DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/10/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2023 and 9/10/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims contain many instances of the use of “and/or.” The Examiner considers this to mean “or” unless otherwise stated in the rejection and therefore the prior art only needs to teach one of the alternative limitations found in the claims.
The claims are apparatus claims and are governed by the following principles of law:
"To anticipate a claim, a reference must disclose every element of thechallenged claim and enable one skilled in the art to make the anticipatingsubject matter." PPG Indus. Inc. v. Guardian Indus. Corp, 75 F.3d 1558,1566 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
"[T]he patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends onthe claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure." CatalinaMktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801,809 (Fed. Cir.2002).
"It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an oldproduct does not make a claim to that old product patentable." In reSchreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Therefore, any intended uses or desired purposes of the apparatus are not required to be taught by the prior art. For example, claim 1 recites that the laser system is “suitable for a treatment of a cartilage tissue in a joint” and that real-time feedback regulation of the dosimetry of the laser is “for a controlled activation of a stem cell.” Claim 5 recites that the feedback controller is configured to regulate the dosimetry “for a controlled formation of a porous structure.” Claim 6 recites that the optical delivery element is configured to irradiate “to include a formation of a cross-linkage of tissue.” Claim 7 recites that the feedback controller is configured to control the laser source and deliver element “to form a porous structure.” Claim 9 recites that the feedback controller is configured to regulate the laser source or effect exerting element “to activate or deactivate a nerve ending.” The claims do not require these uses/purposes to occur. The claims merely require a system with the structure recited.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first optical delivery element” in claim 1, which is disclosed as being an optical fiber in par. 0076 of the original specification;
“a detecting element” in claim 1, which is disclosed as being any sensor disclosed in par. 0077 of the original specification;
“a channel element” in claim 3, which is disclosed as a hollow cylinder in par. 0077 of the original specification;
“an effect exerting element” in claim 8, which is discloses as a movable shaft in par. 0083 of the original specification. The claims only seem to have support for an element configured to exert a mechanical effect on the tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 8 requires an “effect exerting element configured to exert a thermal, electrical, magnetic and/or mechanical effect on a tissue.” The recitation has been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f), as described above. However, the original specification only discloses structure for exerting a mechanical effect on tissue in par. 0083. No structure is disclosed that is configured to exert a thermal, electrical, and/or magnetic effect on a tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim limitation “an effect exerting element configured to exert a thermal, electrical, magnetic…effect on a tissue.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function, as described above. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,125,677. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim 1 anticipates the current claim 1. Patented claim 1 recites a laser source, a feedback controller configured to regulate a dosimetry of the laser to produce laser light, a first optical delivery element to guide the laser light, a detecting element(s) configured to detect information in real-time, and a feedback controller configured to regulate the dosimetry of the laser source in real-time based on the detected information. Therefore, all structural limitations recited in the claim are met.
Patented claims 15-17 anticipate current claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sobol et al. (US 2015/0327932, hereinafter Sobol).
Regarding claim 1, Sobol discloses a laser system suitable for treatment of a cartilage tissue in a joint (par. 0011). The laser system includes a laser source 1108 (par. 0076, 0098). A feedback controller 126 is configured to regulate a dosimetry of the laser source to produce spatially and/or temporally modulated laser light (par. 0051). A first optical delivery element 304/305/1120 is configured to guide the laser light to an area in a joint to irradiate a first part of area (par. 0066-0068 and 0073). A detecting element 114 detects information of one or more physical, chemical, mechanical and/or structural characteristics in the area in real-time (par. 0040, 0052). The feedback controller is configured to regulate in real-time the dosimetry of the laser source based on the real-time detected information (par. 0012, 0053, 0077). The dosimetry is capable of a controlled activation of a stem cell outside of the first part of the area to form hyaline cartilage tissue, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Sobol discloses the dosimetry is regulated to cause stress relaxation in the tissue (par. 0063, 0065).
Regarding claim 3, Sobol discloses a hollow channel element 302 that includes the optical element 304/305 and that can be used to deliver a pre-activated stem cell, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 4, the position of the laser can be adjusted in real-time (par. 0056).
Regarding claim 5, the feedback controller is configured to regulate the dosimetry of the laser, as described above. This can be for an intended use of controlling formation of a porous structure, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the optical delivery element is configured irradiate a first area, as described above. This can be for an intended use of inducing a formation of a cross-linkage of tissue, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the detecting elements 114 are for detecting stress distributions (par. 0025, 0036), and the feedback controller is configured to control the laser source and optical delivery element, as described above. This can be for an intended use of forming a porous structure, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Sobol discloses a mechanical effect exerting element 1114 that can be controlled by the feedback controller in real-time (par. 0089-0091 and 0098). This can be for an intended use of activating or deactivating a nerve, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the system is attached to a remote high-performance computer 1119 (fig. 11 and par. 0098).
Regarding claim 11, high performance computer 128 calculates a “settings table” which are stored for use (par. 0054).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0022960, US 2022/0173755, US 2019/0175272 and US 6,156,030 all disclose laser systems with feedback controllers that can be used to treat cartilage in a joint, if so desired by a user.
US 2021/0348130 discloses a laser system for activating stem cells to form a hyaline cartilage tissue.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796