Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 2/16/2026:
Amended claims 1 and 11, objection has been withdrawn.
Overcomes the rejections under 112(b).
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Abbott et al (US 20210042535 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abbott et al teaches a method for managing location information in automated vehicles, the method comprising (Para 77 and Fig 5, FIG. 5 is a flow diagram showing a method 500 for determining lane assignments for objects in an environment):
obtaining, by a processor of an automated vehicle, image data from a camera on the automated vehicle, the image data includes a digital image of a roadway as a digital representation of imagery in a field-of-view of the camera including an operational environment with one or more objects and a roadway having a plurality of lanes (Para 78, the method 500, at block B504, includes identifying, using the object fence algorithm, a world space object fence for an object within a sensory field of view of at least one sensor of the one or more sensors. For example, the object fence algorithm 108 may be used to identify the object fence 110 in world space for the object within the sensory field of at least one sensor of the one or more sensors from which sensor data 102 is received. i.e. obtaining image data from a camera (automated vehicle Para 26 and 34) including a digital image of a roadway (at least one sensor, see Para 36-37) capturing a field-of-view of the camera capturing a roadway having a plurality of lanes);
identifying, by the processor, the plurality of lanes in the digital image of the roadway (Para 80, The method 500, at block B508, includes receiving lane data representative of location of a plurality of lane lines within an image represented by the sensor data. For examples, lane data representative of location of a plurality of lane lines within an image represented by the sensor data 102 may be received via the lane detection 112 and furthermore, Para 81, the method 500, at block B510, includes generating a lane mask using the lane data. For example, the lane mask 116 may be generated—e.g., using lane triangulation 114—using the lane data received after lane detection 112. i.e. identifying the plurality of lanes in the digital image of the roadway);
identifying, by the processor, in the image data a vehicle as an object situated in the roadway (Para 77-83, the method 500, at block B504, includes identifying, using the object fence algorithm, a world space object fence for an object within a sensory field of view of at least one sensor of the one or more sensors. For example, the object fence algorithm 108 may be used to identify the object fence 110 in world space for the object within the sensory field of at least one sensor of the one or more sensors from which sensor data 102 is received. i.e. the object is a vehicle situated in the roadway and is identified by the processor see also Para 40-45 and Fig 7A);
generating, by the processor, a plurality of data, the digital image segmented into the plurality of segments, the plurality of segments including at least one of i) image segments of the vehicle or ii) a lane of the plurality of lanes (Para 40-45 Para 77-90 and Fig 7A, Regarding object (vehicle): Para 41, the output of object detection 104 may include points (e.g., pixels) in the image(s) where objects are determined to be located. In such examples, the points may include each of the points or pixels within the bounding shape. As such, the bounding shape, in addition to an object mask generated within the bounding shape, may define each of the pixels corresponding to the object. This process may of object detection 104 may be carried out for any number of objects in each frame. i.e. the detected vehicle is segmented (masked) from the image data including the pixels corresponding to the object). Regarding lane lines: Para 80, The method 500, at block B508, includes receiving lane data representative of location of a plurality of lane lines within an image represented by the sensor data. For examples, lane data representative of location of a plurality of lane lines within an image represented by the sensor data 102 may be received via the lane detection 112 and furthermore, Para 81, the method 500, at block B510, includes generating a lane mask using the lane data. For example, the lane mask 116 may be generated—e.g., using lane triangulation 114—using the lane data received after lane detection 112. i.e. identifying the plurality of lanes in the digital image of the roadway, that are segments (masked) including the lane line pixels);
each image segment of the vehicle containing a portion of the vehicle in the image data, each image segment of the vehicle including a plurality of pixels (Fig 2A-2D and 7A-7B, Para 41-47, the output of object detection 104 may include points (e.g., pixels) in the image(s) where objects are determined to be located. In such examples, the points may include each of the points or pixels within the bounding shape. As such, the bounding shape, in addition to an object mask generated within the bounding shape, may define each of the pixels corresponding to the object. This process may of object detection 104 may be carried out for any number of objects in each frame. Furthermore, Para 46, the object fence(s) 110 may be generated as points (e.g., pixels and/or vertices) of a polygon corresponding to the object fence(s) 110. As such, by connecting the vertices, a polygon corresponding to the object fence(s) 110 may be generated, and the pixels within the object fence(s) 110 may be determined to correspond to the object for lane assignment. The object fence(s) 110 may be generated prior to lane assignment 120—using any method, such as those described herein—to improve accuracy and reliability of lane assignment predictions by more closely defining the shape or footprint of the object on a driving surface. For example, once the object fences 110 are determined, the object fences 110 may be used—in combination with the lane masks 116—to make an overlap determination 118 for lane assignment 120. i.e. the object fence contains pixels from the detected object (vehicle) and therefore can be considered segments of the vehicle that contain a portion of the vehicle in the image data), each segment of the vehicle including a plurality of pixels (polygon that only contains detected pixels of the detected vehicle can be considered a segment of the vehicle containing a portion of the vehicle data, each segment including a plurality of pixels));
identify an overlap between i) one or more of the pixels of the plurality of the image segments of the vehicle and ii) the lane, and detecting, by the processor, the lane containing at least a portion of the vehicle in response to determining that at least one image segment of the vehicle overlaps the lane in the image data of the roadway (Para 82-83, and Para 89, the method 500, at block B512, includes determining an overlap between the image space object fence and one or more lanes defined by the lane mask. For example, overlap between object fence 110 and the one or more lanes defined by the lane mask 116 may be determined by overlap determination 110 using pixel counting 132 and/or boundary scoring 134. The method 500, at block B514, includes assigning the object to at least one of the one or more lanes based at least in part on the overlap. For example, lane assignment 120 may be used to assign the object to at least one of the one or more lanes in the lane mask 116. i.e. identifying an overlap between one or more of the image segment pixels of the vehicle and the lane, and assigning the object to a lane based on the overlap).
Regarding claim 2, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining, by the processor, an object position of the object in the image data relative to the automated vehicle, the object position including a predicted distance and a predicted angle relative to the automated vehicle (Para 47, future locations and/or assignments of objects in the environment may be determined using the sensor data 102 (e.g., LIDAR data, SONAR data, image data, RADAR data, etc.) and the object fence 110. For example, once the object fence 110 is determined, the sensor data 102—representative of speed, velocity, acceleration, yaw rate, etc.—may be used to determine a future path or trajectory of the objects in the environment to determine one or more future locations (e.g., 0.5 seconds in the future, 1 second in the future, etc.). For example, a linear dynamic model (e.g., future position=current position+(velocity×time)), a constant acceleration model, a constant turn-rate model, a machine learning model, another algorithm type, and/or a combination thereof may use the sensor data (or data represented thereby) to determine a future location(s) (e.g., in world space) of the object. Once the future location(s) are known, the object fence 110 may be generated (e.g., in image space) using the future location and the object fence 110 information. i.e. the object position of the image data relative to the automated vehicle (sensor) includes distance and angle (velocity, yaw rate, trajectory)).
Regarding claim 3, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising generating, by the processor, a bounding box for the vehicle in the image data (Fig 2A-2C, Para 27).
Regarding claim 5, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, for each driving lane of the one or more lanes, applying, by the processor, to the image data a lane label associated with the particular lane and indicating a lane index value (Para 53 and 87, as a result of lane triangulation 114 and/or another mask generation approach, the lane mask 116 may be generated to represent pixels in image space that correspond lanes or other portions of the driving surface. In some examples, each pixel in the lane mask 116 may be indexed as a color corresponding to a respective lane (e.g., with respect to visualization 660 of FIG. 6D, pixels for a left lane 662 may be a first color or pattern, pixels for a middle or ego-lane 664 may be a second color or pattern, and pixels for a third lane 666 may be a third color or pattern). i.e. a lane label associated with the particular lane and indicating a lane index value).
Regarding claim 6, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising applying, by the processor, to the image data a vehicle object label indicating a lane index value for the driving lane having the vehicle and lane information for the vehicle (Para 58, the pixels in the entirety of the object 110 fence may be matched against the lane pixels for each lane in the lane mask 116, and the object may be assigned to one or more lanes based on the pixel counts for object fence 110 pixels in each lane. The pixel index (e.g., color or pattern, as described with respect to FIG. 6D) associated with lane mask 116 may then be used to determine what lane the particular pixel overlaps with. In some examples, in order to associate an object with a lane, a number of overlapping pixels may be required to be above a threshold (e.g., greater than twenty pixels, greater than forty pixels, greater than ten percent of the pixels of the object fence 110, etc.). By using a threshold, false positives may be reduced because object fences 110 that slightly overlap with a lane may be discounted (which may account for some inaccuracy in the object fence 110). i.e. applying a vehicle object label indicating the lane index value for the driving lane having the vehicle and lane information for the vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising comparing, by the processor, location information in a vehicle object associated with the image segment of the vehicle against lane location information in a lane label associated with the lane (Para 57-58 and 77-89, the pixels in the entirety of the object 110 fence may be matched against the lane pixels for each lane in the lane mask 116, and the object may be assigned to one or more lanes based on the pixel counts for object fence 110 pixels in each lane. The pixel index (e.g., color or pattern, as described with respect to FIG. 6D) associated with lane mask 116 may then be used to determine what lane the particular pixel overlaps with. In some examples, in order to associate an object with a lane, a number of overlapping pixels may be required to be above a threshold (e.g., greater than twenty pixels, greater than forty pixels, greater than ten percent of the pixels of the object fence 110, etc.). By using a threshold, false positives may be reduced because object fences 110 that slightly overlap with a lane may be discounted (which may account for some inaccuracy in the object fence 110). i.e. comparing the image segment of the vehicle against lane location information in a lane label associated with the lane).
Regarding claim 8, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising comparing, by the processor, a first set of one or more pixels containing the image segment of the vehicle against a second set of one or more pixels containing the lane (Para 57-58 and 77-89, Once the object fences and the lane mask are determined, the objects may be associated with the lanes by determining overlap between the pixels of the object fence and the lane mask in 2D image space. The object may be assigned to a lane(s) in the lane mask based on an overlap of pixels in the object fence with lane pixels in the lane mask. In some examples, each object may be assigned to a lane(s) based on a simple pixel count. In other examples, the object fence may be represented by vertices (or pixels corresponding thereto) along a perimeter of the object fence. Where an object is in a single lane, the pixel distances between each set of two perimeter pixels may be calculated, added up, and normalized to create a ratio of intersection per lane, which would be 1/1 for a single lane. Where an object is in more than one lane, a set of points that crosses the lane boundary may be determined. Once the two pixels are determined, a new vertex may be generated at the crossing between the two pixels. This pixel may then be used to determine the distance between the new vertex and each other perimeter pixel or vertex on either side of the crossing. A first sum of distances between the new vertex and a first set of perimeter pixels for a first lane may be calculated and a second sum of distances between the new vertex and a second set of perimeter pixels for a second lane may be calculated. These sums may then be normalized, in some embodiments. Ultimately, a ratio of intersection per lane may be determined using the first sum and the second sum. Knowing the ratio of intersection, and how the ratio changes from frame to frame, may provide an indication of the trajectory of the object (e.g., switching lanes, swerving, lane keeping, etc.). i.e. comparing a first set of pixels containing the image segment of the vehicle against a second set of one or more pixels containing the lane (multiple lanes)).
Regarding claim 10, Abbott et al teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the processor obtains the image data from a plurality of cameras of the automated vehicle (Para 40, where object detection 104 and freespace detection 106 are used to generate the object fence 110, the sensor data 102 may be used as an input to both the object detection 104 and the freespace detection 106. For example, object detection 104 may use the sensor data 102 (e.g., image data from one or more cameras, LIDAR data from one or more LIDAR sensors, RADAR data from one or more RADAR sensors, etc.) to detect objects (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, debris, etc.) and generate bounding shapes (e.g., bounding boxes, circles, polygons, etc.) for the detected objects. i.e. obtaining the image data from a plurality of cameras of the automated vehicle).
Regarding claims 11-13, 15-18, and 20, claims 11-13, 15-18, and 20, rejected for the same reasons as 1-3, 5-8, and 10 for the same reasons above, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott et al (US 20210042535 A1) in view of Yu et al (US 20190272433 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Abbott et al does not teach, the method according to claim 1, further comprising, for each portion of the vehicle, generating, by the processor, a bounding box for the portion of the vehicle in the image data.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yu et al teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising, for each portion of the vehicle, generating, by the processor, the bounding box for the portion of the vehicle in the image data (Para 59 and Fig 7, in the first training phase of the first classifier 211, the autonomous vehicle occlusion detection system 210 can partition the bounding box for teach vehicle object detected in the static image into a plurality of portions. i.e. See Fig 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Abbott et al (US 20210042535 A1) in view of Yu et al (US 20190272433 A1) so that the method comprises for each portion of the vehicle, generating, by the processor, the bounding box for the portion of the vehicle in the image data. Doing so would effectively and efficiently detect the occlusion status of each vehicle from a set of input images (Para 49, Yu et al).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 in the combination above.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott et al (US 20210042535 A1) in view of Agarwal et al (US 20240096111 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Abbott et al does not teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein identifying the object includes predicting, by the processor, an object class for the object by applying an object recognition engine on a single frame of the image data.
In a similar field of endeavor, Agarwal et al teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein identifying the object includes predicting, by the processor, an object class for the object by applying an object recognition engine on a single frame of the image data (Para 27, object detection and tracking can be used to identify an object and track the object over time. For example, an image of an object can be obtained, and object detection can be performed on the image to detect one or more objects in the image. In some cases, the detected object can be classified into a category of object and a bounding box can be generated to identify a position of the object in the image. Various types of systems can be used for object detection, including neural network-based object detectors. single frame con be interpreted as one image of the input data, and object is detected. See Para 40 regarding one image frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Abbott et al (US 20210042535 A1) in view of Agarwal et al (US 20240096111 A1) so that identifying the object includes predicting, by the processor, an object class for the object by applying an object recognition engine on a single frame of the image data. Doing so would accurately identify such characteristics of the target object, including the locations, orientations, sizes, and/or other characteristics (Para 28, Agarwal et al).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 in the combination above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250054269 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK PETER KRAYNAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668