DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Shadduck, Pub. No. US 2003/0109907 (hereinafter “Shadduck”) in view of Baer Velde al., Pub. NO. 2002/0111608 (hereinafter “Baer veldt”).
Regarding amended claim 1, Shadduck discloses a laser system suitable for changing an intraocular pressure (IOP) of an eye (see the abstract, par. 0005 and Fig. 5), the laser system comprising: a laser source 25; a feedback controller 55 configured to regulate a dosimetry of the laser source to produce spatially and/or temporally modulated laser light (par. 0020 [“the invention includes an optional dosimetry control system for terminating or controlling energy delivery based on feedback signal from a temperature sensor array”]), see pars. 0024 and 0068;
a first optical delivery element/optical fibers 40 configured to guide the spatially and/or temporally modulated laser light to irradiate a first area on the eye (Fig. 7, par. 0051); and
a detecting element configured to detect one or more physical, chemical, mechanical and/or structural characteristics in a second area on the eye in a real-time during the change of the IOP (sensors 57, see Figs. 6, 8, and par. 0056); wherein the feedback controller is configured to regulate the dosimetry of the laser source in a real-time based on the real-time detected information pertaining to the one or more physical, chemical, mechanical and/or structural characteristics in the second area (par. 0068, note that the sensors 57 measure temperature at locations not coinciding with the locations delivered to laser radiation). However, Shadduck does not teach the feedback controller is configured to calculate a flow rate of fluid through the porous structure on the sclera as claimed. Baerveldt discloses a minimally invasive glaucoma surgical instrument and method, the system comprising a software and feedback to a controller, which result in full process control configured to determine fluid flow rate and pressure during the treatment [Par. 0178] to determine when ablation is completed through time, temperature and/or impedance.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time applicant’s invention was filed to use a fluid flow system configured to monitor/calculate a fluid flow rate during the surgical treatment to determine when ablation is completed. Furthermore, Surgical techniques to lower intraocular pressure is known in the art, when medication fails to decrease fluid flow into the eye or to increase fluid outflow, include procedures that permit fluid to drain from within the eye to extraocular sites by creating a fluid passageway between the anterior chamber of the eye and the potential supra-scleral/sub-Tenon's space, or, alternatively, into or through the Canal of Schlemm (see, e.g., U.S. Pat. No. 4,846,172).
Regarding claim 2, the first area comprises a part on the sclera of the eye (abstract [“The apparatus includes; (i) a working end geometry for contacting the anterior surface of the sclera and cornea to insure that a laser emission reaches the trabecular meshwork from a particular location on the anterior surface of the sclera”]), wherein the laser source provides a wavelength appropriate for absorption beneath the anterior scleral surface to the depth of the trabecular plates to modify the porous structure on the sclera.
Regarding claims 3 and 7-9, the recited claims language are directed to intended use/expected results. claim 7 recites the laser source is regulated to activate one or more cells on the ciliary body. However it does not teach a specific laser light (e.g., regulated dosimetry/ dose of the laser source to activate one or more cells on the ciliary body) /parameters to activate one or more cells on the ciliary body. Intended use claim language is generally given a limited patentability weight.
Furthermore, Shadduck teaches the modulated laser light is suitable for achieving and/or maintaining a first temperature range and/or a second temperature range in the first area as claimed (par. 0022 [“For the proposed method of trabecular bio-stimulation, the targeted region is elevated in temperature to a range between about 40.degree. C. to 55.degree. C. for a period of time ranging from about 1 second to 120 seconds or more. More precisely, the desired range would be between about 40.degree. C. to 50.degree. C. for such time periods.”]), wherein the modulate laser light (pars. 0014, 0022,0057) suitable for generating thermomechanical wave, which can propagate to a third are outside the first area as broadly as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Shadduck teaches the controller of the system includes dosimetry control system 55 and optional beam sequence controller 59, which computer controllers adapted to operate in cooperation to control the power of the laser energy (par. 0057).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED M FARAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792