DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 9/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Amendment, with respect to rejections under prior art have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein predicting a hold gesture” and should apparently recite “wherein the predicting [[a]] the hold gesture”. Similarly for claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “comparison of the respective confidence scores”. However, “respective confidence scores” has not been previously introduced. As a result, it is unclear whether this is intended to introduce a new element or reference the previously introduced predictions. As a result of this antecedent basis ambiguity, the scope of the claims is rendered indefinite. Similarly for claim 11.
Claim 1 recites “comparison of the respective confidence scores of the predictions”. However, “predicting… a first part”, “predicting… a second part”, and “predicting a hold gesture”. It is unclear whether “the predictions” is referring to the first part, the second part, the hold gesture, or all. As a result of this antecedent basis ambiguity, the scope of the claim is rendered indefinite. Similarly for claim 11.
Dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of their respective independent or intervening claim(s) and are rejected on the same basis.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Mao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0097083), referred to as Mao herein [previously cited].
Valafar et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0292910), referred to as Valafar herein [previously cited].
Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0265168), referred to as Wei herein [previously cited].
Chang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0360329), referred to as Chang herein [previously cited].
Zeng et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0338085), referred to as Zeng herein [previously cited].
Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0333209), referred to as Liu herein [previously cited].
Heller et al. (US Patent Number 9,354,709), referred to as Heller herein [previously cited 6/2/2025].
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Heller.
Regarding claim 1, Mao discloses a method comprising: receiving, with at least one processor, sensor signals indicative of a hand gesture made by a user, the sensor data obtained from at least one sensor of a wearable device worn by the user (Mao, Abstract with Figs. 7A-7B with ¶0130 – computer processor analyzing signals from wearable sensors. ¶0112-¶0113 – hand gesture identification);
generating, with the at least one processor, a first embedding of first features extracted from the sensor signals; predicting, with the at least one processor, a first part of a hold gesture based on a first machine learning (ML) gesture classifier and the first embedding (Mao, ¶0114, ¶0116, ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0163 – feature extraction for gesture classification is performed based on training from prior sensor feature extraction. ¶0151-¶0152, ¶0163 - model and object prediction. ¶0189-¶0190 – example hold gesture is sending control instructions to a held object. ¶0113 – grasping a ball);
generating, with the at least one processor, a second embedding of second features extracted from the sensor signals (Mao, ¶0114, ¶0116 ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0163 – feature extraction for gesture classification is performed based on training from prior sensor feature extraction. Training is performed on multiple features. ¶0112-¶0113 – multiple gestures are recognized);
predicting, with the at least one processor, a second part of the hold gesture based on a second ML gesture classifier and the second embedding; predicting, with the at least one processor, a hold gesture based at least in part on outputs of the first and second ML gesture classifiers and a prediction policy; and performing, with at least one processor, an action on the wearable device or other device based on the predicted hold gesture (Mao, ¶0189 – a release of the clenched fist results in disabling the command instruction state, completing the interaction. In this example, a user interface is presented in response to an object being held, the user interface can receive a variety of second gestures, and be dismissed by a second gesture. The prediction policy may include observing or not observing behavior based on detected actions. ¶0113 – combination of gestures such as grasping and throwing a ball. See also in particular Table 1 – hold gestures for manipulating the interface and in particular for selecting and scrolling lists. ¶0135 – multiple machine learning algorithms used to train multiple inference models for processing sensor signals. ¶0139, ¶0142 – inference model implemented as a classifier),
wherein predicting a hold gesture based at least in part on outputs of the first and second ML gesture classifiers and the prediction policy further comprises predicting the hold gesture based on the predictions of the first and second parts of the hold gesture (Mao, ¶0135 – multiple machine learning algorithms used to train multiple inference models for processing sensor signals. ¶0139, ¶0142 – inference model implemented as a classifier. ¶0136-¶0138 – probabilities can represent the aggregated probability that a detected pattern of activity corresponds to a known pattern. See also ¶0075, ¶0138-¶0139 – the user may activate two patterns of neural activity within at threshold time. ¶0112 – series of gestures is recognized),
disabling the command instruction state, completing the interaction. In this example, a user interface is presented in response to an object being held, the user interface can receive a variety of second gestures, and be dismissed by a second gesture. In this case, hold state logic can include disabling command instruction, initiating the interface, or dismissing the interface as a result of hold state inputs. See also ¶0075, ¶0138-¶0139 – the user may activate two patterns of neural activity within at threshold time).
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Heller discloses motion gesture recognition (Heller, Abstract), including
comparison of the respective confidence scores of the predictions against a confidence score threshold (Heller, 28:64-29:11, 33:63-34:50 – confidence threshold is used for detecting a first part of the gesture. A second confidence threshold is used for detecting a second part of the gesture. See also 29:12-30:58 and at least claim 4 as filed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the gesture detection of Mao to include threshold comparisons for the parts of the gesture based on the teachings of Heller. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively detect gestures under a variety of conditions and device contexts (Heller, 2:19-38).
Regarding claim 2, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the sensor signals include a bio signal and at least one motion signal (Mao, ¶0116-¶0117 – sensor signals represent muscular activation states, including movement states of the body).
Regarding claim 5, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are convolutional neural networks (Mao, ¶0136 – CNN).
Regarding claim 9, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers have separate networks for generating the first and second embeddings, respectively (Mao, Fig. 1 with ¶0135-¶0136 – one or more inference models. Inference model is implemented as a neural network).
Regarding claim 11, Mao discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one process to perform operations comprising: receiving sensor signals indicative of a hand gesture made by a user, the sensor data obtained from at least one sensor of a wearable device worn by the user (Mao, Abstract with Figs. 7A-7B with ¶0130, ¶0203 – computer processor analyzing signals from wearable sensors. Computer memory. ¶0112-¶0113 – hand gesture identification);
generating a first embedding of first features extracted from the sensor signals; predicting a first part of a hold gesture based on a first machine learning (ML) gesture classifier and the first embedding (Mao, ¶0114, ¶0116 ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0163 – feature extraction for gesture classification is performed based on training from prior sensor feature extraction. ¶0151-¶0152, ¶0163 - model and object prediction. ¶0189-¶0190 – example hold gesture is sending control instructions to a held object. ¶0113 – grasping a ball);
generating a second embedding of second features extracted from the sensor signals (Mao, ¶0114, ¶0116 ¶0142-¶0143, ¶0163 – feature extraction for gesture classification is performed based on training from prior sensor feature extraction. Training is performed on multiple features. ¶0112-¶0113 – multiple gestures are recognized);
predicting, with the at least one processor, a second part of the hold gesture based on a second ML gesture classifier and the second embedding; predicting a hold gesture based at least in part on outputs of the first and second ML gesture classifiers and a prediction policy; and performing an action on the wearable device or other device based on the predicted hold gesture (Mao, ¶0189 – a release of the clenched fist results in disabling the command instruction state, completing the interaction. In this example, a user interface is presented in response to an object being held, the user interface can receive a variety of second gestures, and be dismissed by a second gesture. The prediction policy may include observing or not observing behavior based on detected actions. ¶0113 – combination of gestures such as grasping and throwing a ball. See also in particular Table 1 – hold gestures for manipulating the interface and in particular for selecting and scrolling lists. ¶0135 – multiple machine learning algorithms used to train multiple inference models for processing sensor signals. ¶0139, ¶0142 – inference model implemented as a classifier),
wherein predicting a hold gesture based at least in part on outputs of the first and second ML gesture classifier and the prediction policy further comprises predicting the hold gesture based on the predictions of the first and second parts of the hold gesture (Mao, ¶0135 – multiple machine learning algorithms used to train multiple inference models for processing sensor signals. ¶0139, ¶0142 – inference model implemented as a classifier. ¶0136-¶0138 – probabilities can represent the aggregated probability that a detected pattern of activity corresponds to a known pattern. See also ¶0075, ¶0138-¶0139 – the user may activate two patterns of neural activity within at threshold time. ¶0112 – series of gestures is recognized),
disabling the command instruction state, completing the interaction. In this example, a user interface is presented in response to an object being held, the user interface can receive a variety of second gestures, and be dismissed by a second gesture. In this case, hold state logic can include disabling command instruction, initiating the interface, or dismissing the interface as a result of hold state inputs. See also ¶0075, ¶0138-¶0139 – the user may activate two patterns of neural activity within at threshold time).
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Heller discloses motion gesture recognition (Heller, Abstract), including
comparison of the respective confidence scores of the predictions against a confidence score threshold (Heller, 28:64-29:11, 33:63-34:50 – confidence threshold is used for detecting a first part of the gesture. A second confidence threshold is used for detecting a second part of the gesture. See also 29:54-30:58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the gesture detection of Mao to include threshold comparisons for the parts of the gesture based on the teachings of Heller. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively detect gestures under a variety of conditions and device contexts (Heller, 2:19-38).
Regarding claim 12, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above and further discloses wherein the sensor signals include a bio signal and at least one motion signal (Mao, ¶0116-¶0117 – sensor signals represent muscular activation states, including movement states of the body).
Regarding claim 15, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are convolutional neural networks (Mao, ¶0136 – CNN).
Regarding claim 19, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers have separate networks for generating the first and second embeddings, respectively (Mao, Fig. 1 with ¶0135-¶0136 – one or more inference models. Inference model is implemented as a neural network).
Claim(s) 3, 8, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Heller in further view of Valafar.
Regarding claim 3, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are run concurrently in parallel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Valafar discloses machine learned gesture recognition (Valafar, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are run concurrently in parallel (Valafar, Fig. 4 with ¶0019, ¶0049, ¶0053 – parallel machine learning classification instances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include parallel processing based on the teachings of Valafar. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform multiple identification analyses (Valafar, ¶0019) while avoiding a corresponding increase in computation time delay.
Regarding claim 8, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Valafar discloses machine learned gesture recognition (Valafar, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers share a common network for generating the first and second embeddings (Valafar, Fig. 4 with ¶0019, ¶0049, ¶0053 – parallel machine learning classification instances of the same model. ¶0072 – one or more machine learned models including neural networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include a common neural network based on the teachings of Valafar. The motivation for doing so would have been to further leverage the neural network against additional data (Valafar, ¶0053), improving gesture detection accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above. However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are run concurrently in parallel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Valafar discloses machine learned gesture recognition (Valafar, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are run concurrently in parallel (Valafar, Fig. 4 with ¶0019, ¶0049, ¶0053 – parallel machine learning classification instances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include parallel processing based on the teachings of Valafar. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform multiple identification analyses (Valafar, ¶0019) while avoiding a corresponding increase in computation time delay.
Regarding claim 18, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Valafar discloses machine learned gesture recognition (Valafar, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers share a common network for generating the first and second embeddings (Valafar, Fig. 4 with ¶0019, ¶0049, ¶0053 – parallel machine learning classification instances of the same model. ¶0072 – one or more machine learned models including neural networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include a common neural network based on the teachings of Valafar. The motivation for doing so would have been to further leverage the neural network against additional data (Valafar, ¶0053), improving gesture detection accuracy.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Heller in further view of Chang.
Regarding claim 6, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the sensor signals are each filtered through a number of
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses gesture recognition through physiological sensor signals (Chang, Abstract with ¶0101-¶0102, ¶0135), including
wherein the sensor signals are each filtered through a number of band-pass filters having adjacent and non-overlapping frequency bands (Chang, Fig. 14 with ¶0039-¶0041, ¶0135, ¶0141 – respiration and heartbeat band pass filters are arranged with non-overlapping and adjacent bands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified filtering of Mao as modified to include a number of adjacent band-pass filters based on the teachings of Chang. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively identify multiple signals of interest with characteristic frequencies within the sensor data.
Regarding claim 16, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the sensor signals are each filtered through a number of
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses gesture recognition through physiological sensor signals (Chang, Abstract with ¶0101-¶0102, ¶0135), including
wherein the sensor signals are each filtered through a number of band-pass filters having adjacent and non-overlapping frequency bands (Chang, Fig. 14 with ¶0039-¶0041, ¶0135, ¶0141 – respiration and heartbeat band pass filters are arranged with non-overlapping and adjacent bands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified filtering of Mao as modified to include a number of adjacent band-pass filters based on the teachings of Chang. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively identify multiple signals of interest with characteristic frequencies within the sensor data.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Heller in further view of Wei.
Regarding claim 7, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are trained by dissecting the sensor signals into N second input buffers overlapping by a prediction frequency.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wei discloses limb motion tracking (Wei, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are trained by dissecting the sensor signals into N second input buffers overlapping by a prediction frequency (Wei, ¶0056-¶0057 – recordings are segmented into overlapping segments of a given length. The segments are used to train the RNN model. See also Fig. 6 with ¶0033, ¶0062 – ML training is performed by segmenting IMU data 1 second segments, the motion within the segments is detected and input to a classifier for detection of motion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have training of Mao as modified to include segmented data based on the teachings of Wei. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the time consuming and laborious process of training (Wei, ¶0056).
Regarding claim 17, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above. However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are trained by dissecting the sensor signals into N second input buffers overlapping by a prediction frequency.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wei discloses limb motion tracking (Wei, Abstract), including
wherein the first and second ML gesture classifiers are trained by dissecting the sensor signals into N second input buffers overlapping by a prediction frequency (Wei, ¶0056-¶0057 – recordings are segmented into overlapping segments of a given length. The segments are used to train the RNN model. See also Fig. 6 with ¶0033, ¶0062 – ML training is performed by segmenting IMU data 1 second segments, the motion within the segments is detected and input to a classifier for detection of motion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have training of Mao as modified to include segmented data based on the teachings of Wei. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the time consuming and laborious process of training (Wei, ¶0056).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Heller in further view of Zeng in further view of Liu.
Regarding claim 10, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein generating the first and second embeddings, further comprises: extracting, using at least one
performing
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zeng discloses gesture recognition (Zeng, Abstract), including
concatenating the features into a data structure and performing multilayer convolution on contents of the data structure; and generating the first and second embeddings based on results of the multilayer convolution (Zeng, ¶0395– multi-layer convolution performed on feature matrices within an CNN for classification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include a multi-layer convolution based on the teachings of Zeng. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve accuracy in recognizing the gesture (Zeng, ¶0018).
However, Mao as modified appears not to expressly disclose a self-attention network. However, in the same field of endeavor Liu discloses a neural network, including for processing sensor input for gesture recognition (Liu, Abstract)
extracting, using at least one self-attention network, features from the sensor signals (Liu, ¶0160-¶0163, ¶0279 – feature extraction via self-attention network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feature extraction of Mao to include a self-attention network based on the teachings of Liu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of subsequent gesture recognition (Liu, ¶0160).
Regarding claim 20, Mao as modified discloses the elements of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein generating the first and second embeddings, further comprises: extracting, using at least one
performing multilayer convolution on contents of the data structure; and generating the first and second embeddings based on results of the
However, Mao appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zeng discloses gesture recognition (Zeng, Abstract), including
concatenating the features into a data structure and performing multilayer convolution on contents of the data structure; and generating the first and second embeddings based on results of the multilayer convolution (Zeng, ¶0395– multi-layer convolution performed on feature matrices within an CNN for classification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second ML of Mao as modified to include a multi-layer convolution based on the teachings of Zeng. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve accuracy in recognizing the gesture (Zeng, ¶0018).
However, Mao as modified appears not to expressly disclose a self-attention network. However, in the same field of endeavor Liu discloses a neural network, including for processing sensor input for gesture recognition (Liu, Abstract)
extracting, using at least one self-attention network, features from the sensor signals (Liu, ¶0160-¶0163, ¶0279 – feature extraction via self-attention network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feature extraction of Mao to include a self-attention network based on the teachings of Liu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of subsequent gesture recognition (Liu, ¶0160).
Conclusion
/DANIEL W PARCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174