DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US Patent No. 2019/0185159) in view of Evans et al (US Patent No. 9,928,474). Relative to claims 1 and 3-4, Russell discloses:
claim 1) A transport system (100) for an unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Fig. 1),
comprising:
an unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0032);
a transport vehicle (120)(Fig. 1) configured to travel along a predetermined travel route (Para. 0036), and comprising an aerial vehicle holding section configured to hold the unmanned aerial vehicle (Para. 0058, included, the UAV physically engages with the vehicle that holds the UAV); and
a control device (140)(Fig. 1) configured to control the unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0039), and
the control device (140) outputs a move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0056),
the transport vehicle (120) travels to a stop position set on the travel route and stops at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0036),
the unmanned aerial vehicle (110), in response to receiving the move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section (inherently included on the vehicle 120 for transporting the UAV’s) and moves to the destination, while the transport vehicle (120) is stopped at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0070-0071, UAV is controlled to disengage and fly away from the vehicle 120 when the vehicle 120 is stationary); and
the predetermined travel route comprises a rail (Para. 0036, vehicle 120 can be a railed vehicle traveling along a predetermined route).
Russell does not expressly disclose:
claim 1) the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle, and the control device outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle to both the transport vehicle and the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle;
the transport vehicle travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position;
claim 3) the transport vehicle remains stopped at the corresponding stop position until the unmanned aerial vehicle returns from the destination and lands on the aerial vehicle holding section;
claim 4) the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises an article holding section configured to hold and release an article, and the control device designates, as the destination in the move command, at least one of a transport destination to which the article is to be transported and a pickup destination from which the article is to be picked up.
Evans teaches:
claim 1) the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle (for the control device, see the centralized mobile base management system 326, shown in Fig. 3, for remotely communicating with a mobile base 200, and remote computing resources 310, which control the mobile bases 200 and other components; Col. 7, line 67, Col. 8, lines 1-4);
the control device (see Ref. 326) outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle (automated aerial vehicle 500) to both the transport vehicle (200)(Fig. 2) and the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) held by the transport vehicle (200)(Col. 11, lines 45-56; the destination of the transportation units is also designated in the package routing operations, 165, Col. 7, lines 7-12),
the transport vehicle (200) travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position (Col. 14, lines 16-28);
claim 3) the transport vehicle (200) remains stopped at the corresponding stop position until the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) returns from the destination and lands on the aerial vehicle holding section (Col. 14, lines 21-25)(Fig. 4); and
claim 4) the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) comprises an article holding section configured to hold and release an article (see item engagement mechanism, 514, Col. 19, lines 3-15)(Fig. 5), and the control device (see Ref. 326) designates, as the destination in the move command, at least one of a transport destination to which the article is to be transported and a pickup destination from which the article is to be picked up (Col. 11, lines 46-65).
Evans teaches: the control device controlling the transport vehicle, the transport vehicle travelling to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination, the transport vehicle remains stopped at the corresponding stop position until the unmanned aerial vehicle returns from the destination, and the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises an article holding section configured to hold and release an article as mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to delivering items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, minimizes costs, and is more convenient (Col. 2, lines 50-55; Col. 1, lines 35-41; Col. 3, lines 3-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Russell with the control device controlling the transport vehicle, the transport vehicle travelling to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination, the transport vehicle remains stopped at the corresponding stop position until the unmanned aerial vehicle returns from the destination, and the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises an article holding section configured to hold and release an article mentioned above, as taught in Evans for the purpose of purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to deliver items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, minimizes costs, and is more convenient.
Relative to claim 2, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
the move command designating the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) is a first move command (commands are communicated from the mobile management system 326, designating the destination of the UAV 500, Col. 11, lines 46-60),
a second move command that designates a target stop position of the transport vehicle (200) set on the travel route, and is output to the transport vehicle (Ref. 326 designates and outputs the stopping points for the mobile base along the designated route, Col. 11, lines 46-60),
a third move command that designates the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle and is output to the unmanned aerial vehicle when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle is not determined (Ref. 326 may designate and output travel destinations to the transportation units, 500, Col. 11, lines 46-60; in some instances the target destination of the aerial vehicle 500 has not been fully determined, for instance, a remote aerial vehicle, which is destined to fly to a target that has not yet been fully determined, receives instructions to meet a mobile base 200 at a specified location to pick up an item, and then receives instructions to drop off the item at a delivery location, Col. 12, lines 1-8; the system also discloses the aerial vehicles 500 returning to a different mobile base 200, Col. 15, lines 25-38, if an aerial vehicle 500 flies from a mobile base 200 to a destination location to drop off or pick up an item, the aerial vehicle might not yet know where to move after moving to the first destination, but may remain in a location until instructed to move to another mobile base 200);
the transport vehicle (200), in response to receiving the second move command, travels to the target stop position and stops at the target stop position (mobile base 200 stops at the designated stopping point along the route in the geographic area as instructed by the management system 326, Col. 14, lines 16-25; Fig. 4), and
the unmanned aerial vehicle (500), in response to receiving the third move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section and moves to it’s the destination, while the transport vehicle (200) is stopped at the target stop position (aerial vehicle 500 departs or flies to a specified destination L1-L3 when the mobile base 200 is stopped, Col. 14, lines 20-28).
Russell in view of Evans does not expressly disclose:
the control device selectively executes output of the first move command and output of a second move command and a third move command,
the control device executes output of the first move command when the destination of the unmanned vehicle has been determined, and executes output of a second move command and a third move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has yet to be determined, or
the control device outputs the second move command to the transport vehicle, and thereafter outputs the third move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle.
Russell in view of Evans teaches:
the control device selectively executes output of the first move command when the destination of the unmanned vehicle has been determined, and executes output of a second and third move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has yet to be determined, as an obvious matter of design choice, to provide greater flexibility to adjust to changing needs of delivering items to users during temporal events (Col. 3, lines 20-21).
Evan discloses that the mobile base 200 carrying transportation units (aerial vehicles) may travel to a general area during a temporal event, such as a football game where items such as sporting paraphernalia, food products, etc., may be delivered to users at specific locations inside a parking lot during a tail-gaiting event, a stadium, other venue etc.(Col. 3, lines 20). In such events, even if the user for receiving the item is known, the transportation units may not know immediately where the user is specifically in the parking lot or stadium, and the exact location to deliver the item may not yet be known, or may change due to inaccessibility, or due to the recipient moving.
As mentioned above, the system instructs the mobile bases 200 and transportations units/aerial vehicles 500 to move to determined locations when the destination of the aerial vehicle is known.
In cases when the final destination of the aerial vehicle is not yet known due to the changing, real-world scenarios of servicing customers at a large temporal event, it is obvious for the mobile base 200 designated to service the area near/at the event or stadium, and which is in route to the event, to receive it’s stopping location as the mobile base gets closer to the venue, to provide greater convenience and accessibility.
During a temporal event, such as a football game, it is also obvious for a transportation unit/aerial vehicle 500 to remain with the mobile base 200 and fly to the destination of a recipient after the exact location of the recipient is made known to the aerial vehicle.
Given the ability of the system to move the mobile bases and deliver items to users when the final/meeting destinations for the aerial vehicle are both known and unknown, the system can be modified so that the control device can selectively choose between: a first mode, when the target destination of the aerial vehicle is known, wherein the mobile device and aerial vehicle are instructed to move to determined stopping and target delivery locations along the route, and an alternate mode, when the final pickup/delivery destination of the aerial vehicle is not yet known, wherein the mobile device and aerial vehicle move to their respective stopping and destination locations upon receiving the destination information, to accommodate changing needs of the delivering items based on real-world scenarios where the user’s exact location may or may not be known.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the control device to selectively output a command to move the mobile base and aerial vehicles to respective target stopping and destination locations, based on whether the destination of the aerial vehicle is already known, and or is not yet known, in order to deliver items to users during a temporal event where the user location is not fixed, thereby providing greater flexibility for delivering items based on real-world scenarios.
Relative to claim 5, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
the control device of the transport vehicle (200) comprises an operation reception section configured to receive an operation input of an operator (Evans discloses the mobile base, 200, receiving operator input Col. 7, lines 34-37; Russell discloses an operation reception section of the UAV for receiving human input to control the UAV, 110, Para. 0054) and the control device is configured to operate in:
(i) an automatic mode for automatically setting the destination in accordance with a predetermined program (the management system 326 in Evans automatically sets the destination of the automated aerial vehicle 500 and the mobile base 200 according to a program, the predetermined program is included in the packaging routing operations 165, Col. 11, lines 46-65, see also Evans, Col. 16, lines 14-15), and
(ii) a manual mode for controlling the unmanned aerial vehicle and the transport vehicle (200) according to the operation input (Evans discloses the mobile base 200 may be controlled manually, Col. 7, lines 34-37; Russell discloses the UAV 110 can be controlled manually using operator input, Para. 0054), in the manual mode,
(i) the transport vehicle travels according to the operation input (in Evans, the mobile base 200 can be controlled according to human input in the manual mode, Col. 7, lines 34-46; Russell discloses the UAV 110 can travel based operator input in a manual mode, Para. 0054).
Russell in view of Evans does not expressly disclose:
the operation section is switchable between the automatic mode and the manual mode,
in the automatic mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle is prohibited from flying while the transport vehicle is traveling, and
in the manual mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle flies according to the operation input regardless of whether the transport vehicle is traveling or stopped.
Russell in view of Evans teaches: the operation section is switchable between the automatic mode and the manual mode, as a matter of design choice.
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing would have known to put the described automated, manual modes of both the UAV/aerial vehicles and the mobile base 200/transportation units 120 behind a single switchable “operation section” so the same control device can toggle between letting the system run itself and letting a human drive it. For instance, if the mobile base or the UAV needs to adjust the route due to a last minute change, the control device can quickly move from an automatic mode to the manual mode, allowing the operator to take control of the travel. This is well known in the art of autonomously travelling vehicles. See MPEP §2144.03
Additionally, the UAV/AAV may be controlled so that in the automatic mode the unmanned aerial vehicle is prohibited from flying while the transport vehicle is traveling as a matter of design choice.
A person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing would have found it obvious to prevent the unmanned aerial vehicle from flying to or from a mobile base/transport vehicle, while the transport vehicle is traveling to avoid mid-air instability, mis-landings, or collisions. Prohibiting the unmanned aerial vehicles from flying in the autonomous mode serves as a safety interlock when both units are being run autonomously. See MPEP §2144.05 (II)(A).
Similarly, the control device of Evans in view of Russell can be modified so that in the manual mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle flies according to the operation input regardless of whether the transport vehicle is traveling or stopped, as a matter of design choice, to enhance safety or to increase efficiency.
When a human is actively driving or supervising the mobile base and the UAV/AAV, a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing would have found is obvious to let the operator launch or land the unmanned aerial vehicle, while the mobile base/transportation vehicle is stopped, to flexibly adjust routes on the fly, hit more delivery points in one pass, or deal with real-world obstacles that are not planned. In the manual mode, the operator has the ability to control the movement or direction of the aerial vehicle to avoid obstacles or to land securely, thereby reducing the need for additional constraints due to safety or instability if the aerial vehicle is moving autonomously. See MPEP §2144.05 (II)(A).
Relative to claim 7, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the predetermined travel route includes a double track segment that branches off from one of the segments and then merges with a same one of the segments, and the corresponding stop position is set in the double track segment.
Russell in view of Evans teaches the predetermined travel route includes a double track segment that branches off from one of the segments and then merges with a same one of the segments, and the corresponding stop position is set in the double track segment, as a matter of design choice.
Russell discloses that the transport vehicle (120) may be a railed vehicle, such as a train or tram, that travels along rails (Para. 0036).
It is well-known in the art of rail transportation, such as with trains or trams, to have a passing/siding double track segment that branches off a main line and merges back in, with a stop or waiting point on that siding so one vehicle can pause while another vehicle can pass or during loading/unloading off the main line. See MPEP §2144.03.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to provide that rails with the double-track segment that branches off from one of the segments, and a corresponding stop positioning set in the double-track segment as well-known in the art.
Relative to claims 8-9, Russell discloses:
Claim 8) a transport system (100) for an unmanned aerial vehicle (110), comprising:
an unmanned aerial vehicle (110);
a transport vehicle (120) configured to travel along a predetermined travel route (Para. 0036) and
comprising an aerial vehicle holding section (inherently included with vehicle, 120) configured to hold the unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0058); and
a control device (140) configured to control the unmanned aerial vehicle (110), and
the transport vehicle (120) travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route and stops at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0036),
the unmanned aerial vehicle (110), in response to receiving the move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section and moves to the destination, while the transport vehicle is stopped at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0070-0071),
the move command designating the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle is a first move command,
the control device executes output of the first move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has been determined, and executes output of a second move command and a third move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has yet to be determined,
the second move command designates a target stop position of the transport vehicle set on the travel route, and is output to the transport vehicle,
the third move command designates the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle and is output to the unmanned aerial vehicle,
the control device outputs the second move command to the transport vehicle, and thereafter outputs the third move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle,
the transport vehicle, in response to receiving the second move command, travels to the target stop position and stops at the target stop position, and
the unmanned aerial vehicle, in response to receiving the third move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section and moves to the destination, while the transport vehicle is stopped at the target stop position.
Russell does not expressly disclose:
claim 8) the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle and outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle to both the transport vehicle and the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle, or the transport vehicle travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position.
Evans teaches:
the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle (200)(see Ref. 326, shown in Fig. 3; Col. 7, line 67, Col. 8, lines 1-4);
the control device (Ref. 326) outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) to both the transport vehicle (200)(Fig. 2) and the unmanned aerial vehicle (automated aerial vehicle, 500) held by the transport vehicle (200)(Col. 11, lines 45-56; Col. 11, lines 65-67, Col. 12, lines 1-2; the destination is also designated in the package routing operations, 165, Col. 7, lines 7-12), and
the transport vehicle (200) travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position (Col. 14, lines 16-28).
Evans teaches: the control device controlling the transport vehicle, and the transport vehicle travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination, for the purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to deliver items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, and minimizes costs, and is more convenient (Col. 2, lines 50-55; Col. 1, lines 35-41; Col. 3, lines 3-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Russell with the control device controlling the transport vehicle, the transport vehicle travelling to a corresponding stop position in correspondence to the destination, as taught in Evans, for the purpose of purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to deliver items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, and minimizes costs, and is more convenient.
Relative to claims 8-9, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
the move command designating the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) is a first move command (commands are communicated from the mobile management system 326, designating the destination of the UAV 500, Col. 11, lines 46-60),
a second move command that designates a target stop position of the transport vehicle (200) set on the travel route, and is output to the transport vehicle (Ref. 326 designates and outputs the stopping points for the mobile base along the designated route, Col. 11, lines 46-60),
a third move command that designates the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle and is output to the unmanned aerial vehicle when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle is not determined (Ref. 326 may designate and output travel destinations to the transportation units, 500, Col. 11, lines 46-60; in some instances the target destination of the aerial vehicle 500 has not been fully determined, for instance, a remote aerial vehicle, which is destined to fly to a target that has not yet been fully determined, receives instructions to meet a mobile base 200 at a specified location to pick up an item, and then receives instructions to drop off the item at a delivery location, Col. 12, lines 1-8; the system also discloses the aerial vehicles 500 returning to a different mobile base 200, Col. 15, lines 25-38, if an aerial vehicle 500 flies from a mobile base 200 to a destination location to drop off or pick up an item, the aerial vehicle might not yet know where to move after moving to the first destination, but may remain in a location until instructed to move to another mobile base 200),
the transport vehicle (200), in response to receiving the second move command, travels to the target stop position and stops at the target stop position (mobile base 200 stops at the designated stopping point along the route in the geographic area as instructed by the management system 326, Col. 14, lines 16-25; Fig. 4), and
the unmanned aerial vehicle (500), in response to receiving the third move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section and moves to it’s the destination, while the transport vehicle (200) is stopped at the target stop position (aerial vehicle 500 departs or flies to a specified destination L1-L3 when the mobile base 200 is stopped, Col. 14, lines 20-28).
Russell in view of Evans does not expressly disclose:
Claim 8) the control device selectively executes output of the first move command and output of a second move command and a third move command,
the control device executes output of the first move command when the destination of the unmanned vehicle has been determined, and executes output of a second move command and a third move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has yet to be determined,
the control device outputs the second move command to the transport vehicle, and thereafter outputs the third move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle; or
claim 9) the control device outputs the second move command to the transport vehicle, and thereafter outputs the third move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle while the transport vehicle is traveling by the second move command.
Russell in view of Evans teaches:
the control device selectively executes output of the first move command when the destination of the unmanned vehicle has been determined, and executes output of a second and third move command when the destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle has yet to be determined, as an obvious matter of design choice, to provide greater flexibility to adjust to changing needs of delivering items to users during temporal events (Col. 3, lines 20-21).
Evan discloses that the mobile base 200 carrying transportation units (aerial vehicles) may travel to a general area during a temporal event, such as a football game where items such as sporting paraphernalia, food products, etc., may be delivered to users at specific locations inside a parking lot during a tail-gaiting event, a stadium, other venue etc.(Col. 3, lines 20). In such events, even if the user for receiving the item is known, the transportation units may not know immediately where the user is specifically in the parking lot or stadium, and the exact location to deliver the item may not yet be known, or may change due to inaccessibility, or due to the recipient moving.
As mentioned above, the system instructs the mobile bases 200 and transportations units/aerial vehicles 500 to move to determined locations when the destination of the aerial vehicle is known.
In cases when the final destination of the aerial vehicle is not yet known due to the changing, real-world scenarios of servicing customers at a large temporal event, it is obvious for the mobile base 200 designated to service the area near/at the event or stadium, and which is in route to the event, to receive it’s stopping location as the mobile base gets closer to the venue, to provide greater convenience and accessibility.
Implementation of the above scenario includes the control device outputting the second move command to the transport vehicle/mobile base, and thereafter outputting the third move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle/mobile base while the transport vehicle is traveling by the second move command.
During a temporal event, such as a football game, it is also obvious for a transportation unit/aerial vehicle 500 to remain with the mobile base 200 and fly to the destination of a recipient after the exact location of the recipient is made known to the aerial vehicle.
Given the ability of the system to move the mobile bases and deliver items to users when the final/meeting destinations for the aerial vehicle are both known and unknown, the system can be modified so that the control device can selectively choose between: a first mode, when the target destination of the aerial vehicle is known, wherein the mobile device and aerial vehicle are instructed to move to determined stopping and target delivery locations along the route, and an alternate mode, when the final pickup/delivery destination of the aerial vehicle is not yet known, wherein the mobile device and aerial vehicle move to their respective stopping and destination locations upon receiving the destination information, to accommodate changing needs of the delivering items based on real-world scenarios where the user’s exact location may or may not be known.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the control device to selectively output a command to move the mobile base and aerial vehicles to respective target stopping and destination locations, based on whether the destination of the aerial vehicle is already known, and or is not yet known, in order to deliver items to users during a temporal event where the user location is not fixed, thereby providing greater flexibility for delivering items based on real-world scenarios.
Relative to claims 10-11, Russell discloses:
claim 10) A transport system (100) for an unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Fig. 1),
comprising:
an unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0032);
a transport vehicle (120)(Fig. 1) configured to travel along a predetermined travel route (Para. 0036), and comprising an aerial vehicle holding section configured to hold the unmanned aerial vehicle (Para. 0058, included, the UAV physically engages with the vehicle that holds the UAV); and
a control device (140)(Fig. 1) configured to control the unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0039), and
the control device (140) outputs a move command to the unmanned aerial vehicle (110)(Para. 0056),
the transport vehicle (120) travels to a stop position set on the travel route and stops at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0036),
the unmanned aerial vehicle (110), in response to receiving the move command, takes off from the aerial vehicle holding section (inherently included) and moves to the destination, while the transport vehicle (120) is stopped at the corresponding stop position (Para. 0070 - 0071, UAV is controlled to disengage and fly away from the vehicle 120 when the vehicle 120 is stationary).
Russell does not expressly disclose:
claim 10) the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle; and the control device outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle to both the transport vehicle and the unmanned aerial vehicle held by the transport vehicle; or
the transport vehicle travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position.
Evans teaches:
claim 10) the control device is configured to control the transport vehicle (see Ref. 326, shown in Fig. 3; Col. 7, line 67, Col. 8, lines 1-4);
the control device (326) outputs a move command designating a destination of the unmanned aerial vehicle (500) to both the transport vehicle (200)(Fig. 2) and the unmanned aerial vehicle (automated aerial vehicle, 500) held by the transport vehicle (200)(Col. 11, lines 45-56; the destination is also designated in the package routing operations, 165, Col. 7, lines 7-12), and
the transport vehicle (200) travels to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination and stops at the corresponding stop position (Col. 14, lines 16-28).
Evans teaches: the control device controlling the transport vehicle, and the transport vehicle travelling to a corresponding stop position set on the travel route in correspondence to the destination, for the purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to deliver items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, and minimizes costs, and is more convenient (Col. 2, lines 50-55; Col. 1, lines 35-41; Col. 3, lines 3-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Russell with the control device controlling the transport vehicle, and the transport vehicle travels to a corresponding stop position in correspondence to the destination, as taught in Evans, for the purpose of purpose of providing a system and method for utilizing mobile bases to deliver items to user specified delivery locations that is automated, requires less manual labor, and minimizes costs, and is more convenient.
Relative to claims 10-11, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
claim 10) the control device of the transport vehicle (200) comprises an operation reception section configured to receive an operation input of an operator (Evans discloses the mobile base, 200, receiving operator input Col. 7, lines 34-37; Russell discloses an operation reception section of the UAV for receiving human input to control the UAV, 110, Para. 0054) and the control device is configured to operate in:
(i) an automatic mode for automatically setting the destination in accordance with a predetermined program (the management system 326 in Evans automatically sets the destination of the automated aerial vehicle 500 and the mobile base 200 according to a program, the predetermined program is included in the packaging routing operations 165, Col. 11, lines 46-65, see also Evans, Col. 16, lines 14-15), and
(ii) a manual mode for controlling the unmanned aerial vehicle and the transport vehicle (200) according to the operation input (Evans discloses the mobile base 200 may be controlled manually, Col. 7, lines 34-37; Russell discloses the UAV 110 can be controlled manually using operator input, Para. 0054), in the manual mode,
(i) the transport vehicle travels according to the operation input (in Evans, the mobile base 200 can be controlled according to human input in the manual mode, Col. 7, lines 34-46; Russell discloses the UAV 110 can travel based operator input in a manual mode, Para. 0054);
claim 11) the unmanned aerial vehicle is an inspecting unmanned aerial vehicle that flies and performs inspection according to the operation input (see Russell, Para. 0044, the aerial vehicle 110 may be used to capture image data of a scene within a field of view of the camera, and can also be used to capture photographs of remote geographical locations for academic purposes.
Russell in view of Evans does not expressly disclose:
claim 10) the operation section is switchable between the automatic mode and the manual mode,
in the automatic mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle is prohibited from flying while the transport vehicle is traveling, and
in the manual mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle flies according to the operation input regardless of whether the transport vehicle is traveling or stopped.
Russell in view of Evans teaches: the operation section is switchable between the automatic mode and the manual mode, as a matter of design choice.
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing would have known to put the described automated, manual modes of both the UAV/aerial vehicles and the mobile base 200/transportation units 120 behind a single switchable “operation section” so the same control device can toggle between letting the system run itself and letting a human drive it. For instance, if the mobile base or the UAV needs to adjust the route due to a last minute change, the control device can quickly move from an automatic mode to the manual mode, allowing the operator to take control of the travel. This is well known in the art of autonomously travelling vehicles. See MPEP §2144.03
Additionally, the UAV/AAV may be controlled so that in the automatic mode the unmanned aerial vehicle is prohibited from flying while the transport vehicle is traveling as a matter of design choice.
A person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing would have found it obvious to prevent the unmanned aerial vehicle from flying to or from a mobile base/transport vehicle, while the transport vehicle is traveling to avoid mid-air instability, mis-landings, or collisions. Prohibiting the unmanned aerial vehicles from flying in the autonomous mode serves as a safety interlock when both units are being run autonomously. See MPEP §2144.05 (II)(A).
Similarly, the control device of Evans in view of Russell can be modified so that in the manual mode, the unmanned aerial vehicle flies according to the operation input regardless of whether the transport vehicle is traveling or stopped, as a matter of design choice, to enhance safety or to increase efficiency.
When a human is actively driving or supervising the mobile base and the UAV/AAV, a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing would have found is obvious to let the operator launch or land the unmanned aerial vehicle, while the mobile base/transportation vehicle is stopped, to flexibly adjust routes on the fly, hit more delivery points in one pass, or deal with real-world obstacles that are not planned. In the manual mode, the operator has the ability to control the movement or direction of the aerial vehicle to avoid obstacles or to land securely, thereby reducing the need for additional constraints due to safety or instability if the aerial vehicle is moving autonomously. See MPEP §2144.05 (II)(A).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell in view of Evans as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toshiaki Tazume (JP 7299368 B1).
Relative to claim 6, Russell in view of Evans discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the predetermined travel route is provided therein with a first segment where the unmanned aerial is obstructed by an obstacle when taking off from the aerial vehicle holding section and a second segment where in which no obstacle exists, and the corresponding stop position is set in the second segment (Page 12, Para. 0062-0064 of the English translation of the specification, system considers whether there is an obstacle blocking the path of the drone in determining a stop position, system maintains stop position and vehicle direction if there is no obstacle, but if there is an obstacle, the stop position or travel direction of the vehicle will change), for the purpose of providing an unmanned aerial vehicle and information processing method to improve safety (Page 2, Para. 0001; 0006 of the English translation of the specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evans in view of Russell so that the stop position is set in the second segment when the first segment is obstructed, as taught in Tazume, for the purpose of providing an unmanned aerial vehicle and information processing method to improve safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Evans (US 2022/0189328)(See Fig. 1, Para. 0055-0056); Evans (US 2023/0015158)(See Fig. 1-2)(Para. 0064-0065); Mohammed (US 12,205,072, vehicle may be a railed-based vehicle, Col. 3, lines 63-67); Alspaugh (US 11,530,052).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651