], Lines 1-4) “the adaptive prediction may update energy usage of an electrified vehicle and include updates that take into account any regenerative sources for battery charging such as regenerative braking.” Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the disclosure of Diamond comprises a traction battery.
“and a battery temperature of the traction battery;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-17) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 19-25) “In one or more embodiments, over the air updates may recalibrate vehicle 101 for a specific track/course or for additional vehicle performance capabilities such as to allow for higher current / power discharge or charge limits or even expand battery thermal limits such that the battery would not derate or derate less based on reaching a specified temperature threshold.”
“a navigation system configured to determine a current position of the electric vehicle along the specified drive route;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0063], Lines 5-6) “monitoring a position of the electrified vehicle relative to one or more maps.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including … location via GPS.”
“a driver interface configured to receive driver requests;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-5) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters.”
“and a system controller configured to continuously control, based on a real-time control function using the vehicle status data, the current position and the driver requests as input data, at least one control parameter along the specified drive route,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 1-8) “Vehicle 101 may further include drive control component 112 that may be coupled to computer 110 to provide an input for a battery SOC calculation, and may also be controlled in accordance with embodiments. For example, drive control component 112 may be configured to change the operational characteristics of vehicle 101 including altering the maximum distance and speed that vehicle 101 is capable of reaching.”
“the at least one control parameter including at least one of a torque distribution among a first electric machine driving a front axle of the electric vehicle and a second electric machine driving a back axle of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 1-17) “In other embodiments, the adaptive prediction may include … providing an adaptive efficiency alteration … An example would be the torque split ratio on an AWD BEV which is the ratio of front axle to rear axle torque output. This ratio could be controlled to favor efficiency rather than to favor vehicle dynamic control / traction.”
“ … wherein the real-time control function is adapted to minimize a travel time along at least a portion of the specified drive route while conforming to one or more pre-defined constraints on the vehicle status data;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-9) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters. As shown, display 400 indicates laps remaining 406, and time remaining 408 and an exit point 410. Goal parameters can include desired range at the end of an event 412, a selected track 414, a number of desired laps 416, desired length of racing time 418.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“collect information about the input data and control commands of the system control based on the real-time control function along the specified drive route; store the collected information in a persistent data storage;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 13-18) “Monitor and control module 260 may be coupled to database 270 to provide historical drive data, track data, and the like. Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
“and feed at least one of the collected information or simulation data about vehicle behavior along the specified drive route to one or both of an artificial intelligence engine or a machine learning engine to derive heuristic relationships between the input data and the control parameters of the real-time control function, taking into account the pre-defined constraints, wherein the real-time control function is adapted based on the heuristic relationships.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 22-30) “According to embodiments herein, dynamic control alteration adjusts using machine learning according to the driver’s driving style and determines if a planned excursion is possible, or recommends a change in driving style or change in route (outbound or return) to account for energy consumption. In one or more embodiments, vehicle 101 actively truncates power as required to maintain battery temperature and power density to ensure that return trip is possible.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“or a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond does not explicitly teach a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle. However, Diamond does teach the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 4-8) “The vehicle 101 may be one of various types of vehicles such as a gasoline powered vehicle, an electrified vehicle, a hybrid electrified vehicle, or an autonomous vehicle, that is configured as an automated or semi-automated vehicle.”
White does explicitly teach the preceding claim limitations.
White teaches, (Paragraph [0013], Lines 1-11) “The hybrid powertrain 20 includes multiple torque -generating devices including an internal combustion engine 40 and at least one electric machine 35. During operation, the internal combustion engine 40 can combust fuel, such as gasoline, in order to propel the hybrid vehicle 100. For example, the internal combustion engine 40 may be a multi-cylinder internal combustion engine that converts fuel to mechanical torque through a thermodynamic combustion process. The internal combustion engine 40 can transfer torque through a transmission 50 to the first axle 62 of the driveline 60.”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-8) “The electric machine 35 may be a high-voltage multi-phase electric motor/generator configured to operate as a motor or as a generator. When operating as a motor, the electric machine 35 converts stored electric energy into to kinetic energy (i.e., torque). When operating as a generator, the electric machine 35 converts kinetic energy (e.g., torque) into electric energy that may be stored in a high-voltage energy storage system 25 (e.g., battery or battery pack).”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021]) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the … electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-depletion mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the electric machine 35. Accordingly, when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-depletion mode, the electric energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is depleted. In the blended mode, the hybrid powertrain 20 uses power from the internal combustion engine 40 and the electric machine 35 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure directed to systems and methods for hybrid vehicle automated lap, range, and charge monitoring for track usage taught by Diamond, with the explicit torque distribution between an internal combustion engine and battery pack as taught by White, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to utilize torque distribution between multiple powerplants to manage the SOC of the battery in the hybrid vehicle as necessary to achieve track-oriented objectives. As White describes, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-8) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode,” and White goes on to describe, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 1-9) “When the hybrid vehicle 100 is driven in a sporty and/or racetrack fashion, the rate of energy depletion in the electric machine 35 may exceed the rate of replenishment capability under conventional driving conditions. It is therefore desirable to maximize the vehicle dynamic regions (i.e., vehicle operating conditions) in which the hybrid powertrain 20 can operate in the regenerative state in order to maintain the SOC of the energy storage system 25 above or at least equal to a predetermined target SOC.”
Claim 12 Discloses: (Original)
“The control system according to claim 10, wherein the one or more pre-defined constraints on the vehicle status data include at least one of a minimum allowed SOC of the traction battery, a maximum allowed SOC of the traction battery, a maximum allowed battery temperature of the traction battery, a maximum allowed temperature of an electric machine of the electric vehicle, limits on a current trajectory of the electric vehicle along the specified drive route, or traction limits of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0019], Lines 4-12) “the adaptive prediction including updated parameters based on performance of the electrified vehicle may further include predicting a derating of the electrified vehicle, providing an adaptive control efficiency alteration to reduce an energy consumption of the electrified vehicle including one or more of an efficient trajectory, a reduction in a number of motors, and/or predicting an efficiency based on regenerative energy sources.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “the method may also include recommending an alteration in course based on the adaptive prediction, the recommendation including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters, a route alteration to preserve a reserve SOC for return to a charging location.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021]) “the method may include recommending a preliminary derating based on one or more of route characteristics, consumption efficiency, battery temperature and the set of goal parameters.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 5-8) “For example, on a racetrack, the adaptive prediction can identify a location of when and where to exit a race or off-road course to avoid a shut down or excessive de-rate on a course.”
Claim 13 Discloses: (Original)
“The control system according to claim 10, wherein the specified drive route is a closed racetrack that is circled multiple times by the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0046]) “FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 of a course to exemplify one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The course represented may be either a racetrack or an off-road course with rocks, sand and the like.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0010], Lines 4-9) “More specifically, this disclosure is related to providing electrified vehicle monitoring for on and off road performance driving and racing, and recreational off-road driving. Such metrics include vehicle range, number of laps remaining, and adequate charge time for a specific number of laps, terrain types.”
Claim 14 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The control system according to claim 10,wherein: the sensor system is further configured to acquire environmental data along the specified drive route; and the system controller is configured to consider the environmental data as input data for the real-time control function.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 24-34) “For example, monitor and control module 260 adaptively predict based on data received from sensors 150 and from data received via network 140.In one or more embodiments, data regarding the course environment, such as weather as related to vehicle performance may be included as a fixed parameter. For example, hot weather can deplete electric vehicle batteries quicker than colder weather. Such data can be stored in database 270 after processing or being received via network 140. Sensors 150 can include sensors that detect directly or over GPS, and received and processed by monitor and control module 260.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0057]) “the adaptive prediction can include a level of de-rate from thermal, state of charge (SOC) or user-defined limitations. For example, in some courses, such as off road environments, de-rating can occur from sand driving or extreme rock crawling or the like.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
Claim 17 Discloses: (Original)
“The control system according to claim 10, wherein the vehicle status data further includes at least one of vehicle speed, vehicle acceleration, electric parameters of the traction battery, operating speed of an electric machine of the electric vehicle, or operating speed of an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0017], Lines 1-7) “the generating of the adaptive prediction of the future SOC of the electricity sources based on the set of goal parameters, the set of fixed parameters and the past energy consumption data, the adaptive prediction including updated parameters based on performance of the electrified vehicle may include monitoring a state of the one or more electrified vehicle batteries.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 7-8) “In some embodiments, an alteration can include changing a maximum acceleration.”
Claim 18 Discloses: (Original)
“The control system according to claim 10, wherein the driver requests include at least one of acceleration demands, pedal positions, or steering commands.”
Diamond does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations. Diamond teaches the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0060], Lines 18-21) “if a driver reduces the maximum acceleration limit, the ability of the vehicle to accelerate to higher speeds reduces and potentially reduce the amount of energy “wasted”.”
White does explicitly teach the preceding limitation.
White teaches, (Paragraph [0020], Lines 15-21) “The accelerator pedal provides signal input including an accelerator pedal position indicating an operator request for vehicle acceleration, and the brake pedal provides signal input including a brake pedal position indicating an operator request for vehicle braking. The steering wheel provides an indication of the lateral acceleration of the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure directed to systems and methods for hybrid vehicle automated lap, range, and charge monitoring for track usage taught by Diamond, with the explicit user interface comprising accelerator pedals, brake pedals, and a steering wheel as taught by White, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to utilize significantly well-known methods in the art to receive driver inputs corresponding to vehicle control on a racetrack. As White describes, (Paragraph [0020], Lines 1-4) “The user interface 14 of the hybrid vehicle 100 includes a plurality of human/machine interface devices through which the vehicle operator commands operator of the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Claim 19 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“An electric vehicle having a control system for performance- optimized control of a powertrain of the electric vehicle, the control system comprising:”
Diamond teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-11) “The disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for adaptive prediction of electrified vehicle performance including receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a drivers performance requirements, receiving a set of fixed parameters related to course, vehicle and passenger status, receiving past energy consumption data for the electrified vehicle and the driver, generating an adaptive prediction of a future state of charge (SOC) of one or more electricity sources, and providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters.”
“a sensor system configured to acquire vehicle status data of the electric vehicle along a specified drive route of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “the electrified vehicle may include a display configured to provide a recommended alteration in course based on the adaptive prediction, the recommendation including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters, a route alteration to preserve a reserve SOC for return to the choice of charging location.”
“the vehicle status data including a state of charge (SOC) of a traction battery of the electric vehicle”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0010], Lines 1-3) “this disclosure is generally directed to systems and methods for battery electric vehicle.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 17-20) “The adaptive prediction can include the electrified vehicle’s current state of charge (SOC) and current energy capacity and consumption and number of miles on the course.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061], Lines 1-4) “the adaptive prediction may update energy usage of an electrified vehicle and include updates that take into account any regenerative sources for battery charging such as regenerative braking.” Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the disclosure of Diamond comprises a traction battery.
“and a battery temperature of the traction battery;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-17) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 19-25) “In one or more embodiments, over the air updates may recalibrate vehicle 101 for a specific track/course or for additional vehicle performance capabilities such as to allow for higher current / power discharge or charge limits or even expand battery thermal limits such that the battery would not derate or derate less based on reaching a specified temperature threshold.”
“a navigation system configured to determine a current position of the electric vehicle along the specified drive route;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0063], Lines 5-6) “monitoring a position of the electrified vehicle relative to one or more maps.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 15-18) “Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including … location via GPS.”
“a driver interface configured to receive driver requests;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-5) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters.”
“and a system controller configured to continuously control, based on a real-time control function using the vehicle status data, the current position, and the driver requests as input data, at least one control parameter along the specified drive route,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 1-8) “Vehicle 101 may further include drive control component 112 that may be coupled to computer 110 to provide an input for a battery SOC calculation, and may also be controlled in accordance with embodiments. For example, drive control component 112 may be configured to change the operational characteristics of vehicle 101 including altering the maximum distance and speed that vehicle 101 is capable of reaching.”
“the at least one control parameter including at least one of a torque distribution among a first electric machine driving a front axle of the electric vehicle and a second electric machine driving a back axle of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 1-8) “Vehicle 101 may further include drive control component 112 that may be coupled to computer 110 to provide an input for a battery SOC calculation, and may also be controlled in accordance with embodiments. For example, drive control component 112 may be configured to change the operational characteristics of vehicle 101 including altering the maximum distance and speed that vehicle 101 is capable of reaching.”
“ … wherein the real-time control function is adapted to minimize a travel time along at least a portion of the specified drive route while conforming to one or more pre-defined constraints on the vehicle status data;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 1-9) “Referring to FIG. 3, block 310 provides for receiving a set of goal parameters identifying a driver’s performance requirements. For example, referring to FIG. 4, a display 400 of a map 402 with locations 404 allows a driver to provide a set of goal parameters. As shown, display 400 indicates laps remaining 406, and time remaining 408 and an exit point 410. Goal parameters can include desired range at the end of an event 412, a selected track 414, a number of desired laps 416, desired length of racing time 418.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“collect information about the input data and control commands of the system control based on the real-time control function along the specified drive route; store the collected information in a persistent data storage;”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 13-18) “Monitor and control module 260 may be coupled to database 270 to provide historical drive data, track data, and the like. Database 270 in combination with monitor and control module 260 may operate to store data from sensors 150 including temperature, moisture, location via GPS, and other data relevant to operation of vehicle 101.”
“and feed at least one of the collected information or simulation data about vehicle behavior along the specified drive route to one or both of an artificial intelligence engine or a machine learning engine to derive heuristic relationships between the input data and the control parameters of the real-time control function, taking into account the pre-defined constraints, wherein the real-time control function is adapted based on the heuristic relationships.”
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 22-30) “According to embodiments herein, dynamic control alteration adjusts using machine learning according to the driver’s driving style and determines if a planned excursion is possible, or recommends a change in driving style or change in route (outbound or return) to account for energy consumption. In one or more embodiments, vehicle 101 actively truncates power as required to maintain battery temperature and power density to ensure that return trip is possible.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 1-8) “Referring back to FIG. 3, block 350 provides for providing a dynamic control alteration based on the adaptive prediction, the dynamic control alteration as a function of the set of goal parameters. For example, the system may recommend or implement directly the dynamic control alteration including one or more of a choice of charging location based on the set of goal parameters and a route alteration.”
“or a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle,”
Diamond does not explicitly teach a torque distribution among an electric machine of the electric vehicle and an internal combustion engine of the electric vehicle. However, Diamond does teach the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 4-8) “The vehicle 101 may be one of various types of vehicles such as a gasoline powered vehicle, an electrified vehicle, a hybrid electrified vehicle, or an autonomous vehicle, that is configured as an automated or semi-automated vehicle.”
White does explicitly teach the preceding claim limitations.
White teaches, (Paragraph [0013], Lines 1-11) “The hybrid powertrain 20 includes multiple torque -generating devices including an internal combustion engine 40 and at least one electric machine 35. During operation, the internal combustion engine 40 can combust fuel, such as gasoline, in order to propel the hybrid vehicle 100. For example, the internal combustion engine 40 may be a multi-cylinder internal combustion engine that converts fuel to mechanical torque through a thermodynamic combustion process. The internal combustion engine 40 can transfer torque through a transmission 50 to the first axle 62 of the driveline 60.”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-8) “The electric machine 35 may be a high-voltage multi-phase electric motor/generator configured to operate as a motor or as a generator. When operating as a motor, the electric machine 35 converts stored electric energy into to kinetic energy (i.e., torque). When operating as a generator, the electric machine 35 converts kinetic energy (e.g., torque) into electric energy that may be stored in a high-voltage energy storage system 25 (e.g., battery or battery pack).”
White additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021]) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the … electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-depletion mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the electric machine 35. Accordingly, when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-depletion mode, the electric energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is depleted. In the blended mode, the hybrid powertrain 20 uses power from the internal combustion engine 40 and the electric machine 35 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure directed to systems and methods for hybrid vehicle automated lap, range, and charge monitoring for track usage taught by Diamond, with the explicit torque distribution between an internal combustion engine and battery pack as taught by White, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to utilize torque distribution between multiple powerplants to manage the SOC of the battery in the hybrid vehicle as necessary to achieve track-oriented objectives. As White describes, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-8) “The hybrid powertrain 20 and hybrid vehicle 100 can also operate in a charge-sustaining mode. In the charge-sustaining mode, most or all of the power used by the hybrid powertrain 20 to propel the hybrid vehicle 100 originates from the internal combustion engine 40. Therefore, the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system 25 is not significantly depleted when the hybrid powertrain 20 operates in the charge-sustaining mode,” and White goes on to describe, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 1-9) “When the hybrid vehicle 100 is driven in a sporty and/or racetrack fashion, the rate of energy depletion in the electric machine 35 may exceed the rate of replenishment capability under conventional driving conditions. It is therefore desirable to maximize the vehicle dynamic regions (i.e., vehicle operating conditions) in which the hybrid powertrain 20 can operate in the regenerative state in order to maintain the SOC of the energy storage system 25 above or at least equal to a predetermined target SOC.”
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond in view of White, further in view of Kuhner (DE102021107504A1, hereinafter Kuhner).
Kuhner discloses, (Paragraph [0014], Line 140) “An electrically powered fuel cell vehicle,” capable of driving on a racetrack, placing the reference in a substantially related field of endeavor.
Claim 2 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein continuously controlling the at least one control parameter based on the real-time control function further comprises controlling a torque distribution among mechanical braking and regenerative braking of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations. However, Diamond does teach the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0035], Lines 1-3) “The on-board computer 110 may perform various functions such as controlling engine operations (fuel injection, speed control, emissions control, braking, etc.)”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0028], Lines 1-7) “the adaptive prediction of the future SOC of the electricity sources may include recommending an adaptive control efficiency alteration to reduce an energy consumption of the electrified vehicle including one or more of an efficient trajectory, a reduction in a number of motors, an efficiency based on capacity of regenerative energy sources.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061], Lines 1-4) “the adaptive prediction may update energy usage of an electrified vehicle and include updates that take into account any regenerative sources for battery charging such as regenerative braking.”
Kuhner does explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Kuhner teaches, (Paragraph [0027], Lines 250-251) “the control unit network is designed to distribute a predetermined braking torque between the electric motor/generator and the mechanical brake.”
Kuhner additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 497-500) “The electric motors/generators 34r, 34l, 44r, 44l therefore function as a so-called regenerative brake during braking. During regenerative braking, kinetic energy is converted into electrical energy, which is fed into the high-voltage storage system 50 as secondary energy.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the tracked hybrid electric vehicle capable of regenerative braking of Diamond with the explicit methodology of distributing torque among mechanical braking and regenerative braking of the electric vehicle as taught by Kuhner, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining with Kuhner would be the mitigate brake dust which occurs during hard mechanical braking typically associated with slowing down from higher speeds on a racetrack. As Kuhner describes, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 510-512) “Furthermore, with such braking, a mechanical brake 39, 49 can be dispensed with, so that the formation of fine dust that would occur during friction braking is considerably reduced by the electromotive braking.”
Claim 11 Discloses: (Original)
“The control system according to claim 10, wherein the system controller is further configured to continuously control, based on the real-time control function, a torque distribution among mechanical braking and regenerative braking of the electric vehicle.”
Diamond does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations. However, Diamond does teach the following.
Diamond teaches, (Paragraph [0035], Lines 1-3) “The on-board computer 110 may perform various functions such as controlling engine operations (fuel injection, speed control, emissions control, braking, etc.)”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0028], Lines 1-7) “the adaptive prediction of the future SOC of the electricity sources may include recommending an adaptive control efficiency alteration to reduce an energy consumption of the electrified vehicle including one or more of an efficient trajectory, a reduction in a number of motors, an efficiency based on capacity of regenerative energy sources.”
Diamond additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061], Lines 1-4) “the adaptive prediction may update energy usage of an electrified vehicle and include updates that take into account any regenerative sources for battery charging such as regenerative braking.”
Kuhner does explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Kuhner teaches, (Paragraph [0027], Lines 250-251) “the control unit network is designed to distribute a predetermined braking torque between the electric motor/generator and the mechanical brake.”
Kuhner additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 497-500) “The electric motors/generators 34r, 34l, 44r, 44l therefore function as a so-called regenerative brake during braking. During regenerative braking, kinetic energy is converted into electrical energy, which is fed into the high-voltage storage system 50 as secondary energy.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the tracked hybrid electric vehicle capable of regenerative braking of Diamond with the explicit methodology of distributing torque among mechanical braking and regenerative braking of the electric vehicle as taught by Kuhner, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining with Kuhner would be the mitigate brake dust which occurs during hard mechanical braking typically associated with slowing down from higher speeds on a racetrack. As Kuhner describes, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 510-512) “Furthermore, with such braking, a mechanical brake 39, 49 can be dispensed with, so that the formation of fine dust that would occur during friction braking is considerably reduced by the electromotive braking.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant'sdisclosure.
Langhorst (US 2020/0254992 A1) teaches, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 1-10) “Depending on respective defining characteristics, each track portion 204 may require same or different speed, acceleration pedal position, brake pedal position, steering angle, throttle control, and other vehicle 102 handling and operating parameter values. Further, amount of time at which the vehicle 102 completes one lap around the track 202 may dependent on the speed, acceleration, deceleration, braking, steering angle, throttle control, and other handling and operating parameters at which the vehicle 102 is operated.”
Chopra et al. (US 2023/0137357 A1) teaches, (Paragraph [0037], Lines 1-9) “Discussed below are thermal preconditioning protocols for priming electrochemical devices for a fast-charging event, such as recharging an in-vehicle traction battery pack via DCFC. Dynamic target temperature selection based on historical driving behavior and available charge power at the destination fast charger, for example, allows a battery system to optimally use available system energy to bring the battery’s operating temperature to within a predicted “most efficient” charging temperature zone.”
Wray et al. (US 2022/0205796 A1) teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “Route planning for a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV),” and that, (Paragraph [0084], Lines 1-6) “The MOSSP can be solved using any one of several available techniques. In an example, the MOSSP can be solved by applying formula (2) until convergence. In another example, a technique that leverages heuristic search and Monte Carlo sampling in order to intelligently explore the state space can be used.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664