DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220246714 (Spanier et al) in view of US 6121647 (Yano et al) and 20190393404 (Kotani et al).
Concerning claim 1, Spanier discloses a method of producing a high-crystallinity barium titanate film structure (Figs. 1 and 7), comprising: . . . depositing, on . . . , a barium titanate layer (BTO) by atomic layer deposition ([0114]) . . .and at a low temperature of 450°C or below ([0115]) . . .; and performing plasma annealing treatment on the barium titanate layer at a low temperature of 450°C or below without breaking vacuum to form a high-crystallinity . . . barium titanate layer having a (001) or (111) crystal orientation ([0118]-[0119]).
Spanier does not disclose forming a bottom electrode layer on a substrate, wherein the bottom electrode layer comprises a metal nitride layer or a metal alloy layer having a (001) or (111) crystal orientation; depositing on the bottom electrode layer a barium titanate film in a high vacuum environment or wherein a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer is 0.9- 1.5, to form a high- crystallinity ferroelectric barium titanate layer having a (001) or (111) crystal orientation corresponding to the crystal orientation of the bottom electrode. However, Yano discloses disclose depositing the barium titanate film in a high vacuum environment (col. 23 lines 11-26) and wherein a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer is 0.9- 1.5 (col. 18 lines 32-37). Yano also discloses forming a stacked structure including a top and bottom electrode (col. 26 lines 22-28) and a barium titanate film formed under these conditions provide a film structure having a ferroelectric thin film featuring a relatively low dielectric constant, great residual polarization, a low polarization reversing voltage, and minimal deterioration upon repetitive polarization reversal (col. 3 lines 5-10). Additionally, Kotani discloses that a barium titanate film with a (111) crystal orientation is made by epitaxially orienting the film (for example by atomic layer deposition) along the (111) plane of a metal electrode ([0064]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Spanier to deposit the barium titanate film under a high vacuum environment with a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer being 0.9-1.5 over a bottom electrode with a (111) crystal orientation in order to form a barium titanate film with a (111) crystal orientation and having a ferroelectric thin film featuring a relatively low dielectric constant, great residual polarization, a low polarization reversing voltage, and minimal deterioration upon repetitive polarization reversal.
Considering claim 19, Spanier discloses a high-crystallinity barium titanate film structure (Figs. 1 and 7), comprising: a substrate (Si) comprising or formed of silicon, sapphire, magnesium oxide with a with a (001) or (110) crystal orientation, or a silicon carbide with a (0001) crystal orientation ([0120]), a high-crystallinity. . . barium titanate layer (BTO) ([0121]). . . a top electrode layer (Pt) comprising or formed of Pt, Ta, TaN, TiN, Au, or Ag ([0053]) wherein the barium titanate layer is arranged on the substrate, and the top electrode layer is located on a s die of the barium titanate layer facing away from the substrate material (Fig. 7) wherein the barium titanate layer has a (001) or (111) crystal orientation ([0121]) and is deposited at a low temperature of 450°C or below ([0115]) through atomic layer deposition ([0114]) and wherein the barium titanate layer is subjected to plasma annealing treatment in vacuum ([0118]-[0119]).
Spanier does not disclose a bottom electrode layer arranged between the substrate and the barium titanate layer, wherein the bottom electrode layer formed of a metal nitride layer or a metal alloy layer having a (001) or (111) crystal orientation; depositing on the bottom electrode layer a barium titanate film in a high vacuum environment or wherein a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer is 0.9- 1.5, to crystallize into the (001) or (111) crystal orientation. However, Yano discloses disclose depositing the barium titanate film in a high vacuum environment (col. 23 lines 11-26) and wherein a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer is 0.9- 1.5 (col. 18 lines 32-37). Yano also discloses forming a stacked structure including a top and bottom electrode (col. 26 lines 22-28) and a barium titanate film formed under these conditions provide a film structure having a ferroelectric thin film featuring a relatively low dielectric constant, great residual polarization, a low polarization reversing voltage, and minimal deterioration upon repetitive polarization reversal (col. 3 lines 5-10). Additionally, Kotani discloses that a barium titanate film with a (111) crystal orientation is made by epitaxially orienting the film (for example by atomic layer deposition) along the (111) plane of a metal electrode ([0064]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Spanier to deposit the barium titanate film under a high vacuum environment with a Ba/Ti ratio in the barium titanate layer being 0.9-1.5 over a bottom electrode with a (111) crystal orientation in order to form a barium titanate film with a (111) crystal orientation and having a ferroelectric thin film featuring a relatively low dielectric constant, great residual polarization, a low polarization reversing voltage, and minimal deterioration upon repetitive polarization reversal.
Continuing to claim 2, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses further comprising: forming a top electrode layer (Spanier Pt) on the barium titanate layer, optionally or preferably, by sputtering (Spanier [0053]).
Referring to claim 6, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the top electrode layer is provided as a conductive layer formed of Pt, Ta, TaN, TiN, Au or Ag (Spanier [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani wherein, the bottom electrode is formed by sputtering (Yano col. 26 lines 22-28).
Pertaining to claim 11, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the deposition of the barium titanate layer is performed in a vacuum chamber with a base vacuum pressure of less than 10⁻⁷ Torr (Yano col. 23 lines 11-26).
As to claim 12, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the plasma annealing treatment is performed in a vacuum chamber with a base vacuum pressure of less than 10⁻⁷ Torr (Yano col. 21 lines 23-35), and with a gas source of an inert gas and oxygen at a ratio of 1:19-4:1 (Yano col. 18 lines 32-53).
Concerning claim 13, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the plasma annealing treatment is performed for 1-6 Hours at a set temperature of 300-450°C with a power of 200-400 W (Spanier [0118]-[0119]).
Considering claim 14, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the substrate comprises or is formed of a silicon plate, sapphire, magnesium oxide with a (001) or (110) crystal orientation, or silicon carbide with a (0001) crystal orientation (Spanier [0120]).
Continuing to claim 15, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the barium titanate layer has a thickness of 1-10 nm (Yano [0056], [0062], and [0069]).
Referring to claim 16, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani wherein the method steps are performed in one or more vacuum chambers without breaking vacuum (Spanier [0007]).
Regarding claim 17, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses use of a high-crystalline barium titanate film structure obtained by the method according to claim 1 in any one or more of: a ferroelectric element, a ferroelectric tunnel junction, an energy storage element, a magnetic tunnel junction, a storage element and a supercapacitor (Spanier [0004]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses high-crystallinity barium titanate film structure produced by the method of claim 1 (Spanier Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220246714 (Spanier et al) in view of US 6121647 (Yano et al) and 20190393404 (Kotani et al) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of US 20120098589 (Spanier et al, hereafter referred to as Spanier’589).
As to claim 3, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses forming a barium titanate structure.
Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani does not disclose further comprising: forming a metal nitride layer or a metal alloy layer on the barium titanate layer; and forming a top electrode layer on the metal nitride layer or the metal alloy layer, and optionally or preferably, wherein the top electrode layer and the metal nitride layer or the metal alloy layer are formed by sputtering. However, Spanier’589 discloses the formation of an adhesion layer formed before the formation of a top electrode layer on a ferroelectric layer. Suitable adhesion layers may comprise a transition metal or transition metal alloy, including one or more of the following, Au/Cr, Au/Ni, Au/NiCr, Au/Ti, Pt/Cr, Au/Ni, Au/NiCr, Au/Ti, Pt/Cr, Pt/Ni, Pt/NiCr, Pt/Ti, Pd/Cr, Pd/Ni, Pd/NiCr, Pd/Ti, AuPd/Cr, AuPd/Ni, AuPd/NiCr, AuPd/Ti, and the like ([0052] and [0059]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Spanier in view of Yano form a metal alloy layer on the barium titanate layer (ferroelectric layer) before the formation of the top electrode layer in order to improve adhesion of the top electrode to the barium titanate layer.
Concerning claim 4, Spanier in view of Yano, Kotani, and Spanier’589 discloses wherein the metal nitride layer or the metal alloy layer has a thickness of 10-50 nm (Spanier’589 [0052]).
Considering claim 5, Spanier in view of Yano, Kotani, and Spanier’589 discloses wherein the metal nitride layer is provided as Mn₃AN or Cu₃PdN, wherein A comprises Ni, Sn, Ga, Cu or Pt, and the metal alloy layer is provided as Cu₃Pd, Pt₃Ni, Pt₃Fe or Pt₃Al (Spanier’589 [0059]-[0060]).
Continuing to claim 7, Spanier in view of Yano, Kotani, and Spanier’589 discloses wherein the top electrode layer (Spanier Pt) is provided as a conductive layer formed of Pt, Ta, TaN, TiN, Au or Ag (Spanier [0053]).
Pertaining to claim 20, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses forming a top and bottom electrode (Spanier [0053] and [0009] and Yano col. 26 lines 49-56).
Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani does not disclose a metal nitride layer or a metal alloy layer arranged between the barium titanate layer and the top electrode layer, wherein the metal nitride layer is provided as Mn₃AN or Cu₃PdN, wherein A comprises Ni, Sn, Ga, Cu or Pt, and the metal alloy layer is provided as Cu₃Pd, Pt₃Ni, Pt₃Fe or Pt₃Al. However, Spanier’589 discloses the formation of an adhesion layer formed before the formation of a top electrode layer on a ferroelectric layer. Suitable adhesion layers may comprise a transition metal or transition metal alloy, including one or more of the following, Au/Cr, Au/Ni, Au/NiCr, Au/Ti, Pt/Cr, Au/Ni, Au/NiCr, Au/Ti, Pt/Cr, Pt/Ni, Pt/NiCr, Pt/Ti, Pd/Cr, Pd/Ni, Pd/NiCr, Pd/Ti, AuPd/Cr, AuPd/Ni, AuPd/NiCr, AuPd/Ti, and the like ([0052] and [0059]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Spanier in view of Yano form a metal alloy layer on the barium titanate layer (ferroelectric layer) before the formation of the top electrode layer in order to improve adhesion of the top electrode to the barium titanate layer.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220246714 (Spanier et al) in view of US 6121647 (Yano et al) and 20190393404 (Kotani et al) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20220013288 (Spanier et al, hereafter referred to as Spanier’288).
Regarding claim 10, Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses wherein the bottom electrode layer has a thickness of 10-50 nm (Yano col. 26 lines 22-28).
Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani does not disclose a roughness of less than 1 nm. However, Spanier’288 discloses the formation of a bottom electrode layer on a stacked structure, and that the films are formed with a roughness less than 2 nm ([0106]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Therefore absent evidence of criticality of the range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the roughness of the bottom electrode such that it is less than 1 nm as disclosed by Spanier’288.
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220246714 (Spanier et al) in view of US 6121647 (Yano et al) and 20190393404 (Kotani et al) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of US 6833572 (Zhang et al).
As to claims 21-24 (with claims 21 and 23 and 22 and 24 being similar in scope), Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani discloses forming the bottom electrode (Yano col. 26 lines 22-28).
Spanier in view of Yano and Kotani does not disclose wherein the metal nitride layer of the bottom electrode layer is provided as Cu3PdN, and wherein the metal alloy layer is provided as Cu3Pd, Pt3Fe or Pt3Al, wherein the metal nitride layer of the bottom electrode layer is provided as Mn3AN where A comprises Ni, Sn, Ga, Cu or Pt, and wherein the metal alloy layer is provided as Cu3Pd, Pt3Fe or Pt3Al. However. Zhang discloses an electrode for use in a ferroelectric device wherein the electrode includes a combination of metals taken from the group of metals consisting of PtAl, PtTi, IrAl and IrTi (Claim 5), and that such electrode contains a material which can maintain integrity and the ferroelectric properties can retained when the ferroelectric capacitor or devices experience a typical hydrogen ambient annealing, at temperatures in a range of about 300.degree. C. to 500.degree. C (col. 2 lines 1-5) and improved hydrogen degradation resistance (Title). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the metal alloy materials of Zhang for the bottom electrode layer in order to gain the advantage of improved hydrogen degradation resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 10/01/26
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897