DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed on 10/30/25. Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 16 and 20 amended. Claims 4, 11, 17 and 19 canceled. Claims 21-24 newly added. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, 18, and 20-24 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-14, and 18, 20, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bushnell et al. US Publication No. 2016/0016395, cited by Applicant.
Re Claim 1, Bushnell discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a casing (housing 12) defining an enclosure (2, 15) ; a joint between components in the electronic device (P69) ; an light curable adhesive (56) bonding the components at the joint (Fig. 15 and P69) ; and at least one light source internal to the casing and configured to output light for at least partially curing the light curable adhesive in the casing (P69); and a controller coupled with the at least one light source for selectively controlling the output of light for curing the light curable adhesive (P48, P69, The control circuitry and power source may be used in controlling the application of heat to heat activated film 56. Circuitry 86 may include control circuitry such as one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processing circuits, application-specific integrated circuits with control capabilities, or other controller or processing circuitry.P69, control circuitry within device 10 (see, e.g., control circuitry and power source 86 of FIG. 5) may then be used to turn on display 14 (e.g., a light-emitting-diode-based backlight unit in display module 42). The light-emitting diodes in the backlight of display module 42 or other light-emitting components in display 14 produce light 112 in response to being activated by the control circuitry. Light 112 strikes light-curable adhesive 56′ and cures adhesive 56′) .
Re Claim 3, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the casing is substantially opaque (P3), wherein after the casing is assembled, the light curable adhesive is only exposed to light from the at least one light source (P68-69).
Re Claim 5, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) in the enclosure, wherein the at least one light source is coupled with the PCB (P69; Fig. 15).
Re Claim 6, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the at least one light source includes a light emitting diode (LED) (P69, Fig. 15).
Re Claim 8, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the LED is mounted directly to the PCB (P69, Fig. 15). .
Re Claim 9, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the LED includes a multi-directional LED ( P69, Fig. 15).
Re Claim 10, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the PCB is configured to diffuse the light from the LED during curing of the light curable adhesive(P69, Fig. 15, intended use limitation ).
Re Claim 12, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one light source comprises a multi- wavelength light source, and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate output of a first wavelength of light from the at least one light source for curing the light curable adhesive (P69) ; and actuate output of a second wavelength of light from the at least one light source for providing a light indicator at the electronic device (additional light sores may be added, Light may be blue light, white light etc. Blue light is restricted to the 450–495 nm range. White light combines all visible wavelengths (violet to red), roughly 380–750 nm ) , wherein the first wavelength comprises a portion of the UV spectrum (Abstract , P23, P24, P39, P46, P65, P68, P69, other suitable light maybe used) .
Re Claim 13, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to output the first wavelength of light during assembly of the electronic device and output the second wavelength of light after assembly of the electronic device is complete(P24,P67, 69) .
Re Claim 14, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one light source comprises a multi- direction light source, and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate output of light from the at least one light source in a first direction for curing the light curable adhesive; and actuate output of light from the at least one light source in a second direction for providing a light indicator at the electronic device(P67, P69) .
Re Claim 18, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the light curable adhesive is additionally cured with humidity exposure (P3, 9), P27.
Re Claim 20, Bushnell discloses an audio device comprising the electronic device of claim 1 , wherein the casing is an outermost casing of the audio device (P29. Figs, 2 and 15).
Re Claim 23, Bushnell discloses an electronic device comprising: a casing (housing 12) defining an enclosure (2, 15) ; a joint between components in the electronic device (P6t9) ; an light curable adhesive(56) bonding the components at the joint; at least one light source internal to the casing and configured to output light for at least partially curing the light curable adhesive in the casing, wherein the at least one light source is configured to output light in a wavelength range of approximately 315 nanometers (nm) to approximately 480 nm (P69, Light may be blue light, white light etc. Blue light is restricted to the 450–495 nm range. White light combines all visible wavelengths (violet to red), roughly 380–750 nm ); and a printed circuit board (PCB) in the enclosure, wherein the at least one light source is coupled with the PCB (P69; Fig. 15).
Re Claim 24, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 23, wherein: a) the PCB is at least partially transparent to enable light from the at least one light source to pass therethrough, or b) the PCB includes a through-hole, and the at least one light source includes a first light source mounted on a first side of the PCB and a second light source mounted in the through-hole in the PCB (P35-P36).
Claim(s) 7, 15, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushnell et al. US Publication No. 2016/0016395 cited by applicant in view of Chen US Publication No. 2018/0048949.
Re Claim 7, Bushnell discloses The electronic device of claim 6.
Bushnell fails to specifically discloses a reflective mask on the PCB for diffusing the light.
Chen discloses a reflective mask on the PCB for diffusing the light (P28, for diffusing is an intended use limitation ).
Given the teachings of Chen it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bushnell with a reflective mask on the PCB for diffusing the light.
Doing so can improve the effective luminance of the light (P28).
Re Claim 15, Bushnell discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Bushnell fails to disclose an at least partially reflective coating within the enclosure for diffusing the light.
Chen discloses an at least partially reflective coating within the enclosure for diffusing the light (P28).
Given the teachings of Chen it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bushnell at least partially reflective coating within the enclosure for diffusing the light.
Doing so can improve the effective luminance of the light (P28).
Re Claim 21, Bushnell discloses An electronic device, comprising: a casing (12) defining an enclosure (2, 15) ;
a joint between components in the electronic device(P69);
an light curable adhesive(56) bonding the components at the joint (P69, Fig. 15) ; at least one light source internal to the casing and configured to output light for at least partially curing the light curable adhesive in the casing (P68-P69;
Bushnell fails to disclose wherein at least partially reflective coating within the enclosure for diffusing the light (intended use limitation).
Chen discloses a reflective cover 51 provided on the printed circuit board 30 (P28).
Given the teachings of Chen it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bushnell with a reflective cover 51 provided on the printed circuit board such that a partially reflective coating is within the enclosure for diffusing the light.
Doing so can improve the effective luminance of the light (P28).
Re Claim 22, Bushnell and Chen discloses the electronic device of claim 21, and Bushnell discloses wherein the casing is substantially opaque (P3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues applicant submits that the rejection of the
features originally presented in claim 11 (now recited in claim 1) is deficient on its face, and as such, should be withdrawn. For example, the fleeting discussion of control circuitry in Bushnell (para. 69, FIG. 5) does not explicitly disclose Applicant's claimed, controller, "for selectively controlling the output of light for curing the light curable adhesive." (Claim 1)(See, MPEP § 2131; "[I]n order to anticipate the claimed invention, the reference must 'disclose[] within the four corners of the document not only all of the limitations claimed but also all of the limitations arranged or combined in the same way as recited in the claim."' (Net MoneylN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., No. 2007-1565, pp. 17-18 (Fed. Cir. 2008)).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. (P48, P69 of Bushnell specifically discloses that Circuitry 86 may include control circuitry such as one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processing circuits, application-specific integrated circuits with control capabilities, or other controller or processing circuitry. P69, control circuitry within device 10 (see, e.g., control circuitry and power source 86 of FIG. 5) may then be used to turn on display 14 (e.g., a light-emitting-diode-based backlight unit in display module 42, Light 112 strikes light-curable adhesive 56′ and cures adhesive 56′. When cured, adhesive 56′ forms an adhesive joint that bonds display cover layer 40 to housing ).
In response to applicant's argument that Bushnell fails to disclose “for selectively controlling the output of light for curing the light curable adhesive”. Examiner would like to point out that several limitations are statements of intended use of the claimed invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim
Applicant also argues that Bushnell fails to anticipate claim 12
[T]he at least one light source comprises a multi-wavelength light source, and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate output of a first wavelength of
light from the at least one light source for curing the light curable adhesive; and actuate output of a second wavelength of light from the at least one light source for providing a light indicator at the electronic device, wherein the first wavelength comprises a portion of the UV spectrum. (Claim 12).
`The Examiner respectfully disagrees . Bushnell discloses at least one light source comprises a multi- wavelength light source, and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate output of a first wavelength of light from the at least one light source for curing the light curable adhesive (P68 69 of Bushnell discloses Light 112 may be visible light e.g., blue light, white light, etc.) or other suitable light and that an ultraviolet light source may initiate curing of a adhesive . P46 further discloses that Ultraviolet light source 74 may be used to produce ultraviolet light. Light source 74 may be based on an ultraviolet lamp (e.g., a mercury lamp), may be based on an ultraviolet laser, may be based on light-emitting diodes, or may be based on other source(s) of ultraviolet light thus a multi wavelength light source ; and actuate output of a second wavelength of light from the at least one light source for providing a light indicator at the electronic device (additional light sores may be added, Light may be blue light, white light etc. Blue light is restricted to the 450–495 nm range. White light combines all visible wavelengths (violet to red), roughly 380–750 nm ) , wherein the first wavelength comprises a portion of the UV spectrum (Abstract , P23, P24, P39, P46, P65P68, P69, other suitable light maybe used) .
Applicant also argues that Bushnell fails to anticipate claim 13, [T]he controller is configured to output the first wavelength of light during assembly of the electronic device and output the second wavelength of light after assembly of the electronic device is complete.
Claims 13 is disclosed in Paragraph 69 which states that The light-emitting diodes in the backlight of display module 42 or other light-emitting components in display 14 produce light 112 in response to being activated by the control circuitry. Light 112 strikes light-curable adhesive 56′ and cures adhesive 56′. When cured, adhesive 56′ forms an adhesive joint that bonds display cover layer 40 to housing 12. After curing, display 14 (or other light-producing component that was used by control circuitry 86 to generate light 112 to cure adhesive 56′) additional light sores may be added, Light may be blue light, white light etc. Blue light is restricted to the 450–495 nm range. White light combines all visible wavelengths (violet to red), roughly 380–750 nm ) , wherein the first wavelength comprises a portion of the UV spectrum (Abstract , P23, P24, P39, P46, P65, P68, P69, other suitable light maybe used) Bushnell discloses an ultraviolet light source may initiate curing of a solid adhesive film layer before the layer is pressed between structures to be joined (Abstract) and display may produce light that cures adhesive in an electronic device (Abstract and P68-P69) .
Applicant also argues that the Bushnell fails to anticipated claim 14 [T]he at least one light source comprises a multi-direction light source, and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate output of light from the at least one light source in a first direction for curing the light curable adhesive; and actuate output of light from the at least one light source in a second direction for providing a light indicator at the electronic device
Bushnell discloses an ultraviolet light source may initiate curing of a solid adhesive film layer before the layer is pressed between structures to be joined (Abstract) and display may produce light that cures adhesive in an electronic device (Abstract and P68-P69) .
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876